Foreign Used Tyres?

air wick

Re: Foreign Used Tyres?

Postby air wick » May 28th, 2013, 11:08 am

honda hoe wrote:
Gool wrote:winter tyres? um.. so if u hit a patch of water on d highway n go sdeways doh blame d rain or d road eh lol!
:D

Is true, winter tyres are not good in the rain...

xtech

Postby xtech » May 28th, 2013, 11:25 am

Travis wrote:
honda hoe wrote:
Gool wrote:winter tyres? um.. so if u hit a patch of water on d highway n go sdeways doh blame d rain or d road eh lol!

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1369754629.538342.jpg

Postby pete » May 28th, 2013, 12:00 pm

When they say lower temperatures, they don't mean 21 degrees C. They mean under 7degrees

xtech

Postby xtech » May 28th, 2013, 12:12 pm

Does not mean it will melt at higher temps above freezing

It just means the rubber compound is treated and will not freeze or harden at those lower temps as summer tires will.

Just like buying 5w-oils for your new engine even though u live in the tropics

sheldon bluebird

Postby sheldon bluebird » September 4th, 2014, 7:45 pm

im lookin for 18 inch foreign used tyres 18 inch to buy can anyone help me plz im frm p.o.s

Postby 1UZFE » September 4th, 2014, 7:53 pm

xtech wrote:
Travis wrote:
honda hoe wrote:

Xtech u beat me to it...
Winter tyres are much better in the rain than most ppl would think. Before u buy winter tyres check the thread patters n look to see how each brand displaces water.
jus saying..

Postby joker » September 4th, 2014, 8:02 pm

1UZFE wrote:
xtech wrote:Posted: Tue May 28, 2013 11:25 am
Travis wrote:
honda hoe wrote:

Xtech u beat me to it...
Winter tyres are much better in the rain than most ppl would think. Before u buy winter tyres check the thread patters n look to see how each brand displaces water.
jus saying..

you mix with this ?

Postby 1UZFE » September 4th, 2014, 8:19 pm

^^^ hahhaha

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » September 4th, 2014, 8:23 pm

People buying foreign used tyres still?

Postby X_Factor » September 4th, 2014, 8:30 pm

yupp...good f.used tires are way better than most of those chinese tyres on the market
will choose a f.used bridgestone, firestone, pirelli, michelin, continental within 1-3yrs frm the DOM anyday infront a hifly, triangle, double king, nankang and other crap

subie_2NR

Postby subie_2NR » September 4th, 2014, 9:05 pm

New maxxis tyres ftw. Within my budget and works well

The quality of foreign used tyres dropped significantly

Postby X_Factor » September 4th, 2014, 9:34 pm

depends on who/where you buy from and i wont wait till i need them to go get
while driving if i see a tire shop and i have the time i will stop and check out what they got
and buy them if they are of a decent thread wear and within a 3yrs range

i usually go by johns, chippys, singhs, shop on aranguez road etc

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » September 4th, 2014, 10:26 pm

X_Factor wrote:yupp...good f.used tires are way better than most of those chinese tyres on the market
will choose a f.used bridgestone, firestone, pirelli, michelin, continental within 1-3yrs frm the DOM anyday infront a hifly, triangle, double king, nankang and other crap

Nankangs are a pretty decent Tyre though. I'd class these with the Maxxis Z4 and I'd class them both higher than the Dunlop Direzzas. I still use f'used. The Dunlop I have on the rear have given me about 30,000 kms so far and I've never broke traction with any f'used.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » September 4th, 2014, 11:05 pm

all F.U tyres i peep have less than 60% thread life,i rather ghee on my $400 chinee tyre wid full beads

Postby X_Factor » September 5th, 2014, 12:03 am

dont let the beads fool you
a decent f.used brand can probably outlast a new chinee tyre
Think about it, it costs the customer 400, the seller has to make something, the wholesaler has to make something, the importer has to make something, the manufacturer has to make something
what you think is the cost of the tire as it leaves china, what sorta testing, R&D went into the process?

Postby nervewrecker » September 5th, 2014, 12:11 am

He seems to not know those $400.00 Chinese tyres are rubbish. Is rainy season, he will find out soon enough.

