What do you know now, that you wish you had known in your 20's?

bluesclues

Re: What do you know now, that you wish you had known in your 20's?

Postby bluesclues » December 28th, 2016, 10:27 am

Degrees are for those who need to be led, trained etc

Self employment is for leaders, innovators and self-tutors

My sentiments are, the cost to pay for a degree is enough to startup a business. But ud waste ur money if u dnt know how to run a business. So u need to learn.. somehow, how to run a business. Some will have to learn that in a degree course, some will get by with unprofessional service depending on what business they in.

One thing that cannot be denied, is that degree programs provide training that manifests professional attitudes and mindsets in the student. Which can make them a stronger businessman/employee. That is if they are unable and unaware enough to train themselves to a professional standard. And lets not kid ourselves.. thats the majority of ppl.

A degree course can cost 30k ttd and more. I personally, would not waste that on a degree when i can use it to make money one time one time investing in business opportunities and expansion.

15 years later what did i wish i knew then(at 20) that i know now?

The fastest route to becoming financially secure is in saving your money and not spending it on gyul. Real ppl poor and standard of living lower than it could be because of woman and the child(s) they now have to mine (expenses). As a man im traditional so if i take a girl out i have to pay for everything. So u can imagine how that goes when u want to see eachother every day or living together. Not gonna do it again tho. Gonna manage my money and how much i spend on a girl even in a courting relationship. I have personal goals, and ur not really part of that until u become my wife. So until then.. rations. And i think thats what i learned between then and now. Not to spend money on gfs in the same way as if they were ur wife. Its just not wise. It's fun, but can just turn out to be regarded as a waste of money.

#stackin_chedda

Postby eliteauto » December 28th, 2016, 10:54 am

bluesclues wrote:Degrees are for those who need to be led, trained etc

My sentiments are, the cost to pay for a degree is enough to startup a business. But ud waste ur money if u dnt know how to run a business. So u need to learn.. somehow, how to run a business. Some will have to learn that in a degree course, some will get by with unprofessional service depending on what business they in.

One thing that cannot be denied, is that degree programs provide training that manifests professional attitudes and mindsets in the student. Which can make them a stronger businessman/employee. That is if they are unable and unaware enough to train themselves to a professional standard. And lets not kid ourselves.. thats the majority of ppl.

A degree course can cost 30k ttd and more. I personally, would not waste that on a degree when i can use it to make money one time one time investing in business opportunities and expansion.

The fastest route to becoming financially secure is in saving your money and not spending it on gyul. Real ppl poor and standard of living lower than it could be because of woman and the child(s) they now have to mine (expenses). As a man im traditional so if i take a girl out i have to pay for everything. So u can imagine how that goes when u want to see eachother every day or living together. Not gonna do it again tho. Gonna manage my money and how much i spend on a girl even in a courting relationship. I have personal goals, and ur not really part of that until u become my wife. So until then.. rations. And i think thats what i learned between then and now. Not to spend money on gfs in the same way as if they were ur wife. Its just not wise. It's fun, but can just turn out to be regarded as a waste of money.

#stackin_chedda

I've actually seen the opposite, a lot of ppl with degrees come out with what I call educated arrogance. They learn stuff in a classroom environment that's basically theory and come out feeling they know, but what they have learnt may not be applicable to real world business dynamics. I'm focussing here on ppl who do MBA's and Doctorates in Economics/Econometrics/Business. One such example I saw recently was an MBA graduate who's self-employed in a niche high-end business, some of his potential clients told him about listing his prices on items and he insisted on not doing so based on the premise of client engagement, he engaged in a running discussion with someone who was advising him about the need to make the shopping experience as easy for customers as possible, whereas the seller was insistent that by you calling for price you showed real interest and they could engage you on the reasons for pricing, other graduates joined the discussion and ridiculed the guy saying he eh know bout nothing and they learned that in class etc and if yuh so busy yuh cyah call why yuh engaging in discussion etc. Here's the thing the guy is a successful multimillionaire businessman with a portfolio including real-estate, retail etc, and here he is giving free advice to someone who is at best a thousandaire, yet their class room experience makes them better and more knowledgeable at sales? At the end of the day it's who's winning in real life not in your head that you need to look at for advice.

