WHAT would YOU like to see the government do ?

Re: WHAT would YOU like to see the government do ?

Postby janfar » September 10th, 2015, 4:05 pm

Taking into consideration that the price of oil may hover in the 40s for the unforeseeable future a rapid rail may not be feasible at this time.Here are a few of my ideas based on things I have seen on my travels.

1. Extend PBR to Sangre Grande

2. Electric buses (powered by overhead lines) to operate on the bus route and one lane dedicated to become a bus lane on the highway during peak hours.

3. Park and ride system to be set up near main areas around Sangre Grande, Arima, Tunapuna, Curepe, San Juan. These areas will be hubs for buses to stop for passengers. There will be 2 types of buses, local and express. Express will ONLY stop at the main hubs where as the locals will stop and all stops.

4. Introduce a toll as Banzai suggested using RFID.

5. Once this system is working satisfactorily, eliminate the fuel subsidy and invest this money in ethanol manufacturing (using sugar cane)

This route is just an example, same could be done for South- North.

Postby RBphoto » September 10th, 2015, 9:02 pm

Ethanol has proven to not be a viable fuel source. The rapid rail will provide an alternative route for passengers, apart from the highways. That is a very viable option.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » September 11th, 2015, 12:25 pm

Ethanol ... duprey. ..tbtl...lol

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » September 12th, 2015, 6:41 am

Close down/ relocate Beetham landfill

Remove that Powergen plant in Port of Spain (safety hazard)

Introduce a recycling policy

Metered water in all homes (like electricity)

Introduce auto street sweepers in all cities and boroughs and further expand to all regional corporations

Introduce a travel embargo on all heavy load vehicles during high traffic density periods (weekday morning and afternoons)

Introduce a proper state vehicle fleet management system in particular for health, safety and security apparatus. Fire Tenders, ambulances and patrol cars

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 12th, 2015, 8:01 am

Remove import restrictions on foreign used vehicles

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » September 12th, 2015, 8:06 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Remove import restrictions on foreign used vehicles

Really?

Lance

Postby Lance » September 12th, 2015, 8:08 am

For what? So households can have 2 cars per person instead of 1?

This makes zero economic sense.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 12th, 2015, 8:25 am

I wa ah skyline bai

Postby RASC » September 12th, 2015, 8:26 am

Sigh

Postby RBphoto » September 12th, 2015, 9:51 am

Lance wrote:

That is half the problem, they should also reduce MVT drastically on vehicles and not base it on engine size. Those restrictions are the reason people can call up to $50,000.00 for a beat out 20 year old car, whether it is a B14 or an accord, because all sellers factor in that 20-30K that has to be added to new/FU car cost which they wish to recoup. It is a real cost and does not reduce with the age/value of the car.

Postby DVSTT » September 12th, 2015, 12:38 pm

RBphoto wrote:
Lance wrote:

That is half the problem, they should also reduce MVT drastically on vehicles and not base it on engine size. Those restrictions are the reason people can call up to $50,000.00 for a beat out 20 year old car, whether it is a B14 or an accord, because all sellers factor in that 20-30K that has to be added to new/FU car cost which they wish to recoup. It is a real cost and does not reduce with the age/value of the car.

One does not simply call a b14 beat out

Postby RBphoto » September 12th, 2015, 1:11 pm

DVSTT wrote:
RBphoto wrote:
Lance wrote:

One does not simply call a b14 beat out

You do not beat out a B14, A B14 beats out you.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 12th, 2015, 1:23 pm

RBphoto wrote:
DVSTT wrote:One does not simply call a b14 beat out

You do not beat out a B14, A B14 beats out you.

Coated 4 troot

Postby j.o.e » September 12th, 2015, 1:51 pm

Engine tax should be replaced by a tax based on manufacturer stated mpg. For the specific engine being brought to showrooms. (This only applies to new cars)
So in some cases we will be able to get bigger engines that are more efficient if that is the case. As well as cheaper hybrids etc. People should be rewarded for choosing more efficient vehicles.
Taxing based on engine size is no longer useful.

Postby desifemlove » September 12th, 2015, 2:01 pm

also want PM Dr. K to tek the good from UNC policies and split Min. of National Security, enhance laptop programme, road to Chaguaramas, and maybe a limited busway between town to Chaguanas and Sando.

notsoloud

Postby notsoloud » September 13th, 2015, 10:42 am

improved and well manged bus service this will be cheaper than rapid rail

Postby 1UZFE » September 13th, 2015, 10:51 am

Finish d brian lara stadium.

Postby DVSTT » September 13th, 2015, 11:00 am

3 lane from chaguanas to Indian trail fly over.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » September 13th, 2015, 5:08 pm

ADONI wrote:
Al-Ameen wrote:i would like to see then do everything in this ched

ENT!!! :D

For real
But remember the cookie jar empty!

