The_Honourable wrote:Wraith King wrote:Soul Collector wrote:They still take students from lower ranked schools and place them into prestige school to play football?
I remember our school importing quite a few of them from Five Rivers and wherever else. Talk about a whole "us and them" kinda scene. Racial tensions were extremely high and it led to many violent conflicts, all of which I recall, were racially fueled.
I went to a prestige secondary school and the majority of bullies were African. They openly scorned and mistreated this Caucasian guy in my class. It was a huge shock to see persons behaving this way as I never experienced it before. They would even bully other African students if they thought the person was a nerd.
After school was even more terrible as it had a converging of students from other schools. Imagine the girls from other schools wanted to fight with guys. I never lingered back after school because of how dangerous it was being in the same environs with these students who looking to rob and fight. Some of them even had weapons such as knife. Everytime you're around them your fight or flight sense became active. Imagine they perceived looking at them as a slight.
There is definitely an issue with violence amongst many Africans.
Went to a "prestige" school myself and there is some truth to this with "Afro" students being bullies. In my experience, the afro students who came in "for football" and brought in their bad ways eventually fall in line. I believe this happened not just because of the culture and ethics of the school, but strong teachers and deans... personalities who administered old school discipline. At the student level, they were met with "equal" treatment from some indo students who were not the stereotypical "weak and submissive", and also other afro students with similar rough backgrounds who are willing to learn and not tolerating foolishness from their "football" counterparts.
Redress10 wrote:
Amm no Trinidad is not a big country so zoning is not going to cause any massive impact. All it is going to do is ensure that a student living Mayaro doesn't have to go POS for education. They may simply have to go as far as Sangre Grande etc.
With zoning, there will not be any Presentation, CIC etc anymore. There would simply be schools with very specific academic curriculums and objectives. Their objectives would be to produce as many world class students as possible. Essentially we are aiming to mass produce greatness.There will not just be 1 school per area etc. The schools will be filled based on grades. So if we have 2000 exceptional students all over the country then we will have 2000 spaces available regardless.
This is not about any particular school getting better students etc. Remember you will not have a choice where you want to go. You will be zoned according to your address and your ability. There is no more picking 1s choice and all of that. The sorting algorithim will decide.
Parents will not move to the area because every area will have good schools. The zone is not small. You simply increasing access to better quality of education. That is all.
No more scholarships. Money either invested into a new university/UTT or pumped into UWI. Taxpayers money can't keep being used sending ppl overseas to educate themselves. If they want to educate themselves overseas then their parents should be able to afford it. The scholarship program is another remnant of colonial times when "island scholarships" were the thing.
Blacks are already zoned to ghetto schools so you not making sense. Do you think ppl from westmoorings etc go to malick or sec schools in Laventille? If they make the good scores then they would go to the prestigious school nearest to them. Why is this so difficult to understand.
You cannot bring down a prestigious school. It's either you are making the grades or you are not. If you aren't then you go down a level to a less prestigious one and the space that is open gives someone a chance to come up.
Redress10 wrote:
Amm no Trinidad is not a big country so zoning is not going to cause any massive impact. All it is going to do is ensure that a student living Mayaro doesn't have to go POS for education. They may simply have to go as far as Sangre Grande etc.
With zoning, there will not be any Presentation, CIC etc anymore. There would simply be schools with very specific academic curriculums and objectives. Their objectives would be to produce as many world class students as possible. Essentially we are aiming to mass produce greatness. There will not just be 1 school per area etc. The schools will be filled based on grades. So if we have 2000 exceptional students all over the country then we will have 2000 spaces available regardless.
This is not about any particular school getting better students etc. Remember you will not have a choice where you want to go. You will be zoned according to your address and your ability. There is no more picking 1s choice and all of that. The sorting algorithim will decide.
Parents will not move to the area because every area will have good schools. The zone is not small. You simply increasing access to better quality of education. That is all.
No more scholarships. Money either invested into a new university/UTT or pumped into UWI. Taxpayers money can't keep being used sending ppl overseas to educate themselves. If they want to educate themselves overseas then their parents should be able to afford it. The scholarship program is another remnant of colonial times when "island scholarships" were the thing.
Blacks are already zoned to ghetto schools so you not making sense. Do you think ppl from westmoorings etc go to malick or sec schools in Laventille? If they make the good scores then they would go to the prestigious school nearest to them. Why is this so difficult to understand.
