Re: Power Tools

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 13th, 2011, 8:38 am

Update

Porter Cable Planer PC60THPK - $911TT landed from Amazon

Neiko HVLP Conversion Gun $450TT landed from Amazon, 1.2 mm tip to spray Varnish and oil paint. HVLP for less overspray than a regular gun.

Porter Cable Compressor Accessory Kit $130 TT from Amazon - Has quick connects etc for the hose and other assorted crap

Hitachi NT50-AE2 Finish Nailer for my cupboards $475TT from Amazon vs $800+ at WHS, 2"x18ga nails

Postby Kenjo » September 13th, 2011, 9:04 am

i think i just found a new toy.the price looks great!

Hitachi NT50-AE2 Finish Nailer for my cupboards $475TT from Amazon vs $800+ at WHS, 2"x18ga nails

Image[/quote]

for just do it yourself projects does anyone use any pancake compressors to power these pneumatic equipment.i am trying to think of the cheapest and most mobile option for a compressor

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 13th, 2011, 9:51 am

Most tools that require continuous air to run eg. paint gun, impact wrench, sander etc would be starved by anything under 5 CFM. For a nail gun and smaller tools the pancake would be fine.

Match the CFM rating of the compressor with the CFM requirements of the tools and you should have no issue.

I bought a 27 Gal 7CFM Allpower compressor (practically no name brand) from PMart for $2200.

Compare that to anything you find locally for a similar price and you'll understand why i bought it, shiddy brand name and all.

Postby 16 cycles » October 10th, 2011, 2:32 pm

sale on now @ Tool Store...15% or thereabouts

Postby X_Factor » December 19th, 2011, 9:04 pm

lookin for a good hammerdrill
what u guys using these days
dont need ne big rotary type

also, since Stanley is now being made in China
do u think the quality has deteriorated?

and lastly
the Channelock set pricemart has for 700...
plz do research before buying, its not anything close to the Goodyear set they had

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 19th, 2011, 9:19 pm

my milwaukee drill is 13yrs old & still works well , it was bought slightly used back then & get rel licks over d yrs so that is to tell u d quality of a milwaukee

dunno how good nowadays model's hold up though

makita makes good stuff too

but whatever d brand : buy d model that is made for what kinda concrete drilling u intend to do since there are light duty h\drills too ...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 19th, 2011, 9:21 pm

btw - tools ?

*inserts shameless plug : ...i have some tools f\s .... :mrgreen:

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=410456&hilit=Some+New+Tools+for+sale
Last edited by - Rovin's car audio - on December 19th, 2011, 9:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pioneer » December 19th, 2011, 9:24 pm

X_Factor wrote:lookin for a good hammerdrill

and lastly
plz do research before buying, its not anything close to the Goodyear set they had

I bought this some years back...jus today i use it to drill some 5/16" holes in tough precast concrete...like normel

http://www.amazon.com/Bosch-1191VSRK-12 ... 184&sr=8-5

Postby X_Factor » December 19th, 2011, 9:36 pm

What about drill bits...
what u guys using?

cobalt, TiN, regular HSS?

anyone using the Dewalt DW511....its selling for 900 locally but im

thinking about ordering this, it would cost almost double th price however
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002JF ... PDKIKX0DER

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 19th, 2011, 9:47 pm

This is what i got from Amazon. Dewalt DW511. Actually cost around $900 landed so that price is good.

I destroyed the chuck once (my fault) and a replacement was easily found at Bhags for $125, less if you buy a generic one.

Works well for everything from 1/16" holes in sheet metal to 3/4" holes in 1/2" steel to 1/2" holes in solid premix concrete 9" deep (which destroyed the chuck with a bent bit)

I use regular HSS for steel. Used at the correct speed they last pretty long. If i got a drill doctor, then i'd never have to buy bits again.

Bosch masonry bits are very very good.
Last edited by Strugglerzinc on December 20th, 2011, 9:01 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 19th, 2011, 9:53 pm

X_Factor wrote:What about drill bits...
what u guys using?

cobalt, TiN, regular HSS?

anyone using the Dewalt DW511....its selling for 900 locally but im

thinking about ordering this, it would cost almost double th price however
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002JF ... PDKIKX0DER

i posted when u asked about bits in d ice section

looks good , interesting how d handle is located in d middle , cud be for a better center of gravity\balance when u holding it ?...

