Worst doubles thread

Re: Worst doubles thread

Postby rollingstock » May 12th, 2020, 7:03 pm

That Kelvin and Rose doubles is friggin atrocious.
Will give George by Brooklyn bar a good run for utter sheit doubles.

Postby pugboy » May 12th, 2020, 7:08 pm

hahaha
but town ppl does swear by george and he son

rollingstock wrote:That Kelvin and Rose doubles is friggin atrocious.
Will give George by Brooklyn bar a good run for utter sheit doubles.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 12th, 2020, 7:10 pm

Kelvin and rose still there? There is a guy opposite medford gas station who has some long lines, he worth it???

Postby Dave » May 12th, 2020, 7:37 pm

In the shed?
Nope!
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Kelvin and rose still there? There is a guy opposite medford gas station who has some long lines, he worth it???

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » May 12th, 2020, 7:44 pm

Dave wrote:In the shed?
Nope!
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Kelvin and rose still there? There is a guy opposite medford gas station who has some long lines, he worth it???

I pass every evening and it does always have people eating that atrocious ting. Licking the paper

Postby maj. tom » May 12th, 2020, 7:46 pm

They used to taste good when they were just the old man and his sons in the Chaguanas market. That was long ago. I remember $1 for doubles in those days. Bess channa! But they franchise it out like Sauce, every member of the family doing their thing. So it doesn't taste as good as it used to, quality rel gone down. I believe they're mass producing like a doubles factory because i see vans come and drop supplies for them in Medford which is a hotspot. So it can never be the same again. They have the entire of Chaguanas lock down with their doubles. Seen them in Montrose, Enterprise, glass place by Pres college, the gas stations, still inside by the market... all over. I surprised that Sauce trying to make a foothold in Chaguanas coming in from the highway by Bhagwansingh's.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 12th, 2020, 7:55 pm

Mercenary wrote:
Dave wrote:In the shed?
Nope!

I pass every evening and it does always have people eating that atrocious ting. Licking the paper

Really have to question the taste of some people yes

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » May 12th, 2020, 8:29 pm

Best doubles has to bought from guy riding a bicycle!

Postby rollingstock » May 12th, 2020, 9:03 pm

The old guy with the panel van by munroe road community center not bad. Those pieces of mango seed in the sweet sauce though.

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » May 12th, 2020, 10:35 pm

rollingstock wrote:The old guy with the panel van by munroe road community center not bad. Those pieces of mango seed in the sweet sauce though.

Yeah only place I cud actually eat 5

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » May 13th, 2020, 2:17 am

I hear the doubles by dis place is to die for, and not in a good way.

I dunno if they still in operation though.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » May 13th, 2020, 4:37 am

Blaze d Chalice wrote:I hear the doubles by dis place is to die for, and not in a good way.

when george heself used to sell it was D BEST in the area, last i know he was in french street by d vegetable place by massy but that was 22 years ago, idk if he living or dead, he wife form george x and it was failure untle she dead and not he fat son hav 2 spanish selling by broklyn bar and is failure. up d same street to tragarete road have d pie man shop, rather buy from he.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » May 13th, 2020, 4:39 am

i stop by the doubles woman selling in the bar yard on naparima road just on d end ah sando flyover. channa hard, no mother in law, roast pepper, coconut chutney and it just tasting different, dat old oil does really make d doubles taste better yes.

Postby SR » May 14th, 2020, 8:36 pm

Darens el socoro south ....bleh doh even stop by

Postby Dave » May 14th, 2020, 8:37 pm

Two Daren outlets then are bleh!

Postby pugboy » May 14th, 2020, 8:48 pm

I work a few buildings from Brooklyn bar

George son Norman does sell weekdays, George does sell on weekends and during the week he somewhere else.
The only thing good there is Norman worker who collecting the money.

Years ago before the proliferation of doubles vendors coming into pos there weren’t many choices so George/son was it, big lines every morning , everybody crisp in they shirt and tie wanting to be seen eating outside on pavement.

The exwife retire long time and she always had a bigger crowd. He had to go and buy factory stale bara.

Now is plenty vendors from out of town in pos.
I not a big doubles eater but I like the Guyanese fella by mapau and he has biggest crowds in the night.

screwbash wrote:
Blaze d Chalice wrote:I hear the doubles by dis place is to die for, and not in a good way.

when george heself used to sell it was D BEST in the area, last i know he was in french street by d vegetable place by massy but that was 22 years ago, idk if he living or dead, he wife form george x and it was failure untle she dead and not he fat son hav 2 spanish selling by broklyn bar and is failure. up d same street to tragarete road have d pie man shop, rather buy from he.

Postby shogun » May 14th, 2020, 9:32 pm

Man, even the worse doubles might taste good to me now, yes. Been a while... and I don't eat KFC, so seriously jonesin' for anything that isn't home cooked.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » May 15th, 2020, 6:24 am

george himself does sell by broklyn bar on weekends ?

pugboy wrote:I work a few buildings from Brooklyn bar

George son Norman does sell weekdays, George does sell on weekends and during the week he somewhere else.