As for your comments about women, I think that's subjective to each person's experience, some of us were quite lucky to find the right partner that helped shape us and encourage us to grow, consider the money spent an investment what NOT to look for in a mate, rather than bad money spent

Postby K74T » December 28th, 2016, 11:02 am

Common sense > book sense

Postby Slartibartfast » December 28th, 2016, 11:43 am

K74T wrote:Common sense > book sense
It's not that simple as a lot of books are based on empirical evidence. If you think either kind of "sense" is better than the other then you are already handicapping yourself for no reason. I've seen university graduates so sh*t because they didn't have the experience to know better and I have seen workers with 20 to 30 years experience do sh*t because that's how they have always been doing it and they believe that book sense doesn't matter.

Above all you need to remember that life is dynamic and it is impossible for you to know everything. That means there will always be a need for you to learn more and avenues for you to do so. Here is my best advice regarding education. Be humbly open to it however it presents itself.

Another semi-related piece of advice I would give is to not get emotionally attached to your ideas and opinions. There is nothing wrong with being wrong every once in a while. Don't give up the opportunity to learn because you are offended by someone disagreeing with you.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » December 28th, 2016, 12:04 pm

Be the hardest working person you know.

The average employee is satisfied working 8-9 hours a day and even less if possible.That's why they're the average.

Successful people can't find enough time in a day to work on their enterprises.There's no shortage of money in the world,just a shortage of people willing to work 18 hours a day,everyday, to get it.

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: What do you know now, that you wish you had known in your 20's?

Postby bluesclues » December 28th, 2016, 12:36 pm

eliteauto wrote:
bluesclues wrote:Degrees are for those who need to be led, trained etc

#stackin_chedda

I've actually seen the opposite, a lot of ppl with degrees come out with what I call educated arrogance. They learn stuff in a classroom environment that's basically theory and come out feeling they know, but what they have learnt may not be applicable to real world business dynamics. I'm focussing here on ppl who do MBA's and Doctorates in Economics/Econometrics/Business. One such example I saw recently was an MBA graduate who's self-employed in a niche high-end business, some of his potential clients told him about listing his prices on items and he insisted on not doing so based on the premise of client engagement, he engaged in a running discussion with someone who was advising him about the need to make the shopping experience as easy for customers as possible, whereas the seller was insistent that by you calling for price you showed real interest and they could engage you on the reasons for pricing, other graduates joined the discussion and ridiculed the guy saying he eh know bout nothing and they learned that in class etc and if yuh so busy yuh cyah call why yuh engaging in discussion etc. Here's the thing the guy is a successful multimillionaire businessman with a portfolio including real-estate, retail etc, and here he is giving free advice to someone who is at best a thousandaire, yet their class room experience makes them better and more knowledgeable at sales? At the end of the day it's who's winning in real life not in your head that you need to look at for advice.

As for your comments about women, I think that's subjective to each person's experience, some of us were quite lucky to find the right partner that helped shape us and encourage us to grow, consider the money spent an investment what NOT to look for in a mate, rather than bad money spent

Yes it is subjective. Im not trying to highlight that. im not saying dont have girlfriends or dont spend money on them. But to be prudent and wise in your spending even at a young age and save to invest in your future.. which may or may not include present girlfriend.(u just can never tell). But im not insinuating that id erase that history or anything like that. We had great fun which contributes to some of the most memorable moments of my life and u cant put a price on that. But i think the proper word is 'maturity'. adopting mature behaviour in your finance management from a young age i think is a most beneficial strategy.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » December 28th, 2016, 12:39 pm

Get yourself a trade & if you can afford it get a marketable degree.

Postby Morpheus » December 28th, 2016, 2:54 pm

A mixture of both common and book sense is very hard to beat....

Postby pugboy » December 28th, 2016, 3:36 pm

learn to save money as a regimen
learn to cook and not have to eat out

Postby Slartibartfast » December 28th, 2016, 3:44 pm

Skanky wrote:Be the hardest working person you know.

The average employee is satisfied working 8-9 hours a day and even less if possible.That's why they're the average.

Successful people can't find enough time in a day to work on their enterprises.There's no shortage of money in the world,just a shortage of people willing to work 18 hours a day,everyday, to get it.

Working 18 hours for yourself is very different from working 18 hours for someone else. If you work 18 hours a day for someone else on a regular basis I would say that you need to talk to your boss about hiring help or start looking for other places to work.

