Re: On the subject of GATE

Postby desifemlove » July 22nd, 2016, 2:19 pm

Trinispougla wrote:
desifemlove wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:
desifemlove wrote:i doh like yam and dasheen, bodhi is cool...but we sure can't be a wealthy society by growing them alone...

Ivory Coast's growth of 9% is solely due to their being the top producer of cocoa in the world with the proviso that the country remains at peace. Check how much French and Belgian investors going there.Trinidadian cocoa is generally regarded as some of the finest in the world. As i said, don't look down on agriculture
http://www.guardian.co.tt/business/2016 ... ing-fields

so yuh want T&T to be like Cote d'Iviore? they need agricuture cos they're starting from a lower economic base. they will move beyond it in time....

No, how can we be like ivory Coast. The basis of our economy is petroleum and will be so for a long time to come whether we like it or not. But to SUPPLEMENT our economy, we should have another revenue base so that when 1980s-type supply gluts happen, the effect will not be as harsh on the coffers as it is now. Desi economics isn't difficult, we do it in our homes all the time. If one source of revenue is or has been curtailed, you look for other revenue streams. Imagine if, to use your example, China could export oil to japan, flood the steel and textile markets, but had a food import bill in the multi trillions?

there is only so much return growing crops can provide. and how much room do we have to grow crops? Economics isn't difficult, as you're comparing a poor third world African country with T&T, different economic structure, different challenges.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » July 22nd, 2016, 2:58 pm

Desi, as I said, at nausea, once you have the raw materials you can attract direct foreign investment in addition to eliminating the weight of a US 5 billion dollar food import bill in a time when we aren't getting getting as much US dollars as we are used to. I am not comparing TT to any African country because the only African nation that TT can be compared with is Algeria who ironically are facing the similar Natural Gas challenges. If we had one billion of those dollars coming from the food import bill, we would not be having this discussion about GATE. Even China has a monopoly on textiles because they happen to be the largest producer of cotton which I think is a tree. TT's economy is energy based: hydrocarbons, lng, oil. Nothing is going to change that. Oil money is not going to dry up and miraculously we would have to rely on agriculture alone. Agriculture would simply be to supplement the income we already would be getting from oil and gas, which has a low price right now in addition to cutting out the waste of importing things that can be grown here.

Postby desifemlove » July 22nd, 2016, 3:38 pm

i get that. my point is no fing way can or should agriculture be our economic mainstay.

we should look at what food we import.

it's not just "bad" foods like ice cream, cakes, chocolate, but wheat, oils, potatoes, and shitload of other stuff. as a small island, and with a culture of flour-based foods, then we have to import such stuff, and locally grown wheat or broccoli cannot make much impact. it supply and demand, we cannot grow enough to meet demand.
Last edited by desifemlove on July 22nd, 2016, 4:16 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 22nd, 2016, 3:46 pm

Eh desi...answer one question...can you give me a substitute for food?

Postby desifemlove » July 22nd, 2016, 4:06 pm

water...would lessen obesity here...

you have to clarify how agriculture will benefit tandt economically. crops aren't expensive to sell, and we doin';t have the land to compete. Brazil grows similar stuff like we do, and even then there's no way they will stay growing cane or yams forever.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » July 22nd, 2016, 5:20 pm

desifemlove wrote:i get that. my point is no fing way can or should agriculture be our economic mainstay.

it's not just "bad" foods like ice cream, cakes, chocolate, but wheat, oils, potatoes, and shitload of other stuff. as a small island, and with a culture of flour-based foods, then we have to import such stuff, and locally grown wheat or broccoli cannot make much impact. it supply and demand, we cannot grow enough to meet demand.

TT can't grow enough to meet demand? So how were we managing in the preceding 10-15 years before? Farming in TT was never and has never been taken seriously. Cane workers only worked on the fields because that was the work available. When the Americans came here to build roads, everybody wanted to work with them. Oil became king and mostly everybody wanted to work in the technical fields. That is TT society. We go where a quick dollar can be made.Trinidad has vast swaths of land in central in the eastern bills, in Aripo Savannah. Sure some things will be imported but 5 billion US dollars is absolutely ridiculous. Demand could never induce five billion dollar price tag for a populace of 1.3 million people unless its from Barbados where the coral structure makes it challenging. Cocoa up to April was rottening in lopinot because farmers had issues with the new board.

Postby maj. tom » July 22nd, 2016, 6:39 pm

ok thread get derailed by fat girl with kiss cake.

is every blasted topic people make that this dunderhead go push she twinkie stubs and mess it up so?

Postby DVSTT » July 22nd, 2016, 6:40 pm

[code][/code]
maj. tom wrote:ok thread get derailed by fat girl with kiss cake.

is every blasted topic people make that this dunderhead go push she twinkie stubs and mess it up so?

Lololol

Postby desifemlove » July 24th, 2016, 3:47 pm

maj. tom wrote:ok thread get derailed by fat girl with kiss cake.

i say as i please, get the firetruck over it..old man.

Postby desifemlove » July 24th, 2016, 3:49 pm

Trinispougla wrote:
desifemlove wrote:i get that. my point is no fing way can or should agriculture be our economic mainstay.

TT can't grow enough to meet demand? So how were we managing in the preceding 10-15 years before? Farming in TT was never and has never been taken seriously. Cane workers only worked on the fields because that was the work available. When the Americans came here to build roads, everybody wanted to work with them. Oil became king and mostly everybody wanted to work in the technical fields. That is TT society. We go where a quick dollar can be made.Trinidad has vast swaths of land in central in the eastern bills, in Aripo Savannah. Sure some things will be imported but 5 billion US dollars is absolutely ridiculous. Demand could never induce five billion dollar price tag for a populace of 1.3 million people unless its from Barbados where the coral structure makes it challenging. Cocoa up to April was rottening in lopinot because farmers had issues with the new board.

so stuff like wheat we can grow here?? cool.

Postby desifemlove » July 24th, 2016, 4:11 pm

maj. tom wrote:desi only talent is with a 27' garden hose

like your 2"? but you're a bit retarded, like yuh buddy nervewrecker...ent??
Last edited by desifemlove on July 24th, 2016, 5:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby desifemlove » July 24th, 2016, 4:27 pm

to be honest, I not bothered, since i got through and can go back anywhere in the world.......i bet these Kamla babies only get shitty degrees wit no career plan. this is the reason why GATE is mash up.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » July 25th, 2016, 9:39 am

desifemlove wrote:Image

to be honest, I not bothered, since i got through and can go back anywhere in the world.......i bet these Kamla babies only get shitty degrees wit no career plan. this is the reason why GATE is mash up.

Desi i don't think you know frightening a prospect that is

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 25th, 2016, 2:43 pm

I really hate how politicians use every opportunity to exploit any situation for their own political gain rather than putting country first. Why are these people wearing yellow jersey? why are they holding up signs saying the government wants to take away their education? You get a fine education for free up to A levels so I don't see how anybody is taking away their education and wasn't it the PNM that made Secondary Education Free in this country in the first place?

Everybody knows the GATE program is flawed, and tax payers are being taken advantage off but it would be better to offer GATE to areas we need and that is lacking. We have a lack of nurses for example

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » July 25th, 2016, 9:37 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I really hate how politicians use every opportunity to exploit any situation for their own political gain rather than putting country first. Why are these people wearing yellow jersey? why are they holding up signs saying the government wants to take away their education? You get a fine education for free up to A levels so I don't see how anybody is taking away their education and wasn't it the PNM that made Secondary Education Free in this country in the first place?

Everybody knows the GATE program is flawed, and tax payers are being taken advantage off but it would be better to offer GATE to areas we need and that is lacking. We have a lack of nurses for example

What about those same taxpayers who are using GATE but probably paying their degree's worth back in taxes in any case?? Whose being taken advantage of then?? Also, every system has flaws, until we identify them over a period of time and rectify as it becomes necessary. Under the current structure, GATE has requirements based on a tiered system, whereby you must 'repay' the GoRTT by taking up employment in the country for a certain amount of time based on the amount of funding you received, otherwise you will have to repay the GoRTT. Take a look at this.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160314 ... cholarship

(Guy was a schol. winner but similar circumstances). In addition to that, once you fail a course, you have to pay to resit on you own..no GATE coverage there..so there are systems to both mitigate wastage and 'recover' at least a portion of the tuition expenses..so..

Postby desifemlove » July 26th, 2016, 8:58 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I really hate how politicians use every opportunity to exploit any situation for their own political gain rather than putting country first. Why are these people wearing yellow jersey? why are they holding up signs saying the government wants to take away their education? You get a fine education for free up to A levels so I don't see how anybody is taking away their education and wasn't it the PNM that made Secondary Education Free in this country in the first place?

they are UNC youth making their opinions heard. you know the difference between secondary and tertiary education, ent?

Postby De Dragon » July 26th, 2016, 9:56 am

It looks like you bull a male principal/Chancellor to get that "scholarship" because you does sound real dotish on every single forum that you post in.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » July 26th, 2016, 10:30 am

Joshie23 wrote:

What about those same taxpayers who are using GATE but probably paying their degree's worth back in taxes in any case?? Whose being taken advantage of then?? Also, every system has flaws, until we identify them over a period of time and rectify as it becomes necessary. Under the current structure, GATE has requirements based on a tiered system, whereby you must 'repay' the GoRTT by taking up employment in the country for a certain amount of time based on the amount of funding you received, otherwise you will have to repay the GoRTT. Take a look at this.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160314 ... cholarship

(Guy was a schol. winner but similar circumstances). In addition to that, once you fail a course, you have to pay to resit on you own..no GATE coverage there..so there are systems to both mitigate wastage and 'recover' at least a portion of the tuition expenses..so..

Gate iza subsidy. That iz all.

Postby desifemlove » July 26th, 2016, 11:30 am

It looks like you bull a male principal/Chancellor to get that "scholarship" because you does sound real dotish on every single forum that you post in.

I never got any scholarship. But continue to get vex if people criticise yuh leader, it's called having an opinion.

Re: RE: Re: On the subject of GATE

Postby nervewrecker » July 26th, 2016, 1:37 pm

desifemlove wrote:

I never got any scholarship. But continue to get vex if people criticise yuh leader, it's called having an opinion.

Your opinions don't matter though.

Cuz you dotish

Re: RE: Re: On the subject of GATE

Postby desifemlove » July 26th, 2016, 4:46 pm

desifemlove wrote:

Your opinions don't matter though.

Cuz you dotish

and you have asperger's......haha..grown man, tink he smart, doh get it hah.a

Postby desifemlove » July 26th, 2016, 4:47 pm

i doh care if you're offended, i post as i please get over it. aspie...

i can imagine you, on your laptop or smartphone, trying to jostle meh....haha...asperger's go away.

Postby desifemlove » July 26th, 2016, 4:57 pm

haha...what sense do you post? you like to project, don't you? perhaps go by mount hope, get tested for asperger's, you need it!

Postby nervewrecker » July 26th, 2016, 9:43 pm

Like a skipping CD. Same retort over and over.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 26th, 2016, 10:54 pm

Desi I really hope you good looking yes girl...

GixxerMan

Postby GixxerMan » July 27th, 2016, 12:53 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Desi I really hope you good looking yes girl...

word!

Postby desifemlove » July 27th, 2016, 11:28 am

nervewrecker wrote:Like a skipping CD. Same retort over and over.

eh? i ent really bothered.....i jus responding to some man online who tink he bad and the dude...not my isue. but it pretty true, like you does follow me around to try jostle meh...sorry, you're a man get overit.

Postby desifemlove » July 27th, 2016, 11:46 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Desi I really hope you good looking yes girl...

huh? no, men don't usually like dhal belly/small wang..

Postby desifemlove » July 27th, 2016, 12:01 pm

GATE means test. why not? or people who do "non-traditional" courses have to pay....i doh see why not.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » July 27th, 2016, 6:13 pm

desifemlove wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Like a skipping CD. Same retort over and over.

eh? i ent really bothered.....i jus responding to some man online who tink he bad and the dude...not my isue. but it pretty true, like you does follow me around to try jostle meh...sorry, you're a man get overit.

Umm.. :? I think Nerve was talking about you..