THE OFFICIAL QUIT SMOKING THREAD

Re: This is what smoking does to your Heart.

Postby BrotherHood » October 6th, 2011, 10:03 pm

^^^^so with that, you would want to continue even though you cough through thr cigarette and realise that you are just puffing and playing with smoke?

Postby sharkman121 » October 6th, 2011, 10:06 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:Strangely though I've smoked for so many years but I could not stand the smell of cigarette smoke from another smoker......

same exact thing with me, dont u dare smoke around me once im not smoking also...

sounds weird but been a smoker for 15yrs and cant stand the smell of cigarette.

solidust

Postby solidust » October 6th, 2011, 10:13 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:
solidust wrote:
~Vēġó~ wrote:oh and 301 days alcohol free.....that kinda made the quitting smoking much easier....

I feel so freakin' free!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

may i ask,

this joy/ feeling is one greater than the pleasure/ feeling of alcohol or cig?

Don't get me wrong eh....I absolutely LOVED the feeling alcohol gave me, but it grew to a point where I wanted more and more....the bottle was the boss of me....and add the cigs to that there, where everything warranted a cig...nearly every 20 mins or so when I was not at work....

Now, it's a feeling of knowing that these things no longer dictate my life....I am liberated....I am in control, not a cigarette nor a bottle of alcohol....It's a different kind of high!

Hope that makes some sense there...

"High on Life"

Ah luv it, you rly proved to be headstrong and victorious.........

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 6th, 2011, 10:20 pm

^^^thanks man....hope my experiences could help give strength to others who desire a change...But it must be a change that you alone truly want....

rfari wrote:rell great stories here. i can't fool myself by just going cold turkey. it would have to be gradual.

I did...cold fkn turkey...

But hear how....I got a cough (virus or flu or something of the sort) and was really congested....No matter how much I tried to smoke it just wasn't going down at all at all and it made me cough really badly.....I would light up one, take a 2-3 puffs and then throw it away because I just couldn't properly smoke it (puffing is wasting time) and that made me angry....I remember getting so angry that I crushed up the cigarette and began stomping on it with so much hatred.....I got fed up trying and just say fck it, took all my cigs (had about 5 whole packs because I started buying by the carton) and carried them for my father....that was September 4th and have not smoked since......

I kept my lighter because it's a good Bic and I does have to burn old box and paper and ting.....

I always wondered at stories of how ppl who smoked for decades could just get up one day and say they done smoke...I for the life of me couldn't see how that was possible until it happened to me....

Postby BrotherHood » October 6th, 2011, 10:31 pm

^^^^give thanks bruh

Postby S_2NR » October 6th, 2011, 10:38 pm

BrotherHood wrote:What makes peoples start to smoke? Is it wanting that 'big man' image? Peer pressure? Stress? I would really like to know.

For me its stress.
lol @ big man image..idgaf what people think about me smoking.

Postby Stephon. » October 6th, 2011, 10:44 pm

Stress for me.

Postby rfari » October 6th, 2011, 10:49 pm

Vega rell inspirational stuff hoss. same thing with me if I'm sick or have a rell bad hangover, I can't stand smoking. But by the time I feel better, I'm at it again.

I usually smoke my last cigs before I go sleep. I wake up next day and tell myself that I'm quitting today. Somewhere between home and work, I magically end up in a shop/grocery/gas station buying cigs. I chain-smoke my way thru the day until I reach home. By the time I'm ready for bed, I would have smoked the last few cigs in the pack. :(

For m the problem is tht my entire mind has to want to quit smoking. One part of me says to stop smoking; the other part says quitting is for losers.

Honestly I think I need hypnosis. I had all intentions of quitting tonight but I have a new pack with me. I'm gonna try the gradual cutoff and I'll use the cig filters tht my mom bought.

Postby BrotherHood » October 6th, 2011, 10:53 pm

S_2NR, there are the little boys who want to look and feel like a big man and smoking is a way of fulfilling those derires.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 6th, 2011, 10:57 pm

BrotherHood wrote:S_2NR, there are the little boys who want to look and feel like a big man and smoking is a way of fulfilling those derires.

Postby rfari » October 6th, 2011, 10:58 pm

S_2NR wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:What makes peoples start to smoke? Is it wanting that 'big man' image? Peer pressure? Stress? I would really like to know.

For me its stress.

stress as well and I am discrete when I smoke. I started first year in uwi. Drawing class on a monday 6-9 to be exact. Went from an A- to a B then F's for the remaining classes. I cnt draw to save my life and it was frustrating being in a room with 100+ students and ur looking at a some stupid drawing on a paper and u jus dunno how de frig to start it. After a while I used to just look at the diagram and pick up my T square and go gateboys and buy a half pack. At first used to smoke 2 and then throw the rest away but then I started to keep it. 2 was all I need a day. Then the number started to increase.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 6th, 2011, 11:02 pm

Hookahs are the truth :| jussayin'

and really random tho, but rfari you went to high school with a dude named Dimitri? :S

Postby S_2NR » October 6th, 2011, 11:07 pm

rfari wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

For me its stress.

stress as well and I am discrete when I smoke. I started first year in uwi. Drawing class on a monday 6-9 to be exact. Went from an A- to a B then F's for the remaining classes. I cnt draw to save my life and it was frustrating being in a room with 100+ students and ur looking at a some stupid drawing on a paper and u jus dunno how de frig to start it. After a while I used to just look at the diagram and pick up my T square and go gateboys and buy a half pack. At first used to smoke 2 and then throw the rest away but then I started to keep it. 2 was all I need a day. Then the number started to increase.

i got exempted from eng drawings lol..
but i hear stories.. :lol:

Postby shogun » October 6th, 2011, 11:11 pm

rollingstock wrote:^ Peer pressure, wanting to look cool, emulating older persons you look up to and wanting to be like them, just pure rebellion, many reason.........downhill from there though.

^yup. started when friends would buy cartons of Dunhill and Newports to carry to clubs, to impress chicks and the ones that smoked, would bum cigs making it easier to start convos. lol.... i know!... lame! but we were like 16/17.

My older bro also smoked, so that didn't help either.
Wish i could go back and not start though.

Postby rfari » October 6th, 2011, 11:12 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:Hookahs are the truth :| jussayin'

and really random tho, but rfari you went to high school with a dude named Dimitri? :S

Khanhai?
@s_snr. I heard that now u have to pass the drawing class to pass the entire course. If tht was the same for my year, I woulda be still in uwi.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 6th, 2011, 11:12 pm

S_2NR wrote:i got exempted from eng drawings lol..
but i hear stories.. :lol:

:evil: lucky you, but they've stopped exemptions now because of ACAD and Solidworks.

Although the cause of many students' stress is because of a lecturer who shall not be named :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby S_2NR » October 6th, 2011, 11:13 pm

i really have no idea..i got exempted from it for semester one.
had to do the semester two one tho..and got an A+

Postby shogun » October 6th, 2011, 11:15 pm

rfari wrote:Somewhere between home and work, I magically end up in a shop/grocery/gas station buying cigs. I chain-smoke my way thru the day until I reach home.

Postby BrotherHood » October 6th, 2011, 11:35 pm

shogun wrote:
rollingstock wrote:^ Peer pressure, wanting to look cool, emulating older persons you look up to and wanting to be like them, just pure rebellion, many reason.........downhill from there though.

^yup. started when friends would buy cartons of Dunhill and Newports to carry to clubs, to impress chicks and the ones that smoked, would bum cigs making it easier to start convos. lol.... i know!... lame! but we were like 16/17.

My older bro also smoked, so that didn't help either.
Wish i could go back and not start though.

My older brother and father are heavy smokers so I consider it abnormal that I have not become a smoker. It seems to me that if you parents or siblings smoke, chances are that you will become a smoker as well. Around that same age 16/17 throught to about 19 I had friends that would have carried cigarettes to parties. I agree with the trying to impress girls part becaues some girls actually think it is cool and mature but I don't think such was the case with my clique. Don't know how any of them started smoking.
It was also around that age that I would have smoked just because they were smoking so I have experimented. It does have some satisfaction but I never got or was addicted to cigarettes and I have had probably more than twenty but not exceeding fifty cigarettes in my life. I just don't get the satisfaction that smokers claim to experience while smoking.

Postby A172 » October 7th, 2011, 12:05 am

Been smoking 10 years now. Never got 'addicted' however....currently only smoke for the morning sh1t and after meals. Will stop next year.

Postby shogun » October 7th, 2011, 12:11 am

doh wait...stop now bruh.

Postby BrotherHood » October 7th, 2011, 12:11 am

^^^make it a new years resolution.

Postby S_2NR » October 7th, 2011, 12:12 am

i think he was being sarcastic :lol:

Postby A172 » October 7th, 2011, 12:19 am

actually this is that rare, one time where I'm not on sh1t :lol:

true story, brahs.

Postby BrotherHood » October 7th, 2011, 12:33 am

Well goodluck....hope you succeed.

Postby A172 » October 7th, 2011, 12:34 am

Did it before, will repeat.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » October 7th, 2011, 1:19 pm

this is a short story from a friend of mine, on how he stopped smoking
some years ago he was a heavy smoker ,but there was a time in his life when his woman left him and the tabanca was strong ... so he smoked and smoked and smoked till one morning at about 2 o clock he ran out of cigarettes and headed out to get more ..

now where he was living in santa cruz and at that hour, yuh not getting no shop open. he decided to take a taxi to san juan to get his fix but taxis hardly passes at that hour,
so he waited and waited and as time passes, nothing..

all of a sudden he saw afar off, what looks like the lights of a car lower down the road and started running to catch up with it in desperation ,after covering a great distance and still failing to catch the taxi, he sat there waiting on another taxi until daylight, at that point he realized what cigarets had him doing and never stuck another one in his mouth after that...

Postby Trini Hookah » October 7th, 2011, 1:33 pm

megadoc1 wrote:this is a short story from a friend of mine, on how he stopped smoking
some years ago he was a heavy smoker ,but there was a time in his life when his woman left him and the tabanca was strong ... so he smoked and smoked and smoked till one morning at about 2 o clock he ran out of cigarettes and headed out to get more ..

now where he was living in santa cruz and at that hour, yuh not getting no shop open. he decided to take a taxi to san juan to get his fix but taxis hardly passes at that hour,
so he waited and waited and as time passes, nothing..

all of a sudden he saw afar off, what looks like the lights of a car lower down the road and started running to catch up with it in desperation ,after covering a great distance and still failing to catch the taxi, he sat there waiting on another taxi until daylight, at that point he realized what cigarets had him doing and never stuck another one in his mouth after that...

Your friend should just keep an emergency pack ;)

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 7th, 2011, 3:01 pm

BrotherHood wrote:S_2NR, there are the little boys who want to look and feel like a big man and smoking is a way of fulfilling those derires.

there are the little boys who want to look and feel like a a big man and smoking is a DUMB way of fulfilling those desires.

Invisible

Postby Invisible » October 10th, 2011, 9:50 pm

Smoking about 15 years and nothing ever really phased me to stop until I saw the OP's first vid. I didn't think about death, but about my 6 month old son. About how I wouldn't enjoy his childhood with him cus daddy's cardio is $hit.

I saw the vid on Friday night while working the night shift. I said to myself "as dis pack done I done" but as morning approached I realized that the cigs were still controlling me. I took it out of my pocket and gave it away. Kept my zippo though.

Since then I have been smoke free. I intend to keep it so for the rest of my life. Inshallah.