Masqueraders fork out $5,000 - $15,000 to play Mas

Re: Masqueraders fork out $5,000 - $15,000 to play Mas

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2019, 5:26 pm

l33t2 wrote:I can't even understand how a UNC man like ZR doh support carnival. Clearly ZR is out of touch with which party supports carnival more.
I was never a UNC bro.

I am non PNM

Postby 88sins » January 22nd, 2019, 5:38 pm

MG Man wrote:I spend more on cars that aren't worth half the money I throw into them...to each his own

that isn't bad spending,that's an investment.
buy really old models & fix them up & keep them long enough for them to be considered antiques & then sell them for a premium worth plenty more than you spent.

Postby De Dragon » January 22nd, 2019, 9:58 pm

More reinforcement for the man-headed Minister whose in Finance to justify heavy taxing

Postby MG Man » January 23rd, 2019, 8:26 am

MG Man wrote:I spend more on cars that aren't worth half the money I throw into them...to each his own

buy really old models & fix them up & keep them long enough for them to be considered antiques & then sell them for a premium worth plenty more than you spent.

I'm a hoarder. I doh sell nuttn :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Seriously tho, probably only one car in my little collection is worth serious money, and only if I ship it back to the UK
The MGBs are worth ok money but I've sunk more into them than they'd sell for, and well the F is a money pit I paid waaaaay too much for, because I really wanted it...can't even give that car away :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby zoom rader » January 23rd, 2019, 11:26 am

I'm a hoarder. I doh sell nuttn
Seriously tho, probably only one car in my little collection is worth serious money, and only if I ship it back to the UK
The MGBs are worth ok money but I've sunk more into them than they'd sell for, and well the F is a money pit I paid waaaaay too much for, because I really wanted it...can't even give that car away
Carnival you spend money and have nothing to show for it, except a baby

Buying a car or having a hobby then you got stuff you can show or even have a side income

Postby MG Man » January 23rd, 2019, 11:30 am

The MGBs are worth ok money but I've sunk more into them than they'd sell for, and well the F is a money pit I paid waaaaay too much for, because I really wanted it...can't even give that car away

Buying a car or having a hobby then you got stuff you can show or even have a side income

A couple things, Chet,
Not everyone who parties for carnival drops a child 9 months later
Not everyone values possessions
People are happy to pay for experiences. I see no problem here

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » January 23rd, 2019, 12:06 pm

Real.beat up in this thread about how to tell a person to spend their money. If that what makes them happy who are you to judge.
If it make a guy happy buying a costume for a chick, great for him. You have you're priorities they have theirs. People pay for the exp as it makes them happy. Why is that bothering some of you'll here so much?

Postby Chimera » January 23rd, 2019, 1:12 pm

Apparently you not suppose to enjoy your life or have any memories to look back on.

I played mas once...i always miss it....hopefully will play next year.

Them two days on the road is one of the best things you will experience in life.

Postby MG Man » January 23rd, 2019, 1:27 pm

y'all realize some characters in here equate carnival with certain ethnicies and they are using it as an excuse to spew their racist drivel right

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » January 23rd, 2019, 1:46 pm

MG Man wrote:y'all realize some characters in here equate carnival with certain ethnicies and they are using it as an excuse to spew their racist drivel right

Which makes no sense since participation is roughly equal and most promoters and band owners are Indo Trinis.

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » January 23rd, 2019, 1:49 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Apparently you not suppose to enjoy your life or have any memories to look back on.

I played mas once...i always miss it....hopefully will play next year.

Them two days on the road is one of the best things you will experience in life.

It's actually proven spending on experiences leads to greater happiness

https://digest.bps.org.uk/2018/09/04/the-experiential-advantage-is-not-universal-the-less-well-off-get-equal-or-more-happiness-from-buying-things/

Postby zoom rader » January 23rd, 2019, 3:59 pm

MG Man wrote:y'all realize some characters in here equate carnival with certain ethnicies and they are using it as an excuse to spew their racist drivel right
Who are these people bro, we all know carnival is ah injun ting.

https://youtu.be/6bHjL7-z61E

Postby MG Man » January 23rd, 2019, 4:15 pm

l33t2 wrote:

Which makes no sense since participation is roughly equal and most promoters and band owners are Indo Trinis.

