New RORO laws!

toyota2nr

Re: New RORO laws!

Postby toyota2nr » January 17th, 2016, 10:57 pm

Habit7 wrote:I agree with this move, It curbs forex, reduces fuel subsidy by having more modern fuel efficient cars and it boosts the local used market.

I bought a Mazda 3 5 years ago, regularly serviced and no major accident. Now that I want to sell it, some 95 year old Japanese woman who had the same Mazda 3 and just drove it once a year because they was an earthquake and she feared for a tsunami, has her car imported here and it selling just $10,000 more than mine. Esp. when I have 130,000km on the odometer and she has 8,000km.

With the amount of cars in this country, if RORO is for the poor man, then let them buy a locally used cars because unlike Japan, we have no other RHD nation to palm it off on.

Dumb comment of the day....

Doh tote because you can't dig out people eye with price.

Pray tell how a six year old car is less efficient than a car that is not as aged? My 13 year old Corolla still more efficient than newer vehicles. Your point is pointless.

So you wanna take away people right to choose the car they want? Sell your vehicle for market price.

Postby Habit7 » January 18th, 2016, 7:17 am

toyota2nr wrote:My 13 year old Corolla still more efficient than newer vehicles. Your point is pointless.

That is exactly my point, my 5 year old local used car is as efficient as the 5 year old foreign used car of the same make and model.

And my car is priced at market value as valued by an adjuster. However it has to compete with an external market and even worst use precious USD.

Postby 16 cycles » January 18th, 2016, 7:51 am

Automotive dealers slam ‘heartless Paula’

.say they stand to lose $500,000 to $2m on used cars already purchased
Rhonda Krystal Rambally
Published:
Sunday, January 17, 2016
Angered by the revised foreign used car policy announced by Trade Minister Paula Gopee-Scoon on Friday, president of the T&T Automotive Dealers Association (TTADA), Visham Babwah, says she shed tears for the wrong audience.

Babwah said only a “heartless” Government would implement such harsh measures on its citizens.

“She went to the Amcham meeting and cried and told them to be loyal to your country but did she save a tear to shed for the used car dealers and their employees?

“No, she cares for the people at Amcham.”

Bashing the Government’s new plan for the industry, he said dealers were not given proper notification of the changes.

In an interview yesterday, Babwah said, “We were never notified by writing, public notice or even the decency of a phone call to let us know there was a change coming. We had a meeting with this minister in October and this was never indicated in any way.”

He said the announcement came as a great shock. He said the move was “bothersome” and indicated that the Government was a dictatorial one.

He also questioned why the announcement was not made at the post-Cabinet news briefing. Babwah said only 9,000 used cars were imported annually but close to 40,000 cars were being registered.

He said, “Look and see who are the contributors to the traffic situation. Yet they are blaming us for the traffic situation.”

He called on the Government to deal with the so-called unscrupulous dealers.

Several small dealers, Babwah said, stand to lose up to as much as $500,000 to $2 million for cars already purchased and waiting to be shipped.

He said, “What will happen is that people will lose money because some have purchased directly from the auction and there’s no refund. People will face some serious losses.”

Tomorrow the association is expected to write to Gopee-Scoon to request an urgent meeting.

Inshan: Dealers can come together, cut prices

There should have been a three-month window period before the revised foreign used car policy came into effect.

Managing director of ROC Roll-On Roll-Off Centre, Inshan Ishmael, said he did not have a major concern with the change in the age limit, but he felt that dealers should have been given a leeway.

Remaining optimistic, Ishmael said car dealers could all come together “to beat this together.”

He said, “We are doing something we have not done before. Dealers are coming together and we are going to make bulk orders and that way, on the four-year-old cars we can reduce prices. We have also agreed to cut our profits so that we can sustain the market.”

He said the discounts would be more if dealers bought cars collectively rather than individually.

Asked about the increased costs incurred on a car, he said it would vary from about $5,000 to $7,000.

However, “The increase depends on the dealer’s concern for the consumer or his own greed.”

He said he was prepared “to bite the bullet” in order to save foreign exchange and move forward.

“I gave commitment to workers that no one will go home whether we make one dollar or ten dollars. In this business you make a good profit but the fact remains if you have to survive, you have to remain competitive.”

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-01- ... a%E2%80%99

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 18th, 2016, 8:14 am

hearing conflicting reports about those who already have vehicles en route may not be able to license/register said vehicles once they are older than 2012 YOM. Also hearing if it is allowed, those vehicles are subject to 15% VAT whereas 2012 and newer entering the country will be subject to 12.5% VAT.

Can anyone clear this up? I have an Axela in limbo....

Postby zoom rader » January 18th, 2016, 8:18 am

Next tax coming is inspection tax, rumours that it will now cost $1000 to get your car inspected

kawaman

Postby kawaman » January 18th, 2016, 8:23 am

how about letting individuals and business import there own vehicles and shut down dealers.
better prices plus less usd leaving the country.

Postby j.o.e » January 18th, 2016, 8:26 am

kawaman wrote:how about letting individuals and business import there own vehicles and shut down dealers.
better prices plus less usd leaving the country.

That makes no sense, the idea is to minimize imports by limiting the amount of importers. Not opening it up

stout

Postby stout » January 18th, 2016, 8:29 am

acesinghit wrote:hearing conflicting reports about those who already have vehicles en route may not be able to license/register said vehicles once they are older than 2012 YOM. Also hearing if it is allowed, those vehicles are subject to 15% VAT whereas 2012 and newer entering the country will be subject to 12.5% VAT.

Can anyone clear this up? I have an Axela in limbo....

I would also like to know this info as well.....

Postby Habit7 » January 18th, 2016, 8:58 am

I dont know how ppl could say this policy helps the new car dealers.

If someone was in the market for a 4-6 year old car before, they werent going by the new car dealers anyway.

Rather than looking to the foriegn used market and using up more foreign exchange, now the will have to choose from the local used market and use local currency.

Postby zoom rader » January 18th, 2016, 9:26 am

Habit7 wrote:I dont know how ppl could say this policy helps the new car dealers.

If someone was in the market for a 4-6 year old car before, they werent going by the new car dealers anyway.

Rather than looking to the foriegn used market and using up more foreign exchange, now the will have to choose from the local used market and use local currency.

Yeah and get crappy rejected cars that can't sell anywhere with missing features

Postby zoom rader » January 18th, 2016, 9:27 am

Habit7 wrote:I dont know how ppl could say this policy helps the new car dealers.

Yeah and get crappy rejected cars that can't sell anywhere with missing features .

New cars dealers = PNM financiers
Used car dealers = entrepreneurs

Postby j.o.e » January 18th, 2016, 9:43 am

People do realize that you can still get a RoRo car right just instead of a 2010 you can get a 2012...... What the beat up about ? Roro dealers always look for the oldest/cheapest possible car to bring to sell here at a 'deal' of $90,000.

Postby Habit7 » January 18th, 2016, 9:45 am

Yeah and get crappy rejected cars that can't sell anywhere with missing features .

But the used car dealers rejected Vasant Bharath and openly endorsed PNM last election

And wasnt it ANSA McAL who had to step in and upset Guardian because they were printing too much negative stories of Moonilal's Range Rover. And as a result a bunch of reporters resigned?

Postby j.o.e » January 18th, 2016, 9:46 am

Tell me about all the great features the average foreign used car is coming with that are lacking in local cars of the same type. This is something that happened long ago, now Roro quality is dirt cheap economy spec.

Postby Habit7 » January 18th, 2016, 9:47 am

But the used car dealers rejected Vasant Bharath and openly endorsed PNM last election

And wasnt it ANSA McAL who had to step in and upset Guardian because they were printing too much negative stories of Moonilal's Range Rover. And as a result a bunch of reporters resigned?

Postby eliteauto » January 18th, 2016, 9:52 am

Habit7 if the RORO industry which has a quota contributed 20% of the cars on the road vs the new car industry why target the user of less foreign exchange when looked at from an industry perspective?

eXamin

Postby eXamin » January 18th, 2016, 10:02 am

j.o.e wrote:
cinco wrote:Looool people still believe in this lower mileage Japanese carsshit?

This

Yes from a reputable japanese dealer, these cars have true mileages untill the trini car dealers request to have it changed to a lower number. This is why most car dealers have mileages around 25 to 35 km.

eXamin

Postby eXamin » January 18th, 2016, 10:03 am

repost sry
Last edited by eXamin on January 18th, 2016, 10:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Habit7 » January 18th, 2016, 10:05 am

eliteauto wrote:Habit7 if the RORO industry which has a quota contributed 20% of the cars on the road vs the new car industry why target the user of less foreign exchange when looked at from an industry perspective?

Well firstly we dont make or assemble cars in T&T so to get them we would have to use forex to import them. If a quota is placed on new cars then their prices would go up. However once the cars are here, utilising them for their full usability is for our benefit. While the RORO dealers use less forex, at this time every dollar matters and we don't have a shortage of used cars. Reducing the age can reduce the trade deficit and forex with Japan while stimulating our local used car economy, not the Japanese.

Buy local is not just food.
Last edited by Habit7 on January 18th, 2016, 10:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby j.o.e » January 18th, 2016, 10:10 am

People keep arguing that the Roro industry isn't using much forex. The point is it is some and every cut back counts. A light bulb in your house doesn't use much electricity but if you need to be economical you would switch off lights and save wherever you can. And again , Roro dealers can still import with just a minor change in policy, crocodile tears not necessary.

Postby zoom rader » January 18th, 2016, 10:15 am

Habit7 wrote:
eliteauto wrote:Habit7 if the RORO industry which has a quota contributed 20% of the cars on the road vs the new car industry why target the user of less foreign exchange when looked at from an industry perspective?

Well firstly we dont make or assemble cars in T&T so to get them we would have to use forex to import them. If a quota is placed on new cars then their prices would go up. However once the cars are here, utilising them for their full usability is for our benefit. While the RORO dealers use less forex, at this time every dollar matters and we don't have a shortage of used cars. Reducing the age can reduce the trade deficit and forex with Japan while stimulating our local used car economy, not the Japanese.

A Trin local used car is not the same as a Roro.

This government does not repairs roads. When u buy a local used car it already shake our due to our bad roads.
Plus you gonna get a lot of interfering with the cars as the former users pull all kinds crap on the car, wings, stickers, fluffy dice and nasty seats where the owner brush in the car.

Worst is to buy a car with a PNM bumper sticker

Postby zoom rader » January 18th, 2016, 10:18 am

Habit7 wrote:

This government does not repairs roads. When u buy a local used car it already shake our due to our bad roads.
Plus you gonna get a lot of interfering with the cars as the former users pull all kinds crap on the car, wings, stickers, fluffy dice and nasty seats where the owner brush in the car.

Postby zoom rader » January 18th, 2016, 10:20 am

Habit7 wrote:

Postby eliteauto » January 18th, 2016, 10:39 am

Habit7 wrote:

Buy local is not just food.

Yes but the reasons forwarded by the Minister run contrary to the realities, if the RORO industry supplies 20% of the market why are you targeting them as a cause of vehicular congestion? If a 6 year old vehicles emissions are not significantly different to a new car's ( as stated in the draft policy of the same Min of Trade 2011) and many come equipped with more safety features than new cars why make claims of safety and environmental considerations? If you claim foreign exchange leakages because they are net importers than please show me the value added products the new car dealers create that earn foreign exchange?

Can the Minister's claims really stand scrutiny?

Postby Habit7 » January 18th, 2016, 10:54 am

eliteauto wrote:Yes but the reasons forwarded by the Minister run contrary to the realities....

Some of the challenges include, but are not limited to, the following:

1. The increase in traffic congestion on the nation’s roadways;

1. Foreign exchange leakages as the Foreign Used Car Industry is comprised of net importers;

1. Safety and environmental protection considerations for the citizens and the environment. In this regard, the Ministry of Trade and Industry has been formally advised by the Transport Commissioner in the Ministry of Works and Transport that an estimated fourteen percent (14%) of the total number of foreign used vehicles, particularly those that are over four years old, have been found to be defective by the Licencing Division of the Ministry of Works and Transport;

1. Irregularities associated with the operation of the Foreign Used Car Industry in Trinidad and Tobago. An audit currently being undertaken by the TLU has revealed the following:

1. Some Dealers are not complying with the terms and conditions for registration of their Dealerships;
2. There exists a proliferation of persons who are operating as “Unregistered Dealers” who are evading taxes resulting in lost revenue for the Government; and
3. Some of these “Unregistered Dealers” are operating unscrupulously at the expense of innocent consumers.

http://www.news.gov.tt/content/trade-mi ... pz6mPkrJD8

I say yes.

Postby eliteauto » January 18th, 2016, 11:07 am

Habit7 wrote:
eliteauto wrote:Yes but the reasons forwarded by the Minister run contrary to the realities....

