PRICESMART-EVEREADY CAR BATTERIES

ADONI

Re: PRICESMART-EVEREADY CAR BATTERIES

Postby ADONI » September 21st, 2017, 11:57 am

Steve's Redtop 34 - 800 cca is $1,650 with one year warranty. They sold me this model for a diesel. Had it for one year though, before I sold the vehicle. Couldn't pop meh bonnet in peace. Everybody was like best battery yuh have there. Steups

air wick

Postby air wick » September 21st, 2017, 3:34 pm

The only thing with Steves as compared to Pricemart is the warranty also bought a D34 Yellow Top ($1695) this year and only got 12mths warranty.
Pricemart gave 6 yrs on the Redtop (3 replacement and 3 pro rated). So to me it works out better buying at Pricemart even though it is the 35 series.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » September 21st, 2017, 4:04 pm

Good info to know on the warranty guys!

Postby RedVEVO » September 21st, 2017, 4:41 pm

halfkrack wrote:Picked up a red top (720cca) in Pricesmart chaguanas this morning. $1,379 and 3 year warranty.
3 more on the shelf.

Where on the battery do you get the cranking amps (cca) specs ?

What vehicle ?

halfkrack

Postby halfkrack » September 22nd, 2017, 9:32 am

RedVEVO wrote:
halfkrack wrote:Picked up a red top (720cca) in Pricesmart chaguanas this morning. $1,379 and 3 year warranty.
3 more on the shelf.

What vehicle ?

On the battery itself does have all the specs.
Put in a NP300.

cryotec

Postby cryotec » September 22nd, 2017, 10:14 am

air wick wrote:The only thing with Steves as compared to Pricemart is the warranty also bought a D34 Yellow Top ($1695) this year and only got 12mths warranty.
Pricemart gave 6 yrs on the Redtop (3 replacement and 3 pro rated). So to me it works out better buying at Pricemart even though it is the 35 series.

how the pro rated warranty does work in pricesmart for those batteries?

Postby RedVEVO » September 22nd, 2017, 11:08 am

halfkrack wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
3 more on the shelf.

What vehicle ?

Put in a NP300.

Thanks , Tuner ! :D

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 22nd, 2017, 12:25 pm

thats a damn good deal on those red optimas & doh study ppl who talking bout made in mexico , it still holds up good ....

Postby RedVEVO » September 22nd, 2017, 1:00 pm

Any Tuner know about ETNA batteries .

Sold ( stand corrected ) by Rampersad people.

Are they any good ?

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 22nd, 2017, 2:37 pm

cryotec wrote:
air wick wrote:The only thing with Steves as compared to Pricemart is the warranty also bought a D34 Yellow Top ($1695) this year and only got 12mths warranty.

Beware of Pmart battery warranty. They have a poster close to the exit. Is like if you tighten the battery pole too hard, they not replacing it.

Postby RedVEVO » September 23rd, 2017, 1:17 am

Any Tuner know about ETNA batteries .

N100 have a CA of 12,500

But is it a well know brand ?

Postby Ted_v2 » September 23rd, 2017, 5:41 pm

Daz a bess deal.

Personally I have good experience with track water batteries, 550 got almost 32 months with it. On my third. First was 26 months second was 32.

Postby gastly369 » January 1st, 2018, 9:44 am

They open today? Need ah optima bat asap

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » January 1st, 2018, 12:02 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Daz a bess deal.

Personally I have good experience with track water batteries, 550 got almost 32 months with it. On my third. First was 26 months second was 32.

Although it may see good we have a vehicle bought new from the firm 6 years ago and same battery . so why is it these batteries which we change out only last max 4 years if so long .
Got to say though i am quite surprised the battery in my diesel van is going on 3 years plus

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » January 1st, 2018, 12:09 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
cryotec wrote:

Beware of Pmart battery warranty. They have a poster close to the exit. Is like if you tighten the battery pole too hard, they not replacing it.

I agree with Psmart, i see some of those poles which was returned and i ask myself how, yet i cannot come up with an answer .
Poles melted , poles broken , some look like they were nibbled on.

But pricesmart had the optima battery last time i was there
problem is they closed on news years day

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » January 30th, 2018, 2:25 pm

saw the Optima Red top 35 for 1400$ in pricemart today
saw no chart or table as a guide

eXamin

Postby eXamin » June 19th, 2019, 10:55 am

Anyone knows if Pricesmart still have those Optima batteries?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 19th, 2019, 11:31 am

eXamin wrote:Anyone knows if Pricesmart still have those Optima batteries?

I was at the outlet in Arouca about 2 weeks ago and I saw a few pieces on the shelf

Postby pugboy » June 19th, 2019, 12:18 pm

Port of Spain had this mornjng

Kronik

Postby Kronik » June 19th, 2019, 12:47 pm

eXamin wrote:Anyone knows if Pricesmart still have those Optima batteries?
I normally see in chaguanas branch

Postby pugboy » June 19th, 2019, 4:32 pm

how much better are those batteries ?
do they last more than the typical 18-24 months in our climate ?

Postby hydroep » June 19th, 2019, 4:39 pm

Saw a video where people were complaining that the quality/longevity has dropped since they started manufacturing them in Latin America...:|

Postby MG Man » June 24th, 2019, 3:01 pm

have a Price Smamrt DIN45 spec battery in a Ford Focus about 2.5 years now...so far, so good

Also have the same spec in two other cars that hardly get used....each battery in the car mussy about 4 years...sometimes they run down to stone dead and I recharge them back to normal...now I use a trickle charger and alternate on each car, one week at a time
no complaints wrt price smart batteries

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 29th, 2019, 3:03 pm

I have one 5 years in a almera and it doh wah dead

Postby De Dragon » June 30th, 2019, 1:31 am

Three years Eveready in a Hilux. No issues

triniringo

Postby triniringo » June 30th, 2019, 11:13 am

4years in mother in law and still going

Postby gastly369 » September 24th, 2019, 10:21 am

Pricemart open today la romaine branch?

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 30th, 2020, 9:12 am

halfkrack wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
3 more on the shelf.

What vehicle ?

Put in a NP300.

2020 update on Pricesmart Optima batteries, same price, now only 2 year warranty.

Also Pricesmart advertise Group 35 (website/label on the shelf/on my bill) but the battery actually is a Group 38. The poles are a different spacing and hence cannot work on some vehicles. The battery is also shorter although it comes with several adapters for height/width.

Newer Vehicles with large OEM fused terminals (eg. 2014+ Mazda 3) cannot use this if the requirement is Group 35.
Last edited by Strugglerzinc on May 30th, 2020, 12:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rovin » May 30th, 2020, 11:22 am

longer warranty is nice to have but with optimas u will easily get 5yrs out of them

i have 5 yellows right now that are 8yrs old that came out from my music , in d 1st few yrs they were occasionally used & recharged every now then but past yrs they in regular use , still going strong ...