Tertiary Education Funding to be SEVERELY cut???

eyephone

Re: Tertiary Education Funding to be SEVERELY cut???

Postby eyephone » July 18th, 2010, 10:34 am

RASC wrote:
ek4ever wrote:RASC here's a better way to spend your time.....go through all the projects undertaken by the last PNM administration....check all the cost overruns of those that finish and those that still need finishing.....check all the last minute deals and contracts they made and the total amount of expenditure they've committed this new administration too.....costs for all the audits that will have to be done.....costs of losses being accrued on property not being used for gov't offices although money was spent to build them....costs of new subsidies....cost of losses on equipment purchased but not put into service.....then when you have a total of all this come back and talk some sense when you realise what could've been done with all that money.

Talk now

Okay, I will talk for your sake.
For all you typed above...I have one question.

WHO IS IN POWER?

Thank you, have a great weekend.

So you're saying that the PNM is absolved because they lost?

You've clearly adoped rowley's attitude where he opens his mouth for everything except for what HIS party did!

rowllley is just a different jockey shorts coverin the same ass.

Rx

Postby Rx » July 18th, 2010, 6:17 pm

oh fork .. I hope this is just rumours ....

Postby RASC » July 18th, 2010, 11:05 pm

eyephone wrote:
RASC wrote:
ek4ever wrote:RASC here's a better way to spend your time.....go through all the projects undertaken by the last PNM administration....check all the cost overruns of those that finish and those that still need finishing.....check all the last minute deals and contracts they made and the total amount of expenditure they've committed this new administration too.....costs for all the audits that will have to be done.....costs of losses being accrued on property not being used for gov't offices although money was spent to build them....costs of new subsidies....cost of losses on equipment purchased but not put into service.....then when you have a total of all this come back and talk some sense when you realise what could've been done with all that money.

Talk now

Okay, I will talk for your sake.
For all you typed above...I have one question.

WHO IS IN POWER?

Thank you, have a great weekend.

So you're saying that the PNM is absolved because they lost?

You've clearly adoped rowley's attitude where he opens his mouth for everything except for what HIS party did!

rowllley is just a different jockey shorts coverin the same ass.

I notice you're talking in PAST tense there. You mind getting... [elephantman]Up To Di Times[/elephantman]

eyephone

Postby eyephone » July 18th, 2010, 11:31 pm

My sincerest apologies. Carry on.

brickman

Postby brickman » July 19th, 2010, 1:03 am

I guess when certain people keep bringing up ramesh & panday,they speaking in present tense not past tense??

Postby RASC » July 19th, 2010, 6:43 am

brickman wrote:I guess when certain people keep bringing up ramesh & panday,they speaking in present tense not past tense??

Where did you see anyone mention Ramesh or Panday recently on the forum?

:?

Postby teems1 » July 19th, 2010, 8:12 am

@Rasc

what's good for the goose is good for the gander

you're allowed to bring up Ish and the airport scandal, but no one is allowed to bring up the last administration's cost overruns because "it's in the past"?

seriously, you sometimes make good points, but shoot yourself in the foot every time and negate any logical sense you made with your zealot like loyalty to the PNM.

brickman

Postby brickman » July 19th, 2010, 9:29 am

RASC wrote:
brickman wrote:I guess when certain people keep bringing up ramesh & panday,they speaking in present tense not past tense??

Ohhh gosh,you made me smile this morning!!You write so much pnm BS & propaganda everyday that you forget all the crap you & the other 2 blind mice spew!Maybe you need some stamina?
You continue to talk,we'll continue to laugh at you! :-D
Last edited by brickman on July 19th, 2010, 10:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

Goolie

Postby Goolie » July 19th, 2010, 10:27 am

just to clear the air on one matter... UWI has a Grade Point Average (GPA) system where you get a certain number of 'points' for each course you do and PASS meaning you have to pass the courses to earn credits. If your GPA falls below 0.75 (This happens if you fail or perform badly in many courses hence earn very few credits) you are immediately issued a 'Required to Withdraw' (RTW) letter. If at the end of your next semester you do not improve your GPA, YOU ARE KICKED THE FIRETRUCK OUT OF UWI. Forget about the 80% attendance, thats BS.

samureye

Postby samureye » July 19th, 2010, 2:00 pm

Gopeesingh and Kamla husband will make up the money needed with backdoor abortions. Allegedly.

Postby RASC » July 19th, 2010, 4:12 pm

brickman wrote:
RASC wrote:

Ohhh gosh,you made me smile this morning!!You write so much pnm BS & propaganda everyday that you forget all the crap you & the other 2 blind mice spew!Maybe you need some stamina?
You continue to talk,we'll continue to laugh at you! :-D

Can you quote where I made Ramesh or Panday statements recently please. Thanks

Postby RASC » July 19th, 2010, 4:19 pm

teems1 wrote:@Rasc

you're allowed to bring up Ish and the airport scandal, but no one is allowed to bring up the last administration's cost overruns because "it's in the past"?

The Ish case is still very much alive, kicking and relevant as of today. Why?
Because there are actual cases/charges against them with the courts of the land, as well as other international courts.

A cost overrun can only become relevant, if they have been tried and charges laid against the perps.

Has anyone been charged?
Has anyone been held in jail?
How much has their bail been set at?

Well then...no answer? Therefore it can only be hearsay and speculation. I need a case to be brought forth...then and only then can you use something of that nature to bolster your argument.

Everyone is quick to say who did what and how much they tief...well why not spend that energy on petitioning your party to get some work done and investigate the matter? Last time I checked, my party did in the case of Ish et al...what is the PP doing?

Postby MG Man » July 19th, 2010, 4:24 pm

RASC = STAMINA

Postby RASC » July 19th, 2010, 4:25 pm

MG Man wrote:RASC = STAMINA

Postby MG Man » July 19th, 2010, 4:46 pm

nice sig buddy

Postby AllTrac » July 19th, 2010, 5:00 pm

everytime RASC post i does feel like i listening to 91.9fm :?

Postby teems1 » July 19th, 2010, 5:13 pm

RASC wrote:

Because there are actual cases/charges against them with the courts of the land, as well as other international courts.

A cost overrun can only become relevant, if they have been tried and charges laid against the perps.

Has anyone been charged?

Well then...no answer? Therefore it can only be hearsay and speculation. I need a case to be brought forth...then and only then can you use something of that nature to bolster your argument.

Everyone is quick to say who did what and how much they tief...well why not spend that energy on petitioning your party to get some work done and investigate the matter? Last time I checked, my party did in the case of Ish et al...what is the PP doing?

Ok people, you heard RASC. There is to be absolutely NO talk of the costs pertaining to.

PM's House
NAPA POS
NAPA San Fernando
Waterfront project
Empty Ministry building in San Fernando (next to hospital)
VSOA
CHOGM
Brian Lara Stadium
Scarborough hospital
etc
etc

because there is no case against them yet.

Remember, for you to bring up anything, you need a proper case against them and post the source (periodicals, case # etc) . Any talk is just hearsay.

Anyway, since you're so keen on being legit, from the OP, why did you decline a putting your "sauce" on the GATE issue?

Shouldn't this entire thread be locked and dismissed as hearsay till a legitimate source is named?

JWT

Postby JWT » July 20th, 2010, 12:41 am

no more free secondary school books

thank god time for parents to stop buyin clarks and buyin books

Postby M_2NR » July 20th, 2010, 12:43 am

AllTrac wrote:everytime RASC post i does feel like i listening to 91.9fm :?

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 20th, 2010, 10:28 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:Removal of GATE would be a very bad blow since it was a promise of expansion and not removal....my view is it was abused and there should have been a clamp down by increasing the entry requirements.....everyone attending university but who really paying attention in classes and actually attaining an education?? The country is now saturated with 'educated' people without jobs or opportunities.....

Expand what exactly? The number of feeble minds? Fact of the matter is UWI has no major competition locally and the quality of education has diminished because of this. It does not help to know that UWI has also been severely diluted and infiltrated by imbeciles. I will say though that UWI's standard of teaching at the postgrad level is fairly decent, including its business and law school. Anything else is complete bullocks.

Aaron 2NR wrote:when students know the sacrifices made my their parents to send them to school, they work harder to ensure they get an education.....when ppl get it free they have the attitude that oh the government paying so i could firetruck around.........

my parents worked hard to send me to school and i ensured to attain my education and inishe in a timely manner and that's the same exact attitude i carry to the jobsite......get the work done safely and before all deadlines

Any parent who wants the best for their child would not be sending them to UWI. The smart and financially prepared parents of Trinidad & Tobago are sending their children to London, USA or Canada. By far one the best decisions my parents ever made.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 20th, 2010, 10:35 am

RASC wrote:Instead of a plan to substantially increase the revenue of the island, they (gov't) are going to be cutting programs and/or reducing the amount of funding made available.

Last years allocation by the gov't: $420Mil
This years proposed allocation by the gov't: $165Mil

...and is relying on an EU grant of another $165Mil totaling $330Mil
That's a 22% DECREASE from last years budget on higher learning in T&T.

So that means institutions such as UWI/COSTATT/TTHTI and programs as GATE are going to take a major blow this cycle.

When I read the manifesto of the UNC first thing that popped in my head was "HOW?"
How are they planning to pay for all these things? I made the suggestion that it's most likely GATE and other such programs are gonna be cut and contracted. I get cuss, as usual-and was again vilified after Kamla and Gopeesingh came on their respective pulpits and made announcements that there will be no such thing. Well guess what folks-it will become a reality budget day. Make this thread.

Enjoy it while you can...seriously. :?
Doh aksed meh whe de sauce come from. Juss mark de ched!

Honestly RASC, I support the cut. It will increase the standard of teaching and make UWI more exclusive. The more exclusive a school the more selective its admission process. Nowadays UWI accepts any and everyone, many of whom do not deserve to be there.

I also advocate an introduction of some sort of standardized examination (ie like the SATs in the US). Results on this examination would help determine who gets merit-based financial assistanace (ie GATE) and who does not meet the benchmark for admittance into UWI. All students should be required to pay at least half of the yearly tuition which would help recruit better faculty, improve the standard of facilities, introduce funding for study-abroad programs, scholarships, etc. Just a better and more well-rounded experience for undergraduates.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 20th, 2010, 11:08 am

RASC wrote:

Utter nonsense.....so if the govt sign a contract to build something for $300M and they end up spending $700M that is not a cost over run?

Has anyone been charged?

And this is exactly what the PP doing...trying to identify and investigate all the PNM bobol...you complaining they not doing that here and then elsewhere saying that's all they doing.....boy you should change yuh name to Cheerios cause yuh head so far up yuh a$$ and you so full of sh1t
Last edited by ek4ever on July 20th, 2010, 11:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 20th, 2010, 11:09 am

Gladiator at it again....

rxforever

Postby rxforever » July 20th, 2010, 1:51 pm

so ah hear utt gonna absorb costaatt and several costaatt employees are gonna be retrentched....ministry leak...will happen after elections...

rxforever

Postby rxforever » July 20th, 2010, 5:24 pm

Since corporal punishment out d window, we in latrine!!

Postby nervewrecker » July 20th, 2010, 9:08 pm

rxforever wrote:so ah hear utt gonna absorb costaatt and several costaatt employees are gonna be retrentched....ministry leak...will happen after elections...

wah?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » August 9th, 2010, 9:21 am

BUMP!!

Heard it on the News just now.. It's official

We time ftl

drop ho

Postby drop ho » August 9th, 2010, 9:56 am

Thank God!

JWT wrote:no more free secondary school books

thank god time for parents to stop buyin clarks and buyin books

Somebody give this man a frickkin award!!

Postby AllTrac » August 9th, 2010, 10:00 am

Picasso wrote:BUMP!!

Heard it on the News just now.. It's official

We time ftl

a bit more detail please, what exactly did you hear?

rxforever

Postby rxforever » August 9th, 2010, 10:38 am

hmmmm, well local elections are done, major changes to come in the Tertiary Level Ministry for major cost savings, review of UTT, review of ridiculously high salaries, as well as, non approved postions on organisation structures at both UTT and COSTAATT. The PP major sweep at the polls now paves the way for these changes, as well as , the absorption of COSTAATT into UTT....NEW CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD OF COSTAATT IS ADESH NANNAN...he is to assist with the absorption...the president of costaatt will be asked to resign,,,...more to come!!!1
in days to come more updates....