Postby Sky » July 10th, 2012, 12:22 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
Stephon. wrote:EDIT: @CBH

MZR 2.0 4-cylinder 16 valve DOHC engine
HP : 145 @ 6500 RPM

2L and only 145 (bhp? Lol>)? Phail

what does this have todo with AP comming back?

The same thing Pnm had to do with cbhs comment earlier.

6_runs.gif.

Employment for Returning Expats

Postby rfari » July 10th, 2012, 1:45 pm

OP u can apply to work on a cruise ship too. I heard tht if ur yankee accent bess you getting the job. Surety

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Re: Employment for Returning Expats

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » July 10th, 2012, 1:49 pm

DO trinidad a favor- stay right where you are.............. we dont need any more heroes.............

Postby janfar » July 11th, 2012, 6:34 am

Before you decide to permanently move back to Trinidad make sure you build up some level of funds to survive for a while on a lower salary. Dont expect anything to be sugar coated. You will have to start in a lower paying job before moving up the ranks... unless ur really lucky and your timing is right. Hard work and dedication usually pays of more than the arrogance of the over educated. Prepare for a strong dose of humble pie.

Trinidad is not newyork so if yuh find the woman in Rituals moving too slow to make yuh Machiato(sp) dont cuss she up cuz she is the one with the hotwater and wont be afraid to use it. Together with a nice coat of back-ah-choat huckupphlem. I have had to calm my fiance down many times in these situation. "Remember we on an island"

I have considered coming back home to work but I personally dont think its worth it right now. Trinidad, IMO, has become a cesspool of c0cksuckery and politics and unless you have good friends you wont make it, but thats my opinion. It may be different in the world of finance and law.

That said, Trinidad is home and I cant think of another place I would rather live.

Postby pugboy » July 11th, 2012, 7:32 am

It easy to say so though, world experience is exactly that,
experience elsewhere not here.

Examples of these businesses and thriving ideas ?

A foreigner is actually at a huge disadvantage opening and running their own business here when it comes to dealing the the work ethics and culture we have.

Foreign education can't change local mentality of other people.

AbstractPoetic wrote:What locals have to realize is that returning expatriates are not only bringing education and world experience with them but also money and innovative ideas. Many are opening up their own businesses, helping to both hire and educate locals. Take for example one relative of mine who returned to help support local agriculturalists on how to better cultivate the land and provide better quality produce for consumers.

Another friend returned to open up his own personal trainer/nutritionist hub after his mother passed from cancer. He's helping locals understand the importance of healthy living, something not as openly embraced due to lack of education and cultural norms.

Postby bluefete » July 11th, 2012, 11:47 am

Hey AP:

Well, I am not so young :( :( but I also made the decision to come back home some years ago. I was told that things are bad etc, etc.

However, I prefer to work hard and build my own country than to build someone else's. That means trying to maintain high standards in the face of local tomfoolery and inertia.

So far, I have no regrets. Things have worked out way better than I could have ever imagined.

I sincerely hope your mindset has changed, as you pointed out earlier. Otherwise, if you come back to T&T with negative connotations, you will regret it.

T&T is home no matter what. We have our problems and issues like any other country but once you can get past that and see the tremendous greatness of us as a people, you will be well on your way to helping the country grow.

With your work experience and qualifications, you should consider being an independent worker (working for yourself as a consultant). However, be aware that life sometimes offers opportunities that you would never even have considered in the first place.

If you have family here, you may have to move in with them initially. If your finances afford it, you should be able to get a place before you come back. If you can, invest in a house, as early as possible.

When I came back, it took me about 3 months before i got a freelance job and other opportunities came thereafter.

Pray and then make a decision. Things are NOT going to get any better in the USA any time soon.

You have much to offer T&T. All the best.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 11th, 2012, 1:30 pm

janfar wrote:Before you decide to permanently move back to Trinidad make sure you build up some level of funds to survive for a while on a lower salary. Dont expect anything to be sugar coated. You will have to start in a lower paying job before moving up the ranks... unless ur really lucky and your timing is right. Hard work and dedication usually pays of more than the arrogance of the over educated. Prepare for a strong dose of humble pie.

Trinidad is not newyork so if yuh find the woman in Rituals moving too slow to make yuh Machiato(sp) dont cuss she up cuz she is the one with the hotwater and wont be afraid to use it. Together with a nice coat of back-ah-choat huckupphlem. I have had to calm my fiance down many times in these situation. "Remember we on an island"

I have considered coming back home to work but I personally dont think its worth it right now. Trinidad, IMO, has become a cesspool of c0cksuckery and politics and unless you have good friends you wont make it, but thats my opinion. It may be different in the world of finance and law.

That said, Trinidad is home and I cant think of another place I would rather live.

