HAIRSTYLE ROW: Mom threatens legal action against school

Re: HAIRSTYLE ROW: Mom threatens legal action against school

Postby Dizzy28 » October 11th, 2019, 12:12 pm

matix wrote:St. Stephen’s has rules and they’re enforced. If you can’t follow the rules then leave. Quite simple.

All this beat up for a 2nd tier school

Postby bluefete » October 11th, 2019, 12:39 pm

Holy Name Convent had rules too and we all saw how that turned out with the hijab.

Postby zoom rader » October 11th, 2019, 1:22 pm

matix wrote:St. Stephen’s has rules and they’re enforced. If you can’t follow the rules then leave. Quite simple.

Eh no, St Stevens happens to be one of the best schools in South.

Postby bluefete » October 11th, 2019, 1:37 pm

Tell them Zoomie. They prolly never went to school past the lighthouse.

Postby timelapse » October 11th, 2019, 2:17 pm

88sins wrote:timelapse, sip a cold mauby and cool yuh herbs.
nobody saying to do away with all rules or traditions. problem is that some of the archaic colonial rules we hang onto are arbitrary and causative of conflict, often making ppl not realize their mistake in thinking that mole hills are actually mountains.

a hairstyle is an expression of one's self, as well as a means of boosting one's own confidence and sense of self esteem by feeling good about the way one looks. And that self esteem is very important in more ways than one. Particularly when it comes to the individuals drive for success. If you take a good long hard look at all the innovators and their achievements and their personalities, you will notice that they all have something in common, a sense of self worth and the determination to succeed. This fixation on absolute conformity in situations where in truth it serves no greater purpose than as a means of castigation for those that might want to be free thinkers leads to the mass production of mindless automated conformist drones, and we will eventually end up a nation of mindless sheep only good for doing what we're told when we're told, obeying obliviously, not even having a clear clue as to think if to ask why is an option.

What you need to ask yourself is two things.
1-What would you say if your PM decided today that EVERYONE in T&T MUST sport a bald patch to be considered good Trinis, regardless of race, religion, gender, age, or whether they have misgivings about it or not, or a full head of hair or not, and if you don't have your head bald and shiny at all times you can be subjected to whatever penalty he deems fitting.
2-What real tangible physical damage or harm would the childs hair be doing to her self, the school, the teaching staff, or her fellow students if she were left to express herself by the hairstyle in question?

some things ain't worth studying, and this hairstyle nonsense is one of those things.

My issue is not the hairstyle or whatever it represents.My issue is that the person is breaking a simple school rule that could otherwise be avoided.Its a personal preference.Nowadays, people are equating personal preferences to rights. The lesson being taught is that there is no consequence for your actions.If you want a rule changed, go through the proper way of getting a rule changed instead of breaking it.

Postby nemisis » October 11th, 2019, 3:23 pm

Protest is a valid way of soliciting change, what she doing can be considered that!!! "If you want a rule changed, go through the proper way of getting a rule changed instead of breaking it."@timelapse

Postby 88sins » October 11th, 2019, 3:27 pm

I can appreciate your point. But remember.
In the USA it was a rule that black people could not sit on a bus if whites had to stand and blacks were relegated to the back of the bus. That is until one person decided she wasn't going to conform to the so called rules.

Sometimes the best way to effect change is not only to just rock the boat. Sometimes if the change one wants is really badly needed one might just have to capsize the dinghy after setting off a grenade in it.

Postby De Dragon » October 11th, 2019, 3:36 pm

These dummies believe only in Naps, Pres and Benedict's. They don't know about St. Stephens.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 28th, 2023, 11:31 am

I see yesterday Trinity College in Moka made some kids stay outside of their graduation ceremony because of what was deemed inappropriate hairstyle. The Minister of Education issued a statement in relation to such.
Capture.JPG

Lots of commenters saying its Racism.

What I cannot understand though..the school has an African principal and is under the Anglican Church which is one of the more Afrocentric churches in Trinidad with 73% of its followers being African according to the last census. The hair policy is stupid but is it Racism? ?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 28th, 2023, 11:35 am

Dizzy28 wrote:I see yesterday Trinity College in Moka made some kids stay outside of their graduation ceremony because of what was deemed inappropriate hairstyle. The Minister of Education issued a statement in relation to such.
Capture.JPG

What I cannot understand though..the school has an African principal and is under the Anglican Church which is one of the more Afrocentric churches in Trinidad with 73% of its followers being African according to the last census. The hair policy is stupid but is it Racism? ?

