Re: Cell phone driving ban to take effect February 18th 2011

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 18th, 2011, 2:10 pm

From a few posts back

Effective Date

There has been a lot of concern as to when the new law will come into effect. The law is published as Legal Notice No. 281 in the Official Gazette of November 18, 2010. Publication in the Gazette is required before a statutory instrument [which regulations are] is effective, as specified in section 12 of the Statutes Act. That Act also states that a statutory instruments will come into operation on the date of publication unless a later or earlier date is prescribed in the instrument.

Interestingly enough this 2010 law itself provides at regulation 2:

"These regulations shall come into effect three months from the date of publication."

Given that the date of publication is November 18, 2010 three months later would be February 18, 2011. Since one does not count the actual date of publication in computation of time the three months therefore will end of February 18 and so the law comes into effect on February 19, 2011.

Re: Cell phone driving ban to take effect February 2nd 2011

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 18th, 2011, 3:45 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ the law states

"No person shall drive or have charge of a motor vehicle on any road while holding or using a hand- held mobile device."

The law is not against communication, the law is against holding the device in your hand while operating the vehicle. This makes hands-free devices legal.

You CAN use a wired or wireless headset, in-ear-monitor, bluetooth device to receive a phone call and talk to the caller - this is legal.

Both hands should be on the steering wheel - so fiddling with your hands free device, trying to "pair it" to your phone while you are driving would be illegal. Holding your phone to dial a number would also be illegal.

there are hands free kits and headsets for CB radios and walkie-talkies as well - wired and wireless

so how yuh answering d calls or hanging up? if it has a button & yuh press it to answer/hang up daz illegal too?
lawd

usually you press the button on the device in your ear to answer and hang up.

the reason for the law is to prevent drivers from being distracted while driving. Using a hands free device for your phone will greatly reduce the distraction compared to holding the phone in your hand while driving.

eyephone

Postby eyephone » February 18th, 2011, 4:18 pm

^^^^ hahaha. Just got a mental image of Duane doing a facepalm.

Postby Chimera » February 18th, 2011, 4:32 pm

many handsfree also have voice commands to answer the call, and well the call cuts off when the other person hangs up.

the bluetooth s1, you just say "answer" or "accept call" and one or two other commmands if you want to answer the phone when a call comes in"

Postby X2 » February 18th, 2011, 5:50 pm

SO what about taxi drivers who does count cash while driving... dat still legal ?

Postby Chimera » February 18th, 2011, 6:03 pm

i still wanna know if yuh could eat and drive or drink pepsi and drive

cuz eating and driving far more difficult than talking on a cellphone and driving,

Re: From midnight

Postby S_2NR » February 18th, 2011, 7:10 pm

KLN Electronics wrote:
mitch wrote:
redman10 wrote:12 midnight on feb 18th is 12 o clock tonite...

12 midnight on feb 19th is 12 o clock tomoro night..

once the clock strikes 12 am at midnight..a new day begins..

no.

the 18th now start. midnight on feb. 18th is in 24 hours. the ban takes effect from Friday midnight

actually 12:00 midnight that just went was when the 18th started as in 12 am and this day will end at 11:59 pm therefore today is the day you get charged.

exactly..some ppl jus cant tell time i guess..

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 18th, 2011, 7:56 pm

geez allyuh still debating this? the ban is from midnight tonight like i said. some ppl really cant tell time or understand english for that matter

DF1_2nR

Re: From midnight

Postby DF1_2nR » February 18th, 2011, 11:41 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:get yuh plantronics 925's here
get yuh plantronics 925's here

Price?

Postby K74T » February 19th, 2011, 12:05 am

And it has begun!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 19th, 2011, 7:33 pm

Currently there's a wave of sales of Hands-free headsets going on because of this new law. Vendors are enjoying a boom in sales and profits are sky high.

I'm going to start selling my own brand of hands-free headsets.... brought in from a foreign country. Very easy to use, simple application and compatible with many different types of phone.

I hope people with buy it... remember, these laws are created by the most brilliant minds in our country - they always have our interests in hand.

Click here to see new hands-free kit

Computerman

Postby Computerman » February 20th, 2011, 2:25 pm

I good.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » February 22nd, 2011, 8:55 am

hear na... any brand headset would work on any phone? Like a samsung headset would work on a nokia phone or even one of those dual sim phones? I have no idea.

Postby Stephon. » February 22nd, 2011, 9:21 am

searchingone wrote:hear na... any brand headset would work on any phone? Like a samsung headset would work on a nokia phone or even one of those dual sim phones? I have no idea.

Once the phone has bluetooth any headset SHOULD work

searchingone

Postby searchingone » February 22nd, 2011, 9:26 am

That's what I was told about the generic headsets. Wasn't sure if this applied to the bigger brands as well. Cool thanks.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » February 22nd, 2011, 10:07 am

ah sellin pm me...cheep.

Postby RBphoto » February 22nd, 2011, 4:10 pm

Just bought a small clipon samsung. working with my blackberry...no problems.. so far. Find it strange that nowhere backing their stuff with warranty.

Postby Chimera » February 22nd, 2011, 4:18 pm

searchingone wrote:hear na... any brand headset would work on any phone? Like a samsung headset would work on a nokia phone or even one of those dual sim phones? I have no idea.

anyone earpiece/carkit with bluetooth suppose to work with any phone with bluetooth

however issues arising if you try to use a caller id and voice command enabled car kit/ ear piece with a chinese dual sim phone, the caller id not working for incoming calls and the voice commands not working for out going calls, it not pairing/synching properly.

I have 3 month warranty on my car kits

6 month warranty on plantronics 925 but minimum order of 20 pieces, @ $550 each