Should Dancehall & Hiphop "music" be banned?

Should violent dancehall and rap music be banned from national airwaves?

Yes
66%
No
34%

Total votes: 77

Re: Should Dancehall & Hiphop

Postby pioneer » September 6th, 2013, 11:25 am

rfari wrote:Pios u still fighting down that 'dancehall is not art'? Ogoar dan

Four (4) days later of cyakin and you yet to show the art involved in violent dancehall music.

Typical

Postby pioneer » September 6th, 2013, 11:31 am

Morpheus wrote:But pioneer people making gun signs long time eh. Ent long time water gun, caps gun and even the gun that shoots out the suction thingies were bought as "toys"?

Long time we used to play "Gun shooting" and "Police and Theif", etc. What so different in using a branch as yuh gun in dem youthful battles as opposed to that fella using an alcohol bottle as his gun?

Again, not everyone has the sense to differentiate fantasy from reality.

Back then that had absolutely nothing to do with the music.

That "gun shooting" was derived from western movies and TV shows. That was based on law enforcement, those shows never had a narrator telling the audience to pick up guns and murder anyone who "disses" you.

Today we have DJ's and singers encouraging people to violently kill other people and brandish guns.

Like you all don't listen to the lyrics of these songs?

It is exactly what is happening in east port of spain, people settle arguments by the gun, just like the DJ's and singers are TELLING them to.

Re: Should Dancehall & Hiphop "music" be banned?

Postby pioneer » September 19th, 2013, 1:04 pm

Still waiting on rfari's documented proof of the art in dancehall music.

Postby rfari » September 19th, 2013, 2:16 pm

Well u wait there. U the only one who doesnt understand art and artform and waiting still for it. Continue waiting. Wha i go tell yuh

Postby zoom rader » September 19th, 2013, 2:49 pm

Since when dancehall is music ? far much for art.

Postby pioneer » September 19th, 2013, 2:54 pm

Typical rfari back pedal.

The votes paint a clear picture, contrary to what the apologists are saying in this thread.

Many people have supported my call via pm and txt msg, some claim they fear being victimised and attacked by the guntas and criminals of trinituner if they express their opinion or support mine.

Fear not, I am here to deliver wettin after wettin. Guntas will get mash up.

Postby rfari » September 19th, 2013, 3:07 pm

pioneer wrote:Typical rfari back pedal.

The votes paint a clear picture, contrary to what the apologists are saying in this thread.

Many people have supported my call via pm and txt msg, some claim they fear being victimised and attacked by the guntas and criminals of trinituner if they express their opinion or support mine.

:rofl: i not going to spoonfeed info to u jed.
Ched flop

Postby pioneer » September 19th, 2013, 3:09 pm

I made my point, provided evidence of such.

Where's yours?

Postby rfari » September 19th, 2013, 3:12 pm

pioneer wrote:I made my point, provided evidence of such.

Where's yours?

U don't knw the definition of art and artform

Postby pioneer » September 19th, 2013, 3:13 pm

Well aware us of such definition.

How come jamaica has banned soca from its airwaves yet we worship dancehall?

Postby rfari » September 19th, 2013, 3:17 pm

pioneer wrote:Well aware us of such definition.

How come jamaica has banned soca from its airwaves yet we worship dancehall?

Google it

Postby zoom rader » September 19th, 2013, 3:18 pm

Wait ppl pm you as well for fear of pnm tuner guntas?
I say I was the only one

Postby rfari » September 19th, 2013, 3:41 pm

Steel pan music. Art or otherwise?

Postby rfari » September 19th, 2013, 3:44 pm

Wait ppl pm you as well for fear of pnm tuner guntas?
I say I was the only one

Who the pnm tuner guntas?

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » September 19th, 2013, 3:47 pm

Creativity..

Postby Morpheus » September 19th, 2013, 3:49 pm

rfari wrote:Steel pan music. Art or otherwise?

Noise for who not into it[/honest]

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » September 19th, 2013, 3:50 pm

Morpheus wrote:

Mental ease and relief for the creators..

Postby rfari » September 19th, 2013, 4:06 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:Creativity..

An artform?

Morpheus wrote:

Jungle music? (Zr's interpretation)

Postby Morpheus » September 19th, 2013, 4:12 pm

Yeah because he don't like it it's jungle music. I don't like "modern" dancehall neither, but I won't call it that. Oh well...

Postby 88sins » September 19th, 2013, 6:48 pm

since evrybody jumpin on d "ban" wagon, dey shold ban danchall for promotin violence, all dogs for bitin/killin ppl, performance parts for road carnage, diesel for friggin up d air we breathe & WASA for providind rate payin customers wit their recommened daily allowance of rust mud & God alone knows what else

IMHO only a weakling or irresponsible individual would blame their own actions or that of others on a sight or sound. For that matter, ban all weaklings too. It's the strong & better off that end up having to take care of them, and thats a heavy burden

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » September 20th, 2013, 11:55 am

BAN IT!!! BAN IT!!! BAN IT!!!

Postby rfari » September 20th, 2013, 11:59 am

thnx for the bump.
pan; artform or not?

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » September 20th, 2013, 12:02 pm

It is I think. After all it is musical instrument. What must be considered is the effect on individuals and society.

Postby zoom rader » September 20th, 2013, 12:08 pm

rfari wrote:thnx for the bump.
pan; artform or not?

Pan is music, big up the samaroo family.

ToxicTechnologies

Postby ToxicTechnologies » September 20th, 2013, 12:08 pm

is it me or did i see boob at 19:40?

Postby rfari » September 20th, 2013, 12:12 pm

toyota2nr wrote:It is I think. After all it is musical instrument. What must be considered is the effect on individuals and society.

the effect???

Postby rfari » September 20th, 2013, 1:01 pm

rfari wrote:thnx for the bump.
pan; artform or not?

Pan is music, big up the samaroo family.

its a basic question zr. artform or not?

ToxicTechnologies wrote:is it me or did i see boob at 19:40?

ogoar dan :evil:

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » September 20th, 2013, 1:15 pm

I say we ban pan in trinidad and tobago... it's too noisy and annoying, Those panyards influence the use of drugs, alcohol, guns and violence. It encourages juvenile delinquency and teenage pregnancy.

Port of Spain: National Security Minister John Sandy and Police Commissioner Dwayne Gibbs today met with Laventille panmen this afternoon trying to figure out what cause a drive-by shooting at a pan yard early this morning that left one man dead and several others injured.

Gunmen opened fire at the Uni-Stars Steel Orchestra on old St Joseph Road, Laventille shortly after midnight killing Henry Cirus and injuring Avis Bruce, Yvonne Batson and primary school pupil Shemel Abraham.

... If banning leh we ban :|
Last edited by uncle sam on September 20th, 2013, 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » September 20th, 2013, 1:16 pm

Dancehall noise has become a symbol of explicit sexual imagery and violence. Despite the positive effects Dancehall noise might have on our young people, it has become more a pathway for moral degradation with our young people. Dancehall is a “style of Jamaican popular music that had its genesis in the political disturbance of the late 1970′s ad became Jamaica’s dominant music in the 1980′s and 90′s”, ( C.J.Cooper)

“Jamaican dancehall culture is commonly disparaged as a homophobic, homicidal, misogynist discourse that reduces both men and women to bare essentials: skeletal remain” (Cooper.C.J,July2000). Dancehall noise has great negative influences on the youths. This can be seen where popular Dancehall artist Vybz Kartel song the song ‘Clarks’ the brand of shoe became an instant hit.Both male and female youths wanted to be in ‘clarks’. So if these artist praise violence in their lyrics wouldn’t it be inevitable that the youths would follow,due to the huge influence they already have on them? The youths, especially males believe that being a ‘bad man’, ‘hot skull’, and ‘chargie’ are good descriptions of themselves.It makes them feel like they belong because it has become the norm.Isn’t there then some self esteem problems with our youths? Popular Dancehall artist, Movado, coined the slang, ‘Gangster for life’ which resonated with the youths. They sought to illicit and imitate gangstas behavior. According a study done on The effects of Dancehall genre on adolescent sexual and violent behavior in Jamaica: A public health concern “19% male and 13% females demonstrated violence in schools, in their communities, and/or in their homes – 7% females and 9% males were taken to the Principal’s office; 3% females and 5% males suspended”(A.D. Crawford, 2010).In today’s society almost all of the Dancehall Artists are being arrested for criminal offenses. The most recent of which is Vybz Kartel being charged with Murder in 2011. Despite this, however it still remains the popular music, even with adults, then why are we complaining?

The glorifying of Guns in the Dancehall

Sexual explicit behavior among our youths influenced by the lyrics of Dancehall noise is also evident. There is a higher rate of promiscuity and pregnancy. This has also aided in the increase of HIV/AIDS and STd’s infections. According a study done on The effects of Dancehall genre on adolescent sexual and violent behavior in Jamaica: A public health concern ‘Of the 100 respondents, 52% males and 58% females claimed to be sexually active’(A.D. Crawford, 201

Postby pioneer » September 21st, 2013, 2:44 am

Well zr man like rfari want to turn sweet Trinidad into jamaica.

I find if we followin jamaicans, we should follow them 100%...they banned soca from their airwaves

We ought to return the favor.

Steelpan music does not encourage anyone into violence. Even soca does not encourage violence. None of them openly tell their audience to pick up a gun and shoot someone in their face if they disrespect you.

Have any of these "artists" won any grammy's of late for their "artistic expression"?

Far as I know only Beenie Man won, and most of the bad boy youths today weren't born yet when he won that grammy.

Looking at youtube comments with these violent songs, I can't even understand what the comments mean. Is that even english?