Re: Lego

Postby pioneer » October 25th, 2011, 9:07 pm

Oh nice man

Postby wagonrunner » October 25th, 2011, 11:35 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:^dunno. Got it as a gift. came in a huge ass amazon box though and was kinda weighty. Im guessing $200+

amazon boxes + volume shipping, equal no lube, and a card board type friciton during the unlawful sexual assualt.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 26th, 2011, 12:19 am

now starting my son on Lego City

got 3179 and 7638 (that Pioneer got in Excellent)
very impressed

Knowledge Zone in West Mall has a TON of new sets including the latest Technics (personal favourite growing up) and power functions motors too!!!

Island Hobbies said they will be getting huge Lego stock in about 2 weeks

Postby pioneer » October 26th, 2011, 12:40 am

You should pick up the last fire truck i posted...KZ price is a killer on it...so is toyland/toymart...and it's more on amazon...sounds like a good deal to me...plus kids fascinated by fire trucks

Yeah KZ basically has every set possible...some stuff reasonable...others better ship in yourself

What i need is building plates!

Postby pioneer » October 26th, 2011, 12:58 am

Here's a local pricelist i compiled, yes i have no life

Prices are in Knowledge Zone unless stated otherwise

Set # - price

3182 - $1355
3661 - $680
7208 - $1145
6166 - $399 - Toyland Valpark
3658 - $465
7288 - $739 - Toymart Trincity
3181 - $529
7630 - $165
3648 - $269 (Excellent Stores)
7634 - $150
7685 - $675
7498 - $1355
7235 - $50 :shock:
7287 - $450
7207 - $800

As we can see, some sets cheaper online...some clearly not
Last edited by pioneer on October 27th, 2011, 6:18 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 26th, 2011, 1:01 am

^ KZ is cheaper than Excellent?

KZ has grey building plates - no roads though

the fire truck might be a lil too complex for my son, he's 4, even though he built the wrecker and the repair truck pretty well

GReddy23

Postby GReddy23 » October 26th, 2011, 1:06 am

on a related topic

Giant LEGO Man Appears On Florida Beach

We've heard of people finding messages in bottles on the beach, but how about an 8-foot-tall LEGO figure?

We first saw the news over at BoingBoing. Apparently a man was out walking on the beach near lovely Siesta Key in Florida, when he came across "something" laying in the surf a ways away. He went to investigate, and what do you know -- it was a giant LEGO man. On its torso was a message, reading "No Real Than You Are." Yeah, we don't get it either.

Nobody (at least nobody official) is sure why the plastic figure showed up on the shore. We spoke to Amanda Santoro, Assistant Brand Relations Manager at LEGO. She declined comment but did say that the "stunt" was "in no way endorsed or sponsored by the LEGO Group or its affiliates."

OK, so does that mean somebody stole a giant LEGO figure and planted it on the beach? Well, maybe. Believe it or not, this sort of thing has happened before. Several years back, a giant LEGO man washed up in the Dutch resort of Zandvoort. That same figure (or perhaps a twin) also appeared at a Brighton beach in the U.K.

Is this the same LEGO man? Did it really cross the ocean by itself? Or was it placed there by a jokester? No way to know. For now, though, check out the video below of people marveling at the discovery. Staged or not, it must have been an odd way to start the morning.

http://games.yahoo.com/blogs/plugged-in ... 42517.html

Postby pioneer » October 26th, 2011, 1:07 am

Some stuff cheaper, some not. Like that same fire truck is more than $600 in kz

Excellent also has this for $445

This one is $525 in Toyland Valpark, $465 in KZ Trincity (will confirm)

I flew that one in

Excellent has some nice smaller sets he could easily build, you could build the rest :|

Postby pioneer » October 26th, 2011, 1:07 am

GReddy23 wrote:on a related topic

Giant LEGO Man Appears On Florida Beach

We've heard of people finding messages in bottles on the beach, but how about an 8-foot-tall LEGO figure?

We first saw the news over at BoingBoing. Apparently a man was out walking on the beach near lovely Siesta Key in Florida, when he came across "something" laying in the surf a ways away. He went to investigate, and what do you know -- it was a giant LEGO man. On its torso was a message, reading "No Real Than You Are." Yeah, we don't get it either.

Nobody (at least nobody official) is sure why the plastic figure showed up on the shore. We spoke to Amanda Santoro, Assistant Brand Relations Manager at LEGO. She declined comment but did say that the "stunt" was "in no way endorsed or sponsored by the LEGO Group or its affiliates."

OK, so does that mean somebody stole a giant LEGO figure and planted it on the beach? Well, maybe. Believe it or not, this sort of thing has happened before. Several years back, a giant LEGO man washed up in the Dutch resort of Zandvoort. That same figure (or perhaps a twin) also appeared at a Brighton beach in the U.K.

Is this the same LEGO man? Did it really cross the ocean by itself? Or was it placed there by a jokester? No way to know. For now, though, check out the video below of people marveling at the discovery. Staged or not, it must have been an odd way to start the morning.

http://games.yahoo.com/blogs/plugged-in ... 42517.html

Welcome to 6 yrs ago

Lego

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 26th, 2011, 1:35 am

So the Technics doh interest allyuh?

Postby pioneer » October 26th, 2011, 1:38 am

It never really appealed to me, Lego for me is just to display n look pretty

Postby pioneer » October 26th, 2011, 2:01 am

Duane u rem how much for the plates?...is it the 15"x15"?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » October 26th, 2011, 9:05 am

I got that off road fire truck from excellent during the sale. It looks great when built.
Got 7990 last week also.

Really need some road plates now...but lego seriously ripping ppl off with how they packaging/selling them.... :|

Postby De Dragon » October 26th, 2011, 9:51 am

De Dragon wrote:Allyuh jokey, real Lego men go bid on de 8ft 100lb figure that washed up on a florida beach
http://search.yahoo.com/r/_ylt=A0oGdSzE ... ar-274618/

Did you bid on it?

Now where exactly to fack, did I say I was interested in Legos?

Postby pioneer » October 26th, 2011, 2:17 pm

De Dragon wrote:Allyuh jokey, real Lego men go bid on de 8ft 100lb figure that washed up on a florida beach

Did you bid on it?

pls go

Yeah amazon rippin off people with those "roads" although it's cheaper on lego S@H

Postby De Dragon » October 26th, 2011, 2:19 pm

Did you bid on it?

pls go

Yeah amazon rippin off people with those "roads" although it's cheaper on lego S@H

No, not until somebody bid on de flippin' Lego man! :x

Lego

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 26th, 2011, 5:07 pm

Every single set listed here by year
http://www.brickset.com/browse/themes/? ... theme=City

Postby shogun » October 26th, 2011, 5:12 pm

pioneer wrote:Image

Nice sets there.

Postby pioneer » October 26th, 2011, 10:28 pm

Yupp i find the Lego fire sets bad ass in general...compared to the police

Lego

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 26th, 2011, 10:32 pm

Lego real fixated on the fire and police this year

Postby shogun » October 26th, 2011, 11:01 pm

^prolly selling well.....lots of gear and completed sets look good.

Postby wagonrunner » October 26th, 2011, 11:09 pm

that car at 1:10 looks similar to the one i had. Anyone know the set #?

Postby pioneer » October 26th, 2011, 11:11 pm

I was thinking to recreate downtown POS, but i can't find any cardboard-type lego

Postby pioneer » October 27th, 2011, 6:25 pm

The X-large plate is $185 @KZ

Postby pioneer » October 29th, 2011, 1:07 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:Started seriously collecting only last month with the intention of setting up a full city.

Need to get more road plates and some more civilian buildings....and a bigger table.

Smurf, what is the yellow one in the top left of the second pic?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 29th, 2011, 6:52 pm

it looks like the excavator 7248

wagonrunner wrote:that car at 1:10 looks similar to the one i had. Anyone know the set #?
the one shown is the car chassis, the set # is 8860

http://www.brickset.com/detail/?Set=8860-1

I had (still have) 8865

Postby pioneer » October 29th, 2011, 7:26 pm

Thanks Duane, found it

Also found this @Island Hobbies for $130 :|

http://www.amazon.com/LEGO-City-Road-Ve ... 572&sr=8-4

Got the last one though

Postby pioneer » October 29th, 2011, 7:44 pm

I now checkin sumn...bess i keep all meh sets BNIB and sell it for big money in 2 years :|

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » October 31st, 2011, 5:26 pm

^yeh. I was going to buy a 2nd digger online for USD$20...them things selling for x2 an x3 that price... :|

You got a realll bess price on that coast guard jeep...i paid $30US for mine :|
What other city sets they had?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » October 31st, 2011, 5:47 pm

Got this today!!