PM Singh: More Indians Should Visit TT

Postby Damien » November 30th, 2009, 2:31 pm

Mr Gear wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote: However, for you to say there is one Trinidad, one people, one society, that sees themselves as Trinidadian before Indo-, Afro-, Syrian, Chinese, Dougla, or whatever the prefix, is myopic on your part.

Nope.. I just grew up and continue to love colour blind. I have never felt inferior to anyone or any race nor have I felt that i was superior to anyone or any race.

If you don't live like this you should try it, its wonderful. Seriously. I guess you really have to be genuine about it to experience it and at the same time have sufficient confidence in yourself. I Love it. I get the best of this world.

well said

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » November 30th, 2009, 2:40 pm

Damien wrote:
Mr Gear wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote: However, for you to say there is one Trinidad, one people, one society, that sees themselves as Trinidadian before Indo-, Afro-, Syrian, Chinese, Dougla, or whatever the prefix, is myopic on your part.

Nope.. I just grew up and continue to love colour blind. I have never felt inferior to anyone or any race nor have I felt that i was superior to anyone or any race.

If you don't live like this you should try it, its wonderful. Seriously. I guess you really have to be genuine about it to experience it and at the same time have sufficient confidence in yourself. I Love it. I get the best of this world.

well said

That was really good to read.

Postby buzz » November 30th, 2009, 4:56 pm

rodfarva wrote:
Damien wrote:
Mr Gear wrote:

well said

That was really good to read.

x34

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » November 30th, 2009, 6:12 pm

Good stuff Mr Gear

I think AP wasn't hug as a kid or maybe some Injun fella break she heart in Jr sec :lol:

AP, how long you living in America?

Postby AllTrac » November 30th, 2009, 6:37 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:Good stuff Mr Gear

I think AP wasn't hug as a kid or maybe some Injun fella break she heart in Jr sec :lol:

I didnt do this on purpose :( you know for a fact i couldnt kerry she home yuh want meh mamie to keeeel meh?!!?! and in dem day she never use relaxer :(

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » December 2nd, 2009, 6:59 am

Like AP abandon the thread. AllTrac :shock: :shock: :D :D :D

Postby RBphoto » December 2nd, 2009, 8:44 am

AllTrac wrote:I like Amitab Bachan.

8-)

Best thing to come out of india.

Postby Country_Bookie » December 2nd, 2009, 11:58 am

On the subject of Indian businesses coming to TnT, I’d like to see Indian companies from industries where India have a competitive advantage like tech and pharmaceuticals set up businesses in TnT. We could offer dem easier access to Latin American markets thru some of our free trade agreements. The question is how long it would take TnT to produce enough qualified persons to staff companies like these.

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » December 4th, 2009, 5:52 pm

I am living in Montego Bay Jamaica at the moment and most of the Indians here are from Indian, they all have some Tourist oriented shop or appliance store.

It has been a mixed bag in dealing with them.

First off, they are always interested in knowing us because it really does not have much Indians in Mobay, so we stand out.

They are generally friendly, I guess because they to are not in their homeland, so that's something we share apart from our race.

My kids attending a prep school that catered towards foreigners, it is the highest concentration on Indians I've seen in Jamaica.
My wife was excited to meet some of them and she tried to talk to a group of mothers one day.
They where talking English and as soon as then realized she is not "India Indian" they all start to talk in Hindi. This off course this excluded my wife.

We meet a couple who does not own any business but in here working, the husband was very excited to meet us because he visited Trinidad for Divali a few years back and was shocked to see how well the culture is preserved. So he knows when he talks of certain Hindu rituals and what not, my wife knows exactly what he is referring to.

That couple has become very good friends of ours. The guy even said that we are more "Indian" than those living in Indian because to keep the culture alive and have in so integrated in Trini society, takes an effort that we might not even know we are putting out. Our forefathers and us could have just adapted to the culture of Trinidad back then, but we changed it to the fantastic mix it is today.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » December 5th, 2009, 7:26 am

heard the govt giving Scholarships ,er sorry " GRANTS" to NON indians to go to India.

Alltrac, now yuh could go for flee! :lol: :lol: :lol: sorry i meant FREE

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » December 9th, 2009, 2:08 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:Good stuff Mr Gear

AP, how long you living in America?

I was hugged and pampered, actually. Still am. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

About 15 years of my life. Why?

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » December 9th, 2009, 2:09 pm

Yofoot wrote:I am living in Montego Bay Jamaica at the moment and most of the Indians here are from Indian, they all have some Tourist oriented shop or appliance store.

It has been a mixed bag in dealing with them.

First off, they are always interested in knowing us because it really does not have much Indians in Mobay, so we stand out.

They are generally friendly, I guess because they to are not in their homeland, so that's something we share apart from our race.

My kids attending a prep school that catered towards foreigners, it is the highest concentration on Indians I've seen in Jamaica.
My wife was excited to meet some of them and she tried to talk to a group of mothers one day.
They where talking English and as soon as then realized she is not "India Indian" they all start to talk in Hindi. This off course this excluded my wife.

We meet a couple who does not own any business but in here working, the husband was very excited to meet us because he visited Trinidad for Divali a few years back and was shocked to see how well the culture is preserved. So he knows when he talks of certain Hindu rituals and what not, my wife knows exactly what he is referring to.

That couple has become very good friends of ours. The guy even said that we are more "Indian" than those living in Indian because to keep the culture alive and have in so integrated in Trini society, takes an effort that we might not even know we are putting out. Our forefathers and us could have just adapted to the culture of Trinidad back then, but we changed it to the fantastic mix it is today.

Thanks for sharing your first hand experience, Yofoot.

What's quite interesting is your account of your wife's experiences with women from India. Just gives evidence to the fact that there are still divides within the Indian community.

Postby crazybalhead » December 9th, 2009, 2:21 pm

My limited experience with Indians in Trini was quite poor.

On seperate occasions two different ones said:

"Are all the black people uneducated in Trinidad? Are they only into athletics?"

and in a conspiratory whisper:

"Are the africans in Trinidad responsible for all this crime and kidnapping?"

:x :x :x :x :x

I also knew quite a few here on projects. They would bring their wives who would be couped up in the apartment cooking and cleaning for MONTHS at a time. When I offered to take them all out, even for lunch they would decline. I never even saw these women!!!

:shock: :shock:

That's why I say I only look like an Indian, and anybody born in Trinidad who thinks they are "Indian" in any way are fooling themselves.

My grandfather was from India, which is closer a tie than many so called "Indians" in Trinidad, and I still feel absolutely no connection. It's as foreign to me as Singapore, or Peru or any country not of my birth.

I've had minor interactions with the merchant class of Indians in trinidad when I was younger, they are a very clannish group. Arranged marraiges, wariness of outsiders. That is not for me.

YOU ARE TRINIDADIAN IF YOU WERE BORN HERE.

Postby Maserati » December 9th, 2009, 2:26 pm

crazybalhead wrote:That's why I say I only look like an Indian, and anybody born in Trinidad who thinks they are "Indian" in any way are fooling themselves.

My grandfather was from India, which is closer a tie than many so called "Indians" in Trinidad, and I still feel absolutely no connection. It's as foreign to me as Singapore, or Peru or any country not of my birth.

YOU ARE TRINIDADIAN IF YOU WERE BORN HERE.

well said
I don't know why people can't see that Trinis are so different from Indians.
The only think we share in common with them is some physical attributes and some cultural influences.
That's it.
I've said it in the past and I'll say it again, better to be known as a Trini than an Indian.

Postby 16 cycles » December 9th, 2009, 2:29 pm

Postby crazybalhead » December 9th, 2009, 2:29 pm

In Houston this year, an "Americanised Indian" hit meh this, "Man, I LOVE your accent!"

hear nah... :shock:

Postby AllTrac » December 9th, 2009, 3:05 pm

crazybalhead wrote:They would bring their wives who would be couped up in the apartment cooking and cleaning for MONTHS at a time.

fail to see the problem here :?

Postby buzz » December 9th, 2009, 3:36 pm

Just gives evidence to the fact that there are still divides within the Indian community.

explian