2012 Ford Ranger Heavy t license required?

Re: 2012 Ford Ranger Heavy t license required?

Postby pugboy » January 1st, 2022, 1:22 pm

damn right about that

I put some extra weight in my tray, made a difference and got rid of the bounciness

VII wrote:The bigger danger is driving those vehicles umladen rather than laden..

I cringe seeing all those clueless ladies and young drivers in dey pickups..

Such an archaic law established at a time when donkey carts, carriages and model T vans etc were heavy goods vehicles .

Also we have some Nissan NV 350s etc and I can tell you they are not blasted heavy vehicles !! 3 tons and up by all means..

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 12th, 2022, 9:13 am

What does the test involve? Is it easy for an experienced driver? Can you bring your own vehicle? Can you drive an automatic?

Postby pugboy » October 12th, 2022, 9:32 am

the reversing may be hardest part if you only drive car before

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 12th, 2022, 10:03 am

pugboy wrote:the reversing may be hardest part if you only drive car before
Only ever drove cars and haven't driven manual in almost 20 years

Postby pugboy » October 12th, 2022, 10:10 am

better let the ranger sales rep organize you
cash only

metalgear2095 wrote:
pugboy wrote:the reversing may be hardest part if you only drive car before
Only ever drove cars and haven't driven manual in almost 20 years

Postby Ben_spanna » October 12th, 2022, 10:42 am

We are so backwards, you require a Heavy T legally to drive a stupid 4 door pickup, yet you can drive a Kia k2700 long bed pickup with a regular license!

What a jokey system! Yes i know its due to the weight, but that doesnt matter when turning and manouvering in close quarters

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 13th, 2022, 6:12 pm

the photo man in sando told me $4500 no written or practical exam.... Madness

Postby pugboy » October 13th, 2022, 6:32 pm

wow, inflation. I think it was $2500

but then again if yuh buying a vehicle close to 400k then what is 2500

metalgear2095 wrote: the photo man in sando told me $4500 no written or practical exam.... Madness

hindian

Postby hindian » October 13th, 2022, 8:05 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:We are so backwards, you require a Heavy T legally to drive a stupid 4 door pickup, yet you can drive a Kia k2700 long bed pickup with a regular license!

What a jokey system! Yes i know its due to the weight, but that doesnt matter when turning and manouvering in close quarters

I think it has something to do the the weights of the actual vehicle and their payload capacity and some sort of maths between the two figures what permit class the vehicle falls into, I think. Someone here might be able to inform the less knowledgeable of us about how they determine the class in which a vehicle will fall into

Postby pugboy » October 13th, 2022, 8:33 pm

it is weight only, mgw, once over 2954kg it is heavy T category, cant remember the upper limit but that would take you into trailer trucks

hindian wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:We are so backwards, you require a Heavy T legally to drive a stupid 4 door pickup, yet you can drive a Kia k2700 long bed pickup with a regular license!

I think it has something to do the the weights of the actual vehicle and their payload capacity and some sort of maths between the two figures what permit class the vehicle falls into, I think. Someone here might be able to inform the less knowledgeable of us about how they determine the class in which a vehicle will fall into

hindian

Postby hindian » October 13th, 2022, 11:55 pm

pugboy wrote:it is weight only, mgw, once over 2954kg it is heavy T category, cant remember the upper limit but that would take you into trailer trucks

hindian wrote:

Right but that MGW of 2954kg is when you add the payload weight the vehicle is designed to carry that’s why you subtract the TARE from the MGW to know how much you can legally carry by law in terms of weight. I actually think it’s the TARE weight that determines the class of permit required to operate said vehicle. Again, I could just be talking out of my behind so I subject myself to correction

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 14th, 2022, 6:49 am

Nah I'm buying used.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 14th, 2022, 6:49 am

No
Its just MGW
Our regulations use the MGW to determine class.

Load capacity is the one you need calculate as the user :
MGW minus TARE

Postby *KRONIK* » October 14th, 2022, 6:53 am

Screenshot_20221014_065140.jpg

Figures here for classes 3,4&5

Postby pugboy » October 14th, 2022, 7:24 am

when I did the regs in 90s, the booklet/exam was still in pounds 6500 which is 2954
seems they rounded it down to 2950

it is mgw simply because the concern is of the total hunk of metal/goods load that you are in control of and could be danger to others, not what you are carrying as load.

Postby pugboy » October 14th, 2022, 7:27 am

at $4500 better do the exam, but the vehicles you do the test in from them instructors is likely to be manual

metalgear2095 wrote:Nah I'm buying used.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 26th, 2022, 7:24 pm

pugboy wrote:at $4500 better do the exam, but the vehicles you do the test in from them instructors is likely to be manual

$2500 if you write the exam

Postby pugboy » October 26th, 2022, 7:44 pm

i say you don’t sort out this already

metalgear2095 wrote:
pugboy wrote:at $4500 better do the exam, but the vehicles you do the test in from them instructors is likely to be manual

$2500 if you write the exam

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 27th, 2022, 10:17 am

Got through Tuesday. Had to drive a manual truck. Something I've not done in over 20 years.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 27th, 2022, 12:12 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:Got through Tuesday. Had to drive a manual truck. Something I've not done in over 20 years.
How much yuh pay?

VII

Postby VII » October 27th, 2022, 12:33 pm

It's all based on old horse carriage and wagon wheel trucks of the early to mid 20th century, they were the 'heavy' vehicles of the time. It' just boils down to outdated laws and outdated methods of governing again.

Basically because a Ranger etc is capable of carrying what a 'heavy' truck from the 40s etc could carry (a few drums,1 or 2 pallets loads ) its in the heavy category with no consideration of factors such as vastly improved modern vehicle ability, stability safety features and general capability etc, over the last 40+ years !

Outdated laws, outdated leadership methods with no consideration for what's right in front them and literal blindness and tunnel vison by those in authority continue to be our downfall as a country.

Sickening would be an understatement..they f@cking dotish and dunce no mudda #@%+ ..
Last edited by VII on October 27th, 2022, 9:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.

VII

Postby VII » October 27th, 2022, 12:45 pm

It's kinda like when they were giving tickets for HIDs and LEDs etc because that was the law..

Those idiots in authority are totally disconnected from reality and have no appreciation for advancements in mechanical and other technology relating to transportation and civil engineering etc ..they are only advised by their dumb outdated books of guidelines..

Postby j.o.e » October 27th, 2022, 2:23 pm

VII wrote:It's kinda like when they were giving tickets for HIDs and LEDs etc because that was the law..

Those idiots in authority are totally disconnected from reality and have no appreciation for advancements in mechanical and other technology relating to transportation and civil engineering etc ..they are only advised by their dumb outdated books of guidelines..

You should see headlights laws in the US

Postby adnj » October 27th, 2022, 2:35 pm

VII wrote:It's all based on old horse carriage and wagon wheel trucks of the early to mid 20th century, they were the 'heavy' vehicles of time. It's just boils down to outdated laws and outdated methods of governing again.

Basically because a Ranger etc is capable of carrying what a 'heavy' truck from the 40s etc could carry (a few drums,1 or 2 pallets loads ) its in the heavy category with no consideration of factors such as vastly improved modern vehicle ability, stability safety features and general capability etc, over the last 40+ years !

Outdated laws, outdated leadership methods with no consideration for what's right in front them and literal blindness and tunnel vison by those in authority continue to be our downfall as a country.

Sickening would be an understatement..they f@cking dotish and dunce no mudda #@%+ ..

I was of the impression that Class 4 was >2950 kg GVWR and the Ford Ranger was 2750 kg GVWR.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 27th, 2022, 2:49 pm

adnj wrote:
VII wrote:It's all based on old horse carriage and wagon wheel trucks of the early to mid 20th century, they were the 'heavy' vehicles of time. It's just boils down to outdated laws and outdated methods of governing again.

I was of the impression that Class 4 was >2950 kg GVWR and the Ford Ranger was 2750 kg GVWR.
The 4x2 ranger is less
But the 4x4 is 3200kgs

Postby adnj » October 27th, 2022, 6:13 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
adnj wrote:

The 4x2 ranger is less
But the 4x4 is 3200kgs
Thanks.

Postby pugboy » October 27th, 2022, 10:04 pm

the actual mgw is 6500lbs eh
so convert that to 2954 not 2950 pls

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 28th, 2022, 5:32 pm

VII wrote:It's all based on old horse carriage and wagon wheel trucks of the early to mid 20th century, they were the 'heavy' vehicles of the time. It' just boils down to outdated laws and outdated methods of governing again.

Vans still have old technology in them, and the laws of physics don't change.
Ladder frame, solid rear axle, drum brakes, leaf springs.
Heavier vehicles are still harder to stop or steer than lighter vehicles.

VII

Postby VII » October 28th, 2022, 11:41 pm

Any vehicle with a combustion engine, a transmission with drive shafts and a differential has 'old technology' , and the laws of physics aren't limited to fully loaded cushy small light pickups being purported to be heavy trucks .

Also ladder frame chassis aren't limited to 4 door 4x4 'heavy-T pickups alone , and on the contrary it's the modern capabilities of such pickups that has inadvertantly categorized them as 'heavy' in our archaic system.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 29th, 2022, 1:53 am

More weight is harder to slow down and turn; it is that simple.