you ascribing facts and logic to summa these fellas...you mussy new here

Postby pugboy » January 23rd, 2019, 6:25 pm

A while back somebody had a list of the various bands and their ethnicity breakdowns
The bands certainly weren't of equal distribution

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » January 23rd, 2019, 6:40 pm

pugboy wrote:A while back somebody had a list of the various bands and their ethnicity breakdowns

Me eh seeing no difference between Legacy and Harts tho :drinking:

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 23rd, 2019, 8:18 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:So the economics- for the past how many years.... costumes being outsourced for much cheaper, yet band leaders claiming that their expenses have gone up, hence costumes have gone up by more than 200% in recent years.
Yeah allyuh go ahead and support that sh1t! have fun, jump around for 2 days and spend allyuh hard earned money ………...

^^^THIS^^^

Postby zoom rader » January 23rd, 2019, 8:22 pm

pugboy wrote:A while back somebody had a list of the various bands and their ethnicity breakdowns
Awaits to see PNM ppl in harts

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 23rd, 2019, 8:33 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
l33t2 wrote:Why allyuh hate carnvial so?

Same reason we hate rap/chutney/dancehall

Soca music promotes degeneracy the same way

Yeah but rap and dancehall is the worst.

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 23rd, 2019, 10:56 pm

toyota2nr wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:
l33t2 wrote:Why allyuh hate carnvial so?

Same reason we hate rap/chutney/dancehall

Soca music promotes degeneracy the same way

Yeah but rap and dancehall is the worst.

Then why dancehall artists like movado/kartel/popcaan more popular than machel on an international scale?

I sensing a bias towards soca here

Postby De Dragon » January 23rd, 2019, 11:01 pm

l33t2 wrote:

you ascribing facts and logic to summa these fellas...you mussy new here

You here too facking long eh MG!

Postby Slartibartfast » January 24th, 2019, 4:15 am

A couple things, Chet,

You on chit. All my bredren wha play mass drop a chile October gone. Everybody dropping chile. Man, woman... and children to. Can't forget kiddies carnival. All they boys and girls does end up preggers

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 24th, 2019, 6:21 am

So when yuh spend ah 7k on ah costume...it could sell back oarrr??

Postby mero » January 24th, 2019, 6:41 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So when yuh spend ah 7k on ah costume...it could sell back oarrr??
Shakes stop reaching nah.

When yuh spend that some money to go merica to pose & take pics in Times Square for yuh ig , it could sell back oarr?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 24th, 2019, 7:31 am

mero wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So when yuh spend ah 7k on ah costume...it could sell back oarrr??

When yuh spend that some money to go merica to pose & take pics in Times Square for yuh ig , it could sell back oarr?

Daz where you wrong I not on any forms of social media....

Postby pugboy » January 24th, 2019, 7:49 am

boy i know long ago before bands started serious security
girls used to keep old costumes in a spare parts box and would make up a costume to storm a band

Postby A172 » January 24th, 2019, 8:17 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
mero wrote:

Daz where you wrong I not on any forms of social media....
edgy

Postby Les Bain » January 24th, 2019, 8:35 am

Slartibartfast wrote:You on chit. All my bredren wha play mass drop a chile October gone. Everybody dropping chile. Man, woman... and children to. Can't forget kiddies carnival. All they boys and girls does end up preggers

justheretoreadthecomments

Postby justheretoreadthecomments » January 24th, 2019, 9:21 am

mero wrote:

well i was wondering the same thing- its the experience, whether its carnival, traveling, dining out etc. You may not agree with it, and thats cool. I may not want to spend on somethings that may be of interest to others, and thats ok as well. To each his own. 0X

justheretoreadthecomments

Postby justheretoreadthecomments » January 24th, 2019, 9:22 am

Slartibartfast wrote:

A couple things, Chet,

You on chit. All my bredren wha play mass drop a chile October gone. Everybody dropping chile. Man, woman... and children to. Can't forget kiddies carnival. All they boys and girls does end up preggers

lol lol and i heard this old man in the gym saying that people play mas for 2 days and wake up with HIV :shock: :shock: :shock: What? lol

Postby zoom rader » January 24th, 2019, 9:52 am

mero wrote:

America is not a valued nation to visit, India is far better

Check these betis out,

Indian traffic cops way kool than trini cops

https://youtu.be/60ItP99P8i4