90 million to refurbish Brian Lara Stadium

Re: 90 million to refurbish Brian Lara Stadium

Postby cinco » January 21st, 2016, 2:44 pm

Habit7 wrote:^^^ You fail to factor in sponsorships, TV rights, concessions and other spin off activities from the hoteliers to taxi drivers. Well over a million dollars a day.

Buy hey, everybody turn economist now. Ppl want a diversified economy but don't want the govt to spend any money, they don't want to carry their kids to Sando, Mt Hope and POS paediatric wards, they want the "new brand" one in Couva. And they want $7b in backpay, UWI Debe, all stadia, MVA bldg and all other PP project finished. In spite the fact PP couldn't finish all PNM projects when oil was 300% more than it is today.

But doh hut yuh head, poke-a-poke the govt will finish everybody projects and at least start their own.

so whats stopping the cricket people from using the other stadiums that already exist?

Postby Country_Bookie » January 21st, 2016, 2:45 pm

Habit7 wrote:^^^ You fail to factor in sponsorships, TV rights, concessions and other spin off activities from the hoteliers to taxi drivers. Well over a million dollars a day.

Cricket in the region consists of the following:

Regional 4 day cricket tournament- unsponsored since Carib Beer gave up sponsorship in 2005.
Regional 50 over cricket- sponsored by NAGICO, hosted at QPO, Couva, UWI & Shaw Park.
Regional 20 over cricket- sponsored by Digicel, hosted in whichever island/s willing to pay a few millions USD for hosting rights. Finals held in TT last year at QPO.
International cricket- Already hosted at QPO for 70+ years. ICC would not approve a move to a ground with structural deficiencies at BLS. Refer to the demolition of Dos Santos stand at QPO.

What additional cricket tournaments would TT be able to host after the construction of the BLS that we can't already get from the existing sporting facilities?

The answer is NONE!!!

Postby Chimera » January 21st, 2016, 3:45 pm

red and readyyyy!!!!!

Postby Habit7 » January 21st, 2016, 4:57 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:

Regional 4 day cricket tournament- unsponsored since Carib Beer gave up sponsorship in 2005.
Regional 50 over cricket- sponsored by NAGICO, hosted at QPO, Couva, UWI & Shaw Park.
Regional 20 over cricket- sponsored by Digicel, hosted in whichever island/s willing to pay a few millions USD for hosting rights. Finals held in TT last year at QPO.
International cricket- Already hosted at QPO for 70+ years. ICC would not approve a move to a ground with structural deficiencies at BLS. Refer to the demolition of Dos Santos stand at QPO.

What additional cricket tournaments would TT be able to host after the construction of the BLS that we can't already get from the existing sporting facilities?

The answer is NONE!!!

That claim that the stadium is not structurally sound is as substantiated as Kublalsingh saying that the highway is going through the Oropouche Lagoon. Allow me to rubbish all the claims you make in your post.

According to the architects, extensive work is required but the facility is still salvageable.
While it was lamented that the Facility sat languishing. Minister Smith stressed that episode is now in the past and going forward, his Government is about bringing the project to completion.
He was also pleased to be informed by UDeCOTT that the structure was found to be sound, after Consultants conducted a Complete Conditions Survey at the Facility, which included Architectural, Structural, Mechanical, Electrical and Civil Surveys.

Meanwhile, TTCB president Azim Bassarath was part of yesterday’s tour and was pleased to hear the Government will be moving full steam ahead to finish it. Bassarath has been quite vocal in the past about getting the stadium ready as he hopes it can become the home for cricket in TT .
The TTCB boss believes the Stadium can be used to host international cricket matches and will help the TTCB save considerably as the fee to use the Queen’s Park Oval was expensive
http://www.newsday.co.tt/sport/0,220380.html

Postby brams112 » January 21st, 2016, 5:35 pm

cinco wrote:

Buy hey, everybody turn economist now. Ppl want a diversified economy but don't want the govt to spend any money, they don't want to carry their kids to Sando, Mt Hope and POS paediatric wards, they want the "new brand" one in Couva. And they want $7b in backpay, UWI Debe, all stadia, MVA bldg and all other PP project finished. In spite the fact PP couldn't finish all PNM projects when oil was 300% more than it is today.

But doh hut yuh head, poke-a-poke the govt will finish everybody projects and at least start their own.

so whats stopping the cricket people from using the other stadiums that already exist?

This guy fighting hard to support his party no problem in that but where will they stay?maybe wait for a hotel to be built,then have games?he just frothing because he ain't thinking.

Postby 16 cycles » January 21st, 2016, 5:37 pm

What's the fee to use QPO? /btw

Postby brams112 » January 21st, 2016, 5:40 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Country_Bookie wrote:

The answer is NONE!!!

That claim that the stadium is not structurally sound is as substantiated as Kublalsingh saying that the highway is going through the Oropouche Lagoon. Allow me to rubbish all the claims you make in your post.

