Customs and Excise Officer Entrance Exam

mitch1980

Re: Customs and Excise Officer Entrance Exam

Postby mitch1980 » May 14th, 2014, 9:43 am

css011 wrote:Blurr message me and I will try to accommodate you. I will be very busy the rest of the week so I may not check in very frequently.

Mitch1980, it's a disservice to lump everyone in a general negative statement about trinis. While I respect everyone's right to an opinion, it's just plain reckless to assume that all trinis or even the majority have subjected themselves to lazy practices and environments. If that's the case we can assume that you must either be part of the minority or more than likely part of the majority that's not practicing what you preach. Lastly, how unfortunate for you that you must assume everyone slated to sit the exam or applying to customs has not either been through some sort of tertiary education system or does not have plans to do so. It's quite possible that some of us, just made ourselves available upon recognizing an opportunity to secure a stable job. It's also quite possible that many of us have obtained our tertiary education credentials without government assistance even though we do not belong to the elite class in this country. I'm all for healthy discussion but a negative energy doesn't just happen, that's a choice. I choose to bid you a blessed week nonetheless. It seems we have nothing more to speak about as it pertains to this thread.

Again this shows the LAZY mentality that exist "who feel society owes them this and that" ... ITS ONE SIMPLE EXAM...and you want help a simple exam.

Everyone wants to "eat ah food"
too much LAZY people who are unwilling to work fairly and earn just rewards

WORK HARD
STUDY HARD

zari-j

Postby zari-j » May 14th, 2014, 9:48 am

hi... very new here. jus came across the thread in my google search. the exam is 2 papers... paper 1 multiple choice guessing on everything. shunt b that hard... paper 2 is 3 questions 1). short answers, 2). calculations and 3). is the essay. I've seen paper 2 and its pretty straightforward if u kno about customs. its basic knowledge in the first question. the calculations resemble form 2 math but for ppl lil me who forgot math after high school i hav my hands full but its workable lol. the essay is on current affairs. jus kno how to write a gd essay and u shud ace this test. best of luck on sat! i'm in the same boat

spirited721

Postby spirited721 » May 14th, 2014, 10:40 am

Sooooo. Calculators allowed? Form two math hard on the head alone.

zari-j

Postby zari-j » May 14th, 2014, 10:51 am

ukno i really did not find out if we allowed calculators... but i shud hope so cuz is % sheit that will take a lot of time to work out. I'm walking with mine just in case

shottaz

Postby shottaz » May 14th, 2014, 11:19 am

zari-j wrote:ukno i really did not find out if we allowed calculators... but i shud hope so cuz is % sheit that will take a lot of time to work out. I'm walking with mine just in case

check your inbox day padna

zari-j

Postby zari-j » May 14th, 2014, 11:25 am

i did... check urs mr.

GOAT

Postby GOAT » May 14th, 2014, 12:37 pm

Any updates if Calculators allowed?

If any of you have any info or stuff to share regarding the exam please PM me.

Good luck on the exam guys and girls.
Chances of us making it are slim but at the very least we giving it an honest go.

vi1012

Postby vi1012 » May 14th, 2014, 7:16 pm

Anyone knows if the syllabus is available??

Sasenarine

Postby Sasenarine » May 14th, 2014, 7:20 pm

Anyone willing to share what came in the exams?
I have mine this Saturday
Feel free to PM me

Sasenarine

Postby Sasenarine » May 14th, 2014, 7:45 pm

Anyone get to use calculators on the last exam?

css011

Postby css011 » May 15th, 2014, 6:32 am

Hi all, I keep getting messages for information. Please send me your email so I can send out one mass email today by lunchtime please. Today will be the last day I'm sending out any material. Other than that, good luck to you all.

droppa

Postby droppa » May 15th, 2014, 7:03 am

CSS u have been very helpful, the info shared will go a long way,

Zari is correct, the exam will have 4 parts and just like immigration u won't only have to attempt all 4 parts, but u have to pass them!

css011

Postby css011 » May 15th, 2014, 9:03 am

Good luck droppa. Co-operation always helps. Thanks for your tips as well. I will be off for most of the day today guys so try and help each other. fwd the info if you can, only thing is you can't reuse the link to the test in my email. SO! If you want a crack at the online test pm me and I will try to provide a link for you later on this evening.

AKI

Postby AKI » May 15th, 2014, 11:39 am

NO CALACULATORS ALLOWED...

shottaz

Postby shottaz » May 15th, 2014, 11:45 am

well den..u guys better revise up decimals,fractions an most importantly percentages.. :drinking:

shottaz

Postby shottaz » May 15th, 2014, 11:49 am

spirited721 wrote:Sooooo. Calculators allowed? Form two math hard on the head alone.

Postby SR » May 15th, 2014, 11:56 am

Exams this sat crammin in full sessions

shottaz

Postby shottaz » May 15th, 2014, 12:09 pm

SR wrote:Exams this sat crammin in full sessions

furreal yes ,right now my head swell with "tax,duties,import,export. etc"-- is madness!! :crazyeyes:

shottaz

Postby shottaz » May 15th, 2014, 12:26 pm

zari-j wrote:i did... check urs mr.

take a peek at your inbox

kandigirl11

Postby kandigirl11 » May 15th, 2014, 12:26 pm

just learn your acronyms, international/world trade terms, excise definitions, customs definitions and laws, caricom, community organs and bodies, calculations (although on past papers they gave the formula) so that's a breeze. and current affairs for your essay. duty allowances. excisible goods (the 4 categories). vision and mission statement so that can tie in with your essay depending on which you choose.

^^^ at least that's what I'm focussing on...
btw what does C&EPI mean?? I cant find the answer anywhere...

Sasenarine

Postby Sasenarine » May 15th, 2014, 12:47 pm

Think it means Customs & Excise Preventive Inspector

droppa

Postby droppa » May 15th, 2014, 12:49 pm

Customs and excise preventive inspector.

That is the person in charge of the enforcement arm of customs (Preventive)

kandigirl11

Postby kandigirl11 » May 15th, 2014, 1:30 pm

thank u

maly1

Postby maly1 » May 15th, 2014, 2:28 pm

Hey I only received my letter on Wednesday 13th. Can someone please give me tips or tell me which areas to focus more on. It would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks

spirited721

Postby spirited721 » May 15th, 2014, 2:55 pm

Yuh pay d fiddy to gubbment yet?
Better do that first. Then come back tag through the entire thread and pm who you need to pm.

GOAT

Postby GOAT » May 15th, 2014, 4:57 pm

css011 wrote:Good luck droppa. Co-operation always helps. Thanks for your tips as well. I will be off for most of the day today guys so try and help each other. fwd the info if you can, only thing is you can't reuse the link to the test in my email. SO! If you want a crack at the online test pm me and I will try to provide a link for you later on this evening.

Sent css011 a PM this morning.
In the meanwhile anyone willing to share what css011 already shared with them?

droppa

Postby droppa » May 15th, 2014, 5:51 pm

For those who now catching up, download 78.01 from customs site and learn the definitions in the beginning part, learn what us prohibited and what is restricted, also try and learn the calculations, of
CIF, duty, mvt, vat

Good luck to all others writing on Saturday, from I've been told, customs is exciting and interesting, but focus on passing the exam, have interview and police background to go tru before u get in training, then training is a couple months and you are temporary for between 2-5 years and only get uniform when u are appointed and on the permanent establishment.

Overtime is the real money maker in customs, but junior officers rarely get that previlige!

Postby zoom rader » May 15th, 2014, 8:17 pm

^^^ you forgot to add in the kickbacks which is worth more that ot

droppa

Postby droppa » May 15th, 2014, 9:20 pm

Kickbacks! Hmmm, better to try and stay on the safe path!!!

mad alliance

Postby mad alliance » May 15th, 2014, 9:36 pm

Last edited by mad alliance on July 9th, 2021, 11:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.