Is carnival about showing off your money now?

ProtonPowder

Re: Is carnival about showing off your money now?

Postby ProtonPowder » March 3rd, 2019, 12:45 pm

zoom rader wrote:All who love carnival then go jump up in Harts band and feel welcome.

Carnival is racist as fvck.

I mean if you hide from the sun long enough and watch disney channel until you believe your nipples turn pink then it might work.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » March 3rd, 2019, 1:43 pm

OP you trying to tell me how to live my life with d money I EARN??... it is not your money spending behind these expensive fetes and band playing enno.. to each man his own.. if i want to spend my money and go fete daz my business G!! so what if I spend about 4k fete'in.. you probably living a boring life working a 9-5

I feel you juss come here to ramble to feel some kinda validation for yourself because it seems to me like you have never been with other women besides your wife.. like you met her in church and then decided to get married thus you have no experience...

We all have sexual urges and if ah feel like going ah party, picking up a woman then sweating her out what that have to do with you G?? my intentions still cleaner than them pastors/priests that you look up to for assurance

Postby zoom rader » March 3rd, 2019, 2:55 pm

Òp

Carnival = churches

Churches are about who has the most money and bling.

Hot carnival women are the same women you see taking communion.

Postby matr1x » March 3rd, 2019, 4:49 pm

This is courtship season....wine on the bam bam

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » March 3rd, 2019, 5:15 pm

Nobody cares mfr... Wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine, we like it.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » March 3rd, 2019, 5:31 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Let's remember class and money are closely related.

In the past typically class was on show, now with money you can use that to "buy up" and show off, you don't always play mas for the culture or the art form per se, but to prove that you were part of a a specific "class", by being part of a particular experience you prove something about yourself (what specifically is up to you I guess), to society.

not so much class as it is classification, ie a specific grouping society. So I believe you meant to say that money and elitism are closely related. True, that with enough money a person can gain the acceptance and alliances of others of similar wealth easier than they would if they were not wealthy.
But one thing we all should never forget...

the so-called elite know full well that without the average people who are outside their little circle, they can't call themselves the elite. and that if it weren't for the working class people they would never have amassed what they have. many of them in very subtle ways will try to make the average person think they the wealthy are superior and everyone else is inferior (& some will discard such subtlety entirely).
There was always a degree of elitism in Carnival that got displayed every year, even from the beginning. The only difference today is that more people of modest means are temporarily buying their way into it by means of savings or borrowings, even if they really could easily find better use for those resources.

Correct "class" as in societal classification.

FordeG

Postby FordeG » March 3rd, 2019, 6:15 pm

Zetski wrote:OP you trying to tell me how to live my life with d money I EARN??... it is not your money spending behind these expensive fetes and band playing enno.. to each man his own.. if i want to spend my money and go fete daz my business G!! so what if I spend about 4k fete'in.. you probably living a boring life working a 9-5

I feel you juss come here to ramble to feel some kinda validation for yourself because it seems to me like you have never been with other women besides your wife.. like you met her in church and then decided to get married thus you have no experience...

We all have sexual urges and if ah feel like going ah party, picking up a woman then sweating her out what that have to do with you G?? my intentions still cleaner than them pastors/priests that you look up to for assurance

I'm trying to say Carnival has turned into a festival of who can bling out the most and go to the most fetes. I honestly don't care what people spend their money on, I'm just stating the obvious. Something, very few of you have admitted.

You all trying to make parallels to church. Yes many church members have the same attitude, it's human nature and it's equally as bad as carnival. If it bothers you, make your own thread.

The reason carnival triggered me is because Im over hearing the office gossip, people continuously make carnival about money and class. Mako'ing what fetes other people going to, who playing frontline etc. It's disgusting to see this type of spectacle.

Postby MaxPower » March 3rd, 2019, 6:25 pm

OP,

Can i ask your occupation?

Please be honest.

FordeG

Postby FordeG » March 3rd, 2019, 6:41 pm

MaxPower wrote:OP,

Please be honest.

Operations manager in a large company. I'm in my early 50s, not in a small church or a overly zealous Christian denomination. I just happen to be one of the few who doesn't fall for this carnival charade.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 3rd, 2019, 6:55 pm

Mid life crisis in yuh mc

Postby Kenjo » March 3rd, 2019, 7:03 pm

FordeG wrote:

Please be honest.

Operations manager in a large company. I'm in my early 50s, not in a small church or a overly zealous Christian denomination. I just happen to be one of the few who doesn't fall for this carnival charade.

Do you have children . For that age it’s kind of late to be worrying about something as frivolous as other people’s business

Postby zoom rader » March 3rd, 2019, 7:40 pm

FordeG wrote:

Please be honest.

OP duh study dem, I guess by now you saved and invested your money wisely.
You probably have an abundance of spending power. Don't get conned by the church. Stay away from office gossip, it's for lil imps.

So bro spend some of the that cash and travel the world (not USA).

I could not give two chits about Carnival. Who wants to bling let them the banks and 1% will be most happy.

Postby De Dragon » March 3rd, 2019, 9:30 pm

Still sounds like the OP have a hang up about something Carnival related. I mean we all know you disapprove, but you're really overstating said disapproval. For a mature man in mid life to be overly concerned about what happens for two days, while ignoring the arseness that happens for the next 363, is folly.

Postby matr1x » March 3rd, 2019, 9:55 pm

Pastors does be nailing the best of the congregation normal normal.