You cannot bring down a prestigious school. It's either you are making the grades or you are not. If you aren't then you go down a level to a less prestigious one and the space that is open gives someone a chance to come up.
Numb3r4 wrote:Jake is killed by neighborhood thugs, and returns as a mystical figure (The Wraith) to gain revenge.
That's what I'm seeing being advertised to me. The Wraith.
Wraith King making an impression even on the advertisements being delivered/served.....
Anyone from Kamla's the school in the article Iere?
Dohplaydat wrote:Zoning will have unintentional effects and possibly lead us into a worse situation.
Picture this, Presentation is in Chaguanas. Chaguanas (except for Enterprise) is mainly indo. Zoning with consideration for grades will still ensure that the school gets mostly the best students.
Now if we do pure zoning, it will just change the best schools to those in the most affluent areas. Parents who are will now relocate to areas where schools are good (like in the US).
Schools that are good are going to be in mainly indo areas. So you're going to have even more segregation in the populace as indos will now move to those areas, keeping those schools black free and winning all the scholarships.
After all this, blacks will still be left behind, but possibly even more as many would-be zoned to 'ghetto' schools instead of providing the opportunity to go to a prestige school.
And if they do get zoned to a prestige school it reduces the quality of that school, and in a few years it no longer remains prestige.
Honestly, I like our system, the 20% is neither here nor there, but if they want to do something to improve upward mobility for the poor reduce or remove the concordat.
Wraith King wrote:Numb3r4 wrote:Jake is killed by neighborhood thugs, and returns as a mystical figure (The Wraith) to gain revenge.
That's what I'm seeing being advertised to me. The Wraith.
Wraith King making an impression even on the advertisements being delivered/served.....
Anyone from Kamla's the school in the article Iere?
I know some people who went there. Seems to be a decent school.
Redress10 wrote:The schools will not be "prestigious". Those kids will not be gifted*. They may simply be more academic and may have a greater course load than the lesser schools. It will be more work so it will be up to the parents and students to agree to this rigour. The system we have np is EVERYONE goes at the same speed. Whether you in Hilview or a Sen Sec you going through the same syllabus and learning the same thing.
Those schools may simply have more chemistry club...computer science club etc. But instead of those clubs being for "geeks" you realise that the entire school is sorta geekish. These schools would essentially be preparing students for university.
The schools are already 100% funded. The donations just allow some schools to get "extras".
Redress10 wrote:The schools will not be "prestigious". Those kids will not be gifted*. They may simply be more academic and may have a greater course load than the lesser schools. It will be more work so it will be up to the parents and students to agree to this rigour. The system we have np is EVERYONE goes at the same speed. Whether you in Hilview or a Sen Sec you going through the same syllabus and learning the same thing.
Those schools may simply have more chemistry club...computer science club etc. But instead of those clubs being for "geeks" you realise that the entire school is sorta geekish. These schools would essentially be preparing students for university.
The schools are already 100% funded. The donations just allow some schools to get "extras".
alfa wrote:Redress10 wrote:The schools will not be "prestigious". Those kids will not be gifted*. They may simply be more academic and may have a greater course load than the lesser schools. It will be more work so it will be up to the parents and students to agree to this rigour. The system we have np is EVERYONE goes at the same speed. Whether you in Hilview or a Sen Sec you going through the same syllabus and learning the same thing.
But they will still be writing the same CXC exam as the students in lesser schools. The entire examination system will have to be revamped for this to work
alfa wrote:Redress10 wrote:The schools will not be "prestigious". Those kids will not be gifted*. They may simply be more academic and may have a greater course load than the lesser schools. It will be more work so it will be up to the parents and students to agree to this rigour. The system we have np is EVERYONE goes at the same speed. Whether you in Hilview or a Sen Sec you going through the same syllabus and learning the same thing.
But they will still be writing the same CXC exam as the students in lesser schools. The entire examination system will have to be revamped for this to work
Gladiator wrote:Redress10 wrote:The schools will not be "prestigious". Those kids will not be gifted*. They may simply be more academic and may have a greater course load than the lesser schools. It will be more work so it will be up to the parents and students to agree to this rigour. The system we have np is EVERYONE goes at the same speed. Whether you in Hilview or a Sen Sec you going through the same syllabus and learning the same thing.
Actually you are quite wrong. The govt pays for salaries and some utilities. The religious bodies contribute quite a bit financially to the actual running of the schools.