Postby X_Factor » December 19th, 2011, 9:54 pm

^how much that cost u and how is it holding out cause thats the same one im getting for 900 locally

yeah proper speeds is important when drilling, most ppl, including myself (in the past)
would drill at the highest speed and in no time bit dull and blame the bit

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 19th, 2011, 9:57 pm

X_Factor wrote:^how much that cost u and how is it holding out cause thats the same one im getting for 900 locally

yeah proper speeds is important when drilling, most ppl, including myself (in the past)

Edited above ^^^

Postby pugboy » December 19th, 2011, 10:18 pm

the makita 1500 series hammer drills are very good, I own 2, I used one until the switch stopped working and bought another one, got it fixed though.
variable speed too

X_Factor wrote:lookin for a good hammerdrill

and lastly

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 19th, 2011, 11:05 pm

^ I'm using a DeWalt DW505 Hammer Drill about 3 years now
works well

http://www.amazon.com/DEWALT-DW505-Vari ... B00004RHBA

I bought it at Bhagwansinghs Chaguanas but can't remember the price I paid

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » December 19th, 2011, 11:10 pm

had sale on the skil hammer drill $350 in home mart last weekend ... used it 4 times so far i say it pay back for wat i paid

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 19th, 2011, 11:27 pm

^^ You bought the router?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » December 19th, 2011, 11:30 pm

yes i did ...

Postby X_Factor » December 20th, 2011, 10:36 am

i pulled out the freud blade yesterday evening to alter a door and WOW!!!!
thats all i have to say

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 20th, 2011, 10:38 am

X_Factor wrote:^how much that cost u and how is it holding out cause thats the same one im getting for 900 locally

if u know when i see ppl doing dat how i does get vex eh & they bawling how d bit eh good & how it dull

recently i was pressed for time so i hired a welder to do some work that required some metal drilling too & this man in he 40s doing work for over 20yrs doing this assness with my bits & drill , i tell d man several times u doh ever drill steel at d highest speed but he insist u do & then dulled & break a 5\16 bit with he assness...... when i tell him i told u how come d day b4 i drilled 24 3\16" holes with d drill real quiet at slow to medium speed & not breaking d bit or dulling it : he get vex , he padna want to make excuse & say how sometimes like cars companies does make bits with defects ... :roll: :roll: :roll: ...i say ay lewwe doh go dong dat road otherwise if i didnt needed d work done i wuda tell d 2 of dem hull dey ass & gtfo

some ppl does feel they know everything , everything he drilling whether its thin or thick metal he going full blast , we had to use some purlin screws with d rubber washer on it for some flat metal sheets & this tard screwing it in so hard at that d washer squeezing out

ppl like dem so shud buy drills with 1 only speed ... :roll: :roll: :roll:

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 20th, 2011, 12:44 pm

People like them should be kept away from power tools.

Ah man doing work on my cupboards slice straight through the cord on my $1100+ Milwaukee circular saw then join and tape it back up and that wokkin good as new for him.

Now i hadda order a replacement cord.

Postby hydroep » December 20th, 2011, 1:16 pm

Allyuh good yes.

If a man wants to borrow a hammer or something so is all right. Power tools is a definite no no.

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 20th, 2011, 1:22 pm

hydroep wrote:Allyuh good yes.

If a man wants to borrow a hammer or something so is all right. Power tools is a definite no no.

True, but the man was working on MY cupboards. Was either let him use it or he stalls my work for god knows how long.

No win situation.

Postby X_Factor » December 20th, 2011, 1:30 pm

this year my aim was to construct my tool room and start stocking hand tools
it went well!!
next yr is power tools
Hammer Drill
electric planner
Router

Already have Chop saw, Circular Saw, Heat Gun, Glue Gun, Cheap corded and cordless drill

Postby hydroep » December 20th, 2011, 1:37 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
hydroep wrote:Allyuh good yes.

True, but the man was working on MY cupboards. Was either let him use it or he stalls my work for god knows how long.

No win situation.

I hear yuh.

Time was that a good tradesman would walk with his own tools. He knew that good tools were an investment and would treat them with care. Even if he took "a borrow" you could rest a little easier knowing that such an individual would be responsible with your equipment.

Can't say the same for some of these pipers nowadays.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » December 20th, 2011, 1:37 pm

X_Factor wrote:this year my aim was to construct my tool room and start stocking hand tools
it went well!!
next yr is power tools
Hammer Drill
electric planner
Router

Already have Chop saw, Circular Saw, Heat Gun, Glue Gun, Cheap corded and cordless drill

thats my goal for next yr .. i bought the tools and have them scattered all over in a unused room .. the garadge is not secured enuff to do a tool cabinet.

Postby pioneer » December 20th, 2011, 1:48 pm

I need ah decent but cheapish table saw

Postby X_Factor » December 20th, 2011, 3:30 pm

the cheapest but decent is the Skil brand
Home Mart

Postby pioneer » December 20th, 2011, 4:08 pm

btw Laughlin has a sale goin on...when you go to cash you get to pick a chip from a bag...different color = different discount

I got a 15% off...there's 15, 20, 25 and a $10,000 shopping spree with 50% off

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 20th, 2011, 8:38 pm

hydroep wrote:
Time was that a good tradesman would walk with his own tools. He knew that good tools were an investment and would treat them with care. Even if he took "a borrow" you could rest a little easier knowing that such an individual would be responsible with your equipment.

Can't say the same for some of these pipers nowadays.
because long ago there used to be craftsmen, today it only have contractors and labourers/workmen