COST OF LIVING IN TRINIDAD $$$$

Re: COST OF LIVING IN TRINIDAD $$$$

Postby 88sins » September 12th, 2017, 8:14 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:people who can afford expensive vehicles usually don't borrow

daz what you feel. I know some ppl that pulling down upwards of 70K/month, that still borrow to buy their vehicle

1st rule of getting & staying rich, never spend your own money.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 12th, 2017, 8:20 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:people who can afford expensive vehicles usually don't borrow

daz what you feel. I know some ppl that pulling down upwards of 70K/month, that still borrow to buy their vehicle

hahah well I stand corrected...the few I know hate to pay interest...fckers buy cash

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 12th, 2017, 8:31 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

hahah well I stand corrected...the few I know hate to pay interest...fckers buy cash

very tru , i know alot of folks now who jus drive $20 k cars and have 7 figure banks accounts , and watch and laugh at the folks taking loans to buy big boy cars and vans jus to fit in ... :oops:

Turbostarr

Postby Turbostarr » September 12th, 2017, 8:40 am

Think it will be a great idea to introduce money management at the primary school level. We earn money but do we have the skills to get the best bang for our buck!

Driving around daily in Trinidad I see lots of luxury vehicles and I always wonder are persons paying through their noses for this liability to keep up with the Joneses. Recreational spots jam packed on a weekend...every weekend...do these persons have any savings?

The poorer ones are the ones that are having the most children...yet they are also the ones that have direc tv, the latest Jordans and are definitely on a boat ride this weekend and the biggest gold chain. The issue I believe is a lack of education...financial education which should be inculcated at an early age.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 12th, 2017, 8:47 am

Turbostarr wrote:Think it will be a great idea to introduce money management at the primary school level. We earn money but do we have the skills to get the best bang for our buck!

Driving around daily in Trinidad I see lots of luxury vehicles and I always wonder are persons paying through their noses for this liability to keep up with the Joneses. Recreational spots jam packed on a weekend...every weekend...do these persons have any savings?

The poorer ones are the ones that are having the most children...yet they are also the ones that have direc tv, the latest Jordans and are definitely on a boat ride this weekend and the biggest gold chain. The issue I believe is a lack of education...financial education which should be inculcated at an early age.

i still dont understand how people can pay $1500 for that shoes it ugly as fack ... MJ doesnt even wear it

next thing to consider is not teaching them only about how to manage money but how to deal with people who influence dem in buying the expensive stuff also ... becuz society only accepts you for your image lately , try to walk in a party with a rubber slipper na ... and a 1 liter blue waters bottle in your hand people will watch you like WTF :oops:

Turbostarr

Postby Turbostarr » September 12th, 2017, 8:52 am

And that's where confidence in oneself comes in...who cares what others think...at least I know where my next healthy meal is coming from and the roof over my head is my own.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 12th, 2017, 8:54 am

Turbostarr wrote:And that's where confidence in oneself comes in...who cares what others think...at least I know where my next healthy meal is coming from and the roof over my head is my own.

well society teaches us to drive $300k cars / vans , wear clothes we cant afford and them borrow money to buy houses we dont own .... :!:

Postby Les Bain » September 12th, 2017, 9:39 am

Have a few female contacts on FB always posting gym updates in cute brand name outfits with positive affirmation quotes, yet gaining weight.

Since last January I doing home exercises mostly in boxers and drawers with a 15lb kettlebell i get in double 10 sale last year. Slight belly turn into a fannypack then disappear; people asking me which gym i going.

Throwing out a question for the financially minded tuners: Is keeping up with the Joneses positively driving the economy?

Postby crazybalhead » September 12th, 2017, 9:46 am

Les, that's a real good question. But I believe even if it is the ability to do so is unsustainable and people are retracting a bit from frivolous spending.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 12th, 2017, 9:53 am

[quote="Les Bain"]Have a few female contacts on FB always posting gym updates in cute brand name outfits with positive affirmation quotes, yet gaining weight.

Since last January I doing home exercises mostly in boxers and drawers with a 15lb kettlebell i get in double 10 sale last year. Slight belly turn into a fannypack then disappear; people asking me which gym i going.

Throwing out a question for the financially minded tuners: Is keeping up with the Joneses positively driving the economy?[/quote]

gym is d new ladies bling ... bess & tightest outfit and always posting have a few also , even have one working in the officer here ... full gym kit but cant afford to eat healthy , always broke and wearing d bess ... and then asking me how u does cope with living boi ...

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » September 12th, 2017, 11:21 am

Turbostarr wrote:Think it will be a great idea to introduce money management at the primary school level. We earn money but do we have the skills to get the best bang for our buck!

Hear that Ian Narine(finance guy) wants to start holding financial seminars. He wants to start with only UTC customers but want to eventually expand to everyone

Postby crazybalhead » September 12th, 2017, 11:24 am

Allyuh realise after 9 in gulf city aqctually closed down??? That's a big deal.

kuchurV2

Postby kuchurV2 » September 12th, 2017, 11:29 am

I fortunate to walk to work. I does do that to save gas n mostly to get some exercise in. Wife does drop me in the morning, walk home in the evening.

