Official BlackBerry Thread

Postby wagonrunner » February 8th, 2010, 9:40 am

like pikachu said.

Install BlackBerry Desktop Software 4.1 or later on the computer.

When you install BlackBerry Desktop Software, the drivers that allow the BlackBerry device to communicate through the Universal Serial Bus (USB) port and virtual COM port are installed. The Standard Modem, which is used by dial-up networking, is also installed.

Note: If upgrading your BlackBerry Desktop Software from version 4.0 to 4.1, the required Virtual COM Port and Standard Modem might be removed during the upgrade process. If this is the case, re-install the BlackBerry Desktop Software 4.1 or later and choose the Repair option to re-install these components.

Task 2

Set up an Internet APN.

1. Go to Start > Settings > Control Panel.
2. Double-click Phone and Modem Options.
3. In the Phone and Modem Options window, click the Modems tab.
4. Select Standard Modem and click Properties.
5. Click on Change Settings.
6. In the Standard Modem Properties window, click the Advanced tab.
7. In the Extra initialization commands field, type the following:

+cgdcont=1,"IP","<your Internet APN>"

Note: The following is applicable for BMobile customers:

The Extra initialization command is: +cgdcont=1,"IP","Internet"

Note: If you do not know your Internet APN, or if you do not have an Internet APN, contact your service provider.

1. Click OK.
2. In the Phone and Modem Options window, click OK.

Task 3

To configure dial-up networking, complete the procedure that is appropriate to the operating system you are using:

Windows Vista

Go to Start > Control Panel > Hardware and Sound > Phone and Modem Options

If opening Phone and Modem Options for the first time, a dialog box displays prompting you to enter an area code and access codes.

Windows XP operating system

1. Go to Start > Settings > Network Connections.
2. Double-click New Connection Wizard. The New Connection Wizard opens.
3. Click Next.
4. Select the Connect to the Internet option. Click Next.
5. Select Set up my connection manually. Click Next.
6. Select Connect using a dial-up modem. Click Next.
7. If the Select a Device screen appears, select the Modem - Standard Modem check box. Click Next.
8. In the ISP Name field, type a name for your connection. Click Next.
9. In the Phone number field, type *99#. Click Next.
10. Indicate which users will have access to the connection. Click Next.
11. Type the user name and password provided by your service provider. Click Next.
12. Click Finish.
13. In the Connect window, click Properties.
14. In the Properties window, verify that Modem - Standard Modem appears beneath the Connect using heading, then click Configure.
15. In the Modem Configuration window, clear the Enable hardware flow control check box and make sure none of the other check boxes are selected. Click OK. In the Properties window, click OK.

Windows 2000 operating system

1. Go to Start > Settings > Control Panel.
2. Double-click Network and Dial-up Connections.

Note: The following is applicable for T-Mobile customers only:

Under the networking tab in the properties window for the dial-up connection, Enable LCP Extensions must be unchecked, as well as every other box beneath the PPP window.

1. Double-click Make New Connection. The Network Connection Wizard opens.
2. Click Next.
3. Choose Dial-up to private network. Click Next.
4. In the Phone number field, type *99#. Click Next.
5. Indicate which users will have access to the connection. Click Next.
6. Type a name for your connection. Click Finish.
7. In the Connect window, click Properties.
8. In the Properties window, verify that Modem - Standard Modem is selected, then click Configure.
9. In the Modem Configuration window, clear the Enable hardware flow control check box and make sure none of the other check boxes are selected. Click OK.
10. In the Properties window, click OK.

Task 4

After creating the dial-up network connection, open BlackBerry Desktop Manager and select Connection Settings from the Options menu. Instead of selecting USB-PIN, select the COM port (COM3 for example). Check Enable USB-to-serial converter compatibility.

Important: Do not click on Detect. Click OK instead. BlackBerry Desktop Manager shows disconnected. You should now be able to connect successfully.

Note: BlackBerry Desktop Manager must be running for the tethered modem to function.

If Microsoft Outlook® is not operating in cache mode, you might receive a message indicating that BlackBerry Desktop Manager cannot contact the messaging server. If this message appears, click Cancel to proceed.

Task 5

Connect to the Internet using dial-up networking.

Note: During this procedure, do not operate the BlackBerry® Browser or any third-party applications on the BlackBerry device. An active data session may interfere with the modem connection. Also, make sure an ethernet connection is not active at the same time.

1. Connect the BlackBerry device to the computer.
2. Open BlackBerry Desktop Manager.
3. Click Start > Settings > Network Connections > <name of your new connection>.
4. Type the user name and password provided by your service provider.
5. Click Dial.

Postby tr1ad » February 8th, 2010, 9:42 am

task 5 is what i explained mafia lancer

mafia lancer

Postby mafia lancer » February 8th, 2010, 9:48 am

I did actually visit crackberry and some other sites which listed those steps above. Problem is When I go to Options, Advanced Options, TCP-IP I could not see any settings for my APN...

Picasso

Postby Picasso » February 8th, 2010, 9:53 am

mafia lancer wrote:I did actually visit crackberry and some other sites which listed those steps above. Problem is When I go to Options, Advanced Options, TCP-IP I could not see any settings for my APN...

There is a tab where you can select the check box that gives you that option so that you can edit the info. on the other tab. I don't know why it is like that but it surley frustrates anyone that trynig to set it up :lol:

Let me see if I can email you the word document. PM me your email address.

mafia lancer

Postby mafia lancer » February 8th, 2010, 9:54 am

And would it make a difference if I use Desktop Manager 5.0 ?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » February 8th, 2010, 9:57 am

Nope it doesn't make a difference.. It's the same changes that you will need to make.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » February 8th, 2010, 9:59 am

This part is the most important.. There is a Tab that has a check box that lets you enter the command... I can't remember which one off the top of my head. It should be the first Tab that has the check box.

Postby tr1ad » February 8th, 2010, 10:00 am

i didnt make changes to my system, just as i described in my first post was done

and i am also on win 7

the changes were made to DM 5.0.1 nothing else

mafia lancer

Postby mafia lancer » February 8th, 2010, 10:15 am

TR1ad When I try your method, I get the following error..

Blackberry DM failed to start IP Modem session using the connected device:
There was a hardware failure in the modem (or other connecting device)
Please check your profile settings and make sure your radio is turned on. The service might also have been turned off by your wireless service providor or admin.

For the APN field, do I select Internet from the list of options and carriers they have to select? This is what I tried..

mafia lancer

Postby mafia lancer » February 8th, 2010, 10:17 am

Also When I go Options-Advanced Options-TCP-IP- on my BB I noticed APN Settings Enabled was not selected, So I checked this Box. Now do I inout a name for APN?

Also should I check the APN Authentication Enabled box?
On my phone that is..

Postby tr1ad » February 8th, 2010, 10:19 am

go to configure

and click create custom profile

there you will see profile settings
from there just type internet in the apn / access point field

and save

you do have BIS on your phone right

Postby tr1ad » February 8th, 2010, 10:20 am

on the phone enable apn authentication
apn field type internet and save

Postby tr1ad » February 8th, 2010, 10:21 am

dunno rasc, but i would think they would leave that feature

mafia lancer

Postby mafia lancer » February 8th, 2010, 10:21 am

Yes I do have the internet service.

Hmm well when I tried to create a custom one, I noticed that there was a default one in the drop down already called Internet. I also tried using this and same error.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » February 8th, 2010, 10:23 am

^^ yuh get passed this point ?

Picasso wrote:

This part is the most important.. There is a Tab that has a check box that lets you enter the command... I can't remember which one off the top of my head. It should be the first Tab that has the check box.

Postby tr1ad » February 8th, 2010, 10:25 am

i eh understand .... u dl all the software... not no bootleg

even tho what wagonrunner and picasso telling you can be used, i never did that and i hardly use bb as a modem

well i guess they would guide you further

Postby Gem_in_i » February 8th, 2010, 10:25 am

Since jan i find the BB service is very slow. :?

Postby tr1ad » February 8th, 2010, 10:26 am

mafia lancer wrote:Yes I do have the internet service.

Hmm well when I tried to create a custom one, I noticed that there was a default one in the drop down already called Internet. I also tried using this and same error.

I SAID CREATE ONE,

not use what they have there

Postby tr1ad » February 8th, 2010, 10:27 am

well the way bmobile offer it to every harry lall and parbatee everyone have a bb an is d in thing now

Picasso

Postby Picasso » February 8th, 2010, 10:34 am

^^ That $499 sale is the lowest price one can get a BB for right now.. The ting tun dog phone :lol: :lol:

Postby wagonrunner » February 8th, 2010, 10:34 am

tr1ad wrote:i eh understand .... u dl all the software... not no bootleg

even tho what wagonrunner and picasso telling you can be used, i never did that and i hardly use bb as a modem

well i guess they would guide you further

the above was the info given me, and it was used to configure xp, vista, and win7 machines with no problems.
i unfortunately don't have an excuse to stand on, while in the bush this weekend.

Postby wagonrunner » February 8th, 2010, 10:38 am

Picasso wrote:^^ That $499 sale is the lowest price one can get a BB for right now.. The ting tun dog phone :lol: :lol:

price without new contract?

mafia lancer

Postby mafia lancer » February 8th, 2010, 10:40 am

Sorry I should have said I could not create one because they tell me a duplicate exists and it cannot be deleted as this is a stock selection from the list.
I tried creating a new one called NET and set the same APN name on my BB but same error..

Postby Gem_in_i » February 8th, 2010, 10:41 am

yea, all the extra people on the network since Xmas :arrow:

mafia lancer

Postby mafia lancer » February 8th, 2010, 10:42 am

Ok I going to try everything over from scratch and see if Picasso steps worked although I tried already.

So this is the exact command we using --+cgdcont=1,"IP","Internet"

Let me try adjusting this to see.
But then doing it this way will mean I connecting through windows and not using the bb dm itself right?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » February 8th, 2010, 10:44 am

Picasso wrote:^^ That $499 sale is the lowest price one can get a BB for right now.. The ting tun dog phone :lol: :lol:

price without new contract?

You have to take a new number and 2 year contract along with the BB interweb service for atleast 3 months. Best deal deh for who want a BB.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » February 8th, 2010, 10:45 am

^^ Yeah just copy and past it as is....

+cgdcont=1,"IP","Internet"

Postby noshownogo » February 8th, 2010, 10:50 am

like meh subscription to the tuner BB group run out oui :oops:

FS: 1 BB Bold2 :|

Postby RASC » February 8th, 2010, 10:52 am

There's an entire BLACKBERRY THREAD, directly above this one... :|

Postby wagonrunner » February 8th, 2010, 10:56 am

Picasso wrote:You have to take a new number and 2 year contract along with the BB interweb service for atleast 3 months. Best deal deh for who want a BB.

thats meh problem.
i already have a bb, a 8800, so you know how long i had that. would like to upgrade to a newer model the 1broke / Old Chap way.
any suggestions? i po'