Armin Van Buuren world's #1 Trance DJ

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » October 29th, 2009, 1:29 pm

Well, not sure what a metronome has to do with anything but yes most electronica is a 4/4 beat. Also most music these days have a beat that could be 4/4 once it has a back round beat. It has nothing to do with minutes but all to do with music sequence.

usually 4 beats to a bar and 8-16 bars to a measure. Again, what does this have to do with Vbyz or Bionce for that matter. Its what you like. To judge one genre of music against another is an oddity. Why would you do it. I know what it takes to produce good electronic music and believe me the metronome is used in every genre to maintain the tempo of the song.

It is just a little foolish tool that a digital sequencer would use, granted we are in the age of digital I am sure every single producer would be foolish not to use it against the final cut. Its just like tapping your feet.

Within the electronic genre there is house which was the begining of many other sub genres. It started with odd recorded analoug noises that has now progressed into comples symphonies that vary from lyrical, harmonical, and encompass every instrument that includes live recordings. That said, yes the music is different but nothing less than another in that it requires absolute creative genius to produce a master piece. And please do not refer to castles in the sky as a model since it really is a cheap and uncreative knock off however well publized and deinately mainstreamed.

The underground people can tell you more about the true heroes of electronica.

liquidmetal

Postby liquidmetal » October 29th, 2009, 9:09 pm

hmm i find Gareth Emery could have been higher though....still love tiesto but he's getting old..I find it have some better up and coming djs
Armin FTW!

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » October 29th, 2009, 9:45 pm

Captainzaak wrote:
djblademan wrote:ARMIN FTW!\he should come back in zen...i didnt get to go last time :cry:

yeah dred, defiantly needs to come back.

zen management rather bring demarco and kiesha de diva

Armin @Zen was epic...
Waiting patiently for the next time

Postby sMASH » October 29th, 2009, 10:58 pm

noobie wrote:
Maserati wrote:
Hip Hop/Dub isn't considered music in a developed civilised world.

so what is it?

it's backward noise

don't make me start listing some frogback songs...and shankle yuh ankle or wtf sh1t they does be singing...

And

beep boop bop boop tuhdadadadadadada beep boop bop boop tuhdadadadada WILL I WILL I WILL I WILL I WILL IWILL I WILL I beep boop bop boop tuhdadadadadadada beep boop bop boop BLUE LADADADIDADADAIDIADAIIIDADIIAIII beep boop bop boop tuhdadadadadadada beep boop bop boop

is better how?

this comeback could do wit some copyrighting

Postby Razkal » October 30th, 2009, 11:59 am

996vtwin wrote:Well, not sure what a metronome has to do with anything but yes most electronica is a 4/4 beat. Also most music these days have a beat that could be 4/4 once it has a back round beat. It has nothing to do with minutes but all to do with music sequence.

usually 4 beats to a bar and 8-16 bars to a measure. Again, what does this have to do with Vbyz or Bionce for that matter. Its what you like. To judge one genre of music against another is an oddity. Why would you do it. I know what it takes to produce good electronic music and believe me the metronome is used in every genre to maintain the tempo of the song.

It is just a little foolish tool that a digital sequencer would use, granted we are in the age of digital I am sure every single producer would be foolish not to use it against the final cut. Its just like tapping your feet.

Within the electronic genre there is house which was the begining of many other sub genres. It started with odd recorded analoug noises that has now progressed into comples symphonies that vary from lyrical, harmonical, and encompass every instrument that includes live recordings. That said, yes the music is different but nothing less than another in that it requires absolute creative genius to produce a master piece. And please do not refer to castles in the sky as a model since it really is a cheap and uncreative knock off however well publized and deinately mainstreamed.

what i'm saying, is electronica is as musically elaborate in its composition as any other generic radio crap...you don't have to explain metronome use to me, i've been making music with friends for years and play the drums, i am a metronome lol

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/-Ix5dicdL7c&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

^electronica is just as easy to compose, even easier with equipment like that, entertaining for maybe the short time you're in the club, but doesn't stimulate the mind like good music should..imo at least...

fyi, i am NOT a vybz kartel fan or anything either, jeeez that crap can make ear drums bleed!...but i'm only human, and at the end of the day, a music lover, so whenever i party with friends etc, its the same catchy crap everyone is moving too....including vybz kartel and castles in the sky

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » October 30th, 2009, 12:28 pm

As with any musical genre there will always be artists / producers that follow a typical " formula " but there are those who stand out . Electronic music can have jazz style off time beats etc.

but 996vtwin said it best

yes the music is different but nothing less than another in that it requires absolute creative genius to produce a master piece.

Electronic music stimulates my mind , but to each his own.

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 30th, 2009, 12:59 pm

aahhhh...trance music

bong chee bong chee bong chee bong chee
bong chee bong chee bong chee bong bong
bong bong bong bong bong bong bong bong
bonga bonga bonga bonga bonga bonga bonga bonga...

slick

Postby slick » October 30th, 2009, 4:25 pm

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/5gNi3lcS9BM&hl=en&fs=1&color1=0x2b405b&color2=0x6b8ab6&border=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="445" height="364"></embed>

gencon

Postby gencon » October 30th, 2009, 7:14 pm

trance/techno all d way!!

Postby buzz » October 30th, 2009, 7:24 pm

ok erm so i'm not a fan of trance but there is a distinction between trance and teckno :|

trance is tolerable :|

996vtwin

Postby 996vtwin » October 31st, 2009, 3:56 am

Razkal wrote:
996vtwin wrote:Well, not sure what a metronome has to do with anything but yes most electronica is a 4/4 beat. Also most music these days have a beat that could be 4/4 once it has a back round beat. It has nothing to do with minutes but all to do with music sequence.

what i'm saying, is electronica is as musically elaborate in its composition as any other generic radio crap...you don't have to explain metronome use to me, i've been making music with friends for years and play the drums, i am a metronome lol

^electronica is just as easy to compose, even easier with equipment like that, entertaining for maybe the short time you're in the club, but doesn't stimulate the mind like good music should..imo at least...

fyi, i am NOT a vybz kartel fan or anything either, jeeez that crap can make ear drums bleed!...but i'm only human, and at the end of the day, a music lover, so whenever i party with friends etc, its the same catchy crap everyone is moving too....including vybz kartel and castles in the sky

First of all you are not a metronome, lol!!!! Look small man if you club anywhere in europe its house they rock to. You must be underexposed thats all. You know sheit all about edm production. Dont eben use that word fruitly loops near people they will laugh at you. Get real get a life. Armin, Tiesto, PVD, Markus, dang EDm gods in their own rank. Who the hell are you to compare a drum set to what they do.

here small man listen to this see if your drum set can do this or pull a crowd like that. get a life . Listen to the layers, Adagaio for strings,,,,elements of life,,,,sheit every day is a freaking miracle of music made. Tiesto played at the opening of the olympics sonny. I wouldnt even know where to start since i grew in in 80 rock and now I know fuking good music. I know sheit too. Just cause you like Machel or some other crap dont get your panties in a knot.

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/2EaE0_gQLw0&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/MSgnf-tBN9s&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed>

Postby SR » October 31st, 2009, 6:45 am

well said
the thing is most people listen to trance/techno on the same systems that belt out thier movado and vibes cartel and the piss poor quality of sound reproduction will never reproduce the detail in the recordings of the music for you to appreciate what other instruments have been used and the melody of how well it was integrated into the "drum machine and a repetetive loop"

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 31st, 2009, 12:23 pm

movado is sheit.....

aR&D

Postby aR&D » October 31st, 2009, 12:28 pm

Dragist wrote:WTF no Pappa Rocky , Rocking Randy , Howie T :shock: :shock: :shock:

and "A Popular DJ"

Mouse

Postby Mouse » October 31st, 2009, 4:35 pm

SMc wrote:an how fedde reach #22...

Should be more like #4 imo

Postby Razkal » October 31st, 2009, 4:46 pm

996vtwin wrote:
Razkal wrote:

First of all you are not a metronome, lol!!!! Look small man if you club anywhere in europe its house they rock to. You must be underexposed thats all. You know sheit all about edm production. Dont eben use that word fruitly loops near people they will laugh at you. Get real get a life. Armin, Tiesto, PVD, Markus, dang EDm gods in their own rank. Who the hell are you to compare a drum set to what they do.

here small man listen to this see if your drum set can do this or pull a crowd like that. get a life . Listen to the layers, Adagaio for strings,,,,elements of life,,,,sheit every day is a freaking miracle of music made. Tiesto played at the opening of the olympics sonny. I wouldnt even know where to start since i grew in in 80 rock and now I know fuking good music. I know sheit too. Just cause you like Machel or some other crap dont get your panties in a knot.

^here's a bucket you can tote all your feelings about electronica and 'house' (first season was a good show man..)...it's LED equipped to compliment your taste in entertainment....small man (lol)

996vtwin wrote: Look small man if you club anywhere in europe its house they rock to. You must be underexposed thats all.

well thats not my business if what you listen to is influenced by what europe is partying to, that's just your lack of individuality i guess..this was never meant as a bash, i can appreciate music and its varying appeal quite comfortably, i grew up in and around music so its very natural to click with a good groove or recognize good composition, however, the emoness you expressed towards my opinions have entertained me well

996vtwin wrote:here small man listen to this see if your drum set can do this or pull a crowd like that.

are you trying to compare a genre of music with a musical instrument??

aw, you are so precious!! :lol:

btw, i'm so sorry YOUR panties are in a bunch because i don't like your songs very much :cry:

Postby Razkal » October 31st, 2009, 4:59 pm

996vtwin wrote:
Razkal wrote:

^here's a bucket you can tote all your feelings about electronica and 'house' (first season was a good show man..)...it's LED equipped to compliment your taste in entertainment....small man (lol)

996vtwin wrote: Look small man if you club anywhere in europe its house they rock to. You must be underexposed thats all.

well thats not my business if what you listen to is influenced by what europe is partying to, that's just your lack of individuality i guess..this was never meant as a bash, i can appreciate music and its varying appeal quite comfortably, i grew up in and around music so its very natural to click with a good groove or recognize good composition, however, the emoness you expressed towards my opinions have entertained me well

996vtwin wrote:here small man listen to this see if your drum set can do this or pull a crowd like that.

btw, i'm so sorry YOUR panties are in a bunch because i don't like your songs very much :cry:

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 31st, 2009, 8:23 pm

wat does it take to be a trance dj? like wa equipment an skills yuh need?

Postby Razkal » November 1st, 2009, 9:48 am

996vtwin wrote:
Razkal wrote:

996vtwin

Postby 996vtwin » November 2nd, 2009, 1:14 am

Punk ass, find another thread to troll in, troll. Whada firetruck u listen to? Beethoven?

Postby Razkal » November 2nd, 2009, 7:14 am

996vtwin wrote:Punk ass, find another thread to troll in, troll. Whada firetruck u listen to? Beethoven?

Feeling Toter :lol: :lol:

Postby Razkal » November 2nd, 2009, 7:20 am

pioneer, rammstein is crap music disguised in another language to sound ok..

996, if you weren't in "my ting betterer dan your ting" mode, i would list some of my musical preferences, but i can see that won't make you less touchy about the topic :lol:

Postby buzz » November 2nd, 2009, 7:52 am

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/-wwttxW5hMg&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

real music :|

Naka

Postby Naka » November 2nd, 2009, 10:59 am

Razkal wrote:pioneer, rammstein is crap music disguised in another language to sound ok..

996, if you weren't in "my ting betterer dan your ting" mode, i would list some of my musical preferences, but i can see that won't make you less touchy about the topic :lol:

Boat shrimp, represent man! Probably nobody won't get it. lol.

Naka

Postby Naka » November 2nd, 2009, 11:15 am

SR wrote:well said
the thing is most people listen to trance/techno on the same systems that belt out thier movado and vibes cartel and the piss poor quality of sound reproduction will never reproduce the detail in the recordings of the music for you to appreciate what other instruments have been used and the melody of how well it was integrated into the "drum machine and a repetetive loop"

Just asking, what trance is built on, where did it come from? Like rock came from blues and jazz and stuff and dancehall came from reggae, I wanna find out its roots.

Postby SR » November 2nd, 2009, 1:45 pm

freestyle from the 80's has some roots in trance

Postby buzz » November 2nd, 2009, 3:16 pm

Naka wrote:
Razkal wrote:pioneer, rammstein is crap music disguised in another language to sound ok..

Boat shrimp, represent man! Probably nobody won't get it. lol.

allyuh iz boat shrimp ppl?

Naka

Postby Naka » November 2nd, 2009, 6:20 pm

More Raz than me, I'm just an affiliate, u know my band digs there bands, alot, for me it's kryl'ja and anti everything alot.

Postby buzz » November 2nd, 2009, 6:28 pm

i just take "medicine" wid dem already :lol:

Postby Razkal » November 3rd, 2009, 8:39 am

pioneer wrote:Buh Razkal how come i ketch yuh head-knoddin to trance las week in traffic :|

c'mon...you know that wasn't trance! :lol:.....it was more mainstream, less talent and very bass-ful :D ...can't rem. the style tho..

but i'm not a music nazi as 996 thinks :lol: i WILL listen to anything, thats how i know i dislike certain genres :|