Postby SR » November 6th, 2009, 8:49 am

so

what was the "information of threat to national security"

how come no one has stated this in thier justification of what took place

dmitc

Postby dmitc » November 6th, 2009, 8:49 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
Emil wrote:Next year...the leaders will most likely have to go to Caracas, as I doubt the KSA would send their people here to be humiliated again.

Is that legal?

5-6 people carrying 300 passports to another country?

that the point they would not be able too.
every one would have to go themself

Emil

Postby Emil » November 6th, 2009, 10:13 am

Nigson wrote:
Emil wrote:People don't understand the process nah, and yet they calling other dotish trinis.

whatever

^Now thats a typical "dotish" Trini reply right there.

Emil

Postby Emil » November 6th, 2009, 10:16 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
Emil wrote:Next year...the leaders will most likely have to go to Caracas, as I doubt the KSA would send their people here to be humiliated again.

Is that legal?

5-6 people carrying 300 passports to another country?

Good question, but that was what was going on for the past few years when a Diplomat didn't come to Trinidad. I don't know if they have to inform the local authorities or something like that.

Postby janfar » November 6th, 2009, 10:34 am

LOL @ issuing VISAS from a hotel room. Any country in their right mind upon hearing that VISAS to a place like Saudi, or any other Arab country for that matter, would investigate. Was the proper permissions given for such an activity to be carried out in a hotel room?

Why didn't the Muslim gorup or ASJA provide a proper place for all this to occur?

Postby M_2NR » November 6th, 2009, 11:23 pm

Emil wrote: The diplomat normally would get some help from Arabic literate people here in TT as each visa takes about 5 pages on a passport.

In all he wouldn't be here for long as he won't be interviewing each person like in the US\Canadian embassies....just filling out the paper work. Some time it was done at the IMG Mosque in Kelly Village and long time ago at the Islamic Academy in Maraval....but now its just done wherever the diplomat is....as its just a formality and a question of paperwork...not a visa interview.

Next year...the leaders will most likely have to go to Caracas, as I doubt the KSA would send their people here to be humiliated again.

the visa takes ONE page.
The guy used to stay in hilton.
Hajj Leaders used to HAVE to go to caracas as this was the nearest approved saudi embassy.

Mr. Alshubaili felt more embarrassed when all d media/reactive moslems exploded it to what it is now.

janfar wrote:Why didn't the Muslim gorup or ASJA provide a proper place for all this to occur?

call asja and ask them where they would have had him and where he would have stayed. :)

Postby M_2NR » November 6th, 2009, 11:25 pm

I know Anya is the word this week :lol: lol sorry but this getting way out of hand if u ask me.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161553057

Why is it that the moslems demanding this from the police? This is getting so lame now.

BTW this sheit has official hit the fan. Newspapers/etc. in Cairo, KSA (of course) and even pakistan has it up.

Well done guys... This doesnt help our country AT ALL!

/rant

dmitc

Postby dmitc » November 7th, 2009, 7:55 pm

^^oh please it have no help for this country when people keep putting those a$$holes back in power

Emil

Postby Emil » November 7th, 2009, 9:05 pm

corolla_2nr wrote:
Emil wrote: The diplomat normally would get some help from Arabic literate people here in TT as each visa takes about 5 pages on a passport.

In all he wouldn't be here for long as he won't be interviewing each person like in the US\Canadian embassies....just filling out the paper work. Some time it was done at the IMG Mosque in Kelly Village and long time ago at the Islamic Academy in Maraval....but now its just done wherever the diplomat is....as its just a formality and a question of paperwork...not a visa interview.

Next year...the leaders will most likely have to go to Caracas, as I doubt the KSA would send their people here to be humiliated again.

the visa takes ONE page.
The guy used to stay in hilton.
Hajj Leaders used to HAVE to go to caracas as this was the nearest approved saudi embassy.

Mr. Alshubaili felt more embarrassed when all d media/reactive moslems exploded it to what it is now.

janfar wrote:Why didn't the Muslim gorup or ASJA provide a proper place for all this to occur?

call asja and ask them where they would have had him and where he would have stayed. :)

The Visa is not one page, its about 5. The actual Visa sticker takes one page but there is other stickers they need to input into the passport that is bulky and takes up the rest of space.