Also, aim to work smart. No need to work 18 hours if you can finish the work properly in 6.

Skanky I think you need to elaborate on your point because there are a lot of scenarios where working 18 hours a day is exactly what you should not be do.

Postby Morpheus » December 28th, 2016, 3:48 pm

18hrs a day is complete madness...

Postby Redman » December 28th, 2016, 4:00 pm

shortage of people willing to work 18 hours a day,everyday, to get it.

If you running your own thing you cant come to the game with an employee disposition.

Skanky is right-you need to more than anybody you competing with.

Re: RE: Re: What do you know now, that you wish you had known in your 20's?

Postby nervewrecker » December 28th, 2016, 4:18 pm

Morpheus wrote:18hrs a day is complete madness...

Been there, done that

Postby DVSTT » December 28th, 2016, 11:05 pm

TV and video games are huge WOFTs.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 29th, 2016, 10:14 am

Social media too..

Postby MaxPower » December 29th, 2016, 11:12 am

Moral of the story....dont hate if you cannot afford a degree

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » December 29th, 2016, 11:17 am

Don't get married

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » December 29th, 2016, 5:21 pm

lotto numbers

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » December 29th, 2016, 5:25 pm

MaxPower wrote:Moral of the story....dont hate if you cannot afford a degree

Earning a Degree is mostly there for you to make other people rich... those fly by night uwee grads, waste of time...

a man publicly thanked Google for him gettin his degree... imagine that

Postby De Dragon » December 29th, 2016, 5:26 pm

In my days the AIDS virus was relatively new, so I woulda bull more girls. In those times, you'd get a little runnings, run off to the doc, get penicillin, and you were good to go.

OuttaRoad

Postby OuttaRoad » January 1st, 2017, 6:16 am

What do you know now, that you wish you had known in your 20's?

- don't horn.

Postby De Dragon » January 2nd, 2017, 12:28 am

OuttaRoad wrote:What do you know now, that you wish you had known in your 20's?

- don't horn.

Get horned.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » January 2nd, 2017, 12:38 am

Start to build your house when they tell you they give you theirs.
It does be on your brother/sister name who migrate and ketching dey ascot.
Buy a piece of land.

Marry the hot girl who adores you, as love will follow.
Of course avoid the girl who looks like your mama ......
If you cant well somebody go post de solution

Postby The_Honourable » January 3rd, 2017, 12:07 am

I wish i had good mentors. I didn't trust anybody and did things on my own while other times I was too trusting and ignored certain signs. Although I did have some successes along the way, had times i crashed and other times I didn't know what to do.

I eventually realized that for a man, his 20's is usually when he makes a lot of mistakes and gets many reality checks. Men generally hit their stride in their 30's.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 5th, 2017, 10:45 am

Do not take marital advice from your mother in law

Postby Slartibartfast » January 5th, 2017, 11:14 am

nos_specialist wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Moral of the story....dont hate if you cannot afford a degree

Earning a Degree is mostly there for you to make other people rich... those fly by night uwee grads, waste of time...

a man publicly thanked Google for him gettin his degree... imagine that

Depends on the degree. I would not like to see my surgeon pulling up "how to hold a scalpel" on google while I'm going under.

Postby Rovin » January 6th, 2017, 1:05 pm

really hard to decide on 1 or 2 things to choose to do for d rest of ur life or at least say for d next 10-20yrs , so my advice : choose something very early & work to build it up .... :|

Postby gt4tified » January 7th, 2017, 10:23 pm

1. Stay in England and don't come back to this place because I will regret it in time to come.

2. Beg mih family to buy land in Central and wait ah 10 years to become millionaires.

3. All the good music was left in the 80's...except for heavy metal...that never gets old.

4. Think long and hard about who yuh want to spend the rest of yuh life with...if yuh can't make up yuh mind, sleep with a mirror.

OuttaRoad

Postby OuttaRoad » April 2nd, 2017, 7:41 am

There's is a big difference between genuine friendships and convenient friendships. ...

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » April 2nd, 2017, 8:15 am

"When I was a young man, I had liberty, but I did not see it. I had time, but I did not know it. And I had love, but I did not feel it. Many decades would pass before I understood the meaning of all three. And now, the twilight of my life, this understanding has passed into contentment.''