Re: what's wrong with european cars?

Postby cinco » November 7th, 2012, 9:02 am

DJ Q wrote:
cinco wrote:
j.o.e wrote:^^^ Just remember that many Euro cars u see on sale never actually get the price they call. They normally end up going for a lower price just outta sheer frustration form the seller. There's many a deal to be had on the used Euro market.

most euros sit there and just sell for small money when the owner is fed up of asking for a price and not getting it

What is "small money" in this case?
I'm 95% sure that car won't suddenly sell for $90,000

Even if he gets $200,000, that's still pretty good for a 10 year old car.

According to the general "20% depreciation per year" that is associated with cars... If it started at $600k it should only get $64,424.51 now...

i KNOW a 4yr old a4 that was sold back for 90k with <40000 miles on it
and i know an x5 that has been on sale for 2 years at 200k i was offered it for 75k

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » November 7th, 2012, 9:04 am

cinco wrote:
DJ Q wrote:
cinco wrote:
j.o.e wrote:^^^ Just remember that many Euro cars u see on sale never actually get the price they call. They normally end up going for a lower price just outta sheer frustration form the seller. There's many a deal to be had on the used Euro market.

most euros sit there and just sell for small money when the owner is fed up of asking for a price and not getting it

According to the general "20% depreciation per year" that is associated with cars... If it started at $600k it should only get $64,424.51 now...

and i know an x5 that has been on sale for 2 years at 200k i was offered it for 75k

Point taken.
However, I still rather a euro than a jap.

Postby cinco » November 7th, 2012, 9:08 am

DJ Q wrote:
cinco wrote:
DJ Q wrote:
cinco wrote:

Point taken.
However, I still rather a euro than a jap.

do you understand TCO?
Total Cost of Ownership
600k car has a much higher insurance much higher fuel bill parts are more expensive even tyres since most euros came with 16+ sized wheels and tyres

so that 600k car new also costs you more over 10 yrs to maintain as opposed to a jap car

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » November 7th, 2012, 9:13 am

cinco wrote:do you understand TCO?
Total Cost of Ownership
600k car has a much higher insurance much higher fuel bill parts are more expensive even tyres since most euros came with 16+ sized wheels and tyres

so that 600k car new also costs you more over 10 yrs to maintain as opposed to a jap car

A 600k car's insurance would be around the same whether euro or jap.
Higher fuel bill... yes. Hate that about euros... However, they usually burn less fuel than jap cars... just costs more for the damn premium.
Don't say "most euros" come with 16"+ tyres if you're talking BMW, Mercedes etc. That's not to be compared to a Mazda 3. Talk about VW or Peugeot or something. Many of those come on 14 or 15" wheels. Besides, many jap cars come with 16"+ now...

I personally don't think it's more expensive to maintain a euro car (from my experience). Parts are definitely more expensive, but they last forever and a day.

Postby crazybalhead » November 7th, 2012, 9:18 am

I love my japanese econobox. <3

Postby cinco » November 7th, 2012, 9:18 am

we are talking 600k vs 300k car here
and i was basing it on a generalisation
also bear in mind that the "general" owner of a euro car buys it for the status so they wont buy a used euro
even in the us a euro sees a 50% dep over 5 years

Postby Dizzy28 » November 7th, 2012, 9:34 am

My neighbour had a Volvo S80. Put it up for sale a few years ago. No one bought it after almost a year on the market. Eventually he gave it to one of his suppliers in a trade for goods...lol. I'm sure he took much less worth in goods than he wanted to sell the car for.

ztune

Postby ztune » November 7th, 2012, 9:53 am

rspann, good pics!

Euro cars are really nice with the ride, power, comfort, safety features, general features and good service. Although MID prompts appear on the board unlike japanese cars, I practice preventative maintenance and for years parts are still in good working order, therefore minimal maintenance is required. Original and aftermarket parts are readily available locally and worldwide. Features in euros go way back and not even in top end japanese cars to this day. Just like the common japanese, there are sites with information on tuning, styling & maintenance including DIY's.