Op in for a shock. The church girl he want to go on a missionary with....done do missionary 30 times before.

Facts of life bro

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 3rd, 2019, 11:16 pm

OP dislikes the new hires at the company. Young pretty girls tend to do that to people.

Postby RedVEVO » March 3rd, 2019, 11:26 pm

OP need to wake up and go on a missionary mission .

Postby matr1x » March 4th, 2019, 12:08 am

Maybe op is a girl?

Postby 88sins » March 4th, 2019, 1:33 am

FordeG wrote:
I'm trying to say Carnival has turned into a festival of who can bling out the most and go to the most fetes. I honestly don't care what people spend their money on, I'm just stating the obvious. Something, very few of you have admitted

You all trying to make parallels to church. Yes many church members have the same attitude, it's human nature and it's equally as bad as carnival. If it bothers you, make your own thread.

The reason carnival triggered me is because Im over hearing the office gossip, people continuously make carnival about money and class. Mako'ing what fetes other people going to, who playing frontline etc. It's disgusting to see this type of spectacle.

oo Captain Obvious, now, I got a few questions for you.
1 - do you really think that you were the only one that observed this phenomenon?
2 - For a person supposedly an operations manager in their 50's with a wife and kids & deeply religious, you really have nothing better to do than maco who going where and spending what at your place of employment?
3 - So, since you don't like that people display such extravagant spending for Carnival, what do business is it of yours how much they spend or where they spend it?
4 - I asked you a question, that up to now you can't answer. Question being, if you were to buy an extravagant gift for your wife and kids because you can afford to, would it then be ok for some random person to tell you that you shouldn't do that or that it's not ok to do that simply because it's too extravagant?

I told you before, and I reiterate.
If you want something to mind, buy two yard fowl and mind that. That go pay you more dividends than what you doing now, which is basically minding ppl business and bellyaching about it.

L'Audi

Postby L'Audi » March 4th, 2019, 10:04 am

OP coveting the man wife.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » March 4th, 2019, 11:31 am

I was really interested in this topic, but from more of a cultural perspective in that if carnival is really only about money and/or its expression at a personal level then can we really claim it as a national festival? As we've seen from what everyone has told the OP the individual has a right to spend their money as they choose, that being said Carnival is just an individual choice not a national one. It just so happens that a large number of individuals celebrate it together it is not necessarily an indication of any greater national "collectiveness".

Also from a cultural perspective one could ask does this really reflect our national or any part of our historical, cultural and subsequent development, it might me the product of it but does it do any thing to further it or promote it in a more wholesome view.

We claim it is an artistic endeavour, but would we teach this as art? Also we know that art is a notoriously non-profit endeavour (not saying that it can't be for profit but....) done out of love and expression for something "greater", so then why even bother with trying to make a profit at all, it would be better to just produce a product that has mass appeal and of some greater substance, profit be damned.

However if carnival is all about money then effectively it has "sold out" as a cultural event and ceases to be art.

All this might just point to the fact that not even Trinbagonians know what mas is to them(selves) so they can't even properly communicate it to the world.

Postby eliteauto » March 4th, 2019, 4:49 pm

Is all that high science, deep thought and musings does go into whether you like to wine on a bumsee or not?

Postby zoom rader » March 4th, 2019, 4:58 pm

Op doh take dem on bro.

Stay in church

Postby rspann » March 4th, 2019, 5:51 pm

Good advice .

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » March 4th, 2019, 11:22 pm

eliteauto wrote:Is all that high science, deep thought and musings does go into whether you like to wine on a bumsee or not?

Yes winin' on a bumsee is a spiritual/philosophical experience.

It means giving on oneself, and surrendering to a larger (waist) high power, one that can engulf and possibly floor if you are not careful, or unprepared or are uninitiated, baptism can lead to back injury.

Just being in close proximity to one may be cause for excitement and wonder, or on the flip side crippling doubt and feelings of insignificance. I want to reach out, what joys can be had, but wait can I handle it????

These are the questions, that is why men drink, the alcohol lowers their inhibition, they are free of the mental chains of higher thought, free to simply act (on said bumsee).

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 5th, 2019, 11:32 am

brb , spending all my money on a rock collection and nobody could tell me anything because is my money and I could spend it however I want even if it puts me in debt and I can't afford to better my life because I spend it all on rocks

I with OP on this one, go one or two fete if you want, but fetes ain't cheap. People just want to flex on the 'grams these days.

IF you can afford it, go ahead. If you can't, then stop flexing for people who you don't care about. Rich people could do what dey want, but poor people shouldn't act rich.

Postby Les Bain » March 5th, 2019, 11:36 am

Nominating OP for troll of the year award. Final day of Carnival 2019 weekend and people still jumping up in he thread.

Postby matr1x » March 5th, 2019, 11:51 am

OP is going to ash Wednesday to polish the priest bishop

Postby zoom rader » March 5th, 2019, 4:27 pm

Seems OP full ah chit , he has not posted today so seems he on a bam bam or getting jamming

Postby nervewrecker » March 5th, 2019, 9:47 pm

Seems right now is about showing off money you dont have.
None of my neighbors are home. They not exactly well off but feting like it have no tomorrow.
Then they will borrow other people stuff to show me they can have stuff like mine too.

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 5th, 2019, 9:54 pm

when carnival finishing boi?

I hadda get some sleep and trucks keep passing.

Imagine how much money people would have to spend on things they don't need if they only went to work on Ash Wednesday.