Petition to Increase Highway Speed Limit to 100-120km/h

Re: Petition to Increase Highway Speed Limit to 100-120km/h

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 6th, 2016, 7:58 am

That's real BS......85 km ?...
Officer who did is really have no compassion...
It is really difficult to be driving at 80.....
Wonder how those turbo charged guys dealing with this..
Because 80 is so slow...u don't feel when u cross it...going slow....take a look at the meter and u r on 120km....this 80 is ridiculous

GVTrini07

Postby GVTrini07 » May 6th, 2016, 8:35 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:That's real BS......85 km ?...
Officer who did is really have no compassion...
It is really difficult to be driving at 80.....
Wonder how those turbo charged guys dealing with this..
Because 80 is so slow...u don't feel when u cross it...going slow....take a look at the meter and u r on 120km....this 80 is ridiculous

If the officer had shown compassion, normal trini mentality will be 85 is the new speed limit. The line has to be drawn. Cross it and feel the brunt! 80 is not difficult, you are just complacent by breaking the law for too long.

Re: RE: Re: Petition to Increase Highway Speed Limit to 100-120km/h

Postby gastly369 » May 6th, 2016, 8:42 am

GVTrini07 wrote:The highways are getting more pleasant to drive on. Less mad man cutting in an out, squeezing etc. 80 speed limit should stay. People need to obey the speed limit posted, not change to suit bad habits

Basically

Postby sMASH » May 6th, 2016, 8:55 am

teems1 wrote:This is the issue which causes the most traffic/stress on the roadways when there is free flowing traffic, and is a strong argument for leaving the speed limit at 80 and implementing more radar guns.

You're driving 80 in the left lane, coming up behind a loaded truck/van going 40, clearly you want to overtake, however looking in the mirror you see a line of cars in the right lane going 120+.

What should have been a simple overtaking maneuver has now brought doubt into your mind. Can you make the overtake safely? Should I slow down to the speed of the truck and wait for a safe overtake, but then that means being stuck behind the truck for a while as the line of cars passes.

Overtaking was unsafe so being a cautious driver, you slow down 40 (speed of truck). Now other cars in the left lane face the same dilemma as you did a few moments ago. Eventually there are a bunch of cars going slowly in the left lane, and never ending speeding cars in the right lane.

The cars behind the truck then try to dart out from the left lane to overtake the train of slow cars/truck. Doing so dangerously as the cars in the right lane often have to step on the brakes.

Now in your mind, being stuck behind the train of cars/van sucks, it would have just been easier to stay in the right lane, and go 120+ like the rest of the drivers to avoid this very situation. So you conform from your cautious driving style to one of speeding because in the end you think it's safer/better overall.

The problem is a slow moving vehicle in a roadway intended for fast flowing traffic.should charge u for impeding the movement of traffic

beetee

Postby beetee » May 6th, 2016, 10:47 am

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » May 6th, 2016, 11:33 am

Premchand1976 wrote:Maybe the three lanes on the highway can be 80/100/120 and drive the speed as per the lane....slower or faster = ticket.......saw it in Brampton.......smooth movement of traffic.

1. Where 40km trucks going ?

2. What you doing when the highway reduces to 2 lanes after Price Plaza ?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 6th, 2016, 11:57 am

beetee wrote:

Hilux ranger Mazda pickup navarra were not built to drive at 80km ...lol..

richgold1000

Postby richgold1000 » May 6th, 2016, 12:03 pm

Highway is madness these days. Traffic like that. People afraid to drive over 80km

