H1N1 in trini

Re: H1N1 in trini

Postby javishm » October 5th, 2013, 12:13 am

some doctors done run out of supplies......supply companies got orders from the government not to supply to private doctors nor pharmacies...just saying

Postby pioneer » October 5th, 2013, 1:39 am

Well I also hear the vaccine run out in plenty private hospitals

I dunno why people panicking...H1N1 was always here...especially after carnival

sbocus

Postby sbocus » October 5th, 2013, 7:12 am

RUSH FOR VACCINES
...but none available at some health centres; Khan assures orders placed for more

By Anna Ramdass and Kim Boodram
Story Created: Oct 4, 2013 at 9:42 PM ECT
Story Updated: Oct 4, 2013 at 11:09 PM ECT
Hospitals and health centres are flooded with people panicking and rushing to be vaccinated against the Influenza A (H1N1) virus, commonly known as “swine flu”.
Health Minister Dr Fuad Khan last night issued an appeal again to the population to not panic and assured vaccines will be available at vari­ous health centres by next week.
The Express visited various health facilities yesterday and was told the vaccine was not available.
Khan said the vaccine is in stock at some health centres, but an order has been placed for more, and some 15,000 will be available by next week for the immunisation programme.
“I am trying to stop the pa­nic, people are putting a strain on the system but we cannot turn them back,” said Khan.
He said because the symptoms of the swine flu are that of the common cold, there is an influx at the hospitals.
Khan said people with very high fevers and severe tightness of the chest and throat should seek medical attention, but there was no need to rush to the hospital if you are sneezing and coughing.
The minister said every patient will be seen and sent home as the ma­jority will not have the H1N1 virus.
He said simple preventative measures can be taken such as washing your hands regularly and covering your nose and mouth when snee­zing and coughing.
“They (people) don’t have to rush for it, it will be coming next week; just exercise the preventative measures,” said Khan.
The vaccine, he said, provides a maximum coverage of about one year.
Chairman of the North-Central Re­gional Health Authority (NCRHA) Dr Shehenaz Mohammed confirmed to the Express yesterday that no vaccines were available at Mt Hope, Arima or Chaguanas, but orders were placed at the ministry.
She said on the heels of the public disclosure that the swine flu virus could have possibly resulted in two deaths in this country, there was a rush at hospitals and health facilities—in particular, the children’s hospital.
“There are twice as many people coming to the children’s hospital; everyone is frightened and pan­icking and coming in for every illness,” she said.
She noted at the Mt Hope Children’s accident and emergency department, there were some 180 patients registered within a 12-hour period—double the usual number.
Mohammed added the waiting time has also doubled, so patients have to wait for some five and a half hours for care.
“We are asking people not to panic; there is no need to rush to the hospitals,” she said, adding vaccines should be available at the St Joseph enhanced health facility by Monday.
“I am pleading with patients because the symptoms are that of a respiratory illness; we understand the population is worried, but we have put as much as we can in place to deal with the issue,” she said.
She said the hospitals were rea­dy and isolation areas were put in place to treat persons who are suspected to have the virus.
“We have the protective N95 masks, isolation rooms and doctors are on alert for any respiratory illness that may be swine flu,” she said.
She added patients with respiratory illness at the hospital are being monitored closely as they are at high risk for death.
The Mt Hope children’s hospital was packed with children and parents with frustrated faces when the Express visited yesterday.
One parent said she was waiting for more than six hours for her son to be attended to.
At the St Joseph enhanced health facility, scores of people were waiting to be seen by doctors.
Masks were given to people who were coughing and sneezing, and even persons who looked healthy and well demanded masks to guard against catching the virus.
A doctor at the facility said people were visiting throughout the day and enquiring whether the vaccine was available. One man got irate after being told to return next week.
During visits to the Chaguanas and Couva health centres yesterday morning, the Express was told the vaccine was in stock.
However, later checks revealed that in actuality, the vaccine had been distributed to county offices yesterday and were yet to be picked up by health centres.
“It’s up to the health centres to send for the vaccines from their staff when it arrives at the county hospital,” the Express was told by one nurse.
“What may have happened is that one or two health centres might have collected if the vaccine arrived at their county office before noon. The others might do so on Mon­day morning.”
Swine flu is not being treated as an epidemic, another nurse said, but the disclosure on Wednesday by Khan that two locals may have died of the flu-type virus, one at the San Fernando General Hospital, had caused a surge of panicked citizens rushing to be vaccinated.
Speaking anonymously, a staff member at the Chaguanas District Health Facility said yesterday the public had not yet become overwhel­ming in its demand for the vaccine, but people coming in for other out-patient or emergency services were asking for it.
“There has to be some education of the public on who is considered high-risk, so that people understand why they might be turned away,” the staff member said.
At the Couva Health Facility, one staff member said the centre was being inundated with calls from people wanting to have their children vaccinated.
“There are a lot of respiratory problems in children in this general area; some people believe it is due to the heavy industry,” the source said.
“So we are getting a lot of calls from anxious parents about children with asthma and bronchitis. There is also a large population of older people who fall into the high-risk category,” the staff member said.
In Arima, there was a similar story of the high incidence of respi­ratory problems in children. The Express was told two different tales — on the one hand, the vaccine was available and later on, it was not.
The Express understands private healthcare providers have also been trying to source the vaccines for patients but were told they were out of stock.
One doctor said he had called both companies that sell the vaccine and was told they were out of stock but will be getting soon.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/RUS ... 41641.html

Postby pioneer » October 5th, 2013, 9:46 am

Typical trini panic mode

What next, NP go strike?

Postby S_2NR » October 5th, 2013, 1:14 pm

pioneer wrote:Well I also hear the vaccine run out in plenty private hospitals

Trini knee jerk reaction to everything

Postby gastly369 » October 5th, 2013, 3:45 pm

Ahhh yes only ting that Woking

Pure fresh squeeze tangelo orange juice
1381002155859.jpg

Postby DFC » October 5th, 2013, 4:48 pm

I have doctor family.
Vaccine ready for me anytime I want.

urabus

Postby urabus » October 5th, 2013, 5:22 pm

Just got my vaccine....and the doc had to give me a whole LONG lecture about h1n1 and h2n3, influenza a and b....i just looked at him and was like hurry up with the injection and let me go!

Postby Ted_v2 » October 5th, 2013, 9:33 pm

Brb looking for that vaccine

Postby javishm » October 6th, 2013, 10:40 pm

pioneer wrote:Well I also hear the vaccine run out in plenty private hospitals

exactly dont see the panic

Postby gastly369 » October 6th, 2013, 11:00 pm

gastly369 wrote:Ahhh yes only ting that Woking

Pure fresh squeeze tangelo orange juice

this chit wokkkk
forget bout them tablet
wok in morning but some GTA5 fuss :mrgreen:

Postby pioneer » October 6th, 2013, 11:37 pm

Where man gettin tangelo orange to buy?

c@ri$$@

Postby c@ri$$@ » October 7th, 2013, 10:46 am

Spitfir3 wrote:if you have the virus then antibiotics won't do sheit for you..whatever doctor your going too i suggest you not go back there because normally 1 set of antibiotics do the trick and you feel relief alot sooner than you would with a virus

too know the difference you pretty much need a competent doctor's opinion..but from my personal experience the pain from having an infection is a lot worse than what you would get from a flu..do you get like a sharp pain in your throat anytime you swallow and does it sort of ache your ear as well?

Nah, no ear ache or sharp pain in throat, just a slight sore throat, a higher than normal temperature and a dry cough. Took some panadol multisymptom over the weekend. Seems to have worked but stil have d cough now n then.

Postby pioneer » October 7th, 2013, 12:01 pm

I deadin here :(

:sick:

Postby redmanjp » October 7th, 2013, 12:04 pm

urabus wrote:Just got my vaccine....and the doc had to give me a whole LONG lecture about h1n1 and h2n3, influenza a and b....i just looked at him and was like hurry up with the injection and let me go!

i thought it was only for high risk ppl?

Postby pioneer » October 7th, 2013, 12:36 pm

Yuh eh hear she say she jus wanted de injection and didn't care to hear wha de doctor had was to say?

Alexy

Postby Alexy » October 8th, 2013, 9:49 pm

Fs/t : 1 kidney...... For h1n1 vaccine :'(

Postby teems1 » December 18th, 2015, 12:59 pm

29 confirmed cases

dafuq

Postby zoom rader » December 19th, 2015, 5:59 am

As soon as this government steps in its level swine, who knows what's next

Postby DVSTT » December 19th, 2015, 10:18 pm

Another media induced panic frenzy.

Postby Morpheus » December 20th, 2015, 12:42 am

zoom rader wrote:As soon as this government steps in its level swine, who knows what's next

LoL friggin Rowley MC!!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 8th, 2016, 3:27 pm

ok so schools are sending out flyers suggesting that children be vaccinated, but then TTUTA VP posts this on social media

Lynsley Anderson Doodhai 2nd Vice President Of TTUTA
If you are thinking of being vaccinated against the H1N1 virus please consider the following:

The vaccine was banned in UK and Australia, not so?

Postby zoom rader » January 8th, 2016, 4:23 pm

The PNM and the media is down playing this and hiding from the public.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » January 8th, 2016, 4:25 pm

^^^ yes government has to compensate people who's kids took the vaccine , there's a current 90 million dollar payout for kids that took the vaccine and are now suffering,

Do NOT let your kids take this vaccination, it can cause serious permanent damage to them.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » January 8th, 2016, 4:29 pm

BRZ wrote:^^^ yes government has to compensate people who's kids took the vaccine , there's a current 90 million dollar payout for kids that took the vaccine and are now suffering,

Do NOT let your kids take this vaccination, it can cause serious permanent damage to them.

vaccine worst than the virus it self

heard from a doctor jus take your vitamins to boost your immune system and stay away from large crowds hospitals etc ... and you should be good

Postby S_2NR » January 8th, 2016, 4:44 pm

got the vaccine years ago when my mother was at min of health and it was a big deal. no issues.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » January 8th, 2016, 5:16 pm

S_2NR wrote:got the vaccine years ago when my mother was at min of health and it was a big deal. no issues.

:roll: well now I fully understand why you are the way you are, perfect example of why to NOT let kids get vaccinated , you turn out to be a full blown mor.............

Postby pugboy » January 8th, 2016, 6:22 pm

Wash hands, avoid touching face, nose
Be mindful of touching things like door handles, counters, money etc
Hand sanitizer
Avoid facing another persons breath when talking or standing close eg at cashier

Postby S_2NR » January 8th, 2016, 7:23 pm

BRZ wrote:
S_2NR wrote:got the vaccine years ago when my mother was at min of health and it was a big deal. no issues.

:roll: well now I fully understand why you are the way you are, perfect example of why to NOT let kids get vaccinated , you turn out to be a full blown mor.............

have fun dying

Postby M_2NR » January 8th, 2016, 8:24 pm

AFAIK The Flu Shot contains H1N1 as well? Can a Doctor in here confirm?