A real issue or nitpicking? Kamla's P.A.

Re: A real issue or nitpicking? Kamla's P.A.

Postby dougla_boy » March 15th, 2012, 7:32 am

Hook wrote:^^^ politicians tend to do that...I more concerned with how HE get a bbm from the PM residence :shock:

same thing i thinking.........good going patrick.....those million dollar curtains are money well spent :|

Postby Habit7 » March 15th, 2012, 8:36 am

Is allyuh malicious PNM ppl that have my PM looking so frazzled and flighty. She has exhausted all her excuses, so don't expect any more because she has spoken on the issue. Let's move on, please.

Postby Greypatch » March 15th, 2012, 8:36 am

Greypatch wrote:
Some $4.6 million was spent for Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and an official approved Cabinet delegation, which included her travel assistant—who is her sister, Vidwatie Newton, to travel to India in January.
Newton’s total expenditure was $233,600.

What exactly is a travel assistant ?

what does she do ?

How can the travel asssistant's cost be almost 3 times more than the senior government officials on the same trip ?

come on UNC/PP ppl defend this one...

Senior government officials (PS in ministries) incurred cost of 75k TTD for the India trip.

The TRAVEL assistant cost was 233k TD.

the only person whose cost was higher was the PM of T&T

EXPLAIN ?

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 15th, 2012, 8:45 am

Greypatch wrote:
Some $4.6 million was spent for Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and an official approved Cabinet delegation, which included her travel assistant—who is her sister, Vidwatie Newton, to travel to India in January.
Newton’s total expenditure was $233,600.

What exactly is a travel assistant ?

what does she do ?

How can the travel asssistant's cost be almost 3 times more than the senior government officials on the same trip ?

come on UNC/PP ppl defend this one...

Senior government officials (PS in ministries) incurred cost of 75k TTD for the India trip.

The TRAVEL assistant cost was 233k TD.

the only person whose cost was higher was the PM of T&T

EXPLAIN ?

Expect the proof to go 'missing'.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 15th, 2012, 8:46 am

Too much excuses....1st was that she not employed by the Govn't hence not paid.
2nd was that Robinson do it too (typical retort to many accusations against this regime is to say it was done before)
then came " I am woman and women have special needs"
now I seeing that they saying the PM offered to pay in the early days via her personal funds and it was declined by a senior Public Servant.

They really need better PR ppl who could advise them to stick with one defensive position yes.

Postby Greypatch » March 15th, 2012, 8:48 am

no not better PR people...to cover up and spin shyte..

how about doing the right thing and following the rules ?

Postby Dizzy28 » March 15th, 2012, 8:52 am

Them in too deep to start doing the right thing now.

Postby S_2NR » March 15th, 2012, 11:43 am

So is there going to be an investigation and charges laid against kamla or by next week this is old news?

Is it possible for the opposition to pursue this case in anyway?

Postby eliteauto » March 15th, 2012, 11:56 am

^^ the answer to that is NO, abuse of office may not be a crime ( cough Patrick cough), however come elections the electorate will remember, I suspect that they know this hence the feeding frenzy

Postby nervewrecker » March 15th, 2012, 12:00 pm

I am a man, I have needs too, legalise prostitution now!

Postby dougla_boy » March 15th, 2012, 12:28 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I am a man, I have needs too, legalise prostitution now!

agreed

tired going establishments and hadda ask for a "special" or "fantasy" massage........i wah walk up to d gyal an say," aye!!! ah wah bull girl.....how much?" 8-)

Postby S_2NR » March 15th, 2012, 1:01 pm

eliteauto wrote:^^ the answer to that is NO, abuse of office may not be a crime ( cough Patrick cough), however come elections the electorate will remember, I suspect that they know this hence the feeding frenzy

so how come in a first world country, a PM would have to resign for doing something like this? whats keeping us back from doing the same? the archaic laws?

so basically kamla can do whatever she wants and get away with it :idea:

Postby Habit7 » March 15th, 2012, 1:14 pm

^^^it is because of corrupt precedents set by former PNM and UNC (to the point of criminal prosecution) that have seared our consciences.

The Reshmi scandal alone would have been able to topple other governments but many ppl in T&T (including tuners) see the need to move on. The Motion of No Confidence was a failure on the Opposition's path because the scandals they showed bored us already and we needed something new or worse that before.

This is how Central American governments start before they end up like banana republics like El Salvador, Honduras and Nicaragua.

A real issue or nitpicking? Kamla's P.A.

Postby Hook » March 15th, 2012, 2:50 pm

I wasn't aware a Motion of No Confidence was supposed to be entertaining.
*ugh @ Rowley and his stale, boring scandals*

Postby dougla_boy » March 15th, 2012, 3:01 pm

u still eh see the reason why Rowley went ahead with the motion fo no confidence even though, he knew he was going to lose????

djaggs

Postby djaggs » March 15th, 2012, 6:44 pm

This kinda BS is the reason there are popular revoloutions in 3rd world countries, esp latin america.

Democracy does not always provide the best government.

If you have to choose between horseshit and BS, yuh might decide to choose the one that smelling less, but you eventually going to see that is the same sheit, just different look and smell.

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 15th, 2012, 8:15 pm

djaggs wrote:
If you have to choose between horseshit and BS, yuh might decide to choose the one that smelling less, but you eventually going to see that is the same sheit, just different look and smell.

SIG MATERIAL

Postby pioneer » March 15th, 2012, 8:27 pm

I AM WOMAN

HEAR ME ROAR

Postby nervewrecker » March 15th, 2012, 8:35 pm

pioneer wrote:I AM WOMAN

HEAR ME ROAR

you issa poocee, hush yuh arse. :agrue:

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » March 16th, 2012, 8:07 pm

Habit7 wrote:Image

:yankit:

I think i jus jizzed

Postby De Dragon » March 17th, 2012, 12:06 pm

But allyuh well farse and outta place! Vidawatee is the only person who could get White Oak in dem places yo!

Postby Morpheus » March 18th, 2012, 12:40 pm

I am surprised that you all are surprised............

Chain up has been geed

*New politics my arse....(same damn recycled basterds)

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 18th, 2012, 12:58 pm

all said and done if election call tomorrow I still voting PP.....

Postby pioneer » March 18th, 2012, 1:02 pm

I know for sure i'll be voting PNM.

Postby eliteauto » March 18th, 2012, 2:11 pm

http://www.tntmirror.com/2012/03/16/sister-act

Kamla’s Cabinet Cabal: The inside story on the real players in the PP
THE TnT Mirror today begins a three-part series on the inner workings of the People’s Partnership Government and the persons close to the centre of power who, although not all elected, are key players in enjoying the trust of Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and are able to influence key decisions and actions. The series will also, through the eyes and ears of trusted insiders, speaking confidentially to the TnT Mirror, bring to our readers the inner workings of the PM and the powerful Cabal said to run the Cabinet and Government. Today, in Part I, we begin with the PM’s relatives who play a key role in determining how the PM manages her Government.

Wattie’s family living in PM’s official residence as Kamla moves out
ALTHOUGH Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar was insisting up to last weekend that her sister Vidwatie Newton works for her free of charge, TnT Mirror investigations reveal that Newton is just one among a number of familial relations of the Prime Minister who have been living at considerable expense to the State and who are integral to her function as the country’s chief executive.

While Persad-Bissessar has one of the largest Cabinets (24) the country has ever seen, she still relies on the advice of two key persons who hold no Cabinet rank, her husband Dr. Gregory Bissessar and sister Vidwatie Newton. She is also said to be particularly close to niece Alicia Harry, who has also traveled with her on official engagements at Government expense.

The family cabal is a small but influential group, who, according to insiders, are maintained at considerable taxpayers’ expense although doing no work for the State. The PM said last weekend that she needs her sister to look after her personal issues including food, medication and clothing. Insiders describe Newton and the other family members as high maintenance, who also enjoy State security to their various destinations in the country.

Even as Persad-Bissessar and her immediate family, including husband Gregory, maintain their upgraded Philippine residence along with her son Kris, grandson Kristiano and granddaughter Sophie, unknown to the public the extended family led by sister Newton has moved into the official PM’s residence, where they now live at taxpayers’ expense, which, according to public service officials, has never been the case with any previous PM. The PM commutes from her Philippine home by National Security helicopter or official car as the need arises, an arrangement for which National Security Advisor Gary Griffith has often told Mirror he is responsible.

Newton, according to insiders, lived in England for 30 years but returned home and moved into the PM’s official residence on Persad-Bissessar’s assumption as Prime Minister in 2010. She is said to also travel by National Security helicopter and official car like the PM1.

Mirror has learnt that she has been accompanied on her return home by two of her three adult sons who live with her in the official residence. The sons, Quinton and “Stroppy” (a nickname), are said to be maintained at taxpayers’ expense with all the trappings afforded the PM’s family including use of official vehicles and other transportation.

“Stroppy” is said to be studying law and interning with attorney Devesh Maharaj, a known UNC party supporter, and senior partner of Devesh Maharaj and Associates, while Quinton is not known to be desperately seeking employment.

They are not the only ones enjoying the State’s hospitality. The PM has another sister, Sally, who lives in the US and whose son has also moved to Trinidad, where he is also maintained at State’s expense. None of the PM’s nephews were born here and they also carry British and American citizenship. Sally’s son is also interning at Devesh Maharaj’s chambers in Port of Spain.

Postby eliteauto » March 18th, 2012, 2:15 pm

http://www.tntmirror.com/2012/03/16/we- ... -female-pm

Head of the Public Service defends ‘travel assistant’
HEAD of the Public Service and Permanent Secretary to the Office of the Prime Minister Winston Cooper has come out in defence of the Prime Minister, in the raging controversy over the unofficial appointment of her sister, Vidwatie Newton, as her ‘travel assistant,’ at taxpayers’ expense.

“Not too many people know it but the Prime Minister’s sister is a trained nurse and as you know the PM has a medical condition,” he explained.

Cooper’s comment was in reference to an incident in October last year, when Persad-Bissessar had to be rushed to the St. Clair Medical Hospital for treatment after falling at her home.

On her release, two days later, she told the media that she is diabetic and suffers with high blood pressure. “I am hypertensive and diabetic,” she said, adding that “people my age should have an extensive medical check-up every year (but) I haven’t had one for quite a while.”

Cooper said that as far as he knew, the only person who travels officially with the PM, meaning the only person for whom the State pays, is Newton.
He said the hiring of the ‘travel assistant’ was not done by him, but by his predecessor, Sandra Marchak.

He admitted that some things had to be done differently for a female prime minister, adding that this is a first for this country, and things would be done differently as a result.

“Not everybody wants a stranger to handle personal things like medications and clothes etc,” he added.
“There is, however, another alternative, since ministers are allowed to have a personal assistant, for 365 days a year.
“But in the PM’s case her sister only helps when she is travelling, but I think the real fuss is over the problem of the first class ticket to India which was very costly. It costs $178,000 to India, first class and the rest was for her per diem.”

Cooper could not confirm whether Newton accompanied the PM to Panama, saying he could not remember what the Cabinet note said.

He, however, promised that on her return from her overseas trip, he would advise her as to the other alternative of hiring her sister as her “personal assistant,” which is a recognised position in the public service.

Cooper also explained that while there were public servants who get a uniform allowance, as it now stands, the PM does not get a clothes allowance, even though she may be expected to look differently every time she steps out.

As to the goings-on at the official residence, where Newton and her family are now said to reside, Cooper said he was not a frequent visitor there and could not remember ever visiting the residence.

“The residence is under the management of UDeCOTT.
“My only interface is with the Diplomatic Centre,” he said.

Did I not say this was the BBM I got from the PM's residence? :!:

Postby nervewrecker » March 18th, 2012, 2:32 pm

If you not fit to lead the country re-effin-sign!

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » March 18th, 2012, 11:02 pm

so we mining her whole family?......where UML, zcarz,zoomrader,rippedplantain????
yall need to come to your PM defense.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 19th, 2012, 8:20 am

The Mirror does some sloppy work..... Stroppy??....thas the best investigative reporting they come up with.

But Kamla nephew does indeed work at Devesh's Law offices and gets police escort to go to work.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 19th, 2012, 9:37 am

thoughts of Panday's quote comes to mind..

'...parasitic oligarchy'

Don't mind HE was part of it too....