RY&

Postby RY& » May 6th, 2016, 12:11 pm

naive tuners dat can't blatantly see that this has nothing to do with enforcing laws but rather make money. Watching these men talk sheit about oh this will help with murders n other crime. Steups. Govt only concern is revenue. Murders etc have no revenue so u do d math! Before they tax big businesses n industries u wanna tax d food on a man table. Anti robin hood behavior! Steal from d poor to give d rich smh. It's hilarious how men saying 100-120 will encourage reckless driving when d reality is it will curb it because now men don't have to cut in n out! Raising d speed limit doesn't mean dat d fearful 80kmh drivers have to drive 120. Drive 80 drive 40 heck let d car roll in neutral 4 all I care but do it in d left lane! N if u still not happy get off d ppl dem road n go on d main rd! There are main roads parallel to almost all highways so use it! Wen u see on news about all these accidents from men speeding u really think is 100-120 men doing. Clocking 160 n up! Sign d petition or stay on d main rd if is slow moving traffic u like!

richgold1000

Postby richgold1000 » May 6th, 2016, 12:14 pm

RY& wrote:naive tuners dat can't blatantly see that this has nothing to do with enforcing laws but rather make money. Watching these men talk sheit about oh this will help with murders n other crime. Steups. Govt only concern is revenue. Murders etc have no revenue so u do d math! Before they tax big businesses n industries u wanna tax d food on a man table. Anti robin hood behavior! Steal from d poor to give d rich smh. It's hilarious how men saying 100-120 will encourage reckless driving when d reality is it will curb it because now men don't have to cut in n out! Raising d speed limit doesn't mean dat d fearful 80kmh drivers have to drive 120. Drive 80 drive 40 heck let d car roll in neutral 4 all I care but do it in d left lane! N if u still not happy get off d ppl dem road n go on d main rd! There are main roads parallel to almost all highways so use it! Wen u see on news about all these accidents from men speeding u really think is 100-120 men doing. Clocking 160 n up! Sign d petition or stay on d main rd if is slow moving traffic u like!

Agreed!

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » May 6th, 2016, 12:17 pm

RY& wrote:naive tuners dat can't blatantly see that this has nothing to do with enforcing laws but rather make money. Watching these men talk sheit about oh this will help with murders n other crime. Steups. Govt only concern is revenue. Murders etc have no revenue so u do d math! Before they tax big businesses n industries u wanna tax d food on a man table. Anti robin hood behavior! Steal from d poor to give d rich smh. It's hilarious how men saying 100-120 will encourage reckless driving when d reality is it will curb it because now men don't have to cut in n out! Raising d speed limit doesn't mean dat d fearful 80kmh drivers have to drive 120. Drive 80 drive 40 heck let d car roll in neutral 4 all I care but do it in d left lane! N if u still not happy get off d ppl dem road n go on d main rd! There are main roads parallel to almost all highways so use it! Wen u see on news about all these accidents from men speeding u really think is 100-120 men doing. Clocking 160 n up! Sign d petition or stay on d main rd if is slow moving traffic u like!

I see. So the speed limit wasnt always 80 ? It suddenly turn 80 last week ?

Postby Morpheus » May 6th, 2016, 12:25 pm

Murder was always illegal too.....

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » May 6th, 2016, 1:16 pm

yea madcrix good to see some common sense here. i loled at the grilling on tv about the new speed limit on the morning show.

Doh Brakes

Postby Doh Brakes » May 6th, 2016, 1:20 pm

This speed gun discussion is a very interesting one. What makes it so contentious is in my opinion is the mentality of us as a people.

For example, statements like driving faster makes one stay up is completely irresponsible. I have not come across any evidence that backs up that way of thinking and I'm very curious to know where it started. A more plausible reason why speed limits are higher in places like the US are because of the longer distances. We as trinbagonians like to think we drive far but we don't. Imagine driving at 110km/h for 3hrs and still not arriving at your destination. This is the reality on these highways, the UBH is no comparison.

People try to compare speed limits in other countries without considering what those countries have in place to allow for such speed limits. In Germany, Denmark & Sweden completion of a first aid course is mandatory. Some countries have mandatory hours of day & night driving practice as part of getting licensed.

In Germany it is against the law to overtake on the right ( which decreases the weaving in and out of traffic), highways are not only patrolled manually but also by cameras. Roadways in Germany are rated to last for 40yrs which is the highest in the world. Police officers are trained in the proper way to execute their duty. In Canada if you are caught racing on the highway your car is impounded and you are charged with a criminal offence.

So many things should have been addressed before introducing speed guns. However the good thing about this is discussion is healthy for us to move forward as a people and we have to start somewhere.

I am part of a new podcast in T&T that in our next episode titled "Yuh Wa Speed" we discuss this issue. If anyone is interested you can like us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/dohbrakes or sound Cloud http://www.soundcloud.com/dohbrakes where you can also listen to previous episodes.

That's enough talk from me, if you want to hear more check out the podcast. I leave you with some interesting links on speed.

http://www.iihs.org/iihs/news/desktopne ... n-20-years

http://www.roadandtrack.com/car-culture ... rivers-do/

https://jeevith20.wordpress.com/2015/02 ... in-norway/

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 6th, 2016, 1:21 pm

I think this initiative is very effective. I have this inner fear now that every TTPS vehicle on the shoulder of the highway maybe measuring your vehicle speed and capturing the image for evidence. It allows me to drive a lot slower and less aggressive. The thing is, our road network is too congested and traffic gridlock is common especially on weekdays during peak periods. When for instance you are on the highway and you get a very open/clear stretch of road, typically as with most of us we dipped on our throttle and definitely went past 80kmph. I would admit there were instances where I clocked as much as 140kmph. The SHH and UBH is not as populated during late night into early morning hours and for obvious reasons our general speed increases. I drove to Piarco at around 2am in the morning coming from SF earlier this week and I kept compliant at 80kmph. I honestly got pretty comfortable listening to music and with the AC on. By the time I got to Caroni flyover I was already in sleep mode (perhaps I had elevated fatigue that night) and getting 'time' to observe your surroundings didn't help either. I reckon if I was doing my typical 120-140 its like your mind is in full alert mode thus keeping you awake. I guess gone are those days. I would not sign the petition despite this. I rather take longer to reach my destination and be more relaxed, law abiding and safer. Consider this, there are reasons a lot of crash tests are done at 40mph or 64kmph. A vehicle with a 5-star rating at those speeds would not repeat such a feat even at 50mph or 80kmph. The thought of losing control as I reflect at speeds 100kmph and above means a very high chance of death and it doesn't matter what brand/type of vehicle used. I simply ask those drivers who prefer to drive less than the speed limit to simply not clog the right lane. Remember this regulation, "keep left except when over-taking", trust me this kind/considerate practice goes a long way. Cheers!

beetee

Postby beetee » May 6th, 2016, 1:29 pm

Doh Brakes wrote:This speed gun discussion is a very interesting one. What makes it so contentious is in my opinion is the mentality of us as a people.

For example, statements like driving faster makes one stay up is completely irresponsible. I have not come across any evidence that backs up that way of thinking and I'm very curious to know where it started. A more plausible reason why speed limits are higher in places like the US are because of the longer distances. We as trinbagonians like to think we drive far but we don't. Imagine driving at 110km/h for 3hrs and still not arriving at your destination. This is the reality on these highways, the UBH is no comparison.

People try to compare speed limits in other countries without considering what those countries have in place to allow for such speed limits. In Germany, Denmark & Sweden completion of a first aid course is mandatory. Some countries have mandatory hours of day & night driving practice as part of getting licensed.

In Germany it is against the law to overtake on the right ( which decreases the weaving in and out of traffic), highways are not only patrolled manually but also by cameras. Roadways in Germany are rated to last for 40yrs which is the highest in the world. Police officers are trained in the proper way to execute their duty. In Canada if you are caught racing on the highway your car is impounded and you are charged with a criminal offence.

So many things should have been addressed before introducing speed guns. However the good thing about this is discussion is healthy for us to move forward as a people and we have to start somewhere.

I am part of a new podcast in T&T that in our next episode titled "Yuh Wa Speed" we discuss this issue. If anyone is interested you can like us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/dohbrakes or sound Cloud http://www.soundcloud.com/dohbrakes where you can also listen to previous episodes.

That's enough talk from me, if you want to hear more check out the podcast. I leave you with some interesting links on speed.

Well said.

Also, good job on the podcast.

$h@dy

Postby $h@dy » May 6th, 2016, 1:49 pm

Just heard a person was charged this morning for driving @ 85km/hr :D

Doh Brakes

Postby Doh Brakes » May 6th, 2016, 2:50 pm

beetee wrote:
Doh Brakes wrote:This speed gun discussion is a very interesting one. What makes it so contentious is in my opinion is the mentality of us as a people.

Well said.

Also, good job on the podcast.

Thanks for the listen & feedback. Glad you enjoyed it.

aka

Postby aka » May 6th, 2016, 3:20 pm

8006 8-)

Mr. Tony Stark

Postby Mr. Tony Stark » May 6th, 2016, 3:32 pm

I Think they should drop that speed limit to 60 km/hr, too many stunt drivers on the nation's roads

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » May 6th, 2016, 4:44 pm

Mr. Tony Stark wrote:I Think they should drop that speed limit to 60 km/hr, too many stunt drivers on the nation's roads

Postby DVSTT » May 6th, 2016, 4:46 pm

Hit the highway for the first time since the speed speed gun announcement today.
Traffic is absolutely absurd, everyone is driving below 80 and in all the lanes thanks to that antiquated law.
But my question is when the popo catch a man doing 85 and decide to purse, what happens to the other 25 drivers that they target doing 120+ while the pursuing unit is busy ticketing?
Also will the vehicles they using in these speed traps be the same vehicles that are never available when you call and have an emergency?

Postby Redman » May 6th, 2016, 4:51 pm

No the vehicles will be unavailable at the station cuz they on speeding ticket exercise...now we will get a good reason

Postby aaron17 » May 6th, 2016, 5:00 pm

DVSTT wrote:Hit the highway for the first time since the speed speed gun announcement today.
Traffic is absolutely absurd, everyone is driving below 80 and in all the lanes thanks to that antiquated law.
But my question is when the popo catch a man doing 85 and decide to purse, what happens to the other 25 drivers that they target doing 120+ while the pursuing unit is busy ticketing?
Also will the vehicles they using in these speed traps be the same vehicles that are never available when you call and have an emergency?

Good question . Want a follow up on this.maybe when u get the number plate.. police would proceed to licence office and get owner info. And the police would call the owner with the evidence on record on the day it happened.

Postby j.o.e » May 6th, 2016, 5:15 pm

aaron17 wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Hit the highway for the first time since the speed speed gun announcement today.

Good question . Want a follow up on this.maybe when u get the number plate.. police would proceed to licence office and get owner info. And the police would call the owner with the evidence on record on the day it happened.

1) You are ticketed on the spot just as before
2) No single enforcement exercise can capture 100% of speedsters regardless of method
3)seeing that currently there are 6 speed guns for Trinidad and Tobago I don't think that these exercises have any major effect on TTPS vehicle stock and response to other crimes.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 6th, 2016, 5:20 pm

I love how some people seem to think that wanting to raise the speed limit means they're against enforcement :lol:

Postby Redman » May 6th, 2016, 5:44 pm

So we have:
sheeit cars allowed to come in
License office allowing anything to be licensed
you could buy your license
we get sheeit work on road construction
sheeeit work on road maintenance
On import e tax new tires...but not used tires.

....and 6 speed guns.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » May 7th, 2016, 3:08 am

Redman wrote:So we have:

....and 6 speed guns.

So if it is a:

2016 R35
with nice new Potenza RE-71r's on 4 corners
with an experienced driver
On a well maintained smooth piece of road

Should he be allowed to drive more than 80km?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 7th, 2016, 6:05 am

ingalook wrote:
Redman wrote:So we have:

....and 6 speed guns.

So if it is a:

2016 R35
with nice new Potenza RE-71r's on 4 corners
with an experienced driver
On a well maintained smooth piece of road

Should he be allowed to drive more than 80km?

No because the law applies to all persons

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » May 7th, 2016, 6:07 am

Driving just turn boring.