Postby X_Factor » September 5th, 2014, 1:56 am

doh get me wrong eh, when i have the $$ for good stuff i buy it eh

Postby 1UZFE » September 5th, 2014, 5:21 am

What we need to remember tho when purchasing f/used tyres is the actual life span of a tyre. A tyre generally have a life span of 4yrs, on the tyre there is a 4 digit number, this indicates the yom and mth.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » September 5th, 2014, 6:01 am

Yeah I know that, never go around them Chinese tyres. But 4 years? I changing battery and tyres every year jed

Postby 1UZFE » September 5th, 2014, 6:18 am

kerwinishere wrote:Yeah I know that, never go around them Chinese tyres. But 4 years? I changing battery and tyres every year jed

Nah! Bro wat kinda tyres n batteries u using?

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » September 5th, 2014, 6:22 am

Optima Red top and Michelin

Most likely it's the alternator that need to change (never repaired in over 7 years)

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » September 5th, 2014, 7:25 am

X_Factor wrote:doh get me wrong eh, when i have the $$ for good stuff i buy it eh

this tyre looks damn good

but i dont see FU tyres lookin so good, d last time i saw one looking good so the guy that bought them brought dem back within 5mins of leavin the tyre shop- they were bent, i PERSONALLY dont like FU tyres bcuz of a bad experience that expensed me greatly.

i dont buy used shoes to put on my feet so i sure as hell not gonna buy them to put on my ride, rather a new washikong than a foreign abused gucci

Postby 1UZFE » September 5th, 2014, 7:41 am

kerwinishere wrote:Optima Red top and Michelin

Most likely it's the alternator that need to change (never repaired in over 7 years)

Doubt d problem is d alternator tho. But what vehicle u driving to eat out dem Michellins. I my past vehicles that had high torque i used sumitomo, Direzzas and Pirellis Scorpions. Have u ever tried Khumos.?
Jags u prefer a virgin or a ting dat break out ahready? :o

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » September 5th, 2014, 7:49 am

100% virgin poo-c

no faults

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » September 5th, 2014, 8:19 am

I've personally never had bad a bad experience with f'used but I nearly crashed with the BCTs Roston sold me with my 17s. I drive a f'used car so why not f'used tyres?

I believe the Chinese tyres are the reason for the majority of the accidents on out roads. These tyres crack and blow out easily from what I've seen.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » September 5th, 2014, 8:38 am

Now keep in mind many of the Chinese tyres are made in the same place as the 'brand name' tyres. Sometimes the same brand tyre eg. Sumitomo is made in Japan, Vietnam & China. Different grades.
So don't go based on brand alone. I see 'Chinese tyres' coming from the same factory as 'brand name' tyres.

Just my little 2¢

Postby Chimera » September 5th, 2014, 9:12 am

there is also the issue that there are fake tyres being sold in Trinidad

fake michellin/dunlop etc

so while you may pay $900+ for a brand new tyre, unless you know what to look for, you may end up with a fake tyre that won't last long

i always use to buy brand new tyres but after a while it became difficult to find the tyre i wanted brand new in any good brand, when i go in tyre shops they hitting you all kinda double king and autorama and triangle

end up getting foreign used tyres that i find lasting longer than the "new" tyres for only $150

shermantank

Postby shermantank » September 5th, 2014, 9:23 am

i will never in life buy FU tyres....dat is madness...as a man said that is yur only contact to the road so that better be top notch...the only FU tyre u shud buy is yuh spare and thas it....as that only staying on for a short while till u reach the tyre shop...buy FU parts but not FU tyres....

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » September 5th, 2014, 10:03 am

Kronik wrote:Now keep in mind many of the Chinese tyres are made in the same place as the 'brand name' tyres. Sometimes the same brand tyre eg. Sumitomo is made in Japan, Vietnam & China. Different grades.
So don't go based on brand alone. I see 'Chinese tyres' coming from the same factory as 'brand name' tyres.

Just my little 2¢

hmmm interesting

also F.U have no guarantee

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » September 5th, 2014, 10:34 am

I didn't even know brand name tyres had guarantee lol