4 dead in accident in Sangre Chiquito (Cocoa Village???)

2 d Max Auto
Location: SMR Chase Village, 1 Minute North of Triangle. Open 7AM to 7PM. Call: 461-234

Postby 2 d Max Auto » January 18th, 2010, 10:35 am

SPK1983, sorry to hear about your friends bro, I can only imagine how hard that must be.......honour them with the memories of the good times you hard with them.

janfar, good looking out buddy, thanks for being a kind hearted humanitarian we need more ppl like you on the road, who will actually stop to render assistance rather than to just "maco".

May they all R.I.P :(

Postby wagon r » January 18th, 2010, 12:43 pm

SPK1983 firstly, sorry for you loss and to those as well who posted here that knew the 4 friends.....

...i nearly lost family around there already.

...a question i want to ask though.....lookin at the pic in the paper and not wanting to make an assumtion...on which side did the corolla get hit, because the pic in the newsday, looks to me that is was broadside on the passenger side not head on...

...given my job, i want the facts should use this accident as a case study in the future.

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 18th, 2010, 1:17 pm

i wish all involved in this accident who made it out alive and all considering such actions in the future.....I hope you all learned a lesson , a lesson paid for by 3 innocent people. the driver was the captain of his ship-he faulted.

we had a meeting about this accident this morning and from all sides the corolla seemed to be at fault.....

you young guys need to respect the machine u drive....

Postby SR » January 18th, 2010, 1:40 pm

80kph on that stretch at night is too fast for an inexepreinced driver

oncoming headlights can blind the driver and if inexperienced they tend to pull to the middle of the road as they cannot eitheer see or aveverage the left side of the road

Postby r3iXmann » January 18th, 2010, 1:50 pm

i think its time someone makes an issue of the media's foolish "ah hear" type reporting..i know newsday paid some bucks a while ago because of this..if we keep pressing it,hopefully this nonsense will stop

Postby Maserati » January 18th, 2010, 2:00 pm

RIP to those who died

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » January 18th, 2010, 2:11 pm

SR wrote:80kph on that stretch at night is too fast for an inexepreinced driver

oncoming headlights can blind the driver and if inexperienced they tend to pull to the middle of the road as they cannot eitheer see or aveverage the left side of the road

van headlight are even worse because of their height it seems to be like a bright beam

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » January 18th, 2010, 2:47 pm

Sky wrote:
SR wrote:RIP to everyone

BUT

jeez

"DRAG RACING"

oh please

when will news reporters learn common firetruck sense

So SPK1983, The car went and meet 2 other cars to drag race eh.
I wish the media can be held liable for reporting untruth and causing defamation of character. Dead or alive.

Sue dey mc

Fuzz Master

Postby Fuzz Master » January 18th, 2010, 3:26 pm

rip to all that were involved

W2J

Postby W2J » January 18th, 2010, 3:49 pm

SR wrote:80kph on that stretch at night is too fast for an inexepreinced driver

I was never aware you could rent a car under 25.
Last edited by W2J on January 18th, 2010, 4:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

boost11

Postby boost11 » January 18th, 2010, 3:50 pm

i think someone else rented it under their name

W2J

Postby W2J » January 18th, 2010, 4:09 pm

boost11 wrote:i think someone else rented it under their name

well if that's the case then the Rental company could sue for breach of contract and also the police might also lay charges for fraud ect

boost11

Postby boost11 » January 18th, 2010, 4:13 pm

lets hope not..i think the families are suffering enough as it is

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » January 18th, 2010, 4:34 pm

Sky wrote:So SPK1983, The car went and meet 2 other cars to drag race eh.

Of course! We were all trying to see if our stock wagons could have been able to hit 100mph on those hills around the place! Dontcha know???

After all, everybody know I love nothing more than drag racing!

[/sarcasm]

oncoming headlights can blind the driver and if inexperienced they tend to pull to the middle of the road as they cannot either see or average the left side of the road

I was in front of the group, and the van lights blinded me when it approached my vehicle, hence why i flashed my high beam on and off to make sure it was his normal headlights, and even pulled to the edge of the left side of the road before he passed me. I would faster take my chances going into the bush than into another vehicle if possible.
Last edited by SPK1983 on January 18th, 2010, 4:39 pm, edited 2 times in total.

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » January 18th, 2010, 4:37 pm

wagon r wrote:SPK1983 firstly, sorry for you loss and to those as well who posted here that knew the 4 friends.....

...i nearly lost family around there already.

...a question i want to ask though.....lookin at the pic in the paper and not wanting to make an assumtion...on which side did the corolla get hit, because the pic in the newsday, looks to me that is was broadside on the passenger side not head on...

...given my job, i want the facts should use this accident as a case study in the future.

From what I could tell, it was the front driver's side of the Hilux, impacted onto the front passenger's side of the wagon. If that impact didn't kill them, the impact when they hit the bottom of the ditch would have done it.

Postby wagonrunner » January 18th, 2010, 6:51 pm

SPK1983 wrote:From what I could tell, it was the front driver's side of the Hilux, impacted onto the front passenger's side of the wagon. If that impact didn't kill them, the impact when they hit the bottom of the ditch would have done it.

RIP to your friends.

I'm confused. Unless you mean head on, I'm thinking that could only happen if your friend driving the wagon pulled to his right, across the path of the Hilux.

http://draw.accidentsketch.com/
If you would like to attempt it.

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » January 18th, 2010, 7:36 pm

Well head on is what I mean, the passenger side of the vehicle is where the wagon ended up resting on its side, so it was hard to tell which damage was from impact with vehicle versus ground...

If it wasn't for the fact that it was my friends involved, I would be asking the same questions and I would have taken down details on the spot. As it was, I just left all those details to the police to handle.

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » January 18th, 2010, 8:23 pm

At this point, I don't think I'll be saying anything further in this thread.

Thank you all for the condolences, I wish I could say this should never happen again, but there's a reason it's called an accident, and all the laws and enforcement will not prevent accidents from happening, short of directly monitoring every single vehicle out on the road.

Good night and good luck.

Postby Damien » January 18th, 2010, 8:41 pm

saw it on the express today its sad to know that just one mistake could be so tragic

RawVoltage

Postby RawVoltage » January 18th, 2010, 8:56 pm

Official Vocabulary no longer refers to car crashes as accidents: They are now called collisions. Because "accident" implies there's nobody to blame.

R.I.P ......you have gone on to a better place.

Premera

Postby Premera » January 18th, 2010, 9:48 pm

ok, even though this would not bring back the deceased, it can leave their families in a better financial position that they were before the accident. MOST, if not ALL motor policy-owners, DO NOT KNOW that their passengers are automatically insured for injuries/disabilities/death when travelling in a vehicle, private, commercial or even hire......their is something called passenger liability and passenger accident benefit that they can benefit from or their families, in the event they die. It has nothing to do with who's right or wrong, they are entitled to compensation regardless....

All their families need to do is find out which company the vehicle they were travelling in, was insured with and log a claim. Most times the companies try to offer small money and close the deal off but if you think you deserve more, and in this case you can get alot because of the deceased young ages, you can hire an insurance adjuster to handle claim from start to finish for you....

How do i know all this......I'm an insurance agent myself and have helped persons in this situation before.......

Pass this message to the families of the deceased and let them have some small comfort in this difficult time.......

:idea: :idea: :idea:

Postby SR » January 18th, 2010, 9:54 pm

good info

but here's the catch

was the car rented from a legal company?

if not then wouldnt the insurance company now not cover as it was a private vehicle that was for used for "hire" contravening the policy

Postby wagonrunner » January 18th, 2010, 10:01 pm

Newsday picture of car. gory, if you pay attention.
[spoiler]Image[/spoiler]
Front of car bent towards passenger side...... Impact from drivers side would have pushed it that way.
tire condition...........can't say.

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 18th, 2010, 10:15 pm

person who rented out the car u can say did this in contravention to the insurance purpose..cuz those guys who rents out these wagons do so as a technical'' i lend you the car''--- the person who rented out the car might be in some ''hot water''

-- i think insur. regualtions entitles passengers to what 3 million? reg.of waht party.

Premera

Postby Premera » January 18th, 2010, 10:19 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:person who rented out the car u can say did this in contravention to the insurance purpose..cuz those guys who rents out these wagons do so as a technical'' i lend you the car''--- the person who rented out the car might be in some ''hot water''

-- i think insur. regualtions entitles passengers to what 3 million? reg.of waht party.

up to 3M depending on company ( Guardian General ( the best ) is 3M ) others are between the mandatory 250k and 1M

IF the insurance company refuses to pay, legal representation takes care of this, or you can deal direct with the Supervisor of insurance and they will assist and advise.....last resort, the owner of the vehicle can be sued ( not 100% sure of this resort though )

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 18th, 2010, 10:24 pm

^ that is why he cant admit he rented out the vehicle...so the person who took it from him will also be at fault cause full third party- no one under 25 can drive... but that 25 yrs law is illegal as once u are the owner of a drivers perm in t&t you are entitled to drive any insured class (as stated) of vehicle..

and obviously ther wont be a receipt

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » January 19th, 2010, 7:59 am

SPK1983 wrote:At this point, I don't think I'll be saying anything further in this thread.

Not to trivialise your pain, because regardless of who is at fault and what happened etc no speculation can bring back these lives; but this statement is a good idea especially when you're not being 100% truthful. Tuners are an inquisitive bunch and when youve peaked their interest they wont stop and knowing what I know silence is your best option. My Ex was supposed to make this lime and thankfully at the very last minute she declined, who knows which car she would have been in. I hope you can recover from the mental anguish, I lost my brother this way so I know its tough, and more importantly I hope youve learnt your lesson Sir. Godspeed.

Postby wagon r » January 19th, 2010, 8:05 am

wagonrunner wrote:Newsday picture of car. gory, if you pay attention.
[spoiler]Image[/spoiler]
Front of car bent towards passenger side...... Impact from drivers side would have pushed it that way.
tire condition...........can't say.

....not really....impact was all on the passenger side....remember, is a hilux that hit it....the fender, bonnet would have been destroyed on the driver's side....but in the pic, it's out of place from being hit on the opp. side. will try to get some pics of this later or next week.

...i have to teach a class here in T'bago now....for sure this will come up later.

this is the part of my job that hurts the most....

Postby Sky » January 19th, 2010, 8:06 am

^^No. Driver's under 25 and if someone rented it for him then it should be left alone.

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » January 19th, 2010, 9:10 am

I will say one more thing, as to why i wish to remain silent: Questions are being asked which I can't give definitive answers for while in that state of shock. I'm tired of having to try to explain what happened, only for the next person to assume we were all drag racing, we were all drunk etc, because it's so easy to categorise and make assumptions.

The phrase comes to mind: "Assumption is the mother of all f***ups."

The autopsy report we got from the driver of the vehicle, categorically stated that there were no significant levels of alcohol in his body at the time of his death.

but this statement is a good idea especially when you're not being 100% truthful.

With everything I've said, to come back to imply that I'm not being truthful as to what happened? I will put it very simply and bluntly...

FCUK YOU!

Statements like that are why I refuse to say anything further!