Doctor vs Engineer

yvan300

Re: Doctor vs Engineer

Postby yvan300 » January 21st, 2013, 9:52 pm

neexis wrote:look..... only consider medicine if you think you will enjoy it. at the end of the day, its a service profession. you have to deal with/talk to/treat/take sheit from/help people. sick, healthy, pretty, ugly diseased, infected, dying, crazy people. this comes with a certain amount of responsibility/liability, but can also be rewarding if you get satisfaction from that kinda thing.

there's much academic work to do. the 5 yr program at uwi is fairly tough, and you start your clinical training from the 3rd year... meaning you will be at the hospitals/health centres (sometimes on call).

the pay is not much considering the work you have to do and the hours you have to put in. if you enjoy it and really just like giving of yourself, then you may disagree. your salary will increase, but only if you are able to do post grad training. depending on the area you choose to work, you may or may not be on call.

you can make even more money by having a private practice, but you really should have a post grad degree and some good years experience before going down that road. also your income will depend on your field and nature of your practice.

if this doesn't sound appealing to you, don't bother.

also to note.... after UWI you're pretty much stuck in trinidad. if you wish to train/work in any other country of the world, prepare for licensing exams as regulations vary with country/region.

good luck

I heard about the whole licensing thing before! Now daz headache lol. But i think I've shyed away from medicine completely. I think I'll send this thread to a few of my friends as well because they have no idea what they're really committing themselves too. But anyone out there got info on the different engineering disciplines? Kinda wanna know a bit more about which one is best to choose if i gonna work in Trinidad (forget about the whole do what you like thing for now) lol

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » January 21st, 2013, 10:01 pm

From a doctor's point of view. Be an engineer. Talk done.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » January 21st, 2013, 10:02 pm

crossdrilled wrote:Go for engineering. Truss meh... :|. Doctoring is ketcharse for small pay.

But honestly, neexis right.. Do it if u really want to do medicine regardless of conditions and salary.
Only pros really are a guaranteed job after studying.. And well the rewards are more long term in the medical field than anything else but are totally worth it from what some coworkers impart. You just have to prepare yourself for a lifetime of studying more or less.

neexis

Postby neexis » January 21st, 2013, 10:34 pm

yvan300 wrote:
I heard about the whole licensing thing before! Now daz headache lol. But i think I've shyed away from medicine completely. I think I'll send this thread to a few of my friends as well because they have no idea what they're really committing themselves too. But anyone out there got info on the different engineering disciplines? Kinda wanna know a bit more about which one is best to choose if i gonna work in Trinidad (forget about the whole do what you like thing for now) lol

in that case, the best thing might be to try to link up with different engineers and try to fall in with them at their workplaces to observe what the actual job might entail.

if one area appeals to you, then you can always consider doing a Masters degree in that area

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 21st, 2013, 10:43 pm

yvan300 wrote:I heard about the whole licensing thing before! Now daz headache lol. But i think I've shyed away from medicine completely. I think I'll send this thread to a few of my friends as well because they have no idea what they're really committing themselves too. But anyone out there got info on the different engineering disciplines? Kinda wanna know a bit more about which one is best to choose if i gonna work in Trinidad (forget about the whole do what you like thing for now) lol

1) Civil Engineering (very long hours, hard work, paper okay)
2) Mechanical Engineering (a close second I might add)
3) Electrical Engineering (they talk up themselves too much)
4) Industrial Engineering (up till now none of them could tell me what they really do in T&T)
5) Chemical Engineering (easy work, tall paper, difficult to get a job)
6) Petroleum Engineering (easy work, very tall paper, very difficult to get a job)

The PP Government has so many infrastructure projects to implement that when they all get going the construction industry is going to overheat as it did when the PNM were building their buildings in 2007/2008/2009.

You have the highway to Point Fortin, Diego Martin Highway, numerous bridges to replace, numerous landslips to repair, schools to build, fishing facilities, housing developments, etc.

There will be a shortage of GOOD civil engineers soon. If you line yourself up with a decent contractor and you show yourself to be a hard worker, then you will be rewarded with a good compensation package. Contractors offer better salaries than consultants. But I would suggest that you spend a few years with a consultant to get some design and construction supervision/contract administration experience before going out in the contracting world.

Kindest Regards,

Rory Phoulorie, R.Eng.

neexis

Postby neexis » January 21st, 2013, 11:07 pm

Rory..... considering the number of engineers uwi putting out per year ( i assuming a good hundred or so), how long you think before the job market becomes saturated (if it isn't already in some areas)?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 21st, 2013, 11:27 pm

neexis wrote:Rory..... considering the number of engineers uwi putting out per year ( i assuming a good hundred or so), how long you think before the job market becomes saturated (if it isn't already in some areas)?

I am not quite sure. But in the next few months I am going to be looking for about three civil engineers. Does not matter if they have no experience, once they are hard working, willing to learn and listen to instructions, I will hire them.

Postby Trini Hookah » January 21st, 2013, 11:49 pm

Doh be on Industrial Eng Rory :|

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 22nd, 2013, 12:00 am

Trini Hookah wrote:Doh be on Industrial Eng Rory :|

Oh gosh man! Is only picong I giving you all. When I was in UWI, the civil, mech and indus students used to pull good and we still get along now despite all the picong that still passes. Elec and chem used to keep to themselves.

I honestly hold all disciplines in the same regard, except chem (them still don't do one ass).

Postby rfari » January 22nd, 2013, 12:11 am

We EE men used to keep to ourself cus whole semester we were up to our ass in work. Aint got time for any socialising BS. It wasnt easy yo

Postby Trini Hookah » January 22nd, 2013, 12:19 am

Chem guys just know to sit in AC whole day :|

Postby ronsin1 » January 22nd, 2013, 2:27 am

Trini Hookah wrote:
ronsin1 wrote:this is why I work for a mediocre salary by sweeping the floor I live the simple life, collect meh lil government assistance at the end of the month and watch you guys working your arse off while I do nothing but sweep floors

Is one ting yuh eh sweeping de floor properly, but yuh teefing meh wifi too? *clout*

aye aye aye doh be on me eh my WiFi government assisted eh 8-)

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » January 22nd, 2013, 10:58 am

if yah want tall paper, get into directional drilling 1500US a day easy.

Mad Hatter

Postby Mad Hatter » January 22nd, 2013, 6:56 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
2) Mechanical Engineering (a close second I might add) :!:

Happy to know that we're acknowledged by our civil bredren...

yvan300

Postby yvan300 » January 22nd, 2013, 7:02 pm

Oh and another thing. Do i have to do HAVE to do petroleum engineering to work in the oil industry? I was kinda thinking about working offshore for a few years with my engineering degree.

kevinknr

Postby kevinknr » January 22nd, 2013, 7:59 pm

TriniVdub wrote:if yah want tall paper, get into directional drilling 1500US a day easy.

Can anyone confirm if this is true? If so, more info please.

1500USD daily..... :shock:

Postby Trini Hookah » January 22nd, 2013, 8:48 pm

kevinknr wrote:
TriniVdub wrote:if yah want tall paper, get into directional drilling 1500US a day easy.

Can anyone confirm if this is true? If so, more info please.

1500USD daily..... :shock:

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_is_the_y ... al_driller

Postby *KRONIK* » January 23rd, 2013, 4:36 am

this...

i met a guy recently...
told me he works for 1mill TT every 4 months in this field! :shock: :shock:
but he is working in Iraq :? :?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 23rd, 2013, 8:30 am

NEWSFLASH: Most high paying *jobs* require you to work longer and stress more.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » January 23rd, 2013, 9:03 am

Higher Risk = Higher Reward

yvan300

Postby yvan300 » June 9th, 2013, 11:32 am

Sorry to bump such an old thread, but I still didn't find out which engineering degree one can use to get a job in the oil industry.

I applied to UWI to do electrical engineering. But on reading the course outlines a few weeks ago, it seems to be all about computers, programming etc X_X. I haven't done computer science at CAPE or even I.T at CSEC level. So I'm wondering if that was a good idea.

I mean I like computers a lot and even used to play around with linux OS a while back, but I'm not sure if I'm making a good choice.

Maybe I should do chemical or mechanical engineering lol. Thinking more along the lines of mechanical engineering as I'm into cars. :lol:

Everyone mentioned before that the market is saturated with chemical engineers, but i mean is it that hard to get a job as one? :S

What about mechanical engineering? Easy to land a job?

Thanks for the help.

Postby Trini Hookah » June 9th, 2013, 12:14 pm

Mech field is a bit saturated, but not impossible

And i have friends who never did IT before and doing Elec. Just work harder at your weaknesses when you start.

Cheers.

Postby j.o.e » June 9th, 2013, 12:17 pm

Love what you do, do what you love and strive to be the best in your field. Everything else will take car of itself

Postby shogun » June 9th, 2013, 12:21 pm

Lots of good info in here. Great thread.

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » June 9th, 2013, 12:30 pm

Is better you do mechanical engineering because it broad and encompasses alot of subjects. You have so many options. There are more jobs wanting mech ppl. You could still work in the petroleum industry also with mech deg. You can do a first degree in Mech and do a masters in petroleum eng..Every year BP looking for reservoir/pet engineers trainees for their challenger program..30grand starting is normal

It have lots of jobs man. Dont worry about finding a job after, there are tonnes of companies wanting uwi graduates every year. IPSL, Petrotrin, Proman, PPGPL, NGC, BP, BG,BHP, Repsol, baker hughes, halliburton, and so on...you dont really need experience as a graduate trainee once you on good academic standing and you display some enthusiasm you could get through.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » June 9th, 2013, 12:40 pm

yvan300 wrote:Sorry to bump such an old thread, but I still didn't find out which engineering degree one can use to get a job in the oil industry.

I applied to UWI to do electrical engineering. But on reading the course outlines a few weeks ago, it seems to be all about computers, programming etc X_X. I haven't done computer science at CAPE or even I.T at CSEC level. So I'm wondering if that was a good idea.

I mean I like computers a lot and even used to play around with linux OS a while back, but I'm not sure if I'm making a good choice.

Maybe I should do chemical or mechanical engineering lol. Thinking more along the lines of mechanical engineering as I'm into cars. :lol:

Everyone mentioned before that the market is saturated with chemical engineers, but i mean is it that hard to get a job as one? :S

Thanks for the help.

all you need to remember is ... i x i = -1 ... :mrgreen:

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » June 9th, 2013, 12:47 pm

yvan300 wrote:Sorry to bump such an old thread, but I still didn't find out which engineering degree one can use to get a job in the oil industry.

Thanks for the help.

You can get a job in the oil industry with any degree.
The oil industry employs all disciplines you just need to know what you want to do.
Thing to note; not all disciplines pay the same though and it varies by the Company and Sector ( Service Company or Operator)

Many disciplines / companies will employ individuals with a range of degrees once the job is not highly specialized or technical specialist type job.
In my opinion Mechanical & Chemical is the most open degree that allows you to be employed in any industry afterwards.

But there are no rules in the marketplace if you have good skills since I know an Electrical Engineer working in a job that is typically performed by Mechanical & Chemical Engineers. I also know a person with a Natural Science Degree ( Physics) who is doing excellent work.

Once you graduate from University; getting a job depends on a lot of factors:
• Class of Degree( 1st class, upper 2nd, etc.)
• Type of Degree (Mechanical, Electrical, etc. )
Personal traits ( ability to work in a team, how do you convey your thoughts, application of knowledge from School to real world, how quickly you learn, how do you handle challenging situations, etc. )
• Job Demand in the field that you want to work
• Advertising of your resume
• Some luck

To me; the most important factor in getting, keeping and excelling at job is Personal Traits. Everything else will create an opportunity to get an interview. While Personal Traits will get you the job.

My advice to you is do a degree that you can enjoy; and be confident and flexible when you graduate that you will end up with a good job.
The reason I said to be flexible is because in school things are a lot more predictable. Once you graduate it is a different kind of beast and depending on your personal conditions you may have to work various jobs until you find your “dream job”.

yvan300

Postby yvan300 » June 9th, 2013, 1:59 pm

francis1979 wrote:

Thanks for the help.

You can get a job in the oil industry with any degree.
The oil industry employs all disciplines you just need to know what you want to do.
Thing to note; not all disciplines pay the same though and it varies by the Company and Sector ( Service Company or Operator)

Many disciplines / companies will employ individuals with a range of degrees once the job is not highly specialized or technical specialist type job.
In my opinion Mechanical & Chemical is the most open degree that allows you to be employed in any industry afterwards.

But there are no rules in the marketplace if you have good skills since I know an Electrical Engineer working in a job that is typically performed by Mechanical & Chemical Engineers. I also know a person with a Natural Science Degree ( Physics) who is doing excellent work.

Once you graduate from University; getting a job depends on a lot of factors:
• Class of Degree( 1st class, upper 2nd, etc.)
• Type of Degree (Mechanical, Electrical, etc. )
Personal traits ( ability to work in a team, how do you convey your thoughts, application of knowledge from School to real world, how quickly you learn, how do you handle challenging situations, etc. )
• Job Demand in the field that you want to work
• Advertising of your resume
• Some luck

To me; the most important factor in getting, keeping and excelling at job is Personal Traits. Everything else will create an opportunity to get an interview. While Personal Traits will get you the job.

My advice to you is do a degree that you can enjoy; and be confident and flexible when you graduate that you will end up with a good job.
The reason I said to be flexible is because in school things are a lot more predictable. Once you graduate it is a different kind of beast and depending on your personal conditions you may have to work various jobs until you find your “dream job”.

Good read!

If I have to switch the degree i want to pursue, UWI won't make it a hassle right ?

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » June 9th, 2013, 2:18 pm

It is possible
However best thing is to speak to UWI and obtain their advice

namrehs

Postby namrehs » June 9th, 2013, 3:45 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
yvan300 wrote:I heard about the whole licensing thing before! Now daz headache lol. But i think I've shyed away from medicine completely. I think I'll send this thread to a few of my friends as well because they have no idea what they're really committing themselves too. But anyone out there got info on the different engineering disciplines? Kinda wanna know a bit more about which one is best to choose if i gonna work in Trinidad (forget about the whole do what you like thing for now) lol

2) Mechanical Engineering (a close second I might add)
3) Electrical Engineering (they talk up themselves too much)
4) Industrial Engineering (up till now none of them could tell me what they really do in T&T)
5) Chemical Engineering (easy work, tall paper, difficult to get a job)
6) Petroleum Engineering (easy work, very tall paper, very difficult to get a job)

The PP Government has so many infrastructure projects to implement that when they all get going the construction industry is going to overheat as it did when the PNM were building their buildings in 2007/2008/2009.

You have the highway to Point Fortin, Diego Martin Highway, numerous bridges to replace, numerous landslips to repair, schools to build, fishing facilities, housing developments, etc.

There will be a shortage of GOOD civil engineers soon. If you line yourself up with a decent contractor and you show yourself to be a hard worker, then you will be rewarded with a good compensation package. Contractors offer better salaries than consultants. But I would suggest that you spend a few years with a consultant to get some design and construction supervision/contract administration experience before going out in the contracting world.

Kindest Regards,

Rory Phoulorie, R.Eng.

Geomatics Engineering?