Gov't lost $350m from tax waivers on hybrid vehicles

Re: Gov't lost $350m from tax waivers on hybrid vehicles

Postby Rovin » September 29th, 2020, 6:25 pm

allyuh ever watch d SOUTHPARK hybrid vehicles episode a few yrs ago ...

Postby redmanjp » October 12th, 2020, 2:16 pm

maj. tom wrote:Hybrid cars in Trinidad right now do not help go green in the bigger picture. All it does it increase fuel economy which is good for the consumer's pocket. And that's why I have one, the end. But the big picture of global pollution is much worse than a carbon footprint for hybrid cars. The mining for rare earth metals industry is extremely polluting to the environment. There is much more shipping pollution involved. Here are 3 points to consider:

First of all to understand why the Toyota Prius gets such good gas mileage we must discuss how it works. As you probably already know the Toyota Prius is a plug-in Hybrid, which means that it has a tiny little 1.5 liter engine, a small electric motor, and of course some batteries.

Now this is where it gets interesting, because to make these batteries they must first go to Canada and mine rare-earth materials such as lithium. After which, the Lithium is shipped off to China were it is turned into a battery pack along with its electric motor counterpart. Once the battery is finished; it is course sent to the factory in Japan where all the parts come together. Then, the little Toyota is shipped across the world.

A​s you may have probably noticed the amount of pollution which this little car has already created is so great that even Toyota admits that the Prius is a bit of a polluter during its production.

N​ow at this point you may be saying well that's alright because my little fuel efficient Prius will make it all up on the road.

T​his is where I get to the second issue, because while the Toyota uses up less fuel than your average family car we must understand where its energy comes from. Because, the only reason the Prius gets good gas mileage is because of its battery. Unfortunately, however, the battery gets its energy from mostly non eco-friendly sources; because whether you plug it in or just use the engine to top it off you are still getting your electricity from fossil fuels. This problem, however, cannot be said for all hybrid/electric cars because many EV chargers, such as Tesla superchargers use a lot of solar power to reduce the carbon footprint of their vehicles.

N​ow, the third and final issue is more subjective, because yes the Toyota Prius does do well on gas, but only when you aren't pushing it. Simply because if you take a car such as the BMW M3 and put it against a car like the Toyota Prius on a track the Prius would use more fuel. This is down to the fact that the M3 has to use less of its power while the Toyota has to use all of its measly power while staying in the redline for longer.
https://drivetribe.com/p/the-toyota-pri ... 7WdQ4rKTsg

in the budget they did mention the introduction of a solar plant

Postby j.o.e » October 12th, 2020, 2:34 pm

In my opinion we should be pushing towards full electric vehicles. Allow a tax break or some waiver on full electric vehicles. Since these are typically more expensive than ICE vehicles it won’t make them cheap but bring them I. Line with regular car prices
Offer tax breaks for businesses that facilitate charging in car parks ... think malls, groceries and even private sector employers. Businesses will use this as a competitive advantage since I’ll shop where I can charge my car
Government promotion campaign of savings, environmental benefit and lowered maintenance costs. People will always buy vehicles might as well get them to buy vehicles that we don’t need to import fuel to run.

Postby Redman » October 12th, 2020, 4:51 pm

We should have a clear view on what we doing in terms of generating electricity, and as a derivative of that policy...map out the policy for EV.

It wouldn’t do to push the conversion and then remove subsidies on electricity.

People need to have transparency on that before making the switch.

Postby Ben_spanna » October 12th, 2020, 9:10 pm

j.o.e wrote:In my opinion we should be pushing towards full electric vehicles. Allow a tax break or some waiver on full electric vehicles. Since these are typically more expensive than ICE vehicles it won’t make them cheap but bring them I. Line with regular car prices
Offer tax breaks for businesses that facilitate charging in car parks ... think malls, groceries and even private sector employers. Businesses will use this as a competitive advantage since I’ll shop where I can charge my car
Government promotion campaign of savings, environmental benefit and lowered maintenance costs. People will always buy vehicles might as well get them to buy vehicles that we don’t need to import fuel to run.

