Triniricers Ched

Re: Kia Cerato vs Mazda 3

Postby cinco » March 24th, 2014, 6:34 pm

MG Man wrote:not quite as nicely equipped as the kia, a wee bit snug on passenger room, but it does have voice commands and, dual clutch transmission and handles like a proper car...the kia really has the lion's share of features, but we felt the handling was a bit on the vague side, and the acceleration for a claimed 130ps was dismal
The focus also has independent rear suspension along with the usual stuff:
stability control, rain sensing wipers, puddle lamps, iPhone friendliness etc

Subjectively the ferd much better looking too. Especially in hatch guise

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 24th, 2014, 6:45 pm

MG Man wrote:not quite as nicely equipped as the kia, a wee bit snug on passenger room, but it does have voice commands and, dual clutch transmission and handles like a proper car...the kia really has the lion's share of features, but we felt the handling was a bit on the vague side, and the acceleration for a claimed 130ps was dismal
The focus also has independent rear suspension along with the usual stuff:
stability control, rain sensing wipers, puddle lamps, iPhone friendliness etc

Cool. Sounds good. Price of this trim focus? Also saw mammoo posted in new car thread that there is a jetta for 210k now. Doesn't have touchscreen radio, reverse camera, foglights.

Postby pioneer » March 24th, 2014, 6:53 pm

New car ched ha so much cyakin doe.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 24th, 2014, 7:00 pm

pioneer wrote:New car ched ha so much cyakin doe.

What can I say. You inspire many a chuna.

Postby MG Man » March 24th, 2014, 7:11 pm

Bunny we getting the base spec for 189k
Only things that the higher spec car has different are half leather, projector headlights and shinier trim, none of which we really care for. Also coming with three years free maintenance

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 24th, 2014, 7:11 pm

pioneer wrote:New car ched ha so much cyakin doe.

Such an easy bunch to upset on there

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 24th, 2014, 7:17 pm

Excellent price MG. How did you find the dual clutch tranny in the focus? Did you do an extended test drive? Post pics when you get it nah. I like d focus a lot even though ah got a chipped windscreen while following/admiring one. :agrue:

Postby MG Man » March 24th, 2014, 7:56 pm

pretty smooth. I think putting the manual-shift button on the shifter knob is kinda dumb, but I doubt I'd use it much anyway....It bucked once when it wasn't quite sure I was going to decelerate or not.....very slight judder sometimes in crawling traffic
can't beat that price

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » March 24th, 2014, 8:21 pm

MG Man wrote:pretty smooth. I think putting the manual-shift button on the shifter knob is kinda dumb, but I doubt I'd use it much anyway....It bucked once when it wasn't quite sure I was going to decelerate or not.....very slight judder sometimes in crawling traffic
can't beat that price

ugh, they still sticking with that design? :roll: Drove a fusion a few years ago and found that button shifter to be quite annoying, to the point where I didn't bother with it and just left it in auto :/
Anyway, as much as I like hatchbacks, I think with this model focus, I prefer the looks of the sedan.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 24th, 2014, 8:27 pm

I don't understand what y'all mean by the manual shift button on the shifter knob...? As in you press a button to shift gears in manual mode as opposed to shifting the entire shift knob up or down to shift?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 24th, 2014, 8:35 pm

yes bunny something similar to a chevy sonic..

anyway see below link:

http://fordtrinidad.com/ford-focus/#.UzDXG5WPLmI

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » March 24th, 2014, 8:39 pm

have a look:

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » March 24th, 2014, 8:52 pm

and if you think shifting like that is awkward, remember the rhd Raptor? well that was even worse:
:/

oh btw congrats on the Mazda 3 OP; now please don't go around referring to it as a M3 :? :lol: seriously though :|

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 24th, 2014, 9:00 pm

Ok I understand now. It looks awkward but maybe an owner would get accustomed to it in time. I don't find tiptronic thru the shift knob on the Jetta very natural either even though its the entire knob moving so maybe why Ford has the button. For gear shifting I much prefer paddles shifters if a proper manual stick isn't available than a pseudo shifter found on automatics. On the Jetta I tend to upshift with the right paddle shifter and downshift with the shifter knob.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 24th, 2014, 9:15 pm

That switch reminds me of those found on overloaders.

Usually on the stick to control bucket movement but that's limited to forward and backward (so operator doesn't have to release the steering during direction changes) so it works.

Postby pioneer » March 24th, 2014, 9:50 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:That switch reminds me of those found on overloaders.

Usually on the stick to control bucket movement but that's limited to forward and backward (so operator doesn't have to release the steering during direction changes) so it works.

#innovation
#features
#YOLO
#selfie

Postby Ted_v2 » March 24th, 2014, 9:53 pm

No sr20 no care.

Opie buy a sylphy if you want stock fyahz.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 24th, 2014, 9:58 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:No sr20 no care.

Opie buy a sylphy if you want stock fyahz.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 24th, 2014, 10:10 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:That switch reminds me of those found on overloaders.

#innovation
#features
#YOLO
#selfie

Postby pioneer » March 24th, 2014, 10:12 pm

Puh two led blinker with ah kia label an yuh orn

Postby RASC » March 24th, 2014, 10:24 pm

Just come outta new car thread.
Big Stueps.
Man driving Cayman and complaing about "under powered swift" he test drove.
No shitsherlock!!

Don't quit your day job, car reviewing is not for certain people.
Can you imagine if Clarkson behaved like some of these nuts:

"Just finished reviewing the Huracan... and by all means this new M4 is dreadful. 4 less cylinders and down almost 200hp...rubbish...I don't know how you people live with this!"

-_____-

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 24th, 2014, 10:28 pm

Postby pioneer » March 24th, 2014, 10:57 pm

Priceplaza does still ha new car jags?

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » March 24th, 2014, 11:04 pm

If the Jetta is now $210k base... I may need to change my mind? How stripped down is that Trendline? I already had a hard time convincing myself not to spend the extra money and get the Mercedes A200 for $285k after visiting Sterling today. This is gonna make things hard.. It's not too late to change my mind...

idlemind

Postby idlemind » March 25th, 2014, 9:50 am

Notice you guys knocking the acceleration on the Cerato.
Do you guys own one or judging it based on test drive/tush from someone?
I noticed it was sluggish when first drove it but after it broke-in and assumingly 'learned my habits', the car became pretty responsive and acceleration noticeably improved.

I know with the Lancers that once the ECU is reset it takes awhile to get back your nippy feel and we always chalked it up to the ECU re-learning etc. Dont know if its the same with KIA, I noticed the improvement after awhile and Im running heavier 18s. When I do put back on the stock wheels, acceleration its even better.

It is strange what you guys are saying because I test drove one with about 700kms on it and it felt pretty zippy, maybe broken in as well. What was noticeable is a slight delay in shifts which I chalked up to electronic throttle, but that was about it.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 25th, 2014, 10:08 am

I don't know any car that "learns" anything. I've only heard that from sales execs when trying to explain away a problem.

ECUs do however adjust for air temperature, engine temperature etc hence why more gas is burnt on startup for example till an engine gets up to operating temperature.

Even so most cars will respond once the accelerator is pressed sufficiently so a sluggish car is a sluggish car pretty much within reason. Sometimes in new cars people press a pedal like they would in another car and expect the same result when maybe pedal position and response caries between manufacturers.

Postby MG Man » March 25th, 2014, 10:12 am

^^compared to all the other cars I've test driven that were equally un-broken-in, the Cerato was dead slow :-/
Practically everything with a 1.6 is dead slow, but the Cerato was surprising in its weak acceleration...
And if a demo test drive is what we have to go on then saying it's a new / demo so don't expect it to run properly is weak sauce

idlemind

Postby idlemind » March 25th, 2014, 11:05 am

MG, Il pass thru next Dex and you can have a go at it again and let me know if its the same as your previous experience.

Postby A172 » March 25th, 2014, 11:13 am

why not drags?

Postby MG Man » March 25th, 2014, 11:21 am

idlemind wrote:MG, Il pass thru next Dex and you can have a go at it again and let me know if its the same as your previous experience.

I've driven the Koup as well....a fresh off the showroom version as well as a well used / well maintained one.....I know how a broken-in Kia feels
pretty much any new car with a 1.6 is gonna be slow
the new corolla felt pretty much like our AE111, the Focus was equally sluggish but the DCT made up for it...