Some of the challenges include, but are not limited to, the following:

1. The increase in traffic congestion on the nation’s roadways;

1. Foreign exchange leakages as the Foreign Used Car Industry is comprised of net importers;

1. Safety and environmental protection considerations for the citizens and the environment. In this regard, the Ministry of Trade and Industry has been formally advised by the Transport Commissioner in the Ministry of Works and Transport that an estimated fourteen percent (14%) of the total number of foreign used vehicles, particularly those that are over four years old, have been found to be defective by the Licencing Division of the Ministry of Works and Transport;

1. Irregularities associated with the operation of the Foreign Used Car Industry in Trinidad and Tobago. An audit currently being undertaken by the TLU has revealed the following:

1. Some Dealers are not complying with the terms and conditions for registration of their Dealerships;
2. There exists a proliferation of persons who are operating as “Unregistered Dealers” who are evading taxes resulting in lost revenue for the Government; and
3. Some of these “Unregistered Dealers” are operating unscrupulously at the expense of innocent consumers.

http://www.news.gov.tt/content/trade-mi ... pz6mPkrJD8

I say yes.

Hold on... so Licensing detects an estimated 14% defective vehicles....14% and the industry is broadbrushed? When is this 14% detected? At registration? And if so are said vehicles seized and monies refunded? If the answer is no then what penalties are being put on the Licensing Dept? That's as obfuscated a reason as can be found.

Secondly she alludes to people operating outside of the registration parameters. These are the persons who facilitate the paperwork/brokerage of vehicles on personal license imports on behalf of citizens ( the same citizens who via their licenses have to keep the cars for 3 now 4 years), now she says they are evading tax, if these guys are self-employed what evidence does she have as to the net profits from these transactions that put that individual in any tax bracket? How does she juxtapose that validation versus say a doubles vendor? How does the new limitations on vehicular imports stymie that practice, it simply precludes some cars but not necessarily some buyers nor does it deter the practice which btw is done to save a few thousands on vehicle purchases by individuals, there are already deterrents by way of financing as some lending institutions won't finance a vehicle that's not from an approved dealer as the risk is too high.

Really Habit7? Nah man better than that

Postby Habit7 » January 18th, 2016, 11:28 am

Idk what happens to those defective vehicles, neither what the Licensing Dept is doing, but that 14% is mostly in the 4-6 years age, so it is not broad brushed. Thus the most immediate solution is stop importing jalopies and not try to fix them up here.

To be VAT registered you have to have revenue of $360,000+ a year I would like to think that most used car dealers make this revenue (not profit). Shrinking the market squeezes out the unregistered dealers and makes it more profitable for the legit dealers. When the crack down on doubles men come, expect even great beat up.

BTW many financiers have strict criteria for RORO so many just buy the vehicle cash rather than mortgage it
Last edited by Habit7 on January 18th, 2016, 11:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

Xplode

Postby Xplode » January 18th, 2016, 11:32 am

The thing with RoRo vehicles comes with more pre-loaded features than the Local Firms ,My entire family buys new from the firm i myself bought once from M Rampersad, Like TTTL with the new Hilux simple reverse cameras,push button start,fold in Mirrors and touch screen interface don't come standard ,Local firms should step up and have a option to factory customize to the customer satisfaction , this is what you will be getting and how long it will take to reach ,and Gov't should make standard GPS tracking device placed in all vehicles .

Postby eliteauto » January 18th, 2016, 11:36 am

wrong again Habit7, shrinking the market does just the opposite, it encourages the unregistered dealers who have lower overhead, little or no staff save part time drivers and operate from home on a PC, who is the buyer going to seek out to get the best value from his now diminished buying power? Take a look on FB now and you'll see many of the said unregistered dealers posting to their customers to have no fear their operations are unaffected, in fact unregistered dealers are more dynamic and fluid to changes owing to their size and not holding stock as they buy on order. And as you said most buy cash, so how are they affected?

This is either a knee jerk reaction done with almost ZERO facts or worse a case of the return to the status-quo where the financiers call the tune and the Gov't dances accordingly

Postby j.o.e » January 18th, 2016, 11:37 am

Xplode wrote:The thing with RoRo vehicles comes with more pre-loaded features than the Local Firms ,My entire family buys new from the firm i myself bought once from M Rampersad, Like TTTL with the new Hilux simple reverse cameras,push button start,fold in Mirrors and touch screen interface don't come standard ,Local firms should step up and have a option to factory customize to the customer satisfaction , this is what you will be getting and how long it will take to reach ,and Gov't should make standard GPS tracking device placed in all vehicles .

Aren't M Rampersad vans new? This is about 4-6 year old vehicles ... Relevance ?