Redress10 wrote:alfa wrote:Redress10 wrote:The schools will not be "prestigious". Those kids will not be gifted*. They may simply be more academic and may have a greater course load than the lesser schools. It will be more work so it will be up to the parents and students to agree to this rigour. The system we have np is EVERYONE goes at the same speed. Whether you in Hilview or a Sen Sec you going through the same syllabus and learning the same thing.
Not necessarily. CxC is caribbean examination council. Why are we tying our children's future and the future of our country to the rest of the caribbean. If the rest of the caribbean want to remain backward and slow then let them but it is up to us to direct and control our children's future. They may simply write the exams earlier. They may simply do an advanced version of the courses. If they are truly "gifted" then it's time we throw the whole kitchen sink at them and see if they can handle it. Let us challenge them.
Are we even discovering our academic "prodigies". Why are we so content with remaining with a slow and backward academic system. Revamp the facking thing and let us compete with the rest of the developed world. There are other academic systems that are more rigourous and demanding than ours. That is for a reason.
Redress10 wrote:Gladiator wrote:Redress10 wrote:The schools will not be "prestigious". Those kids will not be gifted*. They may simply be more academic and may have a greater course load than the lesser schools. It will be more work so it will be up to the parents and students to agree to this rigour. The system we have np is EVERYONE goes at the same speed. Whether you in Hilview or a Sen Sec you going through the same syllabus and learning the same thing.
Actually you are quite wrong. The govt pays for salaries and some utilities. The religious bodies contribute quite a bit financially to the actual running of the schools.
Apart from salaries and utilties, what else does a school need to keep running? The other things are essentially extras paid for by donations of the parents. So I don't know what point you are trying to prove.
If the religous schools already pay so much then let them also cover salaries and pay a commercial fee for utilities as well.
sMASH wrote:instead of tearing the excellent down to match the rest, why not lift the lower castes to meet the uppers?
if with the concordat u get success, leave it. take the other schools and mimic their patterns, train their staff to do similar things.
Redress10 wrote:sMASH wrote:instead of tearing the excellent down to match the rest, why not lift the lower castes to meet the uppers?
if with the concordat u get success, leave it. take the other schools and mimic their patterns, train their staff to do similar things.
And still fund religious schools? Why should they still be funded? What happens when you want to have curriculums that include topics such as abortions and sex ed? Do we do the same thing we have been doing over and over and trying to beat around the bush?
Why are we placing our nation's education future in the hands of denominational boards. Do these boards review yearly the state of the global economy and how our education system needs to constantly change to meet it? What research do they undertake to ensure the curriculum they teach is relevant. What is the catholic's board's view on artificial intelligence? What about homosexuality? One pope says it's a sin, the other pope says it's acceptable.
Why as a country we are not trying to have a clear line of seperation between the church and the state like every other developed nation. Let education be state led because it is the state that has to determine how our citizens develop for the future. The sole purpose of education is for your educated population to have a stronger economy and country. The religious boards are nothing more than custodians for the buildings. They don't determine education direction.
Religion is for the family and the household.
sMASH wrote:instead of tearing the excellent down to match the rest, why not lift the lower castes to meet the uppers?
alfa wrote:Redress10 wrote:sMASH wrote:instead of tearing the excellent down to match the rest, why not lift the lower castes to meet the uppers?
And still fund religious schools? Why should they still be funded? What happens when you want to have curriculums that include topics such as abortions and sex ed? Do we do the same thing we have been doing over and over and trying to beat around the bush?
Why are we placing our nation's education future in the hands of denominational boards. Do these boards review yearly the state of the global economy and how our education system needs to constantly change to meet it? What research do they undertake to ensure the curriculum they teach is relevant. What is the catholic's board's view on artificial intelligence? What about homosexuality? One pope says it's a sin, the other pope says it's acceptable.
Why as a country we are not trying to have a clear line of seperation between the church and the state like every other developed nation. Let education be state led because it is the state that has to determine how our citizens develop for the future. The sole purpose of education is for your educated population to have a stronger economy and country. The religious boards are nothing more than custodians for the buildings. They don't determine education direction.
Religion is for the family and the household.
And that's exactly why some parents prefer their children attend schools in line with their religious values
Redress10 wrote:The concordat is crap and needs to be abolished.
You all need to understand where these things come from in order to understand why they continue to damage our society. The religious schools were mainly instruments of the colonial powers so they mainly educated local whites and brits. When independence occured these people were simply replaced by the political class and the new wealthy class. But the problem is it remained funded by the state. What this means is that the state is segregating the nation along wealth and class whilst using taxpayers money to fund this. This is neither equitable nor fair.
The 20% is not a draft whereby the principles get a shot at recruiting the best and brightest minds of their country by offering scholarships etc. The 20% is to ensure that those with links always have a place inside. This simply results in less social mobility options for the poor ones who require educational opportunities to get ahead. There are alot of poor and talented students who are placed in less prestigious schools who now have to fight even more obstacles in order to educate themselves and pull themselves out of poverty.
Abolish the concordat and give Gov't complete control of the education system. Make placements based solely on merit and zoning. If religious schools want to keep operating then they need to pay for their upkeep. I think the richer families could send their children to anyone of the numerous pay schools that exists. Mlst of them already do it once they pass the age of 16.
teems1 wrote:sMASH wrote:instead of tearing the excellent down to match the rest, why not lift the lower castes to meet the uppers?
You can either believe 1 of the 2. They can't coexist.
A rising tide raises all ships.
One rotten apple ruins the barrel.
This isn't something impersonal where you can claim "Government needs to spend taxes more wisely etc".
This directly affects your child, hence it's easier to make the decision to separate the chaff from the wheat.
sMASH wrote:teems1 wrote:sMASH wrote:instead of tearing the excellent down to match the rest, why not lift the lower castes to meet the uppers?
You can either believe 1 of the 2. They can't coexist.
A rising tide raises all ships.
One rotten apple ruins the barrel.
This isn't something impersonal where you can claim "Government needs to spend taxes more wisely etc".
This directly affects your child, hence it's easier to make the decision to separate the chaff from the wheat.
in this case, its a waning tide will sink most boats. u know how hard it woudl be for a student to study in a school of baboons..
birds of a feather, and some children only need to go to school for academics, they dont really care to or need to mix down.
yes its classist, but it produces results. if the govt wnats better schools, work on the poor performing ones, leff the good performers alone.
allyuh people want to hit one wheel hub with a sledge to get both side making noise, equally.
get rid of the concordat, u will get some going totally private, and then u will really see the divide getting wider.
Lou Screuz wrote:Redress10 wrote:The concordat is crap and needs to be abolished.
You all need to understand where these things come from in order to understand why they continue to damage our society. The religious schools were mainly instruments of the colonial powers so they mainly educated local whites and brits. When independence occured these people were simply replaced by the political class and the new wealthy class. But the problem is it remained funded by the state. What this means is that the state is segregating the nation along wealth and class whilst using taxpayers money to fund this. This is neither equitable nor fair.
The 20% is not a draft whereby the principles get a shot at recruiting the best and brightest minds of their country by offering scholarships etc. The 20% is to ensure that those with links always have a place inside. This simply results in less social mobility options for the poor ones who require educational opportunities to get ahead. There are alot of poor and talented students who are placed in less prestigious schools who now have to fight even more obstacles in order to educate themselves and pull themselves out of poverty.
Abolish the concordat and give Gov't complete control of the education system. Make placements based solely on merit and zoning. If religious schools want to keep operating then they need to pay for their upkeep. I think the richer families could send their children to anyone of the numerous pay schools that exists. Mlst of them already do it once they pass the age of 16.
really ?
you really think that with complete control of the education system in the hands of the government
in sweet sweet T and T
in pnm country![]()
that the placements will be based solely on merit ?
that all schools
in all areas
will be treated the same ?
like with road upkeep and social services ?![]()
dont worry
based on your above post - and the others in this thread
i know what you are really about
and what alyou agenda is
i went uwi with alyou
i can also say with certainty
that you have not one clue about how denominational schools are run![]()
o and with that 20% thing ?
many many poor people get a chance - they never would have gotten otherwise because of it
so try againsMASH wrote:instead of tearing the excellent down to match the rest, why not lift the lower castes to meet the uppers?
the agenda is not to lift up everybody
the agenda is total control
the only religion they want is the religion of government
these are the same people who say things like
and i am quoting here
"...we need to look towards our heroes - Chavez, Castro, Guevara, Khomeni and Mao...."
and
"Sat maraj is dead - the government should seize the maha sabha schools"
yes i sit down and listen to those debates by SAC with alyou![]()
i know what you evil frauds are about and what you really want for this country