The Saudis used to stay Hilton when they came to Trinidad, and when they don't send a rep. the leaders would have to go to caracas. Last year there was some issues and some pilgrims got their visas a few hours before travelling, thats why the Saudis sent someone over this year.

The whole incident is unfortunate, if only the police had been more discrete\private it would have been better for everyone.

Postby M_2NR » November 7th, 2009, 9:37 pm

Emil wrote:The Visa is not one page, its about 5. The actual Visa sticker takes one page but there is other stickers they need to input into the passport that is bulky and takes up the rest of space.

The Saudis used to stay Hilton when they came to Trinidad, and when they don't send a rep. the leaders would have to go to caracas. Last year there was some issues and some pilgrims got their visas a few hours before travelling, thats why the Saudis sent someone over this year.

The whole incident is unfortunate, if only the police had been more discrete\private it would have been better for everyone.

The actual visa take one page ;) (just like a US or CAN visa)
When they enter KSA, they go berserk and start stamping from a side... it is there where they take up the pages ;)
But that is not the issue.

What you just typed is what i wrote previously.

It only hit the fan because the media got involved and some person(s) over reacted.

Im not hiting at you BTW bro, just clearing up. :)

Emil

Postby Emil » November 7th, 2009, 9:47 pm

Cool scene, agreed!

Stig786

Postby Stig786 » November 8th, 2009, 7:33 pm

EXtreme FKery retarded ass police again ..... now all trinis blacklisted for saudi visas (for the time being) an i dont blame them

Postby M_2NR » November 8th, 2009, 8:14 pm

Stig786 wrote:EXtreme FKery retarded ass police again ..... now all trinis blacklisted for saudi visas (for the time being) an i dont blame them

yeh... :|

(actually that isnt true ;) )

Stig786

Postby Stig786 » November 8th, 2009, 9:09 pm

yea it is... have you not seen the reply of the diplomat .....i'll see if i could find a written report of what he said ... its not that we're blacklisted as such but we wont be getting the kind of help they were willing to give before

Postby M_2NR » November 8th, 2009, 9:30 pm

Stig786 wrote:yea it is... have you not seen the reply of the diplomat .....i'll see if i could find a written report of what he said ... its not that we're blacklisted as such but we wont be getting the kind of help they were willing to give before

You just said we were blacklisted....
Please do that ASAP ;) Along with links. I doubt its the same pleasant one who came here, wrote that report.

Postby Chimera » November 8th, 2009, 9:35 pm

Man with 40 passports and a photocopy machine :|

Daz nuff reason to rub him down, ress 2 gun butt in he head and ask him what the firetruck he doing.

Postby sMASH » November 8th, 2009, 10:46 pm

what ever transpired in the room, the fact is that he left early, which means there was dissatisfaction. they came to simplify a tedious process for us. this was their gesture and we would be the benefactors. he had a diplomatic pass port, not sure how much jurisdiction our police has on him, but other diplomats would be considering this event when deciding to enjoin our hospitality.

the police needs to review the validity of their sources, PERIOD. this is a KSA official, even the president of america bows to them :skurred: . any action on diplomats should be carefully considered, meaning that they should make sure they find guns and drugs if they pattin for guns and drugs.

the govt not even studying that they treated a foreign diplomat with disrespect by accusing him falsely of concealing arms... if they searched, it means that they thought there were guns there.
the govt statement on this incident had a tone as if it were some local without a reputation or rank in society. they dont realize that an attack on this man's reputation was made. the police need more decorum and shame.
he was a diplomat and could be harassed like any common law breaker,,,, being a diplomat in trinidad has no value nor status. the govt recognition of being a diplomat is worth less, as any two bit police could still harass u.

for this, i fine for any trini to go to any other country, every body hadda bend over and cough

Postby M_2NR » November 8th, 2009, 11:05 pm

sMASH wrote:what ever transpired in the room, the fact is that he left early, which means there was dissatisfaction.

bro, he didnt leave early. He wasnt too happy about what transpired, especially how the media made it look, but he left on time.

What most dont understand is that the more this escalates, the more tnt stands to lose :idea:

The more this is exaggerated, the harder it will be for us, esp. hajj leaders next year.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » November 9th, 2009, 1:23 am

corolla_2nr wrote:They wouldnt have give a sh!t in the 1st place if they hadn't make it look THIS big.

corolla_2nr wrote:Mr. Alshubaili felt more embarrassed when all d media/reactive moslems exploded it to what it is now.

corolla_2nr wrote:BTW this sheit has official hit the fan. Newspapers/etc. in Cairo, KSA (of course) and even pakistan has it up.

Well done guys... This doesnt help our country AT ALL!

corolla_2nr wrote:It only hit the fan because the media got involved and some person(s) over reacted.

corolla_2nr wrote:What most dont understand is that the more this escalates, the more tnt stands to lose

The more this is exaggerated, the harder it will be for us, esp. hajj leaders next year.

So your issue is not about how the police conducted their investigation. It's about the persons who may have overreacted and the media who have sensationalized the story. My perception of your posts is that you think we should have 'covered this up' and kept it 'hush hush'! Your concern is that T&T 'go look bad' to the rest of the world?! I understand that those who wearing their balisier shades would prefer the rest of the world to view us as a 'rich paradise' were all are happy.

But there will be times when the truth pops it's head out from behind the curtain of lies. These incidents although alarming to many, can be for the most part ignored or shrugged off by the 'powers that be' as the incident will be forgotten very quickly by the electorate. The deception will never stop as the people of this nation have a need to be abused and used as can be clearly seen by those whom we select to be our leaders. So, at the end of the day, this incident does not matter to us as a nation. We are not outraged by an ignorant police force or our arrogant leaders. Therefore you were correct in your statements corolla_2nr. It is better we had 'kept this under wraps'. For we are not concerned about what is wrong in our own country, but only that others should never see this side of us. After all, isn't the truth what we are told it is as opposed to what we reason it to be!

JC ELLIS

Postby JC ELLIS » November 9th, 2009, 2:02 am

When I first heard the story in the news, I was angered by the way he was treated. Now that I have done some more investigations it seems that such treatment is not uncommon in other jurisdictions, particularly the USA.

For example diplomats of certain countries are only allowed to visit the USA for official meetings and are restricted to a 25 mile radius within the area of the UN headquarters. They can't even go down to Miami to enjoy the beaches. Others have been searched every time they enter the USA.

Apparently DIPLOMATIC IMMUNITY is not a blank cheque, it does have its restrictions.

It sad because it seems that certain people are stereotyped but the harsh reality is that trust is a currency that is depreciating rapidly these days.

Check the following link:

http://www.un.org/News/Press/docs/2007/hq656.doc.htm

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » November 9th, 2009, 2:12 am

JC ELLIS wrote:When I first heard the story in the news, I was angered by the way he was treated. Now that I have done some more investigations it seems that such treatment is not uncommon in other jurisdictions, particularly the USA.

For example diplomats of certain countries are only allowed to visit the USA for official meetings and are restricted to a 25 mile radius within the area of the UN headquarters. They can't even go down to Miami to enjoy the beaches. Others have been searched every time they enter the USA.

Apparently DIPLOMATIC IMMUNITY is not a blank cheque, it does have its restrictions.

It sad because it seems that certain people are stereotyped but the harsh reality is that trust is a currency that is depreciating rapidly these days.

Check the following link:

http://www.un.org/News/Press/docs/2007/hq656.doc.htm

situations such as those are very delicate ones because the countries the delegates are from are not allies with the US but because of the location of the UN headquarters America has to respect them because the UN acts as an International Territory.

you can't compare such situations such as that to what happened here, and you can't compare the US and their actions to what happens within the caribbean. America = Questionably the worlds most powerful nation... Trinidad = Third world nation .

The police may have been within their rights to search the individual, but the real question is; was it necessary? I don't think so!

Could the police have made the necessary calls to verify the intentions of the diplomat? Yes i think so!

Are you ready/ Is the nation prepared to create problems with larger international bodies?

The situation was blown out from the minute the police stepped into Hyatt.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 9th, 2009, 7:11 am

Very interesting interview on CNC3 with head of ASJA, raises many questions like who is Imtiaz Mohammed, who does the Muslim Org of T&T consist of, when were they formed etc....Also why did they hijack the diplomat from ASJA and take him to the HYATT. It seems a lot of gum bumping is occuring without the total facts and people are being blindsided by emotions and affiliations. Is this just an attempt by Imitaiz Mohammed and II to blow things out of proportion to make the gov't and police look bad.....

dmitc

Postby dmitc » November 9th, 2009, 8:52 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:to make the gov't and police look bad.....

you do mean look worse right?

Postby M_2NR » November 9th, 2009, 11:36 am

Computerman wrote:So your issue is not about how the police conducted their investigation. It's about the persons who may have overreacted and the media who have sensationalized the story. My perception of your posts is that you think we should have 'covered this up' and kept it 'hush hush'! Your concern is that T&T 'go look bad' to the rest of the world?! I understand that those who wearing their balisier shades would prefer the rest of the world to view us as a 'rich paradise' were all are happy.

But there will be times when the truth pops it's head out from behind the curtain of lies. These incidents although alarming to many, can be for the most part ignored or shrugged off by the 'powers that be' as the incident will be forgotten very quickly by the electorate. The deception will never stop as the people of this nation have a need to be abused and used as can be clearly seen by those whom we select to be our leaders. So, at the end of the day, this incident does not matter to us as a nation. We are not outraged by an ignorant police force or our arrogant leaders. Therefore you were correct in your statements corolla_2nr. It is better we had 'kept this under wraps'. For we are not concerned about what is wrong in our own country, but only that others should never see this side of us. After all, isn't the truth what we are told it is as opposed to what we reason it to be!

its not an issue. Its the fact.

This sheit hit global. Its like we FORCING KSA to do something.
Thing is, at the end of the day, whose gonna pay?
It's the people who want visas every year to go Saudi. Yes KSA cant ban them from coming, but if push comes to shove, hajj leaders will end up in the same abyss in caracas every year AGAIN! If one of the registered hajj leaders had to go to caracas this year after he came back from making arrangements in Saudi he may have not made his flight to go to hajj or even his group.

Doesnt anyone think about this?

JC ELLIS

Postby JC ELLIS » November 9th, 2009, 11:39 am

evolucian, I agree with most of the thoughts you expressed and I do appreciate your views so please do not think my post seeks to justify the actions of the T&T Police, but does Trinidad and Tobago not imitate the first world, especially when it seeks to justify the reason for implementing something? As citizens don't we not always compare our Public services to that of the 1st world when we want to highlight their inefficiencies?

I therefore cannot agree however because we are 3rd World our approach to National Security should be different from that of any 1st World country. While we may not need to have our future "Executive President" drive around with an entourage of 35 cars, we must be also aware that our so called "3rd World Status makes us even more vulnerable especially when one considers that we have the presence of a US Embassy as well as other interests here.

As I said, when I first read heard the story I was disturbed because I too thought the police should have sought verification from the Foreign Affairs Ministry before making their move but is this all to the story?

On one hand ACP Craig said he received sensitive information pertaining to our National Security (we don't know what that information is) but on the other hand he said that they conducted intensive investigations. Intensive suggests that they sought information that was in depth or from a number of sources.

Was it that these sources provided incorrect information? Did they include the Foreign Affairs Ministry or Ministry of National Security?

There will always be the yin and yang where matters of National Security and Diplomatic relations are concerned as trust among nations continues to erode whether it be Third World or developed country.

gunsmoke

Postby gunsmoke » November 9th, 2009, 12:51 pm

Nafeesa Mohammed :idea:

KarbonFiber

Postby KarbonFiber » November 11th, 2009, 4:00 am

Well this is just friggin great. I left KSA in October and was planning on returning this month. You already have to go through a sh*t load of security checks now its gonna be a nightmare. yippe ka frikkin yay