NEXEN.............get what you pay for

SPEC S

Postby SPEC S » February 26th, 2010, 4:19 pm

Toyo Proxes FTW..............the old datsun have Nexen N3000 tyres on it 3 years now, but thats not a daily, made about 4000km with them..............only problem I see with nexens, its a really hard tyre :? .......Again I say, Toyo Proxes T1R = 8-)

Postby MG Man » February 26th, 2010, 6:28 pm

30hz wrote:
30hz wrote:that cracking could be caused by a lack of amour-all

The tuntunitis is strong in this one

I was joking bout the amour-all,

but i did do a defensive driving course and the vehicle maintenance section insisted that amour-all[b] in and out of the tyre was recommended. [/b]

that cracking happened to me too on some nexen. never buying dem again

ORLY
where was this?

ingalook

Postby ingalook » February 26th, 2010, 11:10 pm

You really can't call them a "Cheap tyre" They are around $500 for a set of 15s

You may not like the quality but yuh cyar call them cheap :lol:

Postby A172 » February 27th, 2010, 2:24 am

ingalook, shhh

yuh talking to de 'experts' here

Postby equipped2ripp » February 27th, 2010, 2:33 am

SR wrote:side wall cracking is not a fault of the tyre but from under inflation as well as abuse

yup... I had a set of BF Goodrich on my vehicle and the sidewalls cracked because of under inflation.

Postby MG Man » February 27th, 2010, 7:14 am

equipped2ripp wrote:
SR wrote:side wall cracking is not a fault of the tyre but from under inflation as well as abuse

yup... I had a set of BF Goodrich on my vehicle and the sidewalls cracked because of under inflation.

phreakazoid wrote:^^^ I had cracks just like that develop on two different brands of tyres- Nexen and Kumho....I was told that i didn't maintain proper tyre pressure.... now i'm confused

you can have a sidewall seperation from underinflation as well.............however, the telltale sign of sidewall failure due to underinflation is powdered rubber inside the tyre, indicating sidewall breakdown due to excessive flexing and heat from being underinflated.....you actually see rubber 'dust' inside the tyre.....that's the definitive sign....in exterme cases the inner carcas also appears feathered as well, as the rubber disintegrates.....otherwise, you are looking at a defect

In the case of the tyres pictured here, no powder, no inner sidewall damage....

I have witnessed sidewall failure from underinflation first hand when I was working for a tyre company....the car was a Mini Cooper S
you woull swear someone took a knife and slit the sidewall...needless to say, the owner was upset that his premium brand tyre had failed....his other three tyres were between 10 and 15 psi
Being low profile, hard sidewall tyres, they looked like they were hard.....but once dismounted, he saw the heap of rubber dist and damaged inner sidewall.............

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 27th, 2010, 12:30 pm

Unkle MG Man, is it true that Nexens are mainly found among those who run crims?

Or is it found now with the black+chrome fraternity?

And how does it tie into those using "cut-spring coilovers" & underbody neons?

Your thoughts :?:

Postby eliteauto » February 27th, 2010, 1:40 pm

biggy82 wrote:
30hz wrote:that cracking could be caused by a lack of amour-all

how you going to Armor-All the inside of the tyre? :roll:

So you never do that????? Steups NOOB you does attach the armour-all to a compressor and mist the inside through the valve stem :roll:

Postby MG Man » February 27th, 2010, 2:57 pm

Knight1 wrote:Unkle MG Man, is it true that Nexens are mainly found among those who run crims?

Or is it found now with the black+chrome fraternity?

And how does it tie into those using "cut-spring coilovers" & underbody neons?

Your thoughts :?:

as long as you use the 'word' 'bess' frequently, you get a free 4-pak of Nexens in the mail

sensiman

Postby sensiman » February 27th, 2010, 4:38 pm

SR wrote:most people who use low profile tyres on thier vehicles drive them as if they are running regular profile

dont blame the tyre

and nexen's have better wet traction than some more expensive tyres

dry traction was ok

and they tend to get noisy after the first 3 months

last long though

in its price range is comparable to others and better than most for its overall performance

side wall cracking is not a fault of the tyre but from under infaltion as well as abuse

yuh low profile tyre was not meant to hit trini pothole and climb curbs when trying to park

Most sensible thing said in this entire thread.

I have had nexens all weather on my SUV for almost 2 years and have made runs from Toronto straight to New York city, and also to Niagara and back in hot, rainy , and snowstorm conditions without a complaint or any issues. A relative here has the same tyre but different size on his Acura MDX and his old arse Pathfinder and drives at least 5 times more than I do.

According to the guy I bought the tyres from, they are cheaper than most (not by much though) but people still blindly equate high cost with quality :roll:

Maybe the grade, or age of Nexens, that some of the suppliers in Trini has, is compromised.

In case some of you don't know, there is a sidewall stamp that indicates the month and year of manufacture of a tyre.

Postby A172 » February 27th, 2010, 7:15 pm

sensiman, ez dey bro

yuh talking to de self proclaimed tuner analysts

bow before their world renowned 'experience' and opinions

rossi

Postby rossi » February 27th, 2010, 9:03 pm

So I stuck with what I had before and bought ah pair of Dunlop tyres today. More money but that's no scene
....honestly, this thread made me NOT buy Nexen.
plus, the little info on how to check the manufacture date was helpful too...(late 2009) :mrgreen:

ingalook

Postby ingalook » February 28th, 2010, 2:09 am

NOT A CHEAP TYRE! :|

RB25-DET

Postby RB25-DET » February 28th, 2010, 1:01 pm

sensiman, Well said man, the grade and age of these tyres are questionable,
Men buying foreign used tyres and racing with them and want to know why it cracking and blowin out :?

Re: NEXEN.............get what you pay for

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 26th, 2011, 1:03 pm

guess nexens are out of my options then....

Postby cinco » July 26th, 2011, 1:15 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:guess nexens are out of my options then....

nuh really live up to yuh name

Rx

Postby Rx » July 26th, 2011, 1:35 pm

ah li amoural go fix up dem sidewall crack real nice ....LOL

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 26th, 2011, 1:37 pm

Rx wrote:ah li amoural & CRAZY GLOO go fix up dem sidewall crack real nice ....LOL

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 26th, 2011, 1:38 pm

seriously guys looking for a set of tyres......

any recommendations then?

MichaelR

Postby MichaelR » July 26th, 2011, 1:38 pm

I now realize Roadstone is Nexen. They still much better than cheap Bolex which does swell real easy with bad road

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 26th, 2011, 1:55 pm

MichaelR wrote:I now realize Roadstone is Nexen. They still much better than cheap Bolex which does swell real easy with bad road

:shock: serious ??? , for all we know it cud be 1 or 2 big plants manufacturing it for companies who ordering it with their brand names

never heard of d "bolex" brand ....

Postby Dizzy28 » July 26th, 2011, 2:10 pm

Bolex and Triangle are two Chinese brands that were banned from being imported into Australia. I would trust in the Aussies standards and never even think of purchasing those tyres.

Postby bluesteel29 » July 26th, 2011, 2:21 pm

they should ban fused tire....ya like to jive...spen ya morney

Postby Hook » July 26th, 2011, 2:28 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:seriously guys looking for a set of tyres......

There are enough tyre threads in the Tech Forum for you to get an idea of what to expect before you purchase.

This thread is not about that.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 26th, 2011, 3:50 pm

i got regative reviews on nexen, triangle, nankang, roadstone, mrf and to a lesser extent, kumho. On the flipside I get some excellent reviews on them.

everyone just dont have the cash for bridgestone, firestone, continental, michelin, riken, cooper, falken, dunlop, pirelli and goodyear etc.

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » July 26th, 2011, 4:02 pm

^ 17" Dunlops are like $100-$150 more than nexen of the same size/profile so you don't have to spend lots of money to get a decent tyre.

Postby Trini Hookah » July 26th, 2011, 4:13 pm

The Bridgestone's I have on now much noisier than the Dunlops I had before :(

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 26th, 2011, 4:16 pm

Hook wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:seriously guys looking for a set of tyres......

There are enough tyre threads in the Tech Forum for you to get an idea of what to expect before you purchase.

This thread is not about that.

but its about tyres not so?

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 26th, 2011, 4:23 pm

my toyo's starting to get noisy...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 26th, 2011, 4:45 pm

buh *$kїđž!™ you asked in the tech boards...bump those threads accordingly, where more honed in constructive suggestions would be offered.....
yuh eh think so man?