prefab houses

Re: prefab houses

Postby sMASH » March 5th, 2017, 9:11 am

i worked with something close to prefab. it was fiber-glassed instead of concrete. it was light weight and provided good insulation.
problem was, where ever there was any torque applied, it broke. where the door hinges attached and the door handle/knob.
it just worked it loose till the bolts wore through, with the opening and closing. the structure sounded like a big ply wood house. the sides were estimated to be 3" thick.

i would look at placing a solid beam or something inside the spots where hinges or handles need to go, for them to mount onto that instead of only a prefab section.

Postby Slartibartfast » March 8th, 2017, 4:26 pm

sMASH wrote:i worked with something close to prefab. it was fiber-glassed instead of concrete. it was light weight and provided good insulation.
problem was, where ever there was any torque applied, it broke. where the door hinges attached and the door handle/knob.
it just worked it loose till the bolts wore through, with the opening and closing. the structure sounded like a big ply wood house. the sides were estimated to be 3" thick.

i would look at placing a solid beam or something inside the spots where hinges or handles need to go, for them to mount onto that instead of only a prefab section.
Regardless of what building material you are using, all openings and corners would need some form of additional reinforcement (unless you are using a r/c wall or fully loaded blocks).

For brick structures you need to reinforce and fill the blocks around all openings to minimize cracking as well as give your door hinges and window frames something to anchor to (as you correctly pointed out).

Postby nervewrecker » June 4th, 2017, 11:16 pm

twicedead2 wrote:I was thinking bout buyin one or two 40ft container and converting it and putting it in meh mammy backyard boidan, no need to buy land, just pay for the unit and conversion.

Given current container prices I was thinking if something like this.
A decent amount of space, two stories, two or more car garage in the center and should cost me under $150k for the units and conversion. Say $200k total and it can be a temporary home for a few years while i organising the rest of lots.

What issues T&C will have with this?

I know the neighbors will have issues. They now fix the road and I looking to start bringing in trucks with material soon. Image

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » June 4th, 2017, 11:45 pm

Nerve that look good. Maybe tell dem yuh go fix the road for them back

Postby nervewrecker » June 5th, 2017, 7:32 am

Had a thread on container houses. Was browsing it last night. Was trying to see if anyone attempted such. I know they use them offshore, on some construction sites and on drilling locations on land and some are very comfortable.

Postby nervewrecker » June 5th, 2017, 7:43 am

Postby The_Honourable » June 27th, 2017, 2:02 am

So these are the options so far:

DOCS Homes Ltd: - Precasting using the Waffle-Crete method. Concrete is placed directly in lightweight molds, which are placed on site. Once cured, it can be erected. The ribs act as beams and columns.

http://www.docseng.net

Steel Framed Engineering Solutions - Steel Frame System using computer designs and roll forming manufacturing which is done in-house. Trusses and panels are assembled at location of construction.

http://www.steel-framed.com

SteelVilla Caribbean - Light steel frame system. They use the "Websteel" design or Open web steel joists which is used heavily in the prefabricated house industry in some countries such as China.

http://www.steelvillacaribbean.com

Therml Impac Affordable Homes Company Limited (TIACHO): Prefabricated system using 3D designed panel made up of high tensile steel, a core of expanded polystyrene and an outer layer of Portland cement.

http://www.tiahco.com/

Omega Building Systems Limited - Formerly Agostini Industries Limited. They have two prefabrication options: Cold formed steel system (CFS) and the Structural Insulated Panel Building System (SIPS) which consists of an insulating foam core sandwiched between two structural facings, typically oriented strand board.

http://www.omegabuildsystems.com/

Ceramic Trinidad Limited - Instead of the typical red blocks, brickstones in the form of panels are used. Not sure if they are real or manufactured but i believe it's the latter. Electrical and water lines would run on the surface of the inside wall which is then covered by a gypsum wall finish.

http://ceramictrinidadltd.com/product-s ... lications/

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » July 1st, 2017, 9:14 am

Thanks for that. Any reviews/experiences anyone?

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » May 18th, 2018, 10:46 am

The_Honourable wrote:So these are the options so far:

DOCS Homes Ltd: - Precasting using the Waffle-Crete method. Concrete is placed directly in lightweight molds, which are placed on site. Once cured, it can be erected. The ribs act as beams and columns.

http://www.docseng.net

Steel Framed Engineering Solutions - Steel Frame System using computer designs and roll forming manufacturing which is done in-house. Trusses and panels are assembled at location of construction.

http://www.steel-framed.com

SteelVilla Caribbean - Light steel frame system. They use the "Websteel" design or Open web steel joists which is used heavily in the prefabricated house industry in some countries such as China.

http://www.steelvillacaribbean.com

Therml Impac Affordable Homes Company Limited (TIACHO): Prefabricated system using 3D designed panel made up of high tensile steel, a core of expanded polystyrene and an outer layer of Portland cement.

http://www.tiahco.com/

Omega Building Systems Limited - Formerly Agostini Industries Limited. They have two prefabrication options: Cold formed steel system (CFS) and the Structural Insulated Panel Building System (SIPS) which consists of an insulating foam core sandwiched between two structural facings, typically oriented strand board.

http://www.omegabuildsystems.com/

Ceramic Trinidad Limited - Instead of the typical red blocks, brickstones in the form of panels are used. Not sure if they are real or manufactured but i believe it's the latter. Electrical and water lines would run on the surface of the inside wall which is then covered by a gypsum wall finish.

http://ceramictrinidadltd.com/product-s ... lications/
Prices?