Years ago before the proliferation of doubles vendors coming into pos there weren’t many choices so George/son was it, big lines every morning , everybody crisp in they shirt and tie wanting to be seen eating outside on pavement.

The exwife retire long time and she always had a bigger crowd. He had to go and buy factory stale bara.

I not a big doubles eater but I like the Guyanese fella by mapau and he has biggest crowds in the night.

screwbash wrote:

Skanky

Postby Skanky » May 15th, 2020, 7:14 am

Any doubles from any vendor at O'Meara road. I think the pic this week with the lack of social distancing is up there. Yuck.
Best doubles for me is Pablo's on the bus route by Tunapuna market.

Postby maj. tom » May 15th, 2020, 7:50 am

aye i was looking for them, but like they move! The other woman with her sister near the WASA gate move too. Because the tent not there and it's just the PH taxis there all the time.

But i was driving around and and discovered that Pablo's set up a tent near College Bar south of UWI. Good doubles when it's pipping hot. If you taking away, that channa will make a soggy mess by the time you reach home, so it's best to carry a container for the channa separate.

Postby redmanjp » May 15th, 2020, 8:30 am

Skanky wrote:Any doubles from any vendor at O'Meara road. I think the pic this week with the lack of social distancing is up there. Yuck.

by xtra foods?

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » May 15th, 2020, 8:32 am

Pablo’s does be by college bar

Postby pugboy » May 15th, 2020, 8:56 am

yes, during the week he is on a corner heading north from mascamp pub, opp woodbrook secondary school
at least used to be, dont know about these days with school closed

screwbash wrote:george himself does sell by broklyn bar on weekends ?

pugboy wrote:I work a few buildings from Brooklyn bar

screwbash wrote:

Postby Dizzy28 » May 15th, 2020, 9:03 am

maj. tom wrote:aye i was looking for them, but like they move! The other woman with her sister near the WASA gate move too. Because the tent not there and it's just the PH taxis there all the time.

But i was driving around and and discovered that Pablo's set up a tent near College Bar south of UWI. Good doubles when it's pipping hot. If you taking away, that channa will make a soggy mess by the time you reach home, so it's best to carry a container for the channa separate.

There are multiple Pablo's - The one in the former meat shop yard opposite the PBR close to where they used to be by the PBR steps, College Bar and the corner of Streatham Lodge Road and Orange Grove Road (next to the vegetable shed).

Police made a move on everyone who used to sell outside there the doubles vendors, the coconut men and the one or two vegetables and fruit ppl so they had no choice but to relocate.

Maharaj Street (the one that starts by the PBR and ends by A1 Auto Supplies) also has a pretty good doubles around 1/2 way down, two houses away from Gopaul where KPB stayed when she 1st became PM. But they sell out most days before 9am so you have to reach early.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 15th, 2020, 9:44 am

all doubles in Grande....

Postby MaxPower » May 15th, 2020, 11:02 am

Trinidadians have a major problem with consistency.

Sleepy doubles in St.Helena wasnt bad though. The villagers there seem to love it.

Postby redmanjp » May 15th, 2020, 11:13 am

redmanjp wrote:
Skanky wrote:Any doubles from any vendor at O'Meara road. I think the pic this week with the lack of social distancing is up there. Yuck.

by xtra foods?

just picked up some. came home & was wondering if to wipe it down with bleach, which might risk eating the bleach if it get on the doubles. decided to just discarded the paper wrapper & napkins for safety and throw the doubles into a plate, wash hands and eat it. i tell moms to remember to do the same with the remaining ones later. she diabetic & hypertensive so she better do it instead of ending up in couva hospital next week.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » May 15th, 2020, 3:16 pm

one time i went for red cap but he wasnt there , so passing through st helena i see a "sleepy" character .
again , long line and ting.
never again.

Postby pugboy » May 15th, 2020, 3:24 pm

yuh shoulda just zap hot in microwave to kill any germs

redmanjp wrote:

by xtra foods?

just picked up some. came home & was wondering if to wipe it down with bleach, which might risk eating the bleach if it get on the doubles. decided to just discarded the paper wrapper & napkins for safety and throw the doubles into a plate, wash hands and eat it. i tell moms to remember to do the same with the remaining ones later. she diabetic & hypertensive so she better do it instead of ending up in couva hospital next week.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » May 15th, 2020, 4:02 pm

Last year sometime I was talking with the girl from Pablo's by the PBR and she was telling me how the vendors inside the market were giving them stress.
On another note if you find doubles too oily why not just buy a cup of channa? Lots of people out there have decent enough channa. You'd be surprised and you'd still almost get your doubles fix without all the oil and the ethnic fatigue afterwards.