Re: US Network Channels blocked in T&T

Postby TheOwnerPO » October 4th, 2014, 3:00 pm

netflix all the way

Postby Trini Hookah » October 4th, 2014, 3:35 pm

Any of those streaming services have zee tv? That's the only thing moms will miss.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 4th, 2014, 5:13 pm

Subscription TV whether it be through air or cable is dying. For years we've been getting poor service from Flow, DirecTV, Blink, GreenDot and ICNTT (the major players in our market). Slowly but surely more trinis and tobagonians are cancelling their cable subscriptions and the total internet subscribers in TT continues to rise. The Digicel and Bmobile 4G broadband network is getting better and more subscribers. The wireless broadband services from Carib-Link, Massy Communications/InfoCom and GreenDot im sure is doing very well in keeping with international trends.

With alternative streaming from YouTube, Netflix, Amazon Prime Instant Video and net connected streaming devices such as Roku, Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV, Google Chromecast and G-box etc..traditional cable TV is becoming old news quickly right here in TT.

Also, smart TV's and game consoles as well as smart phones and tablets are selling like hops bread. The demand for web connectivity is rising as all of these devices including laptops have available legit web apps for streaming.

The question now is how long we think Flow watch, blink tv, directv and greendot tv last locally. The less we patronise these companies it will lead to massive job cuts.

nightcrawler

Postby nightcrawler » October 4th, 2014, 5:57 pm

only reason i'm still with directv is that i dont got an antenna. dont know how clear my smart tv will show with a cheap antenna

Postby Gem_in_i » October 5th, 2014, 8:32 am

Anyone know about roktv? http://www.roktv.info/channels.html

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 5th, 2014, 6:24 pm

Dont trust any company that can't be upfront from the get go and worse yet prelim reviews showing poor customer service already.

Postby Gem_in_i » October 5th, 2014, 9:11 pm

True and their website real vague.

Postby tr1ad » October 5th, 2014, 10:27 pm

Ah find spleen holding the info to close... He eh saying nun

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » October 6th, 2014, 6:57 am

offsidestreams / streamtvbox

Postby tr1ad » October 6th, 2014, 9:06 am

meh mudda wa?

me enno wa yuh talking bout dey fadda....
enlighten the i

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 6th, 2014, 10:31 am

Gem_in_i wrote:Anyone know about roktv? http://www.roktv.info/channels.html
their site is really vague

Postby K74T » October 7th, 2014, 7:20 pm

Swisha wrote:look Flow trying to bribe ppl :lol:

Free preview still wukkin yes. :lol:

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » October 7th, 2014, 11:03 pm

K74T wrote:
Swisha wrote:look Flow trying to bribe ppl :lol:

Free preview still wukkin yes. :lol:

serious?? bess i take it in before it stop

Postby K74T » October 10th, 2014, 2:00 pm

Looks like it ended today.

Postby 16 cycles » October 10th, 2014, 2:18 pm

was going good......

forgot abt regular cable channels....

back to food network !!

FREE ECONOMY!

Postby FREE ECONOMY! » October 10th, 2014, 2:21 pm

FLOW is like a RORO dealer charging new brand price

Postby Dizzy28 » October 10th, 2014, 3:08 pm

K74T wrote:Looks like it ended today.

It cut off 11.40pm last night for me. Was watching some Canadian movie and it cut off and went back to purchasing options for the station.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » October 11th, 2014, 3:35 pm

I think it was a 2-part thing but I not seeing the other part of the video on the site though.

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » October 11th, 2014, 9:15 pm

Me eh have no problem with dem blocking programs , but drop the price nah, doh raise it

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » October 12th, 2014, 11:05 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Syndication_exclusivity

Since cable companies are us based...

Syndication exclusivity (also known as syndex) is a federal law in the United States that is designed to protect a local television station's rights to syndicated television programs by granting exclusive rights to the station for that program in the local market, usually defined by a station's Nielsen Designated Market Area. As a result, any airings of the same program on cable networks and superstations must be blocked by the local cable provider upon request from the local station. Broadcast television stations have the option of signing programming deals with or without syndex protection, but stand to have audiences significantly diluted in markets without protection

richgold1000

Postby richgold1000 » October 13th, 2014, 4:59 am

Anyone knows how to get a VPN on a vizio smart tv to view the American Netflix? I have it on my computer and it works great.

pan3660

Postby pan3660 » October 13th, 2014, 2:36 pm

richgold1000 wrote:Anyone knows how to get a VPN on a vizio smart tv to view the American Netflix? I have it on my computer and it works great.

Normally ya have to set the DNS on the TV to access proxy or vpn services.

air wick

Postby air wick » October 13th, 2014, 2:40 pm

set it up on your router so all your devices will be on the VPN rather than setting it up for each device

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 13th, 2014, 5:08 pm

got a roku 3 as a gift. currently using it with ustvnow. works great!
shame on the 45 days thingy though..

if i find another way to get the major networks i'll let you know..

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » October 14th, 2014, 10:51 pm

Dat $250 dont make sense when half the shows blocked and the other half in spanish.

$200 for unlimited internet, watch what i want, when i want, in any quality i want, free from commercials...

No comparison there.

The last good/worthy cable provider was AJ Cable.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 15th, 2014, 6:01 pm

add another nail to the cable coffin...

HBO is finally going to let you watch its shows without cable

Starting next year, you'll finally be able to watch HBO on the web without a cable subscription. In a dream come true for cord cutters, HBO CEO Richard Plepler has confirmed the company plans to launch a "standalone, over-the-top" HBO Go subscription offering at some point in 2015. This service will be offered in the United States and there are also plans to bring it overseas. "This will be transformative for our company," Plepler said. He didn't delve into specifics or outline whether there will be differences in what's made available to cable customers and internet subscribers. Plepler only said that HBO will "work with current partners and explore models with new partners."

"All in, there are 80 million homes that do not have HBO and we will use all means at our disposal to go after them," he said. Plepler described broadband-only homes as "a large and growing opportunity that should no longer be left untapped. It is time to remove all barriers to those who want HBO." Until today's surprise announcement, HBO had long resisted splitting off from its lucrative deals with cable providers. The company clearly doesn't want to anger partners like Comcast; in the same press release revealing its plans for a standalone service, HBO emphasizes there are still "significant growth opportunities inside the pay-TV universe." But the message couldn't be more clear: in 2015, you'll have the option to ditch cable and keep watching HBO's hit shows.

The Verge

Source

in other news...the entire series of Friends is coming to Netflix on Jan. 1st 2015

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 15th, 2014, 8:04 pm

so CNC3 ran a story tonight stating that Flow, DirecTV and others are basically pirating 11 channels which includes ABC, CBS etc.

DirecTV said they're waiting on Flow to make the first move to remove the channels although they have already removed ABC and FOX.

Flow said they don't charge customers for the channels they're pirating.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » October 15th, 2014, 8:52 pm

So with the recent price raise for the flow package, when they cut off these 'pirated channels' then don't expect a refund. lol.

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » October 15th, 2014, 9:03 pm

richgold1000 wrote:Anyone knows how to get a VPN on a vizio smart tv to view the American Netflix? I have it on my computer and it works great.

www.unblock-us.com