Resale is the only downside in Trinidad of these vehicles as people hope to get them for b14/corolla price.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » November 7th, 2012, 11:36 am

crazy_ztune wrote:Euro cars are really nice with the ride, power, comfort, safety features, general features and good service. Although MID prompts appear on the board unlike japanese cars, I practice preventative maintenance and for years parts are still in good working order, therefore minimal maintenance is required. Original and aftermarket parts are readily available locally and worldwide. Features in euros go way back and not even in top end japanese cars to this day. Just like the common japanese, there are sites with information on tuning, styling & maintenance including DIY's.
How many persons actually maintain their vehicles properly in T&T?!

crazy_ztune wrote:Resale is the only downside in Trinidad of these vehicles as people hope to get them for b14/corolla price.
I wonder why?!!

moti

Postby moti » November 7th, 2012, 1:59 pm

the other problem is after 4 or more years the company tends to forget to stock parts for their euro cars.

this was a problem with us and parents turn to jap when it took 4 months to get a fuel filter for the A6.
pops don't like to buy from no one other than S/Sales.
even though i begged him for me to bring in one he said bring it but he wont use it.

that said; toyota always has parts and the A6 is collecting dust by his moms house.

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » November 7th, 2012, 2:37 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:
nissan_king wrote:Only thing euro cars good for is looks. Resale value is bread crumbs.......a B14 have better resale value

True,
however when you drive an Audi or a VW you immediately feel the better and far superior Build quality, smooth operating engine and quiet cabin,
Step over to the nissan and you hear the small 1.6 engine bawling, you feel every bump in the road, and you know youre driving a thin tin can.

so true!

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » November 7th, 2012, 2:54 pm

moti wrote:the other problem is after 4 or more years the company tends to forget to stock parts for their euro cars.

this was a problem with us and parents turn to jap when it took 4 months to get a fuel filter for the A6.
pops don't like to buy from no one other than S/Sales.
even though i begged him for me to bring in one he said bring it but he wont use it.

that said; toyota always has parts and the A6 is collecting dust by his moms house.

^^and that is part of the problem...people believe that dealership parts are superior to buying your own parts online, i guess it comes down to peace of mind but little do they know that they are being robbed.

Postby rspann » November 7th, 2012, 5:54 pm

In these times,that talk about parts is not valid.When I need parts,I buy BMW parts from Vista motors,or audi and Benz from Prime parts superstore.Usually if I pay today the parts are at the shippers tomorrow evening and in Trinidad on next tuesday or friday,all at a fraction of the cost in the company,sometimes less than 50%.You can carry these parts to the dealer and have them installed (once they are original and not void your warranty.If the warranty is over then there are enough repairers all over Trinidad who can work on them.The other argument about resale value,a lot of owners don't buy them for their resale value,they buy as someone rightly said,for the prestige,the comfort and the safety.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » November 7th, 2012, 6:01 pm

imagine my mech doing werk on a doctors PCS saab that the guy imported in , only to have the original engine swapped for a sr20... sigh...

Conrad

Postby Conrad » November 7th, 2012, 6:40 pm

5onDfloor wrote:
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:
nissan_king wrote:Only thing euro cars good for is looks. Resale value is bread crumbs.......a B14 have better resale value

True,
however when you drive an Audi or a VW you immediately feel the better and far superior Build quality, smooth operating engine and quiet cabin,
Step over to the nissan and you hear the small 1.6 engine bawling, you feel every bump in the road, and you know youre driving a thin tin can.

so true!

Tell that to my mother who had an A4 :lol:

That was the WORST car that ever passed through our family.

ONLY NEW OEM parts bought and installed by ex-dealer technicians. Car serviced on time at all times and was hardly driven for the earlier 2 out of 4 years she had it. Parts were brought in from abroad or purchased from which ever garage did the install. Three highly recommended garages later and she sold it.

Turbo
Coil-packs (God that A4 loved to blow coil-packs)
Transmission (normal thing with them)
Peeling center console
Broken glove compartment
Broken center console arm rest
Non-functioning cigarette lighter port
Blown tail light error on dash (never got this cleared)

Car was bought as a dealer maintained local used at ~40k km and sold after 4 years for approx 40% of original purchase price at 80k km.

The old C33 Laurel is still going strong requiring very little maintenance and is 23 years.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 7th, 2012, 7:23 pm

a co worker of mines bought a skoda today...NEW.......I am really glad for him to be able to afford a new car...but ah SKODA?.......