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » September 13th, 2015, 5:08 pm

ADONI wrote:
Al-Ameen wrote:i would like to see then do everything in this ched

ENT!!! :D

For real
But remember the cookie jar empty!

Postby RBphoto » September 14th, 2015, 10:07 am

j.o.e wrote:Engine tax should be replaced by a tax based on manufacturer stated mpg. For the specific engine being brought to showrooms. (This only applies to new cars)
So in some cases we will be able to get bigger engines that are more efficient if that is the case. As well as cheaper hybrids etc. People should be rewarded for choosing more efficient vehicles.
Taxing based on engine size is no longer useful.

This ^^^^ a good idea, to rationalize taxing engines, but I am altogether against any type of evaluated tax and in favor of a flat tax for another reason. The more leeway you give licencing officers to evaluate the tax lower for an importer, the greater the probability there would be a bribe. Remove any benefit they can provide to someone for a bribe and there would be less chance of a bribe.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » September 14th, 2015, 12:21 pm

dear pnm government. your task is simple.

over the next 5 years. keep corruption(kickbacks) down, and just keep the country afloat for the next 5 years.

that is all you have to do. 2 simple jobs.

antlind

Postby antlind » September 14th, 2015, 12:22 pm

bluesclues wrote:dear pnm government. your task is simple.

over the next 5 years. keep corruption(kickbacks) down, and just keep the country afloat for the next 5 years.

that is all you have to do. 2 simple jobs.

Agreed. But sadly this is easier said than done.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » September 14th, 2015, 12:57 pm

i will put one suggestion. sell 50% of we reserves and use it to make a payment towards reducing the deficit owed. that should make our dollar a little more resilient in these times. we already know for sure that as energy technologies advance, demand for oil will reduce and so will price. though there may be price spikes on the market. it's destiny is downward. sell half. keep the rest and see if the market will give you a better price for the rest later. if it does something stupid like doubles, then u basically got all your money back.

Postby Redman » September 14th, 2015, 1:29 pm

bluesclues wrote:i will put one suggestion. sell 50% of we reserves and use it to make a payment towards reducing the deficit owed. that should make our dollar a little more resilient in these times. we already know for sure that as energy technologies advance, demand for oil will reduce and so will price. though there may be price spikes on the market. it's destiny is downward. sell half. keep the rest and see if the market will give you a better price for the rest later. if it does something stupid like doubles, then u basically got all your money back.

Nah breds.

I would focus on becoming self reliant in terms of our domestic energy needs-regardless of what happens we can handle it.
deal with the food import bill
and ask my wife to lay off amazon for a month.....USD demand plummets....econ sorted.
:D

and why pay off debt when its likely that inflation rates in TTd and USD will be heading higher.....making the debt cheaper to repay.

USD heading to its intrinsic value.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » September 14th, 2015, 2:50 pm

Redman wrote:
bluesclues wrote:i will put one suggestion. sell 50% of we reserves and use it to make a payment towards reducing the deficit owed. that should make our dollar a little more resilient in these times. we already know for sure that as energy technologies advance, demand for oil will reduce and so will price. though there may be price spikes on the market. it's destiny is downward. sell half. keep the rest and see if the market will give you a better price for the rest later. if it does something stupid like doubles, then u basically got all your money back.

Nah breds.

I would focus on becoming self reliant in terms of our domestic energy needs-regardless of what happens we can handle it.
deal with the food import bill
and ask my wife to lay off amazon for a month.....USD demand plummets....econ sorted.
:D

and why pay off debt when its likely that inflation rates in TTd and USD will be heading higher.....making the debt cheaper to repay.

USD heading to its intrinsic value.

because the debt creates inflation son.

Postby Redman » September 14th, 2015, 3:59 pm

no
Increased money supply causes inflation.
One of the mechanisms that may increase money supply would be debt.

Debt can exist without inflation.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » September 15th, 2015, 5:52 am

Redman wrote:no
Increased money supply causes inflation.
One of the mechanisms that may increase money supply would be debt.

Debt can exist without inflation.

debt can exist without inflating the dollar and causing an immediate devaluation. but debt inflates the economy, weakening the dollar and juxtaposes the dollar so that devaluation will occur with the first major mishap. this isnt china where we have such a thriving export sector that we can keep our dollar undervalued to increase supply, encouraging and generating more foreign investment. we have one major export which is in an at risk market and a tourism sector that is anything but flourishing. even for carnival.

this magic, cheaper debt being paid by inflated currency is the same dream greece was hoping for.

the children of the future would like you to start paying back the loan you take on their heads please.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » September 15th, 2015, 6:45 am

transfer tax on vehicles one flat rate .

Postby Ted_v2 » September 15th, 2015, 7:10 am

If the pp did listen to you guys post in this ched well boy.