Postby sMASH » September 12th, 2017, 11:52 am

crazybalhead wrote:Allyuh realise after 9 in gulf city aqctually closed down??? That's a big deal.

Thst and the Indian expo actually leaving I thought were Trinidad folklore.

People are trained from young that in order to acquire u need to borrow. Also, the acceptance for qualifying for a loan is a form socioeconomic validation. It shows that u can be considered a financial safe bet.

My fadda teach me, if u can't buy, do without.

The amount for big men that get buss throat in the industry, and have to forfeit their vehicles because their income can't pay the Loans no more, is sad.
When I walk away, I walk out with nothing over my head. What I had, was mine.

cryotec

Postby cryotec » September 12th, 2017, 11:54 am

i hear some rich ppl does borrow so they do not draw attention to their fortune. cant have your account flagged and the tax man check out what really going on can we

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » September 12th, 2017, 12:02 pm

cryotec wrote:i hear some rich ppl does borrow so they do not draw attention to their fortune. cant have your account flagged and the tax man check out what really going on can we

Ever heard "rich ppl use other ppl money to make money" before? It's simple, you don't use liquid cash to make big purchases, loans for that, don't touch your money.

cryotec

Postby cryotec » September 12th, 2017, 12:09 pm

eurotuner wrote:
cryotec wrote:i hear some rich ppl does borrow so they do not draw attention to their fortune. cant have your account flagged and the tax man check out what really going on can we

Ever heard "rich ppl use other ppl money to make money" before? It's simple, you don't use liquid cash to make big purchases, loans for that, don't touch your money.

If you could invest your money well, it go actually be better to take out a loan and invest that huge chunk of cash on a profitable venture

Postby Ted_v2 » September 12th, 2017, 1:37 pm

Invest? Psh. Buy land. Not invest in waste ah time get rich schemes.

Sent from my GT-I9060C using TriniTuner mobile app

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 12th, 2017, 5:12 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Allyuh realise after 9 in gulf city aqctually closed down??? That's a big deal.

Yes it is, they have been there since Gulf City was Gulf City, sign of the times.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » September 12th, 2017, 11:59 pm

So to go with what was said above,
alota Trinidadians trying to "Keep up with the Jones"
Plenty of those fancy euros ppl gaping at, on big loans
and behind close doors they catching dey arse, just to look nice, so ppl could say "dey reach"
Also what is funny, is ppl who live in 5M and up homes in affluent
communities....most times have reg cars, Tiidas, Frontiers, Cressida's, regular smeggular rides.
have y'all ever notice that???

Postby RedVEVO » September 13th, 2017, 1:52 am

cryotec wrote:
eurotuner wrote:

If you could invest your money well, it go actually be better to take out a loan and invest that huge chunk of cash on a profitable venture

Give some examples :wink:

Postby pugboy » September 13th, 2017, 5:48 am

how many switch to cheaper phones to cut lifestyle costs ?

Postby 88sins » September 13th, 2017, 6:07 am

if a expensive phone is a symbol of lifestyle status, i will forever look like i ketchin meh arse. once it could send & receive a message or call, me doh business d make model or brand.

doh care if is a samsung, a blu, morse code, a smoke signal or a messenger pigeon

Postby Dizzy28 » September 13th, 2017, 7:15 am

This thread morphed into the sufferers thread oui. Man only toting on other people's lifestyle choices.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 13th, 2017, 7:15 am

pugboy wrote:how many switch to cheaper phones to cut lifestyle costs ?

if you judge people's lifestyle by a phone then something is wrong with you..

as sins said, as long as I could make/receive calls, msgs etc etc...I good

I does rock meh digicel white phone normal normal.....

Postby A172 » September 13th, 2017, 8:34 am

Dizzy28 wrote:This thread morphed into the sufferers thread oui. Man only toting on other people's lifestyle choices.
& is always d same boolas in such threads

Postby 88sins » September 13th, 2017, 12:17 pm

nah shakes
I think what pugboy meant was that it have some ppl that truly believe they can show a status of opulence by their mobile phone. to those ppl, the more they pay for a phone the more they think the device can show the lifestyle they into. to those ppl, on a normal day if you tell them buy a blu they go watch u like u just cuss dey mudder. Those same ones will buy a prepaid S6 or S7 on terms from courts & can't even afford a $20 top up, all to put out some sort of image. You'll find more young girls do that kinda nonsense than boys, especially those with skewed concepts of reality.

cryotec

Postby cryotec » September 13th, 2017, 12:50 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
cryotec wrote:
eurotuner wrote:

start a roro business, buy 5 nissan hybrid and become sheron - without the bacchanal.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » September 13th, 2017, 3:20 pm

Capitalism....

Postby DVSTT » September 14th, 2017, 12:18 am

cryotec wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
cryotec wrote:
eurotuner wrote:

start a roro business, buy 5 nissan hybrid and become sheron - without the bacchanal.

Oil Drilling company.