Postby equipped2ripp » November 7th, 2012, 7:34 pm

What's wrong with the Skoda?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 7th, 2012, 7:38 pm

it orgly and has zero resale value plus to me its not really a status car in comparison with other euros as Audi, BMW, Volvo,etc.......

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » November 7th, 2012, 8:51 pm

+ in owning a top brand eruo = quality pucee bollywood style :) ,you also get more respect & envy on the road 8-)

Postby rollingstock » November 7th, 2012, 9:09 pm

Owned an Audi A3 before, was driven by a female and serviced strictly at the dealership.

First 5 yrs, worked flawlessly, then after some minor issues, but after 7 yrs that car became a bottom less pit, rebuilt transmission twice plus many more issues. Finally sold it for 55k

All this time my P.O.S Jap VRG that was bought foreign used not new was hitting south to town everyday, never a problem and this is the notorious gdi.

The cost of owning both vehicles was a far cry, and the 100,000km service on that audi was a killer.

Moral of the story kids, buy a jap f/u, and if yuh have a red oman leh she buy she own forkin car, doh play shotta.

Postby nemisis » November 7th, 2012, 9:13 pm

All the notorious the gdi notorious treat it well and it will treat you well.

Postby ronsin1 » November 7th, 2012, 10:49 pm

crazybalhead wrote:I would buy 100 B14's.

That is like what $170,000.00 TTD

ztune

Postby ztune » November 8th, 2012, 5:42 am

co worker has a skoda octoavia, it's not bad as it's very humble, quiet and built nicely these days.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » November 8th, 2012, 7:19 am

whats the difference between a metal bucket of sheit and a B11,12,13 or 14 ?????

The handle- thats it, both are just pails of sheit

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 8th, 2012, 7:26 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:whats the difference between a metal bucket of sheit and a B11,12,13 or 14 ?????

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:. . . .A very skilled and experienced mechanic once told me a B14 is the greatest car in the world. . . .

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » November 8th, 2012, 7:27 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:whats the difference between a metal bucket of sheit and a B11,12,13 or 14 ?????

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:. . . .A very skilled and experienced GARDNER once told me a B14 is the greatest smelling piece of sheit in the world. . . .

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 8th, 2012, 7:30 am

rollingstock wrote:Owned an Audi A3 before, was driven by a female and serviced strictly at the dealership.

First 5 yrs, worked flawlessly, then after some minor issues, but after 7 yrs that car became a bottom less pit, rebuilt transmission twice plus many more issues. Finally sold it for 55k

All this time my P.O.S Jap VRG that was bought foreign used not new was hitting south to town everyday, never a problem and this is the notorious gdi.

The cost of owning both vehicles was a far cry, and the 100,000km service on that audi was a killer.

Moral of the story kids, buy a jap f/u, and if yuh have a red oman leh she buy she own forkin car, doh play shotta.

Would it be safe to say you put highway miles on the GDI versus more city driving in the a3?

Postby rollingstock » November 8th, 2012, 7:37 am

^ More like more {all kinda} miles on the gdi, even off road a few times to find a secluded fishing spot :oops: 286XXXkm, can't wait to hit the 300000km.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » November 8th, 2012, 7:47 am

Conrad wrote:
5onDfloor wrote:
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:

True,

so true!

Tell that to my mother who had an A4 :lol:

That was the WORST car that ever passed through our family.

ONLY NEW OEM parts bought and installed by ex-dealer technicians. Car serviced on time at all times and was hardly driven for the earlier 2 out of 4 years she had it. Parts were brought in from abroad or purchased from which ever garage did the install. Three highly recommended garages later and she sold it.

Turbo
Coil-packs (God that A4 loved to blow coil-packs)
Transmission (normal thing with them)
Peeling center console
Broken glove compartment
Broken center console arm rest
Non-functioning cigarette lighter port
Blown tail light error on dash (never got this cleared)

Car was bought as a dealer maintained local used at ~40k km and sold after 4 years for approx 40% of original purchase price at 80k km.

The old C33 Laurel is still going strong requiring very little maintenance and is 23 years.

You're making it sound like no japanese car in history has ever had problems :|

Postby nervewrecker » November 8th, 2012, 8:00 am

crazybalhead wrote:I love my japanese econobox. <3

I <3 it too :P :mrgreen: