Truck Spills Water Bottles Across Both Lanes Of Uriah Butler Causing Major Traffic Backup, Deaths

Re: Truck Spills Water Bottles Across Both Lanes Of Uriah Butler Causing Major Traffic Backup

Postby MG Man » February 7th, 2019, 9:05 am

pugboy wrote:true, but how come every half a mile on the highway it have a piece of somebody recap, many of them practically brand new ?

Zim wrote:I sure d truck had a recap tyre
Idk why men doesn't have proper tyres on dey trucks nah.

RIP to the fallen

what exactly wrong with recaps? Every fleet in the world runs on recaps, as do commercial airliners...commercial tyres are actually designed to be recapped

because what you are seeing is tyres that blew out from under-inflation or overload
A recap has no metal bands, it's 100% rubber
Look at truck tyre debris on the highway carefully, and you will see metal strands
Commercial tyres are designed to be recapped, as are commercial airline tyres

Re: Truck Spills Water Bottles Across Both Lanes Of Uriah Butler Causing Major Traffic Backup

Postby adnj » February 7th, 2019, 9:35 am

According to a survey released by the [US] National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 27 percent of cars and 32 percent of vans, pickups and sport utility vehicles had at least one tire that was underinflated [by at least 20% or 8 psi]. Eight percent of light trucks and 3 percent of cars had all four tires underinflated.
http://www.nbcnews.com/id/3072627/ns/business-us_business/t/many-drivers-have-underinflated-tires/

pugboy wrote:true, but how come every half a mile on the highway it have a piece of somebody recap, many of them practically brand new ?

RIP to the fallen

what exactly wrong with recaps? Every fleet in the world runs on recaps, as do commercial airliners...commercial tyres are actually designed to be recapped

because what you are seeing is tyres that blew out from under-inflation or overload
Look at truck tyre debris on the highway carefully, and you will see metal strands

Postby Slartibartfast » February 7th, 2019, 2:31 pm

RIP to the fallen

Hmmm.... I never knew that was a legit practice. I always thought that was one of those things we just do down here because labour cheaper than parts. Like shaving down a brake disk to get rid of the lip or welding a front cut or back cut on to a car that got written off in an accident.

Postby pugboy » February 7th, 2019, 3:42 pm

yes it is common with large truck tires as it would be a waste for large body to be discarded after one use.

Not sure about no wire in retreads though, I have seen many on the side of the road peeled off clean with wire in them and they looked like retreads.

Postby MG Man » February 7th, 2019, 6:25 pm

pugboy wrote:yes it is common with large truck tires as it would be a waste for large body to be discarded after one use.

Not sure about no wire in retreads though, I have seen many on the side of the road peeled off clean with wire in them and they looked like retreads.

nope I worked with Bandag and I've held retreads in my hands....they have no steel...you didn't see a retread peeled off a tyre carcass...you saw the sidewall completely shear itself off the bead. I've seen car tyre sidewalls split so perfectly you'd swear someone took a knife and sliced them
Last edited by MG Man on February 7th, 2019, 6:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MG Man » February 7th, 2019, 6:27 pm

Postby Redman » February 8th, 2019, 6:39 am

When were the drivers breathalyzed?

was it done the day AFTER???

Postby adnj » February 8th, 2019, 7:15 am

Slartibartfast wrote:Hmmm.... I never knew that was a legit practice. I always thought that was one of those things we just do down here because labour cheaper than parts. Like shaving down a brake disk to get rid of the lip or welding a front cut or back cut on to a car that got written off in an accident.

Brake rotor resurfacing is a well respected process.

http://knowhow.napaonline.com/brake-rotor-replacement-resurfacing-whats-better-choice/

Postby pugboy » February 8th, 2019, 7:29 am

there is a place in diego which has a machine which clamps onto the rotor on the car and machines it right there
no need to remove rotor and carry to machine shop

adnj wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:Hmmm.... I never knew that was a legit practice. I always thought that was one of those things we just do down here because labour cheaper than parts. Like shaving down a brake disk to get rid of the lip or welding a front cut or back cut on to a car that got written off in an accident.

http://knowhow.napaonline.com/brake-rotor-replacement-resurfacing-whats-better-choice/

Postby Slartibartfast » February 8th, 2019, 8:32 am

pugboy wrote:there is a place in diego which has a machine which clamps onto the rotor on the car and machines it right there

adnj wrote:

Hmmmm. Well looks like I learnt something new today. Thanks for the info.

airuma

Postby airuma » February 8th, 2019, 9:04 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
pugboy wrote:there is a place in diego which has a machine which clamps onto the rotor on the car and machines it right there

adnj wrote:

Hmmmm. Well looks like I learnt something new today. Thanks for the info.

There is a minimum thickness for the rotor recommended by the maker though.

airuma

Postby airuma » February 8th, 2019, 9:09 am

So are any improvements going to be made to the design of those locally manufactured tray covers? Maybe a code should be adopted or developed? Surely the sliding doors used on some of those delivery vehicles should be better secured to the tray covers, maybe canvas could be used instead of steel sheets?

