What's the best shutdown story you have

IvanTerrors

Re: What's the best shutdown story you have

Postby IvanTerrors » January 12th, 2015, 11:24 pm

Heard a guy on wrk saying he shut down sande grande, age able guy 50 sum, he has a new model car first time owner of it it looks like took like 2 hrs nun car won't start he called for help only to realize car won't start in drive, lol

pluggie

Postby pluggie » January 13th, 2015, 5:35 am

Me and some UWI buddies went to Quinam beach about 14 years ago for a boys lime. We guzzle down about 6 bottles of alco (Vat 19 , Bacardi , Black Label) and some curry duck too... Time to leave now , everybody drunk like fish and meh padna car doh want to start... We push that car for about one hour and a half uphill , downhill , all over the farking place , we even tried to jump start it but it wouldn't start... We eventually gave up and decided drink the last bottle of rum (place getting dark and mosquito start to bite) , after about 2 drinks the owner the car remembered that he didn't take off the kill switch .... We boiii we nearly beat that friggin man !!!

ztune

Postby ztune » January 13th, 2015, 5:48 am

Now came from class, decided to relax a bit at the south car park in uwi. A friend decided that he wants to leave. His vehicle couldn't start due to a ignition problem, so a couple of friends and I attempted to give him a roll start with him using the clutch to start the vehicle. In the almost empty parking lot with an audience, we, about 4 of us pushed that b14 east to west then west to east about 4-5 times after which the car did not start. Sweating and breathless, we didn't know how to help this guy and almost left.

We made one more attempt after which the driver remembered his gas lock was on....

Postby Slartibartfast » January 14th, 2015, 9:21 am

Ok, pull up your chair and get a hot cup of cocoa with marshmellow, time for mid-week story time. This story real long.

Had a cheap chinese bike that was giving real problems at the time.

So I coming off from the lights just east of the lighthouse on Wrightson road, on my way home and decided to give the bike some gas. Got it up to max speed (110 kmph at the time) in the right lane when the bike decides to sputter and die.... right.... in front.... of Beetham "gardens". So I grab clutch and use my momentum to merge across three lanes and onto the shoulder to "safety".

I am not a religious man but I start to pray. I was like
"Heeeeeey Jesus.... sup man.... I know you remember me and you kinds butt kinda butt hurt I stopped talking to you. So ammmmmm.... start back meh bike for meh nah and I can't promise that I'll go to church or start back believing in you, but I'll stop calling you a c-nt"

Lo an behold, after not getting robbed for three minutes, I got the bike to start back up. I bumped the starter and the bike roared back to life. But not like a lion roar, maybe a kitten roar cuz it was only a 250cc. So I let out a sigh of relief, got my rpm up and my heart rate down and peeled out. Well, I just pulled off, the bike didn't have enough torque to peel tires.

So I'm there, on the highway, getting my speed up, going through the gears
bwaaah -clack- bwaaaaaaaaaah -clack bwaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhh
thinking about Jesus,
"Mah n-gga"
When all of a sudden Jesus asked my bike "Remember what I did on Good Friday"
*dies*
"What a c-nt!"

So now I'm grabbing clutch and coasting towards the shoulder for the second time in as many minutes. I started humping my bike to try to get it to go just a little further but to no avail. So I ended up stranded once again in front of the gardens, but this time I was directly in front of the scrap iron place.

I see two guys with tools in their hand making their way towards me so my fight or flight instinct started to kick in. But I was like
"Slarti, you can't run in full gears and even if you could, where you going to run to?"
"But you can't fight them either cuz they have a clip of ten fellas in the back there"
So I flipped up my visor, looked at the bigger guy approaching me dead in his eyes (trying to assert my dominance) and said
"Long day at work and then this sh!t"

The guy hesitated a second as a startled look flashed across his face, and then just laughed and steupsed
"Yeh man"
and gave me a fist bump.

I spotted an old pickup nearby, so I asked for the owner, offered him a $200 to carry my bike home, loaded it up and left. Not that big of a deal now but it could have easily ended a lot worse.

I thought it was because of a kink in my fuel line to I fixed that but got the same problem a week later except this time I shut down in front a really bad part of Beetham and two fellas that were liming on a street inside started looking and approaching me. I have no idea if they were approaching me to help me or rob me but thankfully I got my bike started just in time that I didn't have to find out.

Anyway, turns there was a small globule of in my tank that most likely formed last time I had the bike parked up by the mechanic for a few weeks that was clogging the gas filter and restricting fuel flow. I didn't know about it at the time so after riding for about five minutes the bike would bog down and cut off because the carb would be emptied of gas. All I would have to do was wait five minutes before I could start the bike again and keep it in low rpm.

Epilogue
I sold the bike just over a month ago but before I did I changed the air filter, fuel filter, fuel line, carburetor (ATV performance carb), CDI ignition box (without rpm limiter) and spark plugs. I got that cheapo chinese bike to cross 140 kmph.

Knight Rider

Postby Knight Rider » January 14th, 2015, 9:33 am

Slartibartfast wrote:Ok, pull up your chair and get a hot cup of cocoa with marshmellow, time for mid-week story time. This story real long.

