So a Tesla has reached sweet trinidad

drchaos

Re: So a Tesla has reached sweet trinidad

Postby drchaos » June 14th, 2016, 7:51 am

X2 wrote:Zero emissions ? They charging with a solar panel ? Why everything must be fraudulent ? LOL

The autopilot will crash like a drunk monkey in Trini roads I would imagine... but the car is a nice drive. At 500-700k, you could get an E class or 5 series with gas for almost a decade.

Literally zero emission as the car has no tail pipe. Also the company does sell and install solar installations for home charging.

5 series is 630K and the E class with AMG package is 670K (which is the only E class that comes close to that model S speed and abilities).

Weekly gas at $345 a week for a decade is is 179K (premium of course) and I haven't even gone into the maintenance on a gas car that you won't have to do on an electric car.

So no you wouldn't be saving money on an 5 series or an E class.

Postby X2 » June 14th, 2016, 6:34 pm

E class with AMG package ? You serious ?... lol

Well... landed cost of a Tesla spec'd to match the trim levels of a basic luxury competitor, plus inland, ocean may well be over 700k since the MVT seems to not be removed.... if you want to get precise or technical.

Those electrical chargers in the home... solar or otherwise... isn't free to buy or install :)

And $345 a week in premium... a bit high in mileage for an executive type that would afford this type of vehicle... don't ya think ?... so yes, a german mid range sedan and fuel paid will still be cheaper to buy and maintain.... no big engine or special package needed.

Postby pugboy » June 14th, 2016, 7:52 pm

So what exactly is the mvt calculation since an electric car doesn't have cubic centimeter sized combustion engine ?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 14th, 2016, 8:05 pm

X2 wrote:Those electrical chargers in the home... solar or otherwise... isn't free to buy or install :)
I believe all you need is a 50amp circuit and a regular plug at home.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 14th, 2016, 11:02 pm

X2 wrote:E class with AMG package ? You serious ?... lol

Well... landed cost of a Tesla spec'd to match the trim levels of a basic luxury competitor, plus inland, ocean may well be over 700k since the MVT seems to not be removed.... if you want to get precise or technical.

Those electrical chargers in the home... solar or otherwise... isn't free to buy or install :)

And $345 a week in premium... a bit high in mileage for an executive type that would afford this type of vehicle... don't ya think ?... so yes, a german mid range sedan and fuel paid will still be cheaper to buy and maintain.... no big engine or special package needed.

Urm ... You can't spec a model S to match the trim of basic 5 series or E class ... The German competitors will always fall short. Also basic 5 series or E class cannot compete in performance, basic model s churns out 328 HP.

The mobile charger comes free with the car and once you have a wall socket (which I suspect most people have these days) you can charge the car.

Also ... Yes $345 is gas a week is reasonable for these large vehicles, once you spend more than 15 mins on the highway for your commute one way.
Somehow you equate people being able to afford expensive vehicles with the lack of a commute???
I dunno bout you but central to south daily commute you can see porches, A7/8, 5 and 7 series, E classes and much more.

Lastly the prices I quote above for the 5 series and the E class was before your boy Colm increase the duty and MVT on these "luxury" vehicles.

Postby X2 » June 15th, 2016, 12:39 pm

Well considering you aren't buying the Tesla thru a dealer.... I figure you want to compare apples to apples... I can buy a BMW or Merc thru a non TnT dealer and still maintain a serviceable warranty while bussin lower prices that you can get locally... and the dealer must honor the warranty.

You cannot compare an electric motor's torque output to ANY gasoline engine available in TnT ....so talking engine to engine is a moot point... plus, the newer engines in german machines are more fuel efficient than ever before... over $300 a week in premium is not an 'average' figure either. Some will be higher, most will be below that number when driving the speed limit. (if you want to debate these figures... you're welcome to... but actually owning and operating one of these vehicles would surely help prove your point)

The problem is you are trying to compare the purchase of a vehicle without a proper dealer or warranty infrastructure in Trinidad, or even the Caribbean... something which I have intimate knowledge of doing.... so when I say it will cost you more, I'm not guessing.... but I suspect that you are....

But please...carry on about the zero emissions vehicle that uses our fossil fuel driven electrical grid and how it will save the world.... all that... while the Tesla still hasn't been licensed... right ?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 15th, 2016, 2:47 pm

" I'm not guessing.... but I suspect that you are...."
Most of what you have posted above is unsubstantiated drivel ... that you trying to pass as facts. We are both speaking about informed opinions so don't pretend to be an authority, its embarrassing.
Example ...
"I can buy a BMW or Merc thru a non TnT dealer and still maintain a serviceable warranty while bussin lower prices that you can get locally... and the dealer must honor the warranty." Prices and source please? You will probably ignore this as you are guessing.

Also I do have a euro 2.0 turbo and gas cost me 300 to 345 a week. Considering the 528i series and the E-class AMG running larger than 2.0 engines you will be spending at least over 150k on gas for 10 years providing that gas stays at its current price which is unlikely.

Lastly just to remind you of the definition of a zero emission car ...
A zero-emissions vehicle, or ZEV, is a vehicle that emits no tailpipe pollutants from the onboard source of power.

'

jm3

Postby jm3 » June 15th, 2016, 3:01 pm

I hope they bring in the model 3

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » June 18th, 2016, 12:55 pm

ImageImageImage

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 18th, 2016, 1:40 pm

Any details on cost and after sales service?

Postby pugboy » June 18th, 2016, 1:43 pm

Cost and taxes continue to be same place as God face

drchaos wrote:Any details on cost and after sales service?

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » June 18th, 2016, 1:54 pm

That is one sexy looking car, guesstimating cost for the model S to be somewhere in the 600-900K range.

Postby Monk BANzai » June 18th, 2016, 4:41 pm

with ad phrasing like this, this initiative is doomed from the start... you applying an Elitist attitude to a car that is being marketed to the middle class? Billionaire? That ad phrasing alone is a giveaway. People go to MovieTowne to be entertained not to buy cars...It's a good opportunity to talk to customers and educate them but selling isn't a realistic objective..Most of the people that buy Tesla research it online and just go to a physical location to test drive and pay.....Hence Malls ..like what Massy does up Trincity (Actually they sold 18 cars from their last outing up there..so go figure)....

index.jpg

Steups. I'm already turned off before it even begins. The firetruck is that rubbish.

Postby Rainman » June 18th, 2016, 5:35 pm

Bilionaire's brunch?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 18th, 2016, 6:03 pm

Like they wanna make Model S the new Range Rover

kjaglal76v2

Re: RE: Re: So a Tesla has reached sweet trinidad

Postby kjaglal76v2 » June 18th, 2016, 7:03 pm

drchaos wrote:I would advise not to buy from this company unless officially sanctioned by Tesla motors. No history in T&T, they can sell you a car and fold up tomorrow. Also Tesla is well known for refusing to sell through dealerships, they only sell directly to customers.

These cars are too highly technical and software and hardware wise for me to trust some third party seller to do any repairs.

you're a very vocal window shopper aren't you

Postby Redman » June 18th, 2016, 7:06 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:with ad phrasing like this, this initiative is doomed from the start... you applying an Elitist attitude to a car that is being marketed to the middle class? Billionaire? That ad phrasing alone is a giveaway. People go to MovieTowne to be entertained not to buy cars...It's a good opportunity to talk to customers and educate them but selling isn't a realistic objective..Most of the people that buy Tesla research it online and just go to a physical location to test drive and pay.....Hence Malls ..like what Massy does up Trincity (Actually they sold 18 cars from their last outing up there..so go figure)....

index.jpg

Steups. I'm already turned off before it even begins. The firetruck is that rubbish.

aye fadda

dont hate the game...

I has 2.
still in plastic ..with invoice for 4.35 USD from Amazon

Im double qualified.

:D
Screen Shot 2016-06-18 at 7.02.55 PM.png

Postby Morpheus » June 18th, 2016, 7:09 pm

^^^I see nothing really wrong with what he said. Actually it would prompt people to do research to see whether true or not.

Have a friend working MT and he told me to pass thru. I'm like, "To see a Tesla?" No thank you.

Postby pugboy » June 18th, 2016, 7:25 pm

yopro involved, lol
only churches sell hope in larger quantities than this guy

Postby SR » June 18th, 2016, 7:59 pm

According to a source from tesla the one imported here is an older model

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 18th, 2016, 8:52 pm

So when they said "come to the launch and all will be explained" (taken from their facebook page).

What they really meant is "We eh telling allu nuttin"

Postby pugboy » June 18th, 2016, 9:16 pm

you should check out the yopro events,
chap have a bunch of "event seminars" to teach people how to get rich fast or that lifestyle, all with admission fee

still don't know if licensing office has a formula for taxing a fully electric vehicle

Postby pete » June 18th, 2016, 9:38 pm

There's a formula to convert kW to cc equivalent that they use.

Postby A172 » June 18th, 2016, 9:45 pm

didnt knw it had so much tuners interested in buying teslas & hv tesla $
learn sumn new everyday

Postby A172 » June 18th, 2016, 9:49 pm

pugboy wrote:you should check out the yopro events,
chap have a bunch of "event seminars" to teach people how to get rich fast or that lifestyle, all with admission fee

still don't know if licensing office has a formula for taxing a fully electric vehicle

lo use whatever on c82 & ced to reg, type of car irrelevant

they also hv nothing to do with taxes
Last edited by A172 on June 18th, 2016, 9:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Morpheus » June 18th, 2016, 9:51 pm

^^That's exactly why I didn't go lol.

I'm really more interested in smaller, less "luxurious" models. Like say a Corolla or Lancer electric for instance.

But as usual, we would overprice those too...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 18th, 2016, 9:52 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:
drchaos wrote:I would advise not to buy from this company unless officially sanctioned by Tesla motors. No history in T&T, they can sell you a car and fold up tomorrow. Also Tesla is well known for refusing to sell through dealerships, they only sell directly to customers.

These cars are too highly technical and software and hardware wise for me to trust some third party seller to do any repairs.

you're a very vocal window shopper aren't you

Boy you don't know the half of it ...

Postby eliteauto » June 18th, 2016, 11:10 pm

good marketing strategy, the car ain't cheap and ain't for everyone, know yuh role and hold yuh lane, go take yuh selfies in MT with it cause that's as close as you gonna get until you make a post in the spotters thread doh beat up about it

Postby SR » June 19th, 2016, 8:52 am

^^^^^ this

Postby A172 » June 19th, 2016, 10:54 am

so banzai a poser den