Now I know there are exemptions on hybrid cars up to 1600cc I believe, but as of the 20th there will be no more exemptions, but what are the current exemptions on full electric?
Does give plan to change taxing on full electric? How will they calculate or classify what vehicle size engine/motor has what rates of taxation to pay.
I still find out government is. Jacvka55 - the whole world is moving forward to reduce emissions and go green and here we are taxing people who want to make a difference.

Postby redmanjp » October 12th, 2020, 9:17 pm

the Govt can kill 2 bird with 1 stone - tax ICE vehicles while continuing to give tax breaks on hybrids/electric. they will both earn money on the ICE tax as well as encourage ppl to switch to cleaner options

some countries are already banning ICE vehicles

Postby Redman » October 13th, 2020, 6:34 pm

Charging where?

They making the same mistake as they did with cng.....you expect people to change to ev without clarity of a proper policy and limited supply chain.

Until I can get recharged with the same ease that I can fill up....I run the risk of running out of charge on my commute home.

Besides the other issues that ev have.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 13th, 2020, 6:38 pm

Just charge at home . Once the range over 250 Miles there will be no need for chargers on the road. Trinidad is a small country

Redman wrote:Charging where?

They making the same mistake as they did with cng.....you expect people to change to ev without clarity of a proper policy and limited supply chain.

Until I can get recharged with the same ease that I can fill up....I run the risk of running out of charge on my commute home.

Besides the other issues that ev have.

Postby Redman » October 13th, 2020, 6:49 pm

And we all have the ability to recharge at home.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 13th, 2020, 7:02 pm

Those who have buy

Those who so not doh buy

My only problem is the only one on offer by traditional dealers is the ioniq with a range of 150 miles which for me is not enough
Redman wrote:And we all have the ability to recharge at home.

Postby Redman » October 13th, 2020, 7:09 pm

Well there we are- there is a disconnect between the realities here.

And we KNOW that the subsidy on Electricity will disappear.
Do we wait?

ETA that 100% of our energy is hydrocarbon based.

So ALL our energy-and revenue, and the subsidies are on the same price cycles.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 14th, 2020, 5:52 pm

How expensive would it be to charge your electric vehicle at home?

Especially in light of an increase in rates.

Postby st7 » October 14th, 2020, 6:05 pm

as far as i know/heard, the ioniq EV is about $18 per full charge

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 14th, 2020, 6:41 pm

Yep that's what I heard even if the price were to triple would still be cheap
st7 wrote:as far as i know/heard, the ioniq EV is about $18 per full charge

rebound

Postby rebound » October 14th, 2020, 7:00 pm

Thr new Gas Station at the Couva Interchange would have EV Stations and thats a good midpoint location along the highway

Postby Redman » October 14th, 2020, 7:09 pm

How fast is a full charge?

I don’t see anyone coming out of POS and then stopping for 10,15,20 30 min to charge a car.

How about heading to work?

Postby j.o.e » October 14th, 2020, 7:18 pm

Redman wrote:How fast is a full charge?

I don’t see anyone coming out of POS and then stopping for 10,15,20 30 min to charge a car.

How about heading to work?

Charge your car in the night like if it’s your cellphone. 150 miles which is the worst of electric range is still more than enough for trinidad

Postby maj. tom » October 14th, 2020, 7:32 pm

Look a charging calculator https://evcompare.io/cars/hyundai/

Postby redmanjp » October 14th, 2020, 9:15 pm

i think those chargers would be fast chargers but would be intended to just give u a topup to get you home 1-2 times but the most charging should be done at home

Postby Ben_spanna » October 16th, 2020, 10:52 am

Im waiting for a nice hybrid or full electric PICKUP, then ill get one for Trinidads roads!

