moving agriculture sector forward.....

Re: moving agriculture sector forward.....

Postby nervewrecker » March 18th, 2012, 5:36 pm

what comes out the anoxic section of the beetham plant.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 18th, 2012, 9:29 pm

good stuff^^

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 20th, 2012, 6:59 pm

Ministry launched the URP in agriculture program yesterday,awaits results..

Postby rfari » March 28th, 2012, 1:31 pm

does anyone know the status of the mega farms?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 28th, 2012, 3:38 pm

didn't they plant onions a while ago down there? I stand corrected,last I heard the new initiative by the food production ministry is to use some graduates down there to develop their skills...other than that,I have no idea.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 28th, 2012, 3:41 pm

Most of them are under the purview of private owners now I think

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 2nd, 2012, 7:54 am

I wonder when they will really kick this agri-business into high gear? The bride and she mudder gone to buy fruits, de man selling mangoes four for $40. Now they does go by he every week so he doh try an rob them, but oh god man 410 ah mango on a Caribbean Island!!! Not to mention it is $8 for a cold coconut on Park Street..................WDMC!!!!!!!!

It is now in fact cheaper to buy imported fruit like apples, strawberries, etc. than it is to buy our own local fruits. For those who do not have the space to plant a fruit tree WTF are we to do?

Zabocado coming into season I suspect that will now be in the price range of $30 - $50 as opposed to $15 - $40 as it was last season. Those who have to have will pay and support this price gouging I guess.................... For the rest of us we will simply do with out.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 2nd, 2012, 9:50 am

Bareback wrote:I wonder when they will really kick this agri-business into high gear? The bride and she mudder gone to buy fruits, de man selling mangoes four for $40. Now they does go by he every week so he doh try an rob them, but oh god man 410 ah mango on a Caribbean Island!!! Not to mention it is $8 for a cold coconut on Park Street..................WDMC!!!!!!!!

It is now in fact cheaper to buy imported fruit like apples, strawberries, etc. than it is to buy our own local fruits. For those who do not have the space to plant a fruit tree WTF are we to do?

Zabocado coming into season I suspect that will now be in the price range of $30 - $50 as opposed to $15 - $40 as it was last season. Those who have to have will pay and support this price gouging I guess.................... For the rest of us we will simply do with out.

with this new found wealth in the oil industry,out goes the agriculture industry...little or no emphasis is going to be paid to it now...very sad indeed..ah glad ah still have meh own mangoes,oranges,etc etc...

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 2nd, 2012, 12:14 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Bareback wrote:I wonder when they will really kick this agri-business into high gear? The bride and she mudder gone to buy fruits, de man selling mangoes four for $40. Now they does go by he every week so he doh try an rob them, but oh god man 410 ah mango on a Caribbean Island!!! Not to mention it is $8 for a cold coconut on Park Street..................WDMC!!!!!!!!

with this new found wealth in the oil industry,out goes the agriculture industry...little or no emphasis is going to be paid to it now...very sad indeed..ah glad ah still have meh own mangoes,oranges,etc etc...

Lucky bastard, ah only have one ah dem grafted pomcytere tree and dat is ah female tree, it does bare when it feel like :) Last time ah grow chive an parsley and ting de neighbour jump de fence an tief it. Break dong she fence in de process fuh 410 worth ah herbs. Strict Beethamitiss from she.

Postby nervewrecker » April 2nd, 2012, 12:21 pm

$10.00 a mango, $8.00 a coconut?

WDMC

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 2nd, 2012, 12:27 pm

nervewrecker wrote:$10.00 a mango, $8.00 a coconut?

WDMC

And de mango price is Marabella price not tong price!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby nervewrecker » April 2nd, 2012, 12:30 pm

hmmm, I accustomed jumping off van tray directly into mango tree to chook dong green mango with short bamboo rod :lol:

coconut, dem pipers does handle we with the trees here (our tree) for a plate of pelau & 2 coconut.

Postby rfari » April 2nd, 2012, 12:34 pm

nervewrecker wrote:hmmm, I accustomed jumping off van tray directly into mango tree to chook dong green mango with short bamboo rod :lol:

coconut, dem pipers does handle we with the trees here (our tree) for a plate of pelau & 2 coconut.

yup. fruit prices issa scene right now. a lot of the trees have been cut down to make way for home construction.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 2nd, 2012, 12:35 pm

nervewrecker wrote:dem pipers does handle we with the trees here (our tree) for a plate of pelau & 2 coconut.

And if they fall off, well............ 1 less piper, 1 more plate ah pelau, more chaser for de Johnny. Win Win all de way.

Postby nervewrecker » April 2nd, 2012, 12:39 pm

But who will climb the coconut tree? Me not good at that one....or best I call kurpal lol

I glad it plenty bush in dem field roads, grand ravine & rancho side yes. All in the back of silverstream have lil tree here & there too but men does raid it.

best place is side the road by the creek but pipers like they discover nobody care if they eating dead man ash mango.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 2nd, 2012, 1:34 pm

It always have more pipers, doh study it!

Postby Chimera » April 2nd, 2012, 1:38 pm

$6 to $8 is normal price for a coconut retail though

people pass and buy from us ever so often, they pay $2 per nut .

and its around $40 for a 2 litre bottle of coconut water, i think 3-5 nuts would fill a 2 litre.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 2nd, 2012, 2:07 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:$6 to $8 is normal price for a coconut retail though

and its around $40 for a 2 litre bottle of coconut water, i think 3-5 nuts would fill a 2 litre.

So $30 to watch de man chap de coconut?????????? buh wha de........................

Postby Chimera » April 2nd, 2012, 4:27 pm

by buy from us I mean they climb the trees and pick them and pay $2 per nut "wholesale"

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 3rd, 2012, 8:56 am

Bareback wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:$6 to $8 is normal price for a coconut retail though

So $30 to watch de man chap de coconut?????????? buh wha de........................

carnival was the wuss thing in town yes...ah padna tell meh he call down 3 coconuts for himself and 2 other frens,when he asked the price the man say $20...not knowing is $20 for one :shock: :shock: .I lold :lol:

pommerac coming in now,real manicous gonna be on the run :lol: :lol: also,limited rain fall these days,so the citrus them getting lil sweeter,still pricey though :(

Postby Chimera » April 3rd, 2012, 9:01 am

i hadda prune my pommerac trees or sum yes, they bearing plentiful and sweeeet but very small, bout 4-5 pommerac wud fit in your hand.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 3rd, 2012, 9:05 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:i hadda prune my pommerac trees or sum yes, they bearing plentiful and sweeeet but very small, bout 4-5 pommerac wud fit in your hand.

can you or any of you tell the different types? I cyah do that fuh sheit...all i noe one is chinee..

Postby nervewrecker » April 3rd, 2012, 11:02 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:i hadda prune my pommerac trees or sum yes, they bearing plentiful and sweeeet but very small, bout 4-5 pommerac wud fit in your hand.

*grabs bag*

where yuh say yuh live again? chow later....

Postby rfari » April 3rd, 2012, 11:30 am

:D
ent they say leap year dem fruit trees does be laden? i waiting on balata to come in :twisted:

Postby Chimera » April 3rd, 2012, 11:39 am

hoss..my mother tell me the same thing....i wasnt taking she on though

steups....lol

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 3rd, 2012, 11:45 am

rfari wrote::D
ent they say leap year dem fruit trees does be laden? i waiting on balata to come in :twisted:

balata,tamarind=real phoqing mappire..steupse

Postby nervewrecker » April 3rd, 2012, 11:57 am

you notice I aint say nuttin about climbing balata tree? :lol:

Postby rfari » April 3rd, 2012, 12:36 pm

that's what the pipers there for :D

Postby nervewrecker » April 3rd, 2012, 12:39 pm

I climb a few already, met a small snake once....never again.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 5th, 2012, 9:03 am

faculties are going to be split come this september,agriculture getting its own faculty,we also got 200odd acres in Trinicity for the development of the industry,finally some prospects..