You mean to tell me they can't make my latte in a New York minute?! :lol: :lol: :lol:

In all honesty, I am the warmest and kindest patron when dealing with locals. I always greet with a warm smile, inquire to ask how their day is going and where applicable, leave a good tip. It's sad, really, how locals approach patrons with a foreign accent: they either see you as someone they can take advantage of or someone who must be worshipped. You know how many times locals try and bust big price on me for simple services? Guess I have to do a better job at disguising my accent! LOL.

In addition to good friends you need good money to live comfortably in Trinidad. You have people living decently on 10kTT/month salaries, heck, even 8kTT/month. And those figures are considered decent salaries and above average. If you make 20kTT+/month as a single person, well, consider yourself golden. LOL.

I hope you at least consider retiring in either Trinidad or Tobago, janfar. Hopefully the wifey will approve :mrgreen:.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 11th, 2012, 1:33 pm

pugboy wrote:It easy to say so though, world experience is exactly that,

A foreigner is actually at a huge disadvantage opening and running their own business here when it comes to dealing the the work ethics and culture we have.

AbstractPoetic wrote:What locals have to realize is that returning expatriates are not only bringing education and world experience with them but also money and innovative ideas. Many are opening up their own businesses, helping to both hire and educate locals. Take for example one relative of mine who returned to help support local agriculturalists on how to better cultivate the land and provide better quality produce for consumers.

Another friend returned to open up his own personal trainer/nutritionist hub after his mother passed from cancer. He's helping locals understand the importance of healthy living, something not as openly embraced due to lack of education and cultural norms.

I understand this but I won't use this as a deterrent to not return. Perhaps work ethics will change if locals were better compensated for their services. I've seen it happen. You pay employees above-average and treat them as human beings, you will have a faithful (and growing) list of dedicated workforce.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 11th, 2012, 1:36 pm

bluefete wrote:Hey AP:

Well, I am not so young :( :( but I also made the decision to come back home some years ago. I was told that things are bad etc, etc.

However, I prefer to work hard and build my own country than to build someone else's. That means trying to maintain high standards in the face of local tomfoolery and inertia.

So far, I have no regrets. Things have worked out way better than I could have ever imagined.

I sincerely hope your mindset has changed, as you pointed out earlier. Otherwise, if you come back to T&T with negative connotations, you will regret it.

T&T is home no matter what. We have our problems and issues like any other country but once you can get past that and see the tremendous greatness of us as a people, you will be well on your way to helping the country grow.

With your work experience and qualifications, you should consider being an independent worker (working for yourself as a consultant). However, be aware that life sometimes offers opportunities that you would never even have considered in the first place.

If you have family here, you may have to move in with them initially. If your finances afford it, you should be able to get a place before you come back. If you can, invest in a house, as early as possible.

When I came back, it took me about 3 months before i got a freelance job and other opportunities came thereafter.

Pray and then make a decision. Things are NOT going to get any better in the USA any time soon.

You have much to offer T&T. All the best.

I can relate to all you said, especially the bolded. Thank you for sharing your personal experiences and for the encouragement.

Best wishes to you in all your future endeavours!

Postby dougla_boy » July 11th, 2012, 1:41 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:

I understand this but I won't use this as a deterrent to not return. Perhaps work ethics will change if locals were better compensated for their services. I've seen it happen. You pay employees above-average and treat them as human beings, you will have a faithful (and growing) list of dedicated workforce.

that right there is BS talk, sorry to say, trinidad is all about cheap labour......yes some companies will probably abide to that, but a lot of businesses pay you next to nothing and they treat u in a manner to get as much out of u for the least amount of money......

got threaten a few times by the boss to fire all ah we and bring in a container ah chinee to wuk :|

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » July 11th, 2012, 1:48 pm

dougla_boy wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

that right there is BS talk, sorry to say, trinidad is all about cheap labour......yes some companies will probably abide to that, but a lot of businesses pay you next to nothing and they treat u in a manner to get as much out of u for the least amount of money......

got threaten a few times by the boss to fire all ah we and bring in a container ah chinee to wuk :|

good move :lol:

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 11th, 2012, 1:49 pm

dougla_boy wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

Majority of Trinidad's employers may be all about cheap labour, but I'm relaying that if I ever had the opportunity to employ a workforce, I won't be subscribing to a similar mentality.

Postby dougla_boy » July 11th, 2012, 1:52 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

Majority of Trinidad's employers may be all about cheap labour, but I'm relaying that if I ever had the opportunity to employ a workforce, I won't be subscribing to a similar mentality.

eh, a drop in the bucket :|

Postby Les Bain » July 11th, 2012, 1:53 pm

dougla_boy wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

And when they not looking to India and China for workers they think you real chups. Some years back I had an interview for a personal assistant job. In addition to office duties I accustomed hearing spread out among 3-4 workers and a supervisor, i had to chauffeur this woman children to school, extra curricular activities and medical/dental appointments. When she threw business parties, I hadda assist with planning and food preparation. Also had to be on call, so things like time off for exams or even sick leave looked like a problem.

