UWI Students protest

Re: UWI Students protest

Postby sMASH » October 22nd, 2018, 5:34 pm

It wasnt the first time they tried to get the situation improved. But, the more amicable measures did not get results. So they stepped it up, and look, wow, actual attention and increase in budget fir the situation.

Their actions worked.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 22nd, 2018, 6:27 pm

I mean a little inconvenience isn't as bad as rape, stabbing and armed robbery. But I agree there are better ways to deal with these situations.... like getting security/ police to do the job they are being paid for.

What they did was commendable. We need more trinis like them willing to stand up for those that cannot stand for themselves.

airuma

Postby airuma » October 22nd, 2018, 7:20 pm

I am amazed that some of the more "intelligent tuners" IMHO (judging by their posts) are against the action as if they are isolating the action from the environment. This is Trinidad and Tobago! As the saying goes... when in Rome, do as the Romans do. Unfortunately, sitting quietly here and expecting things to happen the way they should is futile. On the other hand, harassing persons seems to be the only way to get results.
I am human but if I am forced to live among lions and vultures..... guess what...... survival instincts will kick in and I will do what is necessary to preserve my life, even if it is not human nature...... the law must DEMONSTRATE that they are competently eradicating lawlessness..... from the source...... if they wish to have only "peaceful protest" according to the law.
IMHO, the administration of UWI is at fault for allowing the situation to escalate to this..... these are intelligent people who will adhere to good reasoning...... the principal is clearly not competent as a principal!

kstt

Postby kstt » October 22nd, 2018, 8:55 pm

Is campus a public roadway that cannot be blocked? I thought it is a restricted area for authorised persons.

Postby hydroep » October 22nd, 2018, 10:22 pm

Even 'legitimate' organizations use the technique as well. Unions inconvenience the public all the time because affecting innocent parties puts additional pressure on the authorities to get things done.

And more often than not, it works...:|

Postby Slartibartfast » October 23rd, 2018, 3:54 pm

I think the people against these actions don't realise how long these problems have been going on. Back when I was in UWI two guys walked into SAC, one with a firearm, and just took everybody's laptops. This late at night during exams when the only people there are those doing all-nighters. I think they got like 10 laptops or something. Every year for campus carnival there are stories of rape, robberies and beatings. I have a friend that got robbed at gun point in undercroft at 9pm during the week.

All those are things that happened during my 3 year stay at UWI and that was 10 years ago. From what I heard, those issues did not start when I entered UWI (obviously) but was going from a while before. Countless complaints and police reports have been filed over the years but I guess we were just content to keep our heads down and ignore it until we get out.

It's nice to see this generation of UWI students have more balls that my generation and actually doing something. Those of you that believe peaceful protests or following established protocols will make a difference clearly living in a fantasy world. UWI security is an joke. Always has been. 10 years and you can't install an automated turnstile that uses the UWI ID barcode to unlock it for one person to go through? 10 years and you still have unmanned entrances open to the public at all hours of the night? 10 years and they still doing nothing while people getting raped, robbed and almost murdered? Some of allyuh really clueless.

Postby Redman » October 23rd, 2018, 4:05 pm

airuma wrote:I am amazed that some of the more "intelligent tuners" IMHO (judging by their posts) are against the action as if they are isolating the action from the environment. This is Trinidad and Tobago! As the saying goes... when in Rome, do as the Romans do. Unfortunately, sitting quietly here and expecting things to happen the way they should is futile. On the other hand, harassing persons seems to be the only way to get results.
I am human but if I am forced to live among lions and vultures..... guess what...... survival instincts will kick in and I will do what is necessary to preserve my life, even if it is not human nature...... the law must DEMONSTRATE that they are competently eradicating lawlessness..... from the source...... if they wish to have only "peaceful protest" according to the law.
IMHO, the administration of UWI is at fault for allowing the situation to escalate to this..... these are intelligent people who will adhere to good reasoning...... the principal is clearly not competent as a principal!

I am all for the protest, protest anything-(whether I support or not) -and I fully support the TTPS in enforcing the law as they see fit.

I dont see that as a conflict- after all the protest is because of the fact that laws are not being enforced.

The what of the protest has no impact on whether the TTPS should or should not arrest protesters

Postby Slartibartfast » October 23rd, 2018, 4:18 pm

Redman wrote:The what of the protest has no impact on whether the TTPS should or should not arrest protesters
I agree with that. The manner in which they do it could be up for debate but your statement makes sense.

airuma

Postby airuma » October 23rd, 2018, 8:50 pm

Redman wrote:
airuma wrote:I am amazed that some of the more "intelligent tuners" IMHO (judging by their posts) are against the action as if they are isolating the action from the environment. This is Trinidad and Tobago! As the saying goes... when in Rome, do as the Romans do. Unfortunately, sitting quietly here and expecting things to happen the way they should is futile. On the other hand, harassing persons seems to be the only way to get results.

I am all for the protest, protest anything-(whether I support or not) -and I fully support the TTPS in enforcing the law as they see fit.

I dont see that as a conflict- after all the protest is because of the fact that laws are not being enforced.

