pioneer wrote:LOL pretty sure dat imps locked up
Newsday wrote:AG SENDS FACEBOOK THREAT VIDEO TO GIBBS
By Andre Bagoo Sunday, August 28 2011
ATTORNEY General Anand Ramlogan yesterday referred an internet video, reportedly containing threats to Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar, to Police Commissioner Dwayne Gibbs.
The video was posted on Ramlogan’s page on Facebook, the social networking site, and features apparent threats to the Prime Minister’s life, as well as obscene language and potentially slanderous statements.
Questioned on the issue at yesterday’s National Security press briefing in Port-of-Spain, Ramlogan said he was not aware whether the Prime Minister had seen the video, but said it was now in the hands of the police.
“It is a matter of grave concern and I have asked that the video be forwarded to the Commissioner of Police,” Ramlogan said.
The video in question, which runs for three minutes and 48 seconds, was posted on YouTube, a video sharing site, and then distributed through Facebook. A copy was eventually posted on Ramlogan’s page after the original video had been deleted by the user, who created it on YouTube.
In the video, a female, said to be a teenager, appears to take on the persona of a grandmother figure. In a mocking, satirical style, she impersonates a grandmother venting frustrations on several issues. In the course of this, several expletives are used repeatedly and the Prime Minister is threatened and accused of certain actions and prejudices in relation to the calling of a state of emergency. “I don’t even know what to begin with,” the female says.
“Because I hear Kamla and she (expletive) and then the Commissioner and dem come out here in the country. I had to make a video. Granny Quila have to put a word in this.”
The video was posted by a YouTube user who reportedly subsequently deleted their account. However, a copy of the video surfaced through other users who re-posted the video, expressing disapproval of it.
“The original maker of this video is (profile name called),” one user who reposted the video explained, “Let her mother be proud. I highly disapprove.” The re-posted video of the user had more than two-thousand views by yesterday afternoon.
One Facebook user yesterday posted a comment on Ramlogan’s page, where a copy of the video was posted.
“What a nasty mouth,” the user said of the video.
“(The person in the video speaking) seems retarded. That’s what they learn from the streets in Trinidad. Trini people like to cuss too much. It’s a dangerous thing.”
Yesterday, the AG noted a trend of videos and messages being posted on Facebook which are potentially in violation of the law.
“There are a number of videos and postings that border on incitement,” he said, noting that the language used in these virtual communications are sometimes “abusive”.
“You do not have a right to incite violence and to use vulgar language in such a manner,” he said.
It is unclear which offence, if any, investigators will focus on in relation to the video. However, Regulation 14 of the Emergency Powers Regulations outlaw statements made “orally or otherwise” to incite.
The regulation reads: “No person shall—(a) endeavour, whether orally or otherwise, to influence public opinion in a manner likely to be prejudicial to public safety and order; or (b) do any act or have any article in his possession with a view to making or facilitating the making of any such endeavour.”
But outside of the state of emergency regulations, there are already provisions on the law-books applicable at all times, regardless of whether there is a state of emergency or not, which deal with incitement. For instance, Sections 3 and 4 of the Sedition Act bans statements which are seditious. Such statements are defined as statements which: “bring into hatred or contempt” or “excite disaffection against government or the Constitution as by law established or the House of Representatives or the Senate or the administration of justice”. Additionally, statements which “raise discontent or disaffection amongst inhabitants of Trinidad and Tobago” or “engender or promote feelings of ill-will or hostility between one or more sections of the community” are banned. The statements are not deemed seditious simply by virtue of pointing out errors of a government and must cross a line. At the same time, Ramlogan also yesterday indicated that the internet may be used by the State to set up a portal through which persons can make anonymous reports on criminal activities. He urged members of the public to take advantage of such a “virtual command centre” when it is established. Currently, persons wishing to report criminal activity may call the following hotlines: 800-0699 or 800-7000.
adriano7910 wrote:ironman2012 wrote:ru$$ell wrote:roses are red, violets are blue, yuh vote for change, now take curfew.