According to the architects, extensive work is required but the facility is still salvageable.
While it was lamented that the Facility sat languishing. Minister Smith stressed that episode is now in the past and going forward, his Government is about bringing the project to completion.
He was also pleased to be informed by UDeCOTT that the structure was found to be sound, after Consultants conducted a Complete Conditions Survey at the Facility, which included Architectural, Structural, Mechanical, Electrical and Civil Surveys.

Meanwhile, TTCB president Azim Bassarath was part of yesterday’s tour and was pleased to hear the Government will be moving full steam ahead to finish it. Bassarath has been quite vocal in the past about getting the stadium ready as he hopes it can become the home for cricket in TT .
The TTCB boss believes the Stadium can be used to host international cricket matches and will help the TTCB save considerably as the fee to use the Queen’s Park Oval was expensive
http://www.newsday.co.tt/sport/0,220380.html

Racket have to run,what else you want them to say when millions sharing out for them,those in the picture did any test at all?because structural test don't take weeks to do,or get results pallie.

Postby Habit7 » January 21st, 2016, 6:35 pm

It's not me fighting hard to support any party, it is fighting for common sense, the common sense that in a recession one of that fastest ways to stimulate your economy is by boosting the construction sector. However we have to deal with posts like this
brams112 wrote:Racket have to run,what else you want them to say when millions sharing out for them,those in the picture did any test at all?because structural test don't take weeks to do,or get results pallie.
The project was idle since 2009, 2011 Mary King and Anil Robert gave the go ahead for tests. Moonilal said it was a priority to complete in 2013 and in 2014 he said they will start it after the next budget....

That photo op wasn't when the testing and evaluation was done. Udecott had years to do it and it was done. So let's just finally finish the project, and stimulate the economy.

matix

Postby matix » January 21st, 2016, 6:42 pm

Nothing there is structurally sound. Udecott will say what they're told to say. I'm sure someone here has access to one of the drones. Park up close to the stadium and send in the drone. Take pics. Although it hasn't been maintained the vandalism and theft that has happened there is insane.

Postby De Dragon » January 21st, 2016, 10:42 pm

Habit7 will say anything, no matter how contradictory, to support anything this Government does. Imagine moving international cricket from POS where virtually all the hotel rooms are, to out in the boonies in Tarouba :lol: :lol:
Where will patrons stay, by Manning? :lol: :lol:

Postby zoom rader » January 21st, 2016, 10:47 pm

There are a set of Clowns that follow Habit7 and believe his garbage.

Juss like rfari, the great fraud PNM blogger.

Postby Habit7 » January 21st, 2016, 11:25 pm

De Dragon wrote:Habit7 will say anything, no matter how contradictory, to support anything this Government does.
Contradictions such as...?
De Dragon wrote:Imagine moving international cricket from POS where virtually all the hotel rooms are, to out in the boonies in Tarouba :lol: :lol: Where will patrons stay, by Manning? :lol: :lol:
Well there is Cara Suites, Tradewinds and Royal Hotel just to name a few. When international games were going at Manny Ramjohn Stadium (within viewing distance of Tarouba) for U17 World Cup, where did they stay? A drive from POS to Tarouba might sound like much for us but for those who don't live a small country, it is a drive across a city.

Speaking of contradiction, this is what you said about the plight of ppl having to come to POS for everything:
De Dragon wrote:You learnt well at the feet of your master Rowley who said the exact same thing recently. You, like him are selfish and uncaring about the average man who must journey to POS for every single Government service. You also contradict yourself by saying that efficiency will be reduced by having to journey outside of your area to access a service, yet are comfortable with a system that funnels thousands of citizens daily to a basically one way in/out road system to POS.
But now you vex because a major sport venue is being relocated outside of POS and being placed in the "boonies."

Allyuh men is jokers yes.

Postby De Dragon » January 22nd, 2016, 3:10 am

Habit7 wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Habit7 will say anything, no matter how contradictory, to support anything this Government does.
Contradictions such as...?
De Dragon wrote:Imagine moving international cricket from POS where virtually all the hotel rooms are, to out in the boonies in Tarouba :lol: :lol: Where will patrons stay, by Manning? :lol: :lol:
Well there is Cara Suites, Tradewinds and Royal Hotel just to name a few. When international games were going at Manny Ramjohn Stadium (within viewing distance of Tarouba) for U17 World Cup, where did they stay? A drive from POS to Tarouba might sound like much for us but for those who don't live a small country, it is a drive across a city.

Speaking of contradiction, this is what you said about the plight of ppl having to come to POS for everything:
De Dragon wrote:You learnt well at the feet of your master Rowley who said the exact same thing recently. You, like him are selfish and uncaring about the average man who must journey to POS for every single Government service. You also contradict yourself by saying that efficiency will be reduced by having to journey outside of your area to access a service, yet are comfortable with a system that funnels thousands of citizens daily to a basically one way in/out road system to POS.
But now you vex because a major sport venue is being relocated outside of POS and being placed in the "boonies."

Allyuh men is jokers yes.

