Re: stiebel eltron DHC tankless waterheater

Postby ADONI » November 27th, 2013, 2:36 pm

Carry it by Water Source to fix.

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » November 27th, 2013, 2:51 pm

This is known as a flow switch. Because the part you pressed is not seating back, this entire part has to be changed. It costs $195.50 for the DHC 8-2 model heater and $326.09 for the DHC 10-2 model.
Both are available at Water Source.

Remember that the thermal overload tripped and you probably have a micro switch problem or a heating chamber problem. Please let somebody with experience check this unit.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » November 27th, 2013, 2:53 pm

ADONI wrote:Carry it by Water Source to fix.

zaria

Postby zaria » November 28th, 2013, 10:29 am

I just installed a used one in very same heater to see how well it works.
I also pressed the white button and had water leak for a while but it stopped.
(my problem was actually caused by a dead flying frog in filter)
If your water pressure is low it may leak,it needs a good pressure to reseat on it's own,you can try to wiggle it a bit to help it seat,or just leave it as i did and it stopped on it's own after a few hrs.
I am using this for a shower but don't like it's performance,it requires a certain amt of water flow to prevent the thermal shutdown,but my shower requires less water than it minium so it keeps cycling off.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » November 28th, 2013, 11:24 am

zaria wrote:I am using this for a shower but don't like it's performance,it requires a certain amt of water flow to prevent the thermal shutdown,but my shower requires less water than it minium so it keeps cycling off.

True!

Re: WTK Tank or Tankless Water Heater

Postby pugboy » March 18th, 2015, 4:47 pm

stiebel eltron dhc-8 went on the bomb today
looks like heating element is gone, $900+ to replace
4+years old, not sure if to get back one or revert to tank type.

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » March 24th, 2015, 9:58 pm

pugboy wrote:stiebel eltron dhc-8 went on the bomb today
looks like heating element is gone, $900+ to replace
4+years old, not sure if to get back one or revert to tank type.

How would you say it compared to the tank type heater on terms of cost and performance?

Postby pugboy » March 24th, 2015, 10:01 pm

there is a decrease in electricity bill of maybe $50-100 I think.
but it has to be close to the shower otherwise another outlet could hog the hot water.
the space savings is also a plus.

York

Postby York » March 26th, 2015, 3:14 am

i have a 20 gal tank type with double element. bought from Ramlagan. made a simple angle iron bracket and mounted on wall above laundry sink (or dryer also) to save space.

uses 6mm sq electrical wire with 30A breaker. tankless would be 10mm sq with 50A breaker.

IMO tank is the way to go, cheaper in the long run and if electricity gone, yuh have how water in yuh tank!!

Postby SR » March 26th, 2015, 8:12 am

Tankless is cheaper on electricity in the long run as it only turns in when hot water is needed where as tank cycles on and off to keep the water at a set temp in the tank all the time plus depending on the size of the tank you can run out of hot water on heavy usage

Postby pugboy » March 26th, 2015, 3:34 pm

Ony thing is tankless have a things to go bad and cost plenty to fix
-switching mechanism
-heating element
-some other electronics

b5er

Postby b5er » March 27th, 2015, 9:50 am

Tankless GAS, meaning no electric bill to worry about.
It uses normal LPG cooking gas to heat the water.

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » March 27th, 2015, 5:23 pm

b5er wrote:Tankless GAS, meaning no electric bill to worry about.

You have one? How long does the LPG tank last?

York

Postby York » March 28th, 2015, 1:00 am

SR wrote:Tankless is cheaper on electricity in the long run as it only turns in when hot water is needed where as tank cycles on and off to keep the water at a set temp in the tank all the time plus depending on the size of the tank you can run out of hot water on heavy usage

but it's like running a welding plant, 50A, so need to look at your panel capacity and how that coming on every time u need hot water will affect the total load on the panel.

b5er

Postby b5er » March 31st, 2015, 4:39 pm

shottah_crew wrote:
b5er wrote:Tankless GAS, meaning no electric bill to worry about.

You have one? How long does the LPG tank last?

I'd say approx. 3 weeks on a small 20lbs tank.
Five in family showering everyday sometimes twice a day. We don't use it for anything else, just showers.

Postby Kenjo » June 1st, 2015, 6:25 am

Are there any plug in shower head heater attachments?i need a temporary solution for hot water for a shower

Postby pugboy » June 1st, 2015, 7:16 am

plenty go in any hardware and ask for Fame showerhead heater
around $120-140

Postby Kenjo » June 1st, 2015, 7:18 am

These don't need to be hard wired ? I mean to plug into a 110-120 V plug and that's it versus the shower head that has wires that need to be installed

Postby pugboy » June 1st, 2015, 7:21 am

get an electrician to advise you as they all need a good circuit supply
don't burn down house accidentally

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » July 26th, 2015, 12:30 am

Looking for a 40g tank water heater (either A.O. Smith, Bradford White, not sure of any other reputable brands) to replace my old one that has sprung a leak.

Went Home Express where I bought my old A.O. Smith some years back, but they're out of stock - they only have some "American" brand which I'm not interested in.

Where else could I find them - preferably the A.O. Smith, so it would (hopefully) just line back up with the existing plumbing, thus avoiding any re-routing of water lines?

Thanks.

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » July 26th, 2015, 12:44 am

Anand electrical
Bradford white
40 gal. Water heater
47" high x 18" dia
$2800

Let me know the prices and size of the other brands please

Postby pugboy » July 26th, 2015, 8:53 am

does anybody sell replacement sacrificial anode locally ?
that is the big bolt head you see on top,
when that goes the tank will rust soon after and time for a new unit.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » July 26th, 2015, 2:43 pm

francis1979 wrote:Anand electrical
Bradford white
40 gal. Water heater
47" high x 18" dia
$2800

Let me know the prices and size of the other brands please
Tks. Will check.

Anywhere else? I know Home Express had the AO Smith for $2595, and the American for $2400

Postby pugboy » July 26th, 2015, 10:15 pm

L's General Hardware arouca usually has good prices,
Ramlagan's hardware balmain couva

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » July 26th, 2015, 10:36 pm

Tks again.

Postby 88sins » July 27th, 2015, 3:13 pm

op, jus be tankful yuh have water

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 1st, 2017, 10:04 am

my Stiebel Eletron tankless heater is giving trouble. It does not heat up the water. I am also not getting a status light.... UNLESS I manual press the reset button to the top of the heating element. The water gets hot and status light comes on for like 10 seconds then it shuts off again.

Any idea?

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 1st, 2017, 10:07 am

... may need a good plumber near the Petit Valley area

trinipunter

Postby trinipunter » June 3rd, 2017, 8:11 pm

oh god give we price with vat nah. how much % is vat?

daron

Postby daron » June 4th, 2017, 7:21 am

my Stiebel Eletron tankless heater is giving trouble. It does not heat up the water. I am also not getting a status light.... UNLESS I manual press the reset button to the top of the heating element. The water gets hot and status light comes on for like 10 seconds then it shuts off again.

Any idea?
That's​ more than likely the heater Element
Same thing happened to my Rheem when I open it the element were busted
Roto plastic are the agent they do house visit or lock off valves take it off and carry to them