The what of the protest has no impact on whether the TTPS should or should not arrest protesters

The problem with this is how they see fit is clearly not fit! I side with the tuners that say suggest the police were intimidated by the UWI students, hence the force used.

Postby RedVEVO » October 24th, 2018, 2:07 am

World wide the status quo is to "beat up" University students that protest .

Gary claims they broke the Law . Still trying to understand what they break .

It's a protest .

Emotions flying .

Postby sMASH » July 10th, 2020, 8:16 am

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/uwi-students-fre ... t-charges/

cnc3 wrote:

UWI students freed of 2018 protest charges

By
Derek Achong -
July 10, 2020

Two University of the West Indies (UWI) students have been freed of charges arising out of a protest over security at the institution’s St Augustine campus in 2018.

Nathanael John and Brian Richards were freed of charges for resisting arrest and obstructing police officers in the execution of their duties during a virtual hearing of their case before Magistrate Sherene Murray-Bailey yesterday.

Guardian Media understands that when the case was called the prosecuting State attorney indicated that the Office of the Director of Public (DPP) would discontinue the charges against Richards but not John.

John’s legal team requested that the trial begin during the virtual hearing under the practice directions issued by Chief Justice Ivor Archie for court hearings during the COVID-19 pandemic.

However, the prosecutors asked for it to be adjourned so the trial could take place in a courtroom at the Tunapuna Magistrate’s Court.

After Murray-Bailey upheld John’s submissions and started the case, the DPP’s Office did not lead the evidence of any its witnesses.

Attorney Keith Scotland, who was part of John’s legal team, then presented a no-case submission in which he pointed out there was insufficient evidence to warrant the charge. Scotland’s submission was upheld and the charges were dismissed.

Contacted yesterday, John said he was pleased by the outcome but complained over how the case was prosecuted.

“It has been an emotionally and mentally draining two years…I don’t think justice was served,” John said, as he noted the case was delayed several times after police officers failed to attend hearings.

Saying he and his co-accused made 10 court appearances before the outcome, John said: “Many times I had to postpone different events I had to do and even classes. It was frustrating.”

According to reports, the duo was arrested in October 2018 while participating in a protest at the southern entrance to UWI’s campus. They were accused of blocking officers from clearing a crowd of protesters who blocked the gate from vehicular traffic. The student protest was sparked by an incident in which a female student was attacked by an intruder and almost raped.

The duo was also represented by John Jeremie, SC, Prakash Ramadhar, Brian Baig and Keisha Kidd-Hannibal.

good jaaab ttps... great employ of state resources. really did a benefit to the country here.

Postby zoom rader » July 10th, 2020, 8:57 am

sMASH wrote:https://www.cnc3.co.tt/uwi-students-freed-of-2018-protest-charges/

cnc3 wrote:

UWI students freed of 2018 protest charges

By
Derek Achong -
July 10, 2020

Two University of the West Indies (UWI) students have been freed of charges arising out of a protest over security at the institution’s St Augustine campus in 2018.

Nathanael John and Brian Richards were freed of charges for resisting arrest and obstructing police officers in the execution of their duties during a virtual hearing of their case before Magistrate Sherene Murray-Bailey yesterday.

Guardian Media understands that when the case was called the prosecuting State attorney indicated that the Office of the Director of Public (DPP) would discontinue the charges against Richards but not John.

John’s legal team requested that the trial begin during the virtual hearing under the practice directions issued by Chief Justice Ivor Archie for court hearings during the COVID-19 pandemic.

However, the prosecutors asked for it to be adjourned so the trial could take place in a courtroom at the Tunapuna Magistrate’s Court.

After Murray-Bailey upheld John’s submissions and started the case, the DPP’s Office did not lead the evidence of any its witnesses.

Attorney Keith Scotland, who was part of John’s legal team, then presented a no-case submission in which he pointed out there was insufficient evidence to warrant the charge. Scotland’s submission was upheld and the charges were dismissed.

Contacted yesterday, John said he was pleased by the outcome but complained over how the case was prosecuted.

“It has been an emotionally and mentally draining two years…I don’t think justice was served,” John said, as he noted the case was delayed several times after police officers failed to attend hearings.

Saying he and his co-accused made 10 court appearances before the outcome, John said: “Many times I had to postpone different events I had to do and even classes. It was frustrating.”

According to reports, the duo was arrested in October 2018 while participating in a protest at the southern entrance to UWI’s campus. They were accused of blocking officers from clearing a crowd of protesters who blocked the gate from vehicular traffic. The student protest was sparked by an incident in which a female student was attacked by an intruder and almost raped.

The duo was also represented by John Jeremie, SC, Prakash Ramadhar, Brian Baig and Keisha Kidd-Hannibal.

good jaaab ttps... great employ of state resources. really did a benefit to the country here.
They were PNM activist and represented by a PNM lawyer.

It was all planned out.

Postby MaxPower » July 10th, 2020, 11:46 am

The law really too lenient yes.

Postby zoom rader » July 10th, 2020, 12:15 pm

MaxPower wrote:The law really too lenient yes.
So what should the police do when the Venes that you like come to shoot at Gary as reported.

Seems them venes are staging to use advance weapons to kill Gary.