Duane was dead wrong!Hybrid Cars cheaper to maintain!

Re: Duane was dead wrong!Hybrid Cars cheaper to maintain!

Postby K74T » November 24th, 2014, 6:25 pm

So if Duane was dead wrong, who was alive right? :| :|

Postby skylinechild » November 24th, 2014, 7:43 pm

abbow wrote:what rell funny is......the end of each post......"come nah man".... :lol:

duane has a valid point why bring in cars that are 6 yrs old..just to flood the bamboo with hybrid parts for these cars. why not bring in newer cars with newer technologies.

pariaman counter argument - the 2009 model and this model is the same thing. just a face lift

to chook a lil fire here -
lets say the whole of trinidad needed computers- we can buy newer machines with windows 8.1 or older machines with win 98/xp - cause they cheaper.

duane would say why not bring the newer stuff here cause we will learn and if parts are needed the dealership and other places can supply - cause we have the new machines out here now.

pariaman would be like...noo noo is the same thing - just a facelift ( newer O.S) we could bring the older machine cause it cheaper and (ole) parts more accessible. (on ebay) :lol:

duane give proof of the (initial) drawbacks of owning an older hybrid vehicle -WRT range and such even posted a few sources - iirc the 1st gen was like what 9 miles on battery power.??

pariaman counter argument - all my research has lead or points to - yet not one article.
i'm sure pariaman can hyperlink or take screenshots of his research and upload it...

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » November 24th, 2014, 8:07 pm

I want to see who selling a 6 year old battery foreign used that loses capacity over time...

Then again a man buyin a set of powermaster and wire it up like Mehdi Sadaghdar and wuk that normel normel

Postby nervewrecker » November 24th, 2014, 8:11 pm

Them stolen and discarded ups batteries selling on the forum going in dey normal.
All they concern about is the size of the batchee, nothing else. big batchee = harder pong.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » November 24th, 2014, 8:17 pm

Nobody eh consider the way Pariaman give so much credence to G.O.D. word in an interview.
He believe that by his statements an entire industry of old cars will not reach Trinidad...

Duane have real pips...

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » November 24th, 2014, 8:29 pm

PariaMan wrote:Now reading the article again my problems with it are

1. Hybrid cars have improved vastly over the last two years

The Most popular car the Prius is unchanged since 2009

2. Prius is the world most popular car but you cannot get parts in the Bamboo

Why would some one bring parts for a car when there is only very few in Trinidad?

3. Hybrid cars have only begun being highway capable two to three years ago

Same Prius around since 2009

These statements are very damaging to the cause of getting more Hybrids on the road.
the 3rd gen Prius is the 2010 model to present right? So bringing a 2008 model would be a 2nd gen model. Why not limit it to 2010 and up? i.e. 4 years

We allow 2010 and up Prius in the country and bamboo and Toyota Trinidad has parts for it (since the 3rd gen is the model Toyota currently sells). You with your previous gen model will have problems for parts. There was also a face-lift with different lights, bumpers and bonnet and interior feature changes in 2011.

Plus the Prius is not the only hybrid / electric car. The Nissan Leaf is 2011 to present, no problem there.

I don't know why you want the bamboo to import a set of 6 year old hybrid parts for a new sector of the market.

now I strongly believe you just trying to give the man a stroke...

sbocus

Postby sbocus » November 24th, 2014, 8:55 pm

00256.jpg
00256.jpg (87.25 KiB) Viewed 15632 times

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 24th, 2014, 9:13 pm

well that was somewhat intriguing

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 24th, 2014, 9:27 pm

PapaC wrote:Nobody eh consider the way Pariaman give so much credence to G.O.D. word in an interview.
He believe that by his statements an entire industry of old cars will not reach Trinidad...

Duane have real pips...
IKR!

the author called me in September after the budget and asked what were my views on hybrids. I said I think it was fantastic that there are proposed concessions for hybrids and electrics. He asked what I thought of also extending used hybrid importation age to 6 years and I made the comments he printed in the article. I didn't realise it would even be published (my aunt called me yesterday to say she saw me in the papers), far less that it would change anything lol.

I stand by my comments though. With such rapidly advancing technology, it makes no sense importing older cars and parts for a segment that is brand new to our market.

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » November 24th, 2014, 9:58 pm

To begin with, the Prius f_ucking ugly.

Secondly, the government incentive is not based solely on the Prius.

OP wants a nation to adjust country policy based on the test and comparasion of one car by a magazine. That's simply not how you run a country's business son.

Additionally, which brings me to my third point. If we accept the non scientific results of the magazine.... Why would a spare parts importer stock a battery for a car that has a proven battery life longer than ten years? Do you see the availability of parts argument falling apart?

#5 - The Prius is UGLY !

#6 - Foreign used car dealers have earned themselves a reputation for being untrustworthy. Six year old hybrid tsunami cars is something that the public and policy makers are mindful of.

#7 - Who is more likely to invest in required infrastructure for Hybrids and Electric vehicles; New or Used car importers. Business people who have invested for the long haul or shifty quick buck making people who are just in it to make a quick buck?

#8 - Foreign used car imports have been legal for more than a decade now. How many people in foreign used car business have invested in training and certifying their service technicians? OH WAIT- They don't even have service technicians. Only some small timers that have a ratch that can fix a fault like unscrewing the engine fault bulb.

What history has proven guides our conscious thoughts that the foreign used car industry players are not going to invest in the knowledge upgrades nor tooling upgrades required for properly and reliably servicing these vehicles.

#9 - The age limit was established to protect the public, not line some smart men pockets.

#10 - The Prius forking ugly.

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » November 24th, 2014, 10:00 pm

BTW, in case you missed it, #4 - The Prius frigging UGLY.

Postby pioneer » November 24th, 2014, 10:02 pm

Cliffs:
-Duane is wrong.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 24th, 2014, 10:04 pm

pioneer wrote:Cliffs:
-Duane is wrong.

Appendix A:
OP has crush on Duane

Postby 16 cycles » November 24th, 2014, 10:05 pm

Passages everywhere....

Postby nervewrecker » November 24th, 2014, 10:16 pm

Question: can we fit an essar or jayz in a Prius?

Postby Trini Hookah » November 24th, 2014, 10:57 pm

OP how much mileage do you get fuelling a car with those tears?

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » November 24th, 2014, 11:00 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
pioneer wrote:Cliffs:
-Duane is wrong.

Appendix A:
OP has crush on Duane

Appendix B: #ComeNahMan

orangefox

Postby orangefox » November 25th, 2014, 1:50 am

Duane dead ?

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 25th, 2014, 2:49 am

PariaMan aka kublalsing_2ner

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 25th, 2014, 4:05 am

^^^ :lol:

Postby sMASH » November 25th, 2014, 4:38 am

PariaMan wrote:The Prius is the by far the most popular Hybrid in terms of sales.

If the model has not changed since 2009 their is no valid reason to prevent owners from brigh=ging down one

That was a bad decision by the goverment and I hope and we should all hpe that it is soon changed!

Somebody get a big cng contract from guvahment.

#4 is irrelevant because people here drive the cube... Real taxi men ha cube.

The difference between the prius and a normal car is a charging system, battery and an electric motor.
Technologies that may not be so cumbersome to work with... After a while.

Cng is a waste of time. Is either hybrid or biodiesel.

My vote is for biodeisel, second is hybrid . I will vote against cng.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » November 25th, 2014, 5:49 am

If TTEC disconnect you like in a power outage and you cannot charge your Hybrid, is that an excuse not to
go school or wuk ?

Suppose Police say dey cannot come cause we did not charge de car. Hmmm ..

CNG is the way to go.

Postby pete » November 25th, 2014, 9:32 am

A hybrid vehicle has both an internal combustion engine as well as an electric motor. The IC engine is used to power the vehicle as well as charge the batteries for the electric motor. You are thinking about a completely Electric Vehicle.

The advantage of CNG is that from the ground to the car not very much processing has to take place. The major cost in liquid fuels is the cost for refining. We also produce about 6 BILLION cubic feet of it every day in Trinidad. While it does have the disadvantages of using trunk space for a tank and causing a drop in power it is a cheaper fuel that also burns cleaner. Imagine if you did a hybrid with CNG, savings would be even greater.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 25th, 2014, 9:45 am

pete wrote:A hybrid vehicle has both an internal combustion engine as well as an electric motor. The IC engine is used to power the vehicle as well as charge the batteries for the electric motor. You are thinking about a completely Electric Vehicle.

The advantage of CNG is that from the ground to the car not very much processing has to take place. The major cost in liquid fuels is the cost for refining. We also produce about 6 BILLION cubic feet of it every day in Trinidad. While it does have the disadvantages of using trunk space for a tank and causing a drop in power it is a cheaper fuel that also burns cleaner. Imagine if you did a hybrid with CNG, savings would be even greater.
especially in T&T where CNG and electricity are relatively cheap commodities for consumers.

Postby sMASH » November 25th, 2014, 9:58 am

Now thinking cng hybrid electric is the way.

Postby RBphoto » November 25th, 2014, 10:09 am

Hybrid RORO Movement?

Postby nervewrecker » November 25th, 2014, 10:12 am

RBphoto wrote:Hybrid RORO Movement?

I see what you did there.....

Postby MG Man » November 25th, 2014, 10:17 am

Duane is a fraud
tuner is a lie
goat sex is overrated

nismoid

Postby nismoid » November 25th, 2014, 10:28 am

This discussion is like looking at a real boring tennis match

Postby AllTrac » November 25th, 2014, 10:40 am

Cliffs:
- Op never makes a right turn.