Postby honda hoe » December 2nd, 2008, 5:13 pm

^ evos aren't collector's cars

*runs*

import

Postby import » December 2nd, 2008, 5:27 pm

Ok well firstly .. i really agree with Brent the interior of that car Fail bad .. it's very poor considering it's Mitsubishi's flagship sport sedan, alot more effort and R&D could have been put into changing the appearance to NOT resemble it's 1.5 counterpart that much.

Anywho on to the money aspect.. The EVO was always abit more expensive than its twin rival the WRX. But it had nothing to do with the Mitsubishi being the superior machine. It really dates back to Subaru and Fuji Industries being the underdogs in the rally and Car Distributor world..

I'd actually buy the Big nostril STi over that tame lancer anyday.. The EVO really is much more tame in comparison to a Sti.. Its actually the Blend of Beauty and performance.. Where the Scooby is an outright pitbull..

Think of a Lamborghini Merc vs a Ferrari F430.. Its the same thing..

To clear up the price thing .. The only reason the EVO price is staying where it is, is because the EVO 8, 9 and 10 are not as appealing to the general public.. The EVO 8 is not a good buy because it is basically a 7 with a round bumper ( basically ).. this = a general waste of money to the average consumer.

The 9.. well to put it simple .. It jus to damm slow.. You have to modify a 9 with after market manifold and some extras to comfortably leave it's 2 gen lower brother the 7

Again to the general consumer ..Thats not making any buying sense..

The 10..well... The 10 jus plain UGLY ok .. no if's no butts.. it jus UGLY.. and more so . any one seen the White lancer EX that has the center part of his bumper painted Black.. Can you tell the diff..

If i own a 7 and i would like to upgrade.. My options are not that viable..

On to Prices

LETS JUST PRETEND FOR A MOMENT THAT WE ACTUALLY CAN IMPORT THESE OLD CARS

the Mitsubishi EVO 7 is going to cost $167,000 TTD on the Road for a 2001 model

the Mistubishi EVO 8 is going to cost $199,000 TTD on the road for a 2003 model

the Mitsubishi EVO 9 is CURRENTLY costing $ 265,000 TTD on the road for a 2005 model..

The Evo 10 can be purchased for around $330,000 TTD on the road ( soon to drop due to slow sales )

Why the jump you ask.. Because on a Global scale in the Automotive world once a car can QUALIFY to legally enter a country's Port it is still ( worth something ).

The EVO 9 and 10 are the only Legal model's that can be imported to most country's

Also please note why your EVO 9 cost $265,000 TTD ... We have a new budget and Motor Tax structure.. Your Import duty remains the same , your Motor Tax however has more than doubled for a 2000 cc engine.

You normally would have paid $ 12,000 TTD for your engine in MVT you are now paying $30,000 MVT for the same 2000 cc engine and then you are adding 15% VAT on this cost.

So if our budget had NOT affected cars, a EVO 9 would have been approx $23,000 cheaper than it is now. Mind you a 05 Sti is'nt too far behind at about $240,000 TTD.

So to say an EVO appreciates in price is not entirely true. And worse yet to call it a COLLECTORS car is well. thats just EVO owners being proud of their little machine.. But is is in no way a collectors car .. It's production numbers already spoilt that not to mention it is still easy to acquire to date.

Ive really only noticed ONE vehicle that is coming out of Japan that has been labelled as an "exotic" and as such appreciates in price .. Than being the Flagship NSX from HONDA..

The 2003 BNR34 Skyline Vspec II is selling at the Japan auction for $ 4,500,000 JPY

The 1991 Honda NSX 1st Generation is currently selling for $ 3,990,000 JPY and come June 2009 this same car will be selling for $ 4,400,000 JPY ....

Thats happening because people are buying the NSX as a collectors car rather than just a sports car to race..

Just my $0.2c i mean $20 on this topic... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Last edited by import on December 2nd, 2008, 5:46 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby honda hoe » December 2nd, 2008, 5:37 pm

look who reach :mrgreen:

Postby r3iXmann » December 2nd, 2008, 5:43 pm

honda hoe, whey meh ITR? :|

Postby Dave » December 2nd, 2008, 5:45 pm

ah boy import, ah man of your statute should know that a 7 and 8 has a few more differences than a rounder front bumper :wink:

but then again, u wanted to know how come some 8's don't have HID's :wink:

your excused :lol:

Postby Dave » December 2nd, 2008, 5:51 pm

hondahoe said fyzo

Postby honda hoe » December 2nd, 2008, 5:59 pm

Dave,

don't snitch

Postby Dave » December 2nd, 2008, 6:04 pm

i sorry buuuuddie, thought something was wrong :mrgreen:

import

Postby import » December 2nd, 2008, 7:35 pm

ah boy import, ah man of your statute should know that a 7 and 8 has a few more differences than a rounder front bumper Wink

but then again, u wanted to know how come some 8's don't have HID's

your excused

Dave Dave Dave... I import cars for a living Dave... I know all models and of course i know ALL the differences between a EVO 7 and 8 .... yuh did'nt interpret the clause ( basically ) did ya... hummm :?

And of course i knew why and which have HID's .. You self :roll:

What i really was wonderin is why YOU chose that model... You sure you know what you own rite :?:

daymean

Postby daymean » December 2nd, 2008, 8:56 pm

hmmm i would have to say that there are more moel variations available now from the evo 8 go up...so prices for these cars now have a wider range...most of the prices listed here are for the GSR models however the MR and RSII models will be more costly
also the 8MR is very similar to a 9 with the exception of MIVEC, however mivec does not act on both the intake and exhaust valves. Yes the MIVEC makes a difference however once the car gets moving the 8MR makes more torque,
i can say that the price of a 8MR and a 9GSR are about the same, the 8MR being ah bit cheaper...
8MR- $235k-250k
9GSR - $260-275K
9MR - $275-285k

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » December 2nd, 2008, 9:07 pm

import wrote:
ah boy import, ah man of your statute should know that a 7 and 8 has a few more differences than a rounder front bumper Wink

your excused

Dave Dave Dave... I import cars for a living Dave... I know all models and of course i know ALL the differences between a EVO 7 and 8 .... yuh did'nt interpret the clause ( basically ) did ya... hummm :?

What i really was wonderin is why YOU chose that model... You sure you know what you own rite :?:

Postby honda hoe » December 2nd, 2008, 11:44 pm

BAM

dais it

me aint want no evo again :|

infared

Postby infared » December 2nd, 2008, 11:46 pm

honda hoe,the mitsubishi gods are pleased with your decision, now gtfo. :|

Postby Dave » December 3rd, 2008, 8:45 am

import wrote:

your excused

and yes i know this, so why u was scratching your head with mines?
no HID's, hmmm? :shock: u was playing dead to catch cobo alive again nah :lol:

I read at face value, didn't know we were speaking in codes :?

I didn't really choose, I got a deal and went with it, the finance will always play in my mind as it encompasses my daily job :wink:

trust me i know what i have and also some sti's, turbo si's, etc also do :twisted:

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » December 3rd, 2008, 8:53 am

honda hoe wrote:BAM

dais it

^^ with some tint, like you going to start kidnappin ppl with dat... :? :?

noobie

Postby noobie » December 3rd, 2008, 9:16 am

What would be the cost of an Evo X with paddle shifters from the factory in Trinidad?
Or can you only get them foreign used?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 3rd, 2008, 10:16 am

import wrote:Dave Dave Dave... I import cars for a living Dave... I know all models and of course i know ALL the differences between a EVO 7 and 8

like how you knew about every single euro accord in T&T?

noobie wrote:What would be the cost of an Evo X with paddle shifters from the factory in Trinidad?
Or can you only get them foreign used?

well there is no factory in Trinidad but I think I know what you wanted to type.
Call Diamond Motors and hear what they say - the prices I've heard ranged from $350K to $550K depending on who you heard it from and the model trim. They havent brought in any yet though so no price is affirmative from them.

Most if not all the others that have come here are not foreign used - but brand new from Mitsubishi Japan - I dont know if you want to refer to that as "foreign new". And they have also ranged around the same price as above. The paddle shifter model (SST) and the MR being the higher priced models.
Last edited by Duane 3NE 2NR on December 3rd, 2008, 3:06 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby crazybalhead » December 3rd, 2008, 10:19 am

Spoke to a sales lady at Diamond, just a by the way convo and she said "500k"

And she said two were on order. That was in August.

Postby tr1ad » December 3rd, 2008, 10:22 am

dais it

the subaru camp has not had any flipped models of recent, please throw yuh frame away from the subaru

noobie

Postby noobie » December 3rd, 2008, 12:47 pm

That..is kinda messed up.

It's a 2.0 engine, so the engine duty shouldn't be that high. The car fully loaded is US$43,700 at Retail which would include the dealer markup etc.

So Cost is actually less.

That's 277,058.00

So there is a 44% increase in price between the USA and Trinidad.
That sounds like a lot :-\

But does it make sense to purchase a car like this without dealer warranty and support?

Any of them...a GTR, 370Z a new Subaru WRX etc. without a warranty, without dealer maintenance? With the new electronic systems can someone off the street really do maintenance? :-)

Postby crazybalhead » December 3rd, 2008, 12:49 pm

noobie wrote:That..is kinda messed up.

It's a 2.0 engine, so the engine duty shouldn't be that high. The car fully loaded is US$43,700 at Retail which would include the dealer markup etc.

So Cost is actually less.

That's 277,058.00

So there is a 44% increase in price between the USA and Trinidad.
That sounds like a lot :-\

But does it make sense to purchase a car like this without dealer warranty and support?

Any of them...a GTR, 370Z a new Subaru WRX etc. without a warranty, without dealer maintenance? With the new electronic systems can someone off the street really do maintenance? :-)

Yes.

Postby SR » December 3rd, 2008, 1:48 pm

tr1ad wrote:

dais it

the subaru camp has not had any flipped models of recent, please throw yuh frame away from the subaru

true true

but how many engines have been rebuilt due to "tuning"

W2J

Postby W2J » December 3rd, 2008, 3:59 pm

SR wrote:
tr1ad wrote:

dais it

true true

or rather lack of

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 3rd, 2008, 7:24 pm

W2J wrote:
SR wrote:
tr1ad wrote:

dais it

true true

or rather lack of

And that sounds like an unfinished statement... :lol:

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » December 3rd, 2008, 7:26 pm

saw a certain white one being towed today after it broke something....

Postby tr1ad » December 3rd, 2008, 8:24 pm

SR & W2J

allyuh stop hinting towards JWT

Postby Greypatch » December 4th, 2008, 11:10 am

so ah have to pay 250k for ah IX

Postby honda hoe » December 4th, 2008, 11:12 am