Postby redmanjp » October 19th, 2020, 3:05 pm

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/new-taxes-on-vehicles-to-start-january-2021-6.2.1236512.e8f18ccfbb

New taxes on vehicles to start January 2021

1 hour ago
Mon Oct 19 2020

The Ministry of Finance has confirmed that the proposed increase of taxes and import duty on certain private motor cars—namely, certain smaller engine CNG, electric and hybrid cars—which were announced in the 2021 Budget Statement, will now be applicable from January 1st, 2021.

An official statement from the Ministry reports that the decision to postpone applying the new measures was taken at the last week’s Cabinet meeting.

“This means that all private motor cars that are imported and cleared through Customs on or before December 31st, 2020 will therefore be taxed and/or be subject to import duty at existing rates and/or enjoy the existing tax and import duty exemptions,” the release from the Ministry explains.

In addition, new rates of tax and import duty on the cars in question will take effect on January 1st, 2021.

The Ministry reports as well that Cabinet also decided that the reduction in the permissible age of imported foreign used cars to three (3) years, will take effect in January 2021.

Postby hover11 » November 12th, 2020, 7:37 pm

Headache for them roro dealers that was bussing price on men, don't feel sorry for them at all tbh
redmanjp wrote:https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/new-taxes-on-vehicles-to-start-january-2021-6.2.1236512.e8f18ccfbb

1 hour ago
Mon Oct 19 2020

The Ministry of Finance has confirmed that the proposed increase of taxes and import duty on certain private motor cars—namely, certain smaller engine CNG, electric and hybrid cars—which were announced in the 2021 Budget Statement, will now be applicable from January 1st, 2021.

An official statement from the Ministry reports that the decision to postpone applying the new measures was taken at the last week’s Cabinet meeting.

“This means that all private motor cars that are imported and cleared through Customs on or before December 31st, 2020 will therefore be taxed and/or be subject to import duty at existing rates and/or enjoy the existing tax and import duty exemptions,” the release from the Ministry explains.

In addition, new rates of tax and import duty on the cars in question will take effect on January 1st, 2021.

The Ministry reports as well that Cabinet also decided that the reduction in the permissible age of imported foreign used cars to three (3) years, will take effect in January 2021.

Postby Mark! » November 17th, 2020, 11:50 am

hover11 wrote:Headache for them roro dealers that was bussing price on men, don't feel sorry for them at all tbh
redmanjp wrote:https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/new-taxes-on-vehicles-to-start-january-2021-6.2.1236512.e8f18ccfbb

1 hour ago
Mon Oct 19 2020

You sound sours like a Pakistani out smart you and take your money.

Dealers wont will be the ones suffering suffering pal

death365

Postby death365 » November 17th, 2020, 12:04 pm

in d simplest form what will happen is , what ever the cost of bringing the vehicle in the dealer will just add the 10 - 15 k mark up.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 17th, 2020, 12:12 pm

death365 wrote:in d simplest form what will happen is , what ever the cost of bringing the vehicle in the dealer will just add the 10 - 15 k mark up.

some dealers jumped ahead and added 30-50k :shock:

Postby hover11 » November 17th, 2020, 12:23 pm

Thank you and ppl will eventually realize is best they bring in the cars themselves or simply go new...me I brought in my own car which dealers are selling for 170 to 190 got it for 115k lol , no taxes on these vehicles for now btw
VexXx Dogg wrote:
death365 wrote:in d simplest form what will happen is , what ever the cost of bringing the vehicle in the dealer will just add the 10 - 15 k mark up.

some dealers jumped ahead and added 30-50k :shock:

Postby hover11 » November 17th, 2020, 12:26 pm

If no one buys their overpriced old cars then yea they will suffer
Mark! wrote:
hover11 wrote:Headache for them roro dealers that was bussing price on men, don't feel sorry for them at all tbh

1 hour ago
Mon Oct 19 2020

You sound sours like a Pakistani out smart you and take your money.

Dealers wont will be the ones suffering suffering pal