No_Name

Postby No_Name » February 8th, 2019, 9:17 pm

Saw Sinananee on news this eve with he new Weigh Bridge "initiative" swhere in South, stating overweight trucks damaging d roads...
Drivers who weighed in over were charged $750.00 AND forced to remove some of the goods on board till specified weight...

This accident could've also been part n parcel of this implementation...

Now Sinananee, yuh disgraceful punty man, trucks can be guilty, but who supposed to be fixin d roads Hoss???
Yuh izza Pawn/Prawn in this Political Game, but jus remember in d case of Prawn/Shrimp, dem in d bottom ah d sea bed & does be dragged until dey serve some good purpose...

Some scrap iron men should deal with da scale yuh Govt install...!!!

daron

Postby daron » February 8th, 2019, 9:23 pm

No_Name wrote:Saw Sinananee on news this eve with he new Weigh Bridge "initiative" swhere in South, stating overweight trucks damaging d roads...
Drivers who weighed in over were charged $750.00 AND forced to remove some of the goods on board till specified weight...

This accident could've also been part n parcel of this implementation...

Now Sinananee, yuh disgraceful punty man, trucks can be guilty, but who supposed to be fixin d roads Hoss???
Yuh izza Pawn/Prawn in this Political Game, but jus remember in d case of Prawn/Shrimp, dem in d bottom ah d sea bed & does be dragged until dey serve some good purpose...

Some scrap iron men should deal with da scale yuh Govt install...!!!
Think they said 65 tru k was weigh & 60 was charged.

Postby nervewrecker » February 8th, 2019, 9:32 pm

I see LO brace all them truck men this week by OAS golconda.

Re: Truck Spills Water Bottles Across Both Lanes Of Uriah Butler Causing Major Traffic Backup, Deaths

Postby Rovin » February 9th, 2019, 11:24 am

Sinananee def is not no pawn eh , dise d man dat ran d pee en em election campaign in 2015 , so he ranking high on d toetee pole um i mean totem pole ......

Re: Truck Spills Water Bottles Across Both Lanes Of Uriah Butler Causing Major Traffic Backup, Deaths

Postby pugboy » February 9th, 2019, 11:38 am

yup, he and the shortman 1%

Rovin wrote:Sinananee def is not no pawn eh , dise d man dat ran d pee en em election campaign in 2015 , so he ranking high on d toetee pole um i mean totem pole ......

Postby zoom rader » February 9th, 2019, 1:14 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I see LO brace all them truck men this week by OAS golconda.
Total bullchit, they will do it now and then next month it is back to normal law breaking.

That's why in the US and UK they have weigh stations.

It's a pappy show.

Banana Republic and stupid trinis

Postby gastly369 » February 9th, 2019, 2:09 pm

Wah bout Dem green one ..ok see Dem passing thru normal normal

Postby De Dragon » February 10th, 2019, 6:05 am

gastly369 wrote:
Wah bout Dem green one ..ok see Dem passing thru normal normal

Drivers flash dey PNM ring and GT one time..............

Postby skylinechild » February 13th, 2019, 3:57 am

so what spins the rotor while its on the car thou - for the rotor shaving process to take place.??

is something bolted onto the studs and spins the entire rotor / hub assembly ??
what about cars that have a splash shield installed to protect the rear of the rotor ???

and in true trini fashion i sure dem eah know about harmonics and sheit...they jus "shavin it cause d customer want it shaved"......

Postby pugboy » February 13th, 2019, 5:21 am

no idea how it spins the rotors, a padna had his car rotors done there and it fixed the warps

the place is owned by a couple retired pilots, seem to be fairly modern from what I have seen

skylinechild wrote:

so what spins the rotor while its on the car thou - for the rotor shaving process to take place.??

is something bolted onto the studs and spins the entire rotor / hub assembly ??
what about cars that have a splash shield installed to protect the rear of the rotor ???

and in true trini fashion i sure dem eah know about harmonics and sheit...they jus "shavin it cause d customer want it shaved"......

Postby rspann » February 13th, 2019, 9:05 am

What youtube is for?

Postby skylinechild » February 13th, 2019, 4:23 pm

pugboy wrote:no idea how it spins the rotors, a padna had his car rotors done there and it fixed the warps

the place is owned by a couple retired pilots, seem to be fairly modern from what I have seen

ok so i youtubed it ( thanks eah spann) so it seems i was right -

its something that clamping the entire hub and spinning it and then well it cutting into the rotor.

not seeing any harmonic dampeners installed while they cutting the rotor thou...so its interesting to see how they solved that problem.

also not seeing the who reason why they cutting it onto the car as spinning the hub also means your spinning the axle and to allow the axle to move freely you hav to leave the car in neutral.

also i hope your buddy changed his pads one time....as if you dont the old pad will not make full contact with the new rotor surface and will eventually wear down the rotor again in the same old warped pattern :lol:

Postby pugboy » February 13th, 2019, 4:41 pm

I thought the main warping problem was when itvwarped like vinyl records left in the sun
And not the pad cutting