Should Ministers get personal vehicle tax exemptions?

Re: Should Ministers get personal vehicle tax exemptions?

Postby Chimera » October 11th, 2017, 1:04 pm

Is the way imbert does talk . About how people using the exemptions to buy luxury vehicles . As if the average person buying a luxury vehicle is a crime that should only be for the ultra rich or ministers.....

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 11th, 2017, 2:08 pm

I blame all the politicians. The Salary Review tried to limit the amount of cars that can be purchased but this was voted down by all MPs.

That's why I vote a different party each election.

Having a government is a necessary evil but none of them should be given more than 1 term

Ibis Electronics

Postby Ibis Electronics » October 11th, 2017, 2:14 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The news report also did not take into consideration the profit made when they sell those vehicles.
We do not have capital gains tax on the disposal of PERSONAL assets in T&T. So when the Ministers sell those vehicles used, they are selling it at market value (not what they paid) which includes the tax they didn't pay thereby making a PROFIT!

Buy a Porsche Cayenne valued at $829,000 but get tax exemptions and only pay $420,000, sell it at market value a year later for 20% less at $663,000. Profit = $243,000. Then buy a next one and repeat. That's why they bought 2 and 3 in 5 years.

They pay transfer fee?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 11th, 2017, 5:08 pm

^ not sure but many times the buyer agrees to pay it.

How about they are allowed their exemptions but exemptions are limited to to 1599cc and under vehicles since as the Minister said, will encourage more fuel efficiency and reduce forex spending.

Postby rspann » October 11th, 2017, 5:18 pm

Like you never hear the old saying .Do as I say not as I do. You could imagine ministers buying cars under that cc rating?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 11th, 2017, 5:32 pm

rspann wrote:Like you never hear the old saying .Do as I say not as I do. You could imagine ministers buying cars under that cc rating?

Jamal Mohammed bought an Elantra as his personal vehicle when he was min of info. That's a 1.6l not so?

Postby rspann » October 11th, 2017, 5:39 pm

He did say he was a chupid lil cool lee from San Juan.

Postby K74T » October 11th, 2017, 5:41 pm

Postby MaxPower » October 11th, 2017, 5:43 pm

pete wrote:How long before they are allowed to sell?

Also, wasn't this talked about a few years ago with Anand buying expensive cars without taxes?

Same day

Postby Dizzy28 » October 11th, 2017, 5:54 pm

rspann wrote:He did say he was a chupid lil cool lee from San Juan.

Wasn't so chupid nah. Had he bought something more expensive and that Cobo sweat kamla hit him he might have had to return the car.

Postby sMASH » October 11th, 2017, 6:03 pm

Is not pnm alone doing it, both sides.

Postby rspann » October 11th, 2017, 6:44 pm

They leave their professions and businesses to go in government out of the love for country.
All of them.

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » October 11th, 2017, 6:48 pm

Love of country ...or to mash up d mc country

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 11th, 2017, 6:53 pm

I doubt imbert driving a mustang.

His car just last year was a AD wagon

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » October 11th, 2017, 6:57 pm

The should ride some ptsc. ...standing room only .....enjoy some John public perks ......and ah mean all 41 ah dem............. sucking the public tot tots and biting when they can't get some milk

Postby Chimera » October 11th, 2017, 7:04 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I doubt imbert driving a mustang.

His car just last year was a AD wagon

Where u get that from. Imbert is a multimillionaire long time now. Previous vehicle is a porsche macaan I think

Postby rspann » October 11th, 2017, 8:24 pm

Just watch who made the post and you would realize you just wasted an answer.

Postby rspann » October 11th, 2017, 8:26 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Is the way imbert does talk . About how people using the exemptions to buy luxury vehicles . As if the average person buying a luxury vehicle is a crime that should only be for the ultra rich or ministers.....

Why does he sound so arrogant and contemptuous? He can say the same things without that attitude and people might have accepted it.

Postby The_Honourable » October 11th, 2017, 8:40 pm

For those who didn't see Part 1. It was replayed on the Morning Edition and available on FB:

Postby sMASH » October 11th, 2017, 8:50 pm

Postby skylinechild » October 12th, 2017, 11:07 am

very very interesting vid...minsters talking about perks..lol...saying its one of the very few perks they get

Postby The_Honourable » October 12th, 2017, 11:23 am

Here is Part 2.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 12th, 2017, 12:05 pm

immoral is not necessarily illegal :(

Postby skylinechild » October 12th, 2017, 12:07 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:immoral is not necessarily illegal :(

very much so.

* awaits ZR to say "thats what allyuh vote for ".....

Postby sMASH » October 12th, 2017, 12:12 pm

But we did!

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » October 12th, 2017, 12:25 pm

ALLYUH STIK MC VOTE FOR THAT

Postby Chimera » October 12th, 2017, 1:14 pm

to be fair its both sides doing it

not just PNM not just UNC

they should atleast tax them on the profit they make from reselling

Postby skylinechild » October 12th, 2017, 1:17 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:to be fair its both sides doing it

iirc the state makes the profit. once a car is sold the buying party has to pay all aplicable taxes that are due on said vehicle.

i think that taxes like MVT tax which were exempted from the first buyer will be applied to the 2nd buyer

perhaps someone on tuner cud clarify if i'm incorrect

Postby Dizzy28 » October 12th, 2017, 2:21 pm

skylinechild wrote:

iirc the state makes the profit. once a car is sold the buying party has to pay all aplicable taxes that are due on said vehicle.

i think that taxes like MVT tax which were exempted from the first buyer will be applied to the 2nd buyer

Nope doesn't work that way. Knew someone who bought a Prado from a former UNC senator. At time of purchase the original invoice was still in the glove box and the person paid $25k less than what the senator paid for it.

Postby rspann » October 12th, 2017, 2:25 pm

skylinechild wrote:

They have to keep it for two years , after that they can sell. If they sell within the time period they will have to pay the taxes , so what they do is to sell, leave it in their name and transfer after the stipulated time.

Coonilal say that high end vehicles and euros does give trouble and expensive to fix, so they have to sell them,,duh, why buy them if you know that?