gt4tified wrote:Much ado about nothing is how I sum up this thread, with the exception of Duane who has painstakingly tried to provide the facts on the matter, some of what Karl said and Darren's last post.
Since the present Minister of Sport came into office I have been laising with him as to the government's position on the matter. Sufficed to say I am not surprised by his statement....actually I fully support it, as someone with an interest in motorsport, a citizen of T&T and a taxpayer.
Let me tell you what, as espoused to a select few, needs to be done:
Forget ASN, NGB, FIA and MGC (general council). All parties need to agree to come under one umbrella group for the purpose of shaping the strategic policy on Motorsport and for this purpose, the Ministry of Sport must take the lead.
My suggestion is this simple....with the consent of all parties, establish a Steering Committee on Motorsport, chaired by the Ministry of Sport. The Steering Committee will be the forum for communication by all parties, so that the Ministry will no longer be inundated with bi-lateral correspondence that only serves to establish a 'he say, she say' state of affairs.
The Steering Committee will have a specific set of Terms of Reference that all parties must in principle agree to, but which must be kept as simple as possible. The aim of the Steering Committee will be to generally discuss Motorsport policy and report through the Ministry of Sport, to Cabinet.
All parties on the existing General Council will be equal members on the Standing Committee, together with the NGB and the Ministry of Sport.
Before I go any further with this idea, I'd like to hear ppl's comments/questions/thoughts etc. Is it such a far-fetched idea that its not worth a shot?
I'm nowhere around there tomorrow. I've told some folks already. Will you be doing so?THE_FUGITIVES wrote:well allyuh fail so far , no ones doing nothing about it as usual just justting comments , wheres the Facebook or Trinituner ''Shares'' and Threads where you all convincing racers not to race say tomorrow, allyuh going and stand up by the gate in hundreds tomorrow will signs and stuff and TV6 saying dont contribute to TTASA event?
Tile Expression Ltd. wrote:gt4tified wrote:Much ado about nothing is how I sum up this thread, with the exception of Duane who has painstakingly tried to provide the facts on the matter, some of what Karl said and Darren's last post.
Since the present Minister of Sport came into office I have been laising with him as to the government's position on the matter. Sufficed to say I am not surprised by his statement....actually I fully support it, as someone with an interest in motorsport, a citizen of T&T and a taxpayer.
Let me tell you what, as espoused to a select few, needs to be done:
Forget ASN, NGB, FIA and MGC (general council). All parties need to agree to come under one umbrella group for the purpose of shaping the strategic policy on Motorsport and for this purpose, the Ministry of Sport must take the lead.
My suggestion is this simple....with the consent of all parties, establish a Steering Committee on Motorsport, chaired by the Ministry of Sport. The Steering Committee will be the forum for communication by all parties, so that the Ministry will no longer be inundated with bi-lateral correspondence that only serves to establish a 'he say, she say' state of affairs.
The Steering Committee will have a specific set of Terms of Reference that all parties must in principle agree to, but which must be kept as simple as possible. The aim of the Steering Committee will be to generally discuss Motorsport policy and report through the Ministry of Sport, to Cabinet.
All parties on the existing General Council will be equal members on the Standing Committee, together with the NGB and the Ministry of Sport.
Before I go any further with this idea, I'd like to hear ppl's comments/questions/thoughts etc. Is it such a far-fetched idea that its not worth a shot?
well said sir!!!
sMASH wrote: if they simply have a status of NGB and getting orn so, imagine what would happen if they actually get sole control of the biggest autosport complex in tnt?
X2 wrote:
This just shows that:
1) A politician will always be a politician
2) There is NO plan for motorsport... not by TTASA, not by the Government, not even the racers.
There is no plan because there is (and maybe never was) a 'real' open forum on motorsport as it is constantly TTASA versus 'the people'. If the NSO does not have the ear or the hearts of the people, it has failed to meet it's requirement in representing the people. The individual clubs will continue to chart progress at thier own pace is all we can count on. This is not surprising as the NSO is using it's time to produce and host events. This leads to another observation of above post...
3) The Ministry of Sport itself is likely to blame as well.
troublemaker wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:yes but who is going to operate it? The ministry of sport?brams112 wrote:he talks too much as far as i am concerned,let him offer finance,build, operate,then we will see who really love racing.
I vote you and company Mr. admin![]()
in order to vote you need to join a club. If you are not a member you cannot vote or run for office.webb wrote:Trinidad motorsports in a Total Mess
I'll vote for Duane or Nemisis as Pres
who you say?
dread_2002 wrote:Anil is all talk all the time..
he just used allya cant get along so blah blah blah to take the onus off the ministry and the government.
when gary hunt was the minister of sport. yall think he didnt try hard as possible to get a track.. and i sure he still have his honda race car sitting down. and he of all people would of try harder than anil cause racing was his sport of choice..
gt4tified wrote:Thanks for your input X2. To reply to your comments, I'll take #3 first when I say that this is possibly another reason why the Minister/Ministry of Sport does not want to get involved at this time.
On your second point, I personally agree with you and from my experience which has been a little more than a decade or so ago (I'm neither afraid nor ashamed to say that I wasn't one of the many here who 'grew up in wallerfield') I cannot myself remember Motorsport ever starting with a plan.....not that this cannot be fixed, I'm sure you'll agree.
My question then is, what do you think needs to be done? I've put my cards on the table....I'm willing to hear what you have to offer.
Finally, on your first comment, that may be so, but the politician who currently has responsibility for Sport in T&T is no fool (despite what some may think).
that doesn't make much sensedread_2002 wrote:Anil is all talk all the time..
he just used allya cant get along so blah blah blah to take the onus off the ministry and the government.
when gary hunt was the minister of sport. yall think he didnt try hard as possible to get a track.. and i sure he still have his honda race car sitting down. and he of all people would of try harder than anil cause racing was his sport of choice..
anil cant even get a pool built.. how long george bovel pool taking..it might never get built..and anil sport of choice was swimming..
so dont take chain up from anil... if allya want a track..
start looking at privatising this industry.
gt4tified wrote:Logically, can the Ministry not see why the non-afilliate Clubs would not want to get on board the General Council? It's like going by the same fishmonger who sold you rotten cro cro only now he wants you to buy his rotten sardine.
What would it take for the Ministry to remove/replace an NGB/NSO? Just a question in general....it can apply to any NGB/NSO.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ and put who as the NGB/NSO? MATT has TTRC, TTKA, CARS, ARA, TORMATT etc but they do not have TTASA. So it will always be disunity. So it's the same thing.
reinventing the wheel is not necessary.
I still feel the simplest solution is to let the TTASA formed general council become the NGB/NSO, that way everyone will join. However that is not something that TTASA wants.
The non-affiliates do not want to become an affiliate and join a general council that puts them below TTASA. Affiliates can vote on the general council, however they will not be able to vote on who will be the executive of the motorsport NGB/NSO, since the NGB/NSO remains TTASA and only TTASA members can vote in TTASA elections, obviously.
the standoff continues