Just now we go get ah curfew on d internet too
word of two people who are part of the problem
Stephon. wrote:I hope I don't get in trouble for this:
Her apology video
http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php ... 0481995215
pimptacular wrote:charge she and lock she up for making threats on the life of the prime minster, an conspiring to commit murder to the prime minister, she done say she go take a sniper and shoot she and leave no evidence
make an example out of her.. her intelligence is clear, she will in no way better the trinidad community so trinidad not losing anything
pioneer wrote:Shango_13 wrote:Habit7 wrote:Now whether or not Nalini see is this I dont know, but he better stop while he is ahead because on facebook a lot of ppl are ready to bust files on him
thats lord kitchener daughter lol. he rolling in his grave
What exactly wrong with this though?
Ah man get ah win?
Sounds like allyuh gettin petty now, lewwe doh be so sour nah?
RASC wrote:pimptacular wrote:charge she and lock she up for making threats on the life of the prime minster, an conspiring to commit murder to the prime minister, she done say she go take a sniper and shoot she and leave no evidence
make an example out of her.. her intelligence is clear, she will in no way better the trinidad community so trinidad not losing anything
WOW
Funny, this is what used to happen on THIS very site during Manning's days.
How conveniently you people seem to forget.
Like I've been saying ALL along
RASC wrote:pimptacular wrote:charge she and lock she up for making threats on the life of the prime minster, an conspiring to commit murder to the prime minister, she done say she go take a sniper and shoot she and leave no evidence
WOW
Funny, this is what used to happen on THIS very site during Manning's days.
How conveniently you people seem to forget.
Like I've been saying ALL along
AllTrac wrote:I would just like the protective services to know, if you are also monitoring online local forums like this one. Any past or new threads you may have seen which contained threats or wishes of ill fate to the PM past and present, I know the real names and faces of most of the posters involved and i can also provide ip. I am willing to pick them out of a line up. Please contact me if need be.
To those involved, dont hate me, im doing this for my country guys and to keep you and I safer.
DJ Kaotic wrote:Allyuh remember when Dictator Manning was in d barber shop and a Radio announcer was blasting him hard on d airwaves, he jump in PM1 and head straight to the radio station? We called him Dictator and blast him for freedom of speech!
Then when Dictator Manning was blasted for tapping ppl phones we called it invasion of privacy and Dictatorship!
What are we really saying now? I'm not saying what she did was wrong but showing you it was not too long ago the same sheit happend and we called the previous Govt dictators so ammm Welcome to China.
Cjruckus wrote:DJ Kaotic wrote:Allyuh remember when Dictator Manning was in d barber shop and a Radio announcer was blasting him hard on d airwaves, he jump in PM1 and head straight to the radio station? We called him Dictator and blast him for freedom of speech!
Then when Dictator Manning was blasted for tapping ppl phones we called it invasion of privacy and Dictatorship!
What are we really saying now? I'm not saying what she did was wrong but showing you it was not too long ago the same sheit happend and we called the previous Govt dictators so ammm Welcome to China.
but did manning have a press conference and call out the radio announcers? threaten them with treason?
From what I understand the barbershop thing is up in the air as to what happened. We don't even know what radio station it is.
Sumana.00 wrote:What was said:
Admitting that a sore point in the security exercise was the gathering of community-based intelligence, Ramlogan said the Government was thinking of using Facebook to obtain information via virtual command centre. He warned that people submitting false information could be charged with wasting police time and false leads on such a forum could be traced via the IP address
DJ Kaotic wrote:Allyuh remember when Dictator Manning was in d barber shop and a Radio announcer was blasting him hard on d airwaves, he jump in PM1 and head straight to the radio station? We called him Dictator and blast him for freedom of speech!
What are we really saying now? I'm not saying what she did wasn't wrong but showing you it was not too long ago the same sheit happend and we called the previous Govt dictators so ammm Welcome to China.
RASC wrote:Users who spoke about killing past leaders, Manning especially should be the first to face the firing squad. They are enemies of the state. Work our way up from there!
chasemeifyoucan wrote:RASC wrote:Users who spoke about killing past leaders, Manning especially should be the first to face the firing squad. They are enemies of the state. Work our way up from there!
Defend your lord and saviour
typical response