Had a cheap chinese bike that was giving real problems at the time.

So I coming off from the lights just east of the lighthouse on Wrightson road, on my way home and decided to give the bike some gas. Got it up to max speed (110 kmph at the time) in the right lane when the bike decides to sputter and die.... right.... in front.... of Beetham "gardens". So I grab clutch and use my momentum to merge across three lanes and onto the shoulder to "safety".

I am not a religious man but I start to pray. I was like
"Heeeeeey Jesus.... sup man.... I know you remember me and you kinds butt kinda butt hurt I stopped talking to you. So ammmmmm.... start back meh bike for meh nah and I can't promise that I'll go to church or start back believing in you, but I'll stop calling you a c-nt"

Lo an behold, after not getting robbed for three minutes, I got the bike to start back up. I bumped the starter and the bike roared back to life. But not like a lion roar, maybe a kitten roar cuz it was only a 250cc. So I let out a sigh of relief, got my rpm up and my heart rate down and peeled out. Well, I just pulled off, the bike didn't have enough torque to peel tires.

So I'm there, on the highway, getting my speed up, going through the gears
bwaaah -clack- bwaaaaaaaaaah -clack bwaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhh
thinking about Jesus,
"Mah n-gga"
When all of a sudden Jesus asked my bike "Remember what I did on Good Friday"
*dies*
"What a c-nt!"

So now I'm grabbing clutch and coasting towards the shoulder for the second time in as many minutes. I started humping my bike to try to get it to go just a little further but to no avail. So I ended up stranded once again in front of the gardens, but this time I was directly in front of the scrap iron place.

I see two guys with tools in their hand making their way towards me so my fight or flight instinct started to kick in. But I was like
"Slarti, you can't run in full gears and even if you could, where you going to run to?"
"But you can't fight them either cuz they have a clip of ten fellas in the back there"
So I flipped up my visor, looked at the bigger guy approaching me dead in his eyes (trying to assert my dominance) and said
"Long day at work and then this sh!t"

The guy hesitated a second as a startled look flashed across his face, and then just laughed and steupsed
"Yeh man"
and gave me a fist bump.

I spotted an old pickup nearby, so I asked for the owner, offered him a $200 to carry my bike home, loaded it up and left. Not that big of a deal now but it could have easily ended a lot worse.

I thought it was because of a kink in my fuel line to I fixed that but got the same problem a week later except this time I shut down in front a really bad part of Beetham and two fellas that were liming on a street inside started looking and approaching me. I have no idea if they were approaching me to help me or rob me but thankfully I got my bike started just in time that I didn't have to find out.

Anyway, turns there was a small globule of in my tank that most likely formed last time I had the bike parked up by the mechanic for a few weeks that was clogging the gas filter and restricting fuel flow. I didn't know about it at the time so after riding for about five minutes the bike would bog down and cut off because the carb would be emptied of gas. All I would have to do was wait five minutes before I could start the bike again and keep it in low rpm.

Epilogue
I sold the bike just over a month ago but before I did I changed the air filter, fuel filter, fuel line, carburetor (ATV performance carb), CDI ignition box (without rpm limiter) and spark plugs. I got that cheapo chinese bike to cross 140 kmph.
no sprinkles of Holy water?

Postby Ted_v2 » January 14th, 2015, 5:13 pm

lawd.

My once and only shutdown in my car happened about a week ago,
i decided to give my car a run, i dont usually drive it very often.

so about 5 mins into the drive, the car started sputtering, so i thought was the carb, so i dropped in a lower gear and took it up in the rpms, so i thought problem solved.

I had a faulty alternator but i never studied it much, since it never hesitated to start.
all of a sudden, it shut down, Dim lights, No horn ect.

So i immediately knew what was up.
this happened below a street light, A few mins after this smoking hot indian, LAWD started walking towards me, She was in her porch and saw the car cut off and couldnt start. Very friendly, walked with a flashlight.

So we turned the battery poles a bit and got it going ,rain started falling So she went back into her house.

As i dropped the clutch Ready to Leggo some tyres, the car cut off again. The ign system couldnt function properly with the poor current.

ended up calling a bredren and swapped batteries and got home.

yeah.
lesson learnt

Postby 1UZFE » January 14th, 2015, 5:16 pm

Abt d sexy indian....

Postby Ted_v2 » January 14th, 2015, 5:18 pm

dont even know her name, just where she lives, sigh.

Ronaldo9

Postby Ronaldo9 » January 14th, 2015, 9:44 pm

My mind kinda got lost when u said "dropped d clutch and leggo some tyres" care to explain? LOL

Anyways, i shut down while entering Ellerslie Plaza in maraval with an old model swift, back in d day. Talk abt shame, ppl blowing they fancy horn and i they trying to start back.

Another time i shut down in d gas station on park st by scotia bank side. Sell that swift yes, too much shame thing.
Last edited by Ronaldo9 on January 15th, 2015, 12:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Advent

Postby Advent » January 15th, 2015, 12:16 pm

1UZFE wrote:Abt d sexy indian....