Re: New Fuel Prices [Speculation]

Postby pioneer » October 1st, 2012, 12:03 am

Raise diesel, less danraj on de road.

Postby nervewrecker » October 1st, 2012, 12:08 am

pioneer wrote:Raise diesel, less danraj on de road.

I don't even wanna imagine the ripple effects if they touch that nah. Last time gas raise taxis and transport vehicles suddenly started working with premium unleaded. Imagine if diesel really went up what would happen.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 1st, 2012, 12:11 am

Allyuh taking on rfari? Yuh ever see drinks cart use diesel?

Postby rfari » October 1st, 2012, 12:12 am

Diesel men would file an injunction in the high court. Leh kamla play mad

Postby Rainman » October 1st, 2012, 6:17 am

[trulyaskingoutofownignorance]Why don't they allow only vehicles registered to companies to have a transport designation 'T' and allow them to take advantage of the diesel subsidy; let all others carry the 'P' designation and pay the unsubsidized price[/trulyaskingoutofownignorance]

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 1st, 2012, 9:55 am

Rainman wrote:[trulyaskingoutofownignorance]Why don't they allow only vehicles registered to companies to have a transport designation 'T' and allow them to take advantage of the diesel subsidy; let all others carry the 'P' designation and pay the unsubsidized price[/trulyaskingoutofownignorance]

That may help, but what would you do about those who:

1) Register a paper company (not difficult to do or that expensive to be prohibitive)
2) Purchase a "T" licensed vehicle in the company's name
3) Drive about in said vehicle taking advantage of fuel subsidy
4) The FIU and banks still not having the proper infrastructure in place to detect and monitor commingling of funds

Postby Greypatch » October 1st, 2012, 10:16 am

pioneer wrote:Super $9.00
Premium $12.00
Diesel $20.00

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 1st, 2012, 10:28 am

The fuel subsidy shouldn't be drastically adjusted in a bubble. Many other things should be adjusted in tandem. MVT should be adjusted downwards if the fuel subsidy is reduced. Public transport upgrades to foster more awareness and interest in using public transport should be implemented. Other things to be done as well but I'm too sleepy to type.

Postby Stephon. » October 1st, 2012, 10:37 am

Lets be real. Gas prices ate extremely low in Trinidad, even premium prices. I don't think a price hike in gas would affect people that much because the average citizen have a lot of disposable income. I ain't dictating what people do with their money but if you could go movie towne and ruby Tuesdays every weekend, I don't think some extra dollars per tank would drop you under the poverty line lol

Postby tr1ad » October 1st, 2012, 10:39 am

4 years ago, the last increase, complaints lasted all of 3 days

Postby Stephon. » October 1st, 2012, 10:42 am

tr1ad wrote:4 years ago, the last increase, complaints lasted all of 3 days

Lmao so the bigger question is with so many more drivers on the road since then, how long would the complaints last this time, I say 4 days and a half.

Postby Hook » October 1st, 2012, 10:44 am

If diesel prices go up, ppl will finally be able to eat their doubles in peace.

Postby AllTrac » October 1st, 2012, 10:47 am

Hook wrote:If diesel prices go up, ppl will finally be able to eat their doubles in peace.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 1st, 2012, 10:48 am

Stephon. wrote:Lets be real. Gas prices ate extremely low in Trinidad, even premium prices. I don't think a price hike in gas would affect people that much because the average citizen have a lot of disposable income. I ain't dictating what people do with their money but if you could go movie towne and ruby Tuesdays every weekend, I don't think some extra dollars per tank would drop you under the poverty line lol

It is very easy to think most have alot of disposable income but remember TnT has a million plus people. The people you see day to day "splurging" represent but a small subset of society. It's easy to think "I can afford it so most can too". I am in favour of adjusting the subsidy but it must be done in such a manner as to not traumatize the population.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » October 1st, 2012, 10:55 am

Super TT$3.00
Premium TT$5.00
Diesel TT2.50
Premium 97/100 TT$8.00

Daran

Postby Daran » October 1st, 2012, 11:05 am

Heard from good reliable source (chairman and board member of a state company).

Super TT $3.20
Premium TT $4.50
Diesel TT #2.00

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » October 1st, 2012, 11:06 am

Stephon. wrote:Lets be real. Gas prices ate extremely low in Trinidad, even premium prices. I don't think a price hike in gas would affect people that much because the average citizen have a lot of disposable income. I ain't dictating what people do with their money but if you could go movie towne and ruby Tuesdays every weekend, I don't think some extra dollars per tank would drop you under the poverty line lol

The man speaketh the truth..........there are many people who can afford to pay a little extra in fuel. Any increase will most likely be less than a dollar a liter. It must be done in increments so that the economy can absorb it easier than a large increase.

I would still prefer if the gas subsidy must be increased or removed that vehicle import duty be totally removed. Make cars cheap but expensive to drive like the US.

:evilbat:

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 1st, 2012, 11:32 am

Just to clarify...you all want the subsidy removed because you expect the Government to spend the money elsewhere to develop the country right?

Postby teems1 » October 1st, 2012, 11:59 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Just to clarify...you all want the subsidy removed because you expect the Government to spend the money elsewhere to develop the country right?

All government's we have ever had have horrible records for managing money. The amount of money which passes through their hands would go much further in the private sector.

Postby AllTrac » October 1st, 2012, 12:00 pm

Daran wrote:Heard from good reliable source (chairman and board member of a state company).

Super TT $3.20
Premium TT $4.50
Diesel TT #2.00

wrt to the diesel speculation, i can live wit that.

aidan

Postby aidan » October 1st, 2012, 12:10 pm

AllTrac wrote:
Daran wrote:Heard from good reliable source (chairman and board member of a state company).

Super TT $3.20
Premium TT $4.50
Diesel TT #2.00

d phorq. i going and buy a bike yes.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 1st, 2012, 12:58 pm

Super TT $3.20
Premium TT $4.50
Diesel TT #2.00

That not bad at all. If a 50c/litre increase in Super throw your monthly budget off then you either just a poor MoFo or you have the wrong priorities.

roadhog

Re: 2012-Budget Discussion-key word-''Austerity''D.o.B-oct-1

Postby roadhog » October 1st, 2012, 12:59 pm

someone please change the year in the title to 2013. thing about to start and man ketching skin to find the correct thread

Postby Dave » October 1st, 2012, 12:59 pm

i see water meth kits being demanded more

Postby Stephon. » October 1st, 2012, 1:09 pm

Place gonna be cooler after the budget. Lots of crims down vehicles would be without air conditioning.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » October 1st, 2012, 1:10 pm

The cost of fuel in Venezuela is 1/10th what is is here!!

Postby Stephon. » October 1st, 2012, 1:12 pm

AdamB wrote:The cost of fuel in Venezuela is 1/10th what is is here!!

What about the crime?

Postby tr1ad » October 1st, 2012, 1:13 pm

and is that because of the quantity they have or governement

Postby Dizzy28 » October 1st, 2012, 1:14 pm

And in the UK it is 6 times more expensive than it is here..........what's your point?

Daran

Postby Daran » October 1st, 2012, 1:17 pm

AllTrac wrote:

Super TT $3.20
Premium TT $4.50
Diesel TT #2.00

Just so you guys know, he told me that these were the final proposed prices pre all this Section 34 and Pre Budget Rally nonsense....so i can't say for sure if they are still sticking with this, but it was part of a 3 year plan to bring it up slowly to a much higher value.