Hairstyles in question
IMG-20230627-WA0652.jpg

Postby alfa » June 28th, 2023, 11:35 am

Dizzy28 wrote:I see yesterday Trinity College in Moka made some kids stay outside of their graduation ceremony because of what was deemed inappropriate hairstyle. The Minister of Education issued a statement in relation to such.
Capture.JPG

Could be racism without them even realizing it. It may be so ingrained in them to do things a particular way that they're telling themselves it can't be racist cuz we is black folks to. But society may see it quite differently

Postby Gladiator » June 28th, 2023, 11:35 am

Capture.JPG

Its not racism.... its called "wokeness" apparently

Postby adnj » June 28th, 2023, 12:20 pm

Postby maj. tom » June 28th, 2023, 2:13 pm

When we grew up and went to school
There were certain teachers who would
Hurt the children in any way they could.

By pouring their derision
Upon anything we did
And exposing every weakness
However carefully hidden by the kids.

But in the town, it was well known
When they [the headmaster] got home at night, their fat and
Psychopathic wives would thrash them
Within inches of their lives.

Postby bluefete » June 28th, 2023, 2:22 pm

So these fellers grew this hairstyle between writing exams and graduating?

It seems to me that they were allowed to attend school with no issues on their hairstyle and some would have had it in plaits for a long time.

Why discriminate at graduation? Something is very wrong here.

Colonialism at its best!

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » June 28th, 2023, 2:50 pm

Capture.JPG

Internalized racism is a thing.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Internalized_racism

Postby Chimera » June 28th, 2023, 3:08 pm

bluefete wrote:So these fellers grew this hairstyle between writing exams and graduating?

It seems to me that they were allowed to attend school with no issues on their hairstyle and some would have had it in plaits for a long time.

Colonialism at its best!

this is the kind of thing you and your crew should be fighting against

not the LGBTQABCXYZ community

Postby nervewrecker » June 28th, 2023, 5:29 pm

maj. tom wrote:When we grew up and went to school
There were certain teachers who would
Hurt the children in any way they could.

By pouring their derision
Upon anything we did
And exposing every weakness
However carefully hidden by the kids.

But in the town, it was well known
When they [the headmaster] got home at night, their fat and
Psychopathic wives would thrash them
Within inches of their lives.
It's not only in schools, it's everywhere you go.

Some men want to come play macho man for other men but when they go home if they so much as breathe too hard the wife on them. That's why they prefer to work and not stay home.

Postby adnj » June 28th, 2023, 6:31 pm

Hair racism is everywhere. /s

https://trinityhigh.com/parents/uniform/
Last edited by adnj on June 28th, 2023, 9:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby paid_influencer » June 28th, 2023, 9:15 pm

Capture.JPG

yea it is racism. no way to defend that policy and even the MoE issuing a press release saying 'rules is rules' is plain dotishness. the kids should have been given an unreserved apology by the MoE and the principal should be sent on a multicultural sensitivity training course.

Wanting equity in society is social justice. It is not 'wokeness.'

Now why a principal who is a Trinidadian of African descent would make a decision like that is curious. I am no political scientist, but I can speculate.

One point is that not all Trinidadians of african descent fall in the same social grouping. A long time ago I read Kirk Meighoo's book, Politics in a Half-Made Society. One of the ideas of the book was that politics on the island is viewed simplistically as Afro vs Indo by the media, but in reality there are several social groupings that make up the voting population. Persons in the Hindu heartland are a different social group than say the San Fernando Presbyterians, for instance, despite all being the same race. These several different social groups have different social values and have a different voting patterns.

We can look now without the racial lens and see other groupings. We have social groupings by religion -- such as the Catholics and, relevant for this case, the Anglicans. They have a separate history, separate values, from other groupings. There is a grouping that in African ethnocentric social consciousness -- people lead by, for instance, Kambon who daily wear african ethnic wear and are calling for reparations. The religious groupings and the afrocentric group are the same "race," but different social groups with different social history and values.

Now it is important to realize even for within the PNM there is contention for identity. The PNM's modus operandi, from the days of Eric Williams, was to coalesce all these groups into one identity. One PNM-defined national identity that would support the agenda of Eric Williams and his nascent island state. The clear evidence of that was the speech where Williams said "There must be no Mother India, No Mother Africa... Only Mother Trinidad."

And he generally succeeded. Ethnic consciousness never generally took off in Trinidad, in large part because it would represent a potential challenge to the authority and dominance of PNM stewardship. For the best, imo, but that is as aside.

The counter of that is we we get these sometimes weird situations where persons act according to their social grouping and values, even when it really should not make sense.

I draw back to when a PNM government minister glowed about her European last name while ridiculing Sushila's ethnic name. Same thing happening here, where an Anglican principal is putting students with ethnic hairstyles outside the school.

Ethnic is bad, conservative is good, because conservatism and servility to authority is the values system. People like me telling everybody about social justice getting shut down because none of the powers that be want it that way. I too woke. I too extreme. We have always been ruled by the rich, nobody want to hear that. Kamla nighty. now that is interesting. tell we about that Keith. tell we about sushila nighty

HAIRSTYLE ROW: Mom threatens legal action against school

Postby MaxPower » June 28th, 2023, 9:32 pm

Friends,

Is it racist to relate the hairstyles of these young men to that of thugs?

When i see the many videos of crime….the criminals have these exact hairstyles.

Anyways, i guess that doesnt say anything right? A young man can have these hairstyles and also be the most respectable and proper gentleman. It should be well groomed and hygienic….the thugs for some reason have an unpleasant body and hair odor.

Postby alfa » June 28th, 2023, 9:41 pm

MaxPower wrote:Friends,

Anyways, i guess that doesnt say anything right? A young man can have these hairstyles and also be the most respectable and proper gentleman. It should be well groomed and hygienic….the thugs for some reason have an unpleasant body and hair odor.

How you getting close enough to thugs to smell their hair :shock:

Postby MaxPower » June 28th, 2023, 9:54 pm

alfa wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Friends,

How you getting close enough to thugs to smell their hair :shock:

Not me, many members of the police service can agree in their interactions/altercations.

Answer the question na alfy

Skanky

Postby Skanky » June 29th, 2023, 7:34 am

If only the parents were as concerned with what’s in their children’s heads as opposed to what’s on it.

Postby Les Bain » June 29th, 2023, 7:46 am

bluefete wrote:So these fellers grew this hairstyle between writing exams and graduating?

Colonialism at its best!

The high school staff in my time used to say they gave you enough rope to hang yourself. True this country kept many colonial fetters in place post independence but the big question should be why many of those fetters still in place.

Less important question is what sort of students were those hairstyle rocking fellas banned from the grad ceremony: performers or force ripe underachievers?

Postby Dave » June 29th, 2023, 7:56 am

In a few months, let the Csec grade slips tell us.

Les Bain wrote:

Colonialism at its best!

The high school staff in my time used to say they gave you enough rope to hang yourself. True this country kept many colonial fetters in place post independence but the big question should be why many of those fetters still in place.

Less important question is what sort of students were those hairstyle rocking fellas banned from the grad ceremony: performers or force ripe underachievers?

Postby MaxPower » June 29th, 2023, 9:28 am

Skanky wrote:If only the parents were as concerned with what’s in their children’s heads as opposed to what’s on it.

X3000

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 29th, 2023, 9:57 am

Failure by both the parents and the school.

If the school has rules about hairstyles, and the parents did not abide by the rules over the course of the students stay at the school - failure.

If the school did not enforce their own rules during the students time at their desks, they should not conveniently apply rules for graduation. Failure

trendy hairstyle is a rite of passage for puberty and teenage rebellion, boys will have that and push the envelope as far as they can. It's not their fault that the system failed them and their parents too.

This is just symptomatic of Trinidad's culture of rules and laws. We all break it (speeding, tint, a plethora of MVRTA violations as the norm), but when they conveniently enforce it we have an issue. Same failure on both sides.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 29th, 2023, 9:57 am

Failure by both the parents and the school.

If the school has rules about hairstyles, and the parents did not abide by the rules over the course of the students stay at the school - failure.

If the school did not enforce their own rules during the students time at their desks, they should not conveniently apply rules for graduation. Failure

trendy hairstyle is a rite of passage for puberty and teenage rebellion, boys will have that and push the envelope as far as they can. It's not their fault that the system failed them and their parents too.

This is just symptomatic of Trinidad's culture of rules and laws. We all break it (speeding, tint, a plethora of MVRTA violations as the norm), but when they conveniently enforce it we have an issue. Same failure on both sides.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » June 29th, 2023, 10:34 am

Had this been a perceived "indian school " then all protest would have been in full swing by African parents, African pressure groups and the PNM