All at a rate of $2,500. I say praise Yashuhashwa, that have to be in U.S. Was told that it was in TT. The previous personal assistant said the job was "fun" though.

Postby 16 cycles » July 11th, 2012, 2:00 pm

was in RBL last week and picked up a flier on mortgage payments for 500k, 1M and 1.5M.....some of the monthly installments leave very little from the salaries quoted above to get by.....

property prices have a big say in your 'flexible' income so don;t forget to take that into consideration....

Postby dougla_boy » July 11th, 2012, 2:02 pm

16 cycles wrote:was in RBL last week and picked up a flier on mortgage payments for 500k, 1M and 1.5M.....some of the monthly installments leave very little from the salaries quoted above to get by.....

property prices have a big say in your 'flexible' income so don;t forget to take that into consideration....

hoss, just squat dan, real places in trinidad u cud get land and build up a shack normal. valencia, cashew gardens to name 2

Postby Stephon. » July 11th, 2012, 2:05 pm

16 cycles wrote:was in RBL last week and picked up a flier on mortgage payments for 500k, 1M and 1.5M.....some of the monthly installments leave very little from the salaries quoted above to get by.....

That all depends on the downpayment though, same goes for cars.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 11th, 2012, 2:08 pm

What were some of the monthy intallments you saw listed?

Postby pete » July 11th, 2012, 2:38 pm

I believe the maximum the bank will allow you to have as an installment is 35% of your base salary.

For a $1M property assuming just 10% downpayment for 25 years, based on a lil online mortgage calculator I found you'd have to pay $6303/month. Therefore if that's 35% of your base, your salary has to be $18,000/month. Even then I think your credit is maxed out so if you have a credit card, you have to be making even more than that.

Read through the express print classifieds online and see how many houses you can find under $1M nah. Pressure right now yes..

Postby Sky » July 11th, 2012, 2:57 pm

^^ It's 40% of your salary for total debts.
Meaning if you have a loan for a car as well and it takes up 20%, you get 20%
This is for RBL, RBC and Sco. Dunno about the rest.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 11th, 2012, 3:00 pm

I don't get it. How are people surviving in Trinidad? How can you become homeowners on an average national salary of 8kTT/month? This is madness.

Postby Sky » July 11th, 2012, 3:02 pm

Moonlight like a mofo.
It's easy to start something on the side. Make money from a hobby.
It's also easy to establish this as a permanent 2nd form of income.
Then comes the good credit.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 11th, 2012, 3:09 pm

...and there is always HDC, right? They have some decent developments, though, I understand you may not always get your first choice and you cannot expand or rent until after a number of years living on the premise...

...I take it overseas credit scores/reputation means nada for helping establish a good credit name locally?

Postby 16 cycles » July 11th, 2012, 3:14 pm

AP, just wanted to raise the point on the home ownership so you can compare to present situation + taxes required to pay etc when making your decision....

best of luck

if i pass in the bank again, i'll pick up the flier, think the interest rate was 6.5% with 20 year plan

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 11th, 2012, 3:20 pm

16 cycles wrote:AP, just wanted to raise the point on the home ownership so you can compare to present situation + taxes required to pay etc when making your decision....

best of luck

if i pass in the bank again, i'll pick up the flier, think the interest rate was 6.5% with 20 year plan

Does that 6.5 percent apply if you're only borrowing a certain amount?

And no property taxes, right? That in and of itself is an advantage. Property taxes here are ridiculously high....and that's separate for having to pay a mortgage tax.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 11th, 2012, 3:28 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:...and there is always HDC, right? They have some decent developments, though, I understand you may not always get your first choice and you cannot expand or rent until after a number of years living on the premise...

...I take it overseas credit scores/reputation means nada for helping establish a good credit name locally?

AFAIK HDC developments are for ppl under a certain income (or those with political links). The irony of the Trinidadian Middle Class is that they earn too much to qualify for an HDC house but too little to afford houses on the open market.

Foreign credit scores are used locally particularly Trans union. Similarly local credit scores are used abroad. Had a pardner who was turned down for a loan in Canada because he had an outstanding balance to Digicel when he used to live Trinidad.

Postby Stephon. » July 11th, 2012, 3:28 pm

People make it sound impossible to get a house, you're not restricted to only 10% of the loan mount when you're trying to buy a house you know, and saving your money is an option.

Postby pugboy » July 11th, 2012, 3:29 pm

that is a good question,
I often wonder how people can go liming 2/3 times a week spending a couple hundred on alcohol, go movies another day,
eat out/lunch avg $40-50 and still have money.

but the answer is most of them living "home" and their priority investment in life is a car.

AbstractPoetic wrote:I don't get it. How are people surviving in Trinidad? How can you become homeowners on an average national salary of 8kTT/month? This is madness.

Postby r3iXmann » July 11th, 2012, 3:31 pm

gl getting a hdc house :lol: