2012 Budget

TriP

Re: 2012 Budget

Postby TriP » October 8th, 2011, 10:24 pm

Funding for the construction of a tunnel from Tunapuna to the Maracas Valley, through the hills of the North Coast, as well as the completion of the Mamoral Dam Project will be provided for in the 2012 National Budge

During the 2011 Budget debate last year, Warner brought up the idea of the construction of a tunnel in the Northern Range to assist with traffic congestion, as well as to curb the erosion of the North Coast Road.

It is projected to generate 7,000 jobs.

Earlier it was estimated that the cost of the land to be used for the Mamoral Dam was $49 million, but it has since passed $200 million as the cost of the land has appreciated over the years

Postby Dizzy28 » October 8th, 2011, 10:41 pm

TriP wrote:Funding for the construction of a tunnel from Tunapuna to the Maracas Valley, through the hills of the North Coast, as well as the completion of the Mamoral Dam Project will be provided for in the 2012 National Budge

During the 2011 Budget debate last year, Warner brought up the idea of the construction of a tunnel in the Northern Range to assist with traffic congestion, as well as to curb the erosion of the North Coast Road.

It is projected to generate 7,000 jobs.

Earlier it was estimated that the cost of the land to be used for the Mamoral Dam was $49 million, but it has since passed $200 million as the cost of the land has appreciated over the years

Mamoral Dam seems like a good idea. A tunnel not so much. Haven't really ever seen a tunnel built internationally that hasn't been within budget or on time.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 8th, 2011, 10:41 pm

Those idiots still thinking of that stupid tunnel??????? I would really know how the hell that going to generate 7000 jobs. We have police stations in shambles, officers without the proper equipment or salaries. We still don't have a DNA testing facility (yet big talk of DNA bill), We are severely lacking in fire stations, imagine a fire in Arouca and tenders have to head from Arima or Tunapuna. Ferry Service from Trinidad to Tobago sucks especially around holidays or if one is dry docked yet they want to do a C'bean ferry (especially at a time where drug running is rampant). This gov't really needs to prioritize

Postby S_2NR » October 8th, 2011, 10:44 pm

ohh goarr dan..tunnel to maracas is d ting self.
beach every weekend dan!
who cares if we gettin rob, shoot, kidnapped everyday.

TriP

Postby TriP » October 8th, 2011, 11:47 pm

The National Biscuit.. Crix is $14.00..ah pack..:faint: milk butter rice sugar peas..food prices gone up by $3.00..$4.00 in the last 3 -4 months..:conman: This is the change that the majority of citizens of this country voted for...i right now have to change my eating habit for real...These are signs of the time .. !!

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » October 9th, 2011, 1:53 am

S_2NR wrote:is that contract ever enforced?
i know endless scholarship winners and people who went uwi who working abroad now.

and you could just pay it off and go away if u want.

yeah because people who need GATE have a hundred grand lying around, right?

And yeah I know people like that too.

Postby pete » October 9th, 2011, 7:28 am

Did they do any kind of feasibility study for this stupid tunnel idea?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 9th, 2011, 2:19 pm

TriP wrote:The National Biscuit.. Crix is $14.00..ah pack..:faint: milk butter rice sugar peas..food prices gone up by $3.00..$4.00 in the last 3 -4 months..:conman: This is the change that the majority of citizens of this country voted for...i right now have to change my eating habit for real...These are signs of the time .. !!

Because the Government controls the international prices on these goods right??
What you want more subsidy on food too??

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 9th, 2011, 2:52 pm

and the sad thing is food prices are not going to fall,we are going to continue to import like we mad,gain no revenue from exporting locally grown food,because no enough money is being pumped into the sector and to make things worse,the agricultural sector is going to get a major cut in funds according to the Minister,so yeah we going good man.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 9th, 2011, 9:03 pm

change begins with yuh own self btw eh!!!! be the change that YOU want to see....doh wait/depend for/on anyone else!

Postby redmanjp » October 9th, 2011, 11:04 pm

TriP wrote:The National Biscuit.. Crix is $14.00..ah pack..:faint: milk butter rice sugar peas..food prices gone up by $3.00..$4.00 in the last 3 -4 months..:conman: This is the change that the majority of citizens of this country voted for...i right now have to change my eating habit for real...These are signs of the time .. !!

Because the Government controls the international prices on these goods right??
What you want more subsidy on food too??

i thought they said inflation was like 1% :?

anyway ah hope dey budgeting fuh underground bunkers when solar flares, asteroids & planet X hit d earth next year

TriP

Postby TriP » October 10th, 2011, 7:56 am

sneak-peek budget:...Five public hospitals...yes..!!....a International Airport in central..no..!!...

Postby rfari » October 10th, 2011, 7:57 am

Budget Day!

Postby Stephon. » October 10th, 2011, 8:11 am

You can get to central in 20 mins from piarco. Even less in most cases. Why on earth will they want an airport in central? That's a waste of money IMO. Trinidad isn't a large country, I don't get it.

Postby janfar » October 10th, 2011, 8:23 am

Useless is a second airport... the only delays you experience at Piarco is due to poor services from the contractors. Never has a gate been too busy or a flight delayed due to a busy runway. As someone rightfully said... they repeating their mistakes again... maybe the Nothern York Coosal consortium will get the contract...

Postby Stephon. » October 10th, 2011, 8:25 am

Sigh, it's sad, someone told me one day that kamla is only fixing the country in a way that when she is out of power, she would have smoothe roads, no traffic etc @ her convinence for her to go home, I'm starting to believe it.

phenom

Postby phenom » October 10th, 2011, 8:38 am

janfar wrote:Useless is a second airport... the only delays you experience at Piarco is due to poor services from the contractors. Never has a gate been too busy or a flight delayed due to a busy runway. As someone rightfully said... they repeating their mistakes again... maybe the Nothern York Coosal consortium will get the contract...

ENT!!!! boy ... he funded the PNM in dem days... den he swing by Jack & PP.... This is HUGE boball....and dont talk for the man in charge of Highways in MOW.... Why doesn't someone do some real investigation in Trinidad??????/ GEEEZZZZZ everybody know who corrupted except ANY government!!!!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 10th, 2011, 10:48 am

dat second airport thing for real jed,I hope not,that is utter fackery.

Postby SUPAstarr » October 10th, 2011, 10:59 am

I could see a tunnel/ roadway project bein a long term investment? Possibly encourage population growth around the road (construction+), which in turn would attract at first cottage industries/small business, sooner or later attracting bigger fish? Just tryin to find a rationalization, but such a roadway would create a lot of jobs, not sure is 7000 is the amt.

Postby 16 cycles » October 10th, 2011, 11:05 am

2nd airport to free up terminals in first to allow for bigger international flights / cargo flights through piarco and concentrate on regional / smaller flights at the 'new' airport?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 10th, 2011, 11:08 am

16 cycles wrote:2nd airport to free up terminals in first to allow for bigger international flights / cargo flights through piarco and concentrate on regional / smaller flights at the 'new' airport?

Doubt on Piarco being that constrained for terminal space. Our volumes of International and domestic flights not great comparatively

Postby janfar » October 10th, 2011, 11:11 am

Why dont they invest on the Crowne point (ANR) airport. That airport in a serious state of disrepair and they have even greater potential for international flights. Who de fack want to land in the miggle of a cane field and hear welcome to KPB intuhnashunul airport.

Postby Stephon. » October 10th, 2011, 11:16 am

Yes the Tobago airport is a flop of epic proportions, they should work on that instead, if you walk too fast you will miss the entire thing.

A new airport in Trinidad won't stop international flights leaving the country filled, and returning empty.

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » October 10th, 2011, 11:18 am

Another airport for fackin what?!??? stupes allyuh could talk about wasting the country's money eh...smh

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » October 10th, 2011, 11:55 am

pioneer wrote:They need to stop GATE, if people can't afford education then go pump gas for those who can.

FACk U DAN... u knw how expensive my sheit go be if i didnt have GATE

Postby nervewrecker » October 10th, 2011, 12:24 pm

jmccomie wrote:
pioneer wrote:They need to stop GATE, if people can't afford education then go pump gas for those who can.

FACk U DAN... u knw how expensive my sheit go be if i didnt have GATE

I pumped the gas for who can afford it so I could make the $$$ to pay for my stuff & come kick the arses of those same mofo's! :twisted:

rawCpoppa

Postby rawCpoppa » October 10th, 2011, 12:35 pm

real angry mofos in this ched oui

Postby TRAE » October 10th, 2011, 12:52 pm

doh stop GATE it go give people a reason to be criminals

Postby hydroep » October 10th, 2011, 1:24 pm

What's wrong with pumping gas? There is dignity in all legitimate work.

Postby Greypatch » October 10th, 2011, 1:29 pm

Thing about to start