You're fooling yourself with your baseless arguments. You have yet to say which event is going to attract people to the Tarouba stadium, which is/was(?) purpose built for cricket when we have more established venues that attract people already like the QPO and Guaracara. There are two types of cricket fans in T&T, the party type Trini Posse crew who frequent the QPO, and the die hard cricket fans who flock to Guaracara. Party type know that when they roll out from the Oval, that POS with the Avenue, Tragerete and QPS right there to continue to party. Die hards know when they roll out, there is Sando,Penal,Debe to go and drink and relax after the game.
If you try to get people out from those areas and force them to go to Tarouba, there will be drops in attendance. Tarouba is off of the highway in case you didn't notice, so imagine the further nightmare scenario of vehicles some with inebriated drivers, trying to come on to the highway after events there.

Postby Habit7 » January 22nd, 2016, 6:32 am

Whatever dude. Above is just backpedal.

Postby Redman » January 22nd, 2016, 7:03 am

Normel normel

Postby pugboy » January 22nd, 2016, 7:16 am

very likely the pnm sponsors from 2010 elections and 2015 calling in their favours now

Postby DVSTT » January 22nd, 2016, 7:40 am

pugboy wrote:very likely the pnm sponsors from 2010 elections and 2015 calling in their favours now

Postby Redman » January 22nd, 2016, 7:58 am

I think the gortt should publish the business plan for this expenditure....and accept public comment.
Maybe even a yes/no referendum on the 5 or 10 largest projects...

the Minister of Sport is way out of his depth.

Postby j.o.e » January 22nd, 2016, 9:26 am

Redman wrote:I think the gortt should publish the business plan for this expenditure....and accept public comment.

Then we should have had it for the aquatic centre , cycling velodrome and national tennis center .... Which will be all extremely expensive to maintain and ONLY used by a handful of elite athletes. Vanity projects of Anil Roberts(a champion of misbehavior in public office). I have no problem with people being against the completion of the stadium, it's a logical argument but we have a general problem of priorities in all the recent administrations. Whether you think it should be completed or not I just consider the fact that it's already there and money wasted on it is already gone might as well complete it rather than it waste away more, cost more to ever save and become an eyesore

Postby Chimera » January 22nd, 2016, 9:41 am

Joe all of us accept the pp screwed up....but does that mean you gonna accept the pnm freaking you up because the pp did it also?

Postby j.o.e » January 22nd, 2016, 10:09 am

Who said I was accepting ?

Postby Redman » January 22nd, 2016, 10:49 am

The govt need to.start showing its working.

Govt by edict can't work.

Postby RASC » January 22nd, 2016, 10:55 am

10-01 wrote:worked as a contractor on this project when it was being built ... epic waste of money ... kickback contract , real people going to " benefit " from this project ...

How much did you get?

Postby S_2NR » January 22nd, 2016, 11:06 am

RASC wrote:
10-01 wrote:worked as a contractor on this project when it was being built ... epic waste of money ... kickback contract , real people going to " benefit " from this project ...

How much did you get?

Not enough apparently

Postby j.o.e » January 22nd, 2016, 11:12 am

10-01 is one of dem fellas who work on every site and have inside info on everything. Only reason men doh call him out is because his username too abstract to recall

Postby Habit7 » January 22nd, 2016, 11:34 am

Redman wrote:I think the gortt should publish the business plan for this expenditure....and accept public comment.

If we are going to do projects by referendum then expect no Govt Campus, Waterfront, Pt Fortin Hway and others that had considerable opposition and would easily get the sympathy vote again the big bad govt.

The govt say their policy is their manifesto. So while ppl kicking up for $90 million to complete the longest and biggest incomplete project, nobody noticed $153 million for a wind energy study which I'm sure would not be approved by referendum.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 22nd, 2016, 11:36 am

since d big excuse is we "hadda stimulate d economy" - i wuda take d 90 mil & fix problems in 90 schools instead or 1\2 mil in 180 schools , spread d $ all over rather than all eggs in 1 basket , $$$ wud be spread waaaay more too ...... :|

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 22nd, 2016, 11:41 am

all this chess burn over a stadium which would only benefit contractors and the people who issuing the contracts..The average person aint really gave a fork about this stadium...How is this stadium going to help a person find the extra $70-$100(according to Imballs) for their food bill???

Postby Redman » January 22nd, 2016, 12:18 pm

Habit7 wrote:

If we are going to do projects by referendum then expect no Govt Campus, Waterfront, Pt Fortin Hway and others that had considerable opposition and would easily get the sympathy vote again the big bad govt.

The govt say their policy is their manifesto. So while ppl kicking up for $90 million to complete the longest and biggest incomplete project, nobody noticed $153 million for a wind energy study which I'm sure would not be approved by referendum.

Point is that the 90m is an issue because there is no clarity as to the benefits...the minister having listed one set of generic social platitudes.

If the biz plan is to rent out the facility...then show the population the revenue.......Much of the noise....for or against the project would be silenced....why can't they balance the expenditure with a revenue detail?

If it is Lara and co coming with something...And has received concessions from the gortt then should this be public info??
I say yes.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 22nd, 2016, 12:18 pm

153m for the study...so 153m in research? Better they just implement and see what happens. If my understanding is correct this is just another case if this govt being pennywise